Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nuevo Portil Golf 4 stars

Calle Cristobal Colón S/N , 21459 El Rompido, Spain

#1 of 9 hotels in El Rompido

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 920 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Ambiente tranquilo y de relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fuimos al bar pedir un club sandwish y nunca visto, increible que en un hotel de estos no saiban hacer un club sandwish y k nos.costo 8euros :(

    Ambiente tranquilo y de relax

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Three star not four star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Green Fee
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was only open for pre booked half board guests. There is a bar menu but its was pretty standard and the breakfast was a little disappointing in terms of quality.

    The golf course is fun

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great location, walking and golf, then relax ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, near sea and golf. Walking, golf, beautiful hotel. Staff courteous, happy, eager to please. Golf course good condition and value for money. Everything is on site at affordable price so you can relax and enjoy the bar, restaurant, cafe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food for diner was a little dissapointing not enough thought . Disliked the bill arriving to sign before meal was finished.

    Very clean. Close to golf course. Good course.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    This was an excellent base for our research and a good central location. Relaxing and we slept well!
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to ave had tea and coffee making facilities, very British I know but welcome at the end of a long day.

    The staff were wonderful, the hotel (everywhere) was spotless and smelt fresh and clean. The bed was superb, big and comfortable. The towels actually dried you, all the facilities especially the shower were excellent. NO smell of drains which is quite common in this part of Spain! Fabulous breakfast and great amenities. WiFi certainly worked in the rooms and two of us on laptops, working at the same time. Cannot recommend too highly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing few days in a beautiful area with fabulous beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only gripe is that some, but not all of the waiting staff seemed a little overwhelmed at times. Sometimes very busy and the wait for service could occasionally be slow. We booked on a room only basis and requested to eat in the restaraunt on one of the evenings. We were asked to choose all three courses at the start of our set menu meal and when each course arrived they were served by being banged down at the table without any words spoken and collected in the same manner until the next dish was rushed out and banged down again in front of us. Such a shame as the hotel is very pretty and in great surroundings, but in the restaraunt that evening it felt like we were back at school being served school dinners.

    Location was superb. Reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Golf shop excellent too. Facilities were just right. Clean as a whistle everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Quick, relaxing hotel in the countryside near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff could be a little friendlier. On the whole they were very professional but a smile or two goes a long way. However, the cleaning ladies always wished you good morning with a smile. The bathroom door had a gap all the way around it which meant less privacy.

    Quiet, relaxing hotel in the countryside near the beach. Outdoor pool with sun beds to relax on in amongst pine trees. Huge, comfortable bed. Food was very good. Had a little gym and a steam room & sauna. Definitely a place if you want to relax. The hotel is in the old English style of the area which we really liked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    A bad experience .. we will not come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think we made a mistake by booking this hotel during the weekend as the area was full especially on Sunday. Second, upon arrival we had a small glitch, our room is "junior suite" and max occupancy is 2. our son is 6 years old and we have been asked to book another room. It was too late (7:30 pm check-in time) to think of alternatives and cancel the whole booking. We reached to a deal that we can use the room but with extra charge!! I canceled the second night and stayed there for one night only. The room is overrated for the services that we received. Probably, this was the worst hotel that we had during our trip to Sapin. BTW, the gentleman in reception was friendly, but we had the first impression.

    Parking outside the hotel at no charge ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous and calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food in the poolside restaurant was just ok - didn't match the quality of the rest of the hotel. We didn't try the main restaurant for dinner. It's a little out of the way, but that's the trade off for getting a bit of peace and quiet!

    Gorgeous, serene hotel set in a golf course. The double room we booked was huge, with a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens and pool, and a generous bathroom and bath tub. Proper double bed that stayed in one piece, unlike a lot of continental hotels. Good breakfast. Staff were nice enough and spoke English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    A quiet hotel - no children - for rest and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not totally sure about the food available during the day. Did not eat in the hotel evenings

    A quiet hotel - no children - for rest and relaxation. Staff extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool availability from 11:00 AM. Basically on check-out date you have no time anymore for the pool.

    Clean, nice bathroom, view to the garden, pool, good breakfast. Location is very nice. Close to the hotel there is a nice place were you can walk by the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    The location is wonderful, immersed in a green area with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is wonderful, immersed in a green area with the beach just across the street. A nice parking area partially covered is also available to guests. The room was very spacious and clean, tastefully furnished with a wonderful nice terrace. The entire hotel is quiet and with a relaxing atmosphere, the swimming pool included. The breakfast is one of the best we ever had in a hotel, rich offer and high quality and served inside or on a terrace with a relaxing view of the green surroundings. Also the diner (a la carte) was very good, served inside in a cozy small diner area or outside with a view of the pool. The personnel is extremely professional, smiling and nice. We also took classes with a golf teacher: the golf fields were very nice and the golf teacher really good. We will certainly be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Lovely quiet relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big deal but Air conditioning not working when we arrived, the reception staff sorted for the day after.

    Excellent location for the beach. Hotel very clean. Room spacious (junior suite), very good facilities and staff were very friendly. Food lovely and lots of choice. Great snack bar for a quick spot of lunch!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    Absence of lift in the main building | The lack of quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Absence of lift in the main building | The lack of quality of some dinner dishes | The way some employes deal with the clients in the Reception = things to avoid in a 4 stars hotel...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great , coming again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go home

    Great quite hidden location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Quiet and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was poor Bed was a bit too firm (own opinion)

    Large rooms Lovely outlook Close to golf and beaches Pillows comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a comfortable small/ medium hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Nice swimming pool area. Easy parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    would go again if i could definitely recommend even though don't play golf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was delicious and innovative

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Short golf/coast stop in Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no issues other than we felt breakfast was expensive

    Friendly staff, clean, good location, good golf course

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    ++++++++ great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. all great

    Great location and facilities. Very good breakfast. Nice and quiet hotel. Would definitely return

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    La piscina y sus zonas recreativas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La piscina y sus zonas recreativas

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    I liked all of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glass door on the bathroom.

    I liked all of it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Great base for golf
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely style of building

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Good Food and a quiet spot

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bread and cakes for breakfast could be better quality....

    Lovely room and good clean bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Excellent in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent in every way. Location to all amenities could not have been better.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We ordered a hamburger in the hotel and we left it. Maybe the chef was new and forgot to add condiments.... The meat did not have any taste and as much ketchup as I possible could add, did not help at all. The hotel restaurant should have a variety of Spanish food, at least, to choose from.

    Very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    The room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was pouring with rain both days we were there and because the hotel's design offers no weather protection either from the car parking area to reception or worse still from the main reception foyer which also houses the dining areas and the hotel's other main amenities to the separate accommodation unit block, you get absolutely soaked whilst trying to negotiate luggage and the necessary cumbersome procedure of opening the non automatic doors!

    The room

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.6
    It was spotless, the staff were all so helpful, plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ramp covered from the main building to the accomodation building. High heels and wet ramps are not a good combination.

    It was spotless, the staff were all so helpful, plenty of free parking, and the breakfast was a good variety of everything.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    8.3
    The Hotel and location coupled with its own golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiting staff 'appeared' a little offhand with us English.

    The Hotel and location coupled with its own golf course. Rooms were large and comfortable. The dinners were high end, very rich and filling.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    It's a perfect and calm place to relax after a big city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a complain, but could be better for the bar to work a bit longer.

    It's a perfect and calm place to relax after a big city. Everyhing was great, clean rooms, tasty food, ferry takes you to the amazing beach that in comparison with the ohers nearby is quite empty.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    Big, quiet and comfortable rooms with quite a big balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On our last day wifi has not worked and the problem has not been fixed. Restaurant has a very limited menu and is not open all the day. In the afternoon you can only get sandwiches and fruits which are overpriced.

    Big, quiet and comfortable rooms with quite a big balcony.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    Overall hotel & staff were excllent and good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As golfers, if you play early but do not want breakfast its not possible to get a sandwich to take out with you. Also found the menu for lunch very limited.

    Overall hotel & staff were excllent and good value for money. Golf course is very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Great small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much

    Great small hotel. Staff are all very friendly and helpful, even kept some food for us including desert when we didn't arrive until 23:30. Beds are comfortable. Good pool. Great little golf course. Breakfast buffet included iberico, scrum my!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Nice design hotel with big rooms and very large comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a wide selection of food to eat in the evening, very limited menu. Didn't have any children's meals and no pasta.

    Nice design hotel with big rooms and very large comfortable bed. Quiet and plenty of space at the pool

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff, waitress's all very pleasant and helful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room made strange noise's at night, mainly due to the heat which caused expansion and contraction either from the roof or air handling unit

    The staff, waitress's all very pleasant and helful

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    The room was clean, spacious and the bed was very...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The range of toiletries could have been better as we were only travelling with hand luggage so we were hoping to have body cream and hair conditioner in the bathroom. As there were 2 of us, 1 little bottle of shower gel and shampoo wasn't enough.

    The room was clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    10
    Relaxing and quite location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Improve the quality of the restaurant food and breakfast buffet Smelly bathroom pipes

    Relaxing and quite location Nice sights of nature Excellent reception service

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    5.8
    The location was agreeable, the rooms were large and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi connection in the room.... i had to go and sit in the hotels office to use the internet. I was told it was going to be fixed but it never was. Diner : The only dinner served was a buffet that had little choice and what it did have was hardly more than below average caféteria food.... and this for 21 euros per person. Dining room was loud and the food was mediocre. The only other choice was sandwiches at the bar. The hotel advertises a restaurant on Booking.com but this is not what i would call a restaurant. Basically the hotel and the reception was not very warm or welcoming... It was more of a giant factory than a hotel

    The location was agreeable, the rooms were large and clean

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    10
    Lovely location and beaches, very comfortable, spotless...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely location and beaches, very comfortable, spotless rooms, very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.5
    But worn out apartments, swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi in rooms. And in reception unbalanced wifi

    But worn out apartments, swimming pool. Fine price/ quality

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is beautifully laid out - colonial style -in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is beautifully laid out - colonial style -in lovely grounds. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    No wheelchair access to breakfast area except kitchen lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wheelchair access to breakfast area except kitchen lift

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.0
    THE DECORATION, THE BEAUTY AND THE PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE DECORATION, THE BEAUTY AND THE PLACE

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    The hotel was easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was easy to find. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The pool and grounds were well maintained. Spacious rooms and bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    10
    Excellent rooms, great non-intrusive service, large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent rooms, great non-intrusive service, large comfortable rooms & beautiful surroundings.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: