Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nuevo Arlanza 3 stars

Plaza Doña Urraca, 11, 09346 Covarrubias, Spain

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 8

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Friendly Hotel in a Superb Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of any bad points.

    The staff were very friendly & accommodating. No idea how good their English is (we stuck with Spanish). The building is old (so don't expect massive rooms!) but the place is old & atmospheric (check out the photo of the old lounge). The bedroom & bathroom were very clean and the beds were really comfortable (better even than the 5-star place we'd just come from). The location was excellent; right in the middle of town. Our balcony gave out over the square and we could watch the swallows dart around the rooftops and watch the vultures glide over the surrounding hills. Breakfast buffet was good. Only had dinner in the place once and that was good (only reason I didn't eat there the 2nd night was I like to try a different place each night). Would I go back to the Nuevo Arlanza? Most definitely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Location-room-breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restaurant was very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Food was placed on the table while we were still enjoying the previous course and the cutlery was so of thrown on the table. She blankly refused to try to explain what the Spanish dishes were in English. It came all down to her attitude. In the morning the building smelt of smoke because on of the staff was smoking in the doorway of the hotel.

    Location-room-breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Great Stop Over
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was clean and comfortable with excellent value food and a great location. They even allowed us to park our motorcycles in the porch area in an otherwise no parking zone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Wouldn't go back not just the hotel but the place. Too hard parking. They all eat too late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was hot a/c did not work. Couldn't open window right over street with restaurants. Staff very up and down. Asked could I take water to my room the woman said No then the gut said I could. One woman especially wants to change her job obviously does not enjoy what she does. Food not good as staff could not speak English so got some awful things. Oily egg was a worst example. Sick all night.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Very very Spanish, no tourists other than Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can not park in the village, must park outside and take your suitcase through the cobbled streets.

    Very very Spanish, no tourists other than Spanish. Lovely village and very picturesque.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    An old style hotel in keeping with the village. The village was beautiful and historical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location right in the centre of the town facing across the central plaza. Staff were friendly and the food was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had to park a very long way away on a busy Easter weekend. Probably would be easier at other times.

    Friendly staff, very good location. Nice big room with view over the square.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    Excellent location in this pretty town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We opted for the half board option and the evening meal choice was limited to a rather uninspiring menu del dia.

    Excellent location in this pretty town. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Showing 1 - 8

Guests also reviewed these properties: