Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Obispo 3 stars

Plaza del Obispo, s/n, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain

#10 of 38 hotels in Hondarribia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 749 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked an in-room safe.

    The hotel was just on the edge of the old town and our room had views over the estuary to France. We had a balcony with chairs and a gargoyle - that's a first! Staff were very friendly and happy to give advice on restaurants and how to catch the bus to San Sebastian. Breakfast was lovely with a friendly lady ready to cook bacon and eggs etc as required.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Bed, bathroom, location, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this was a busy festival weekend so we were not able to spend much time at the hotel. The location is very central and under normal circumstances it would be quiet. One night is not enough to make a judgement.

    Bed, bathroom, location, breakfast. everything was as expected .. A fine old building in a central location. Being a festival weekend the prices were higher than normal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there was a reggae concert in square on the Saturday night weren’t able to park car outside hotel so parked it in a car park where it got damaged.

    Lovely hotel. Convenient location. Rooms at back would probably be quieter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, one of the best I’ve stayed in. I would definitely return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only let down is there are no individual tea making facilities in the room so you have to go and collect from the restaurant.

    The location for the old town is excellent. The ambiance of the hotel is super. The rooms are very clean and kept tidy during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous four days in a friendly palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only tiny thing we didn't like was the lack of a lift, but it's a historic building, so it's fair enough.

    The room was stunning - it's well worth paying the extra for a superior room. There are two lounges for guests, as well as the cafe and terrace. The hotel has a quirky charm that we just loved. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've experienced, with an amazing array of savoury and sweet delicacies, plus crêpes, scrambled eggs and omelettes cooked to order. Nuria, the manager, is brilliantly efficient and very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, beautiful style, fantastic customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issue was that the bathtub shower was very small, although to be fair I think we had one of the smaller rooms in the place so I don’t think that would be an issue for most rooms

    Great location, beautiful style, fantastic customer service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain instead of glass panel - picky I know but struggling to think of anything negative

    Charming rooms. Lovely building. Great location. Great staff. Clean. Good size rooms. Wifi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Our room had a sweet balcony with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a sweet balcony with an amazing view. Loved all the stone... felt like we were staying in a castle! Staff was extra friendly with good recommendations for food and beach time. Breakfasts served plenty of food with a good variety. We’d come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, very helpful and friendly staff. We had a lovely big corner room with a balcony and windows each side which was a real treat. Large bed and a very spacious room. Its amazing what they have done with the castle to make it comfortable accomodation. Rooms serviced daily. Cafe's and bars all around this old town area. Loved our stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Good stopover on the way from France to northern Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has character and is in the old part of town. It was a good stopover and made a nice change from chain hotels. The staff were friendly and efficient, and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    A former Bishops Palace in Hondarribia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and as we were on the second floor it was three flights of stairs to carry up the luggage.

    Good location in the old town. Lovely views across the estuary to France. A small hotel full of character with an excellent breakfast. No issues with parking though as only a few spaces available it could be a bit of a problem. Short walk to seafront and a slightly longer walk to main beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Look no further. This hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay longer

    Loved living in a castle in the old town.. So much character and our room was perfect looking over bishop square. Very comfortable. Staff lovely and breakfast excellent value. Want to come back and stay in a superior room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Hondarriba hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to airport but not a lot of flights - not really an issue.

    Great location, quirky rooms with a sense of history. The building character has been respected in the fit out; Multi-lingual staff; generous breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved living in a former castle - very few mod cons but you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling up the stairs with luggage. Restaurant does not start serving main meals until 8pm.

    Loved living in a former castle - very few mod cons but you won’t book this hotel unless you want something different. We were in a Superior room 304 on the 3rd floor which had magnificent views over the park, harbour, airport across the water to magnificent mountains. Does it get any better? Parking at the back if you get there early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged extra for breakfast which was a very ordinary buffet and was quite expensive. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been appreciated.

    Lovely spacious room with small balcony looking over to France. Great location in the old town. Quiet. Good bar serving tapas and meals in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The staff are very helpful, thoughtful and informative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it's a heritage building, for tall people you may have to be mindful of the beams in the bathroom.

    The staff are very helpful, thoughtful and informative especially Bertha who patiently guided us to locate the hotel and parking who met us on arrival. She kindly offered to help us to our room in the upper floor seeing we struggled with many luggage upon getting lost and arriving late. The location is great to visit this quaint ancient town and our room has a fantastic view of the city and harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was just lovely, rooms were full of character with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was just lovely, rooms were full of character with arched stone doors and windows. Good views. Just a little different from new hotels that all look the same. All the staff were friendly and helpful, we hope to return again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A pleasure to stay in with excellent location within the historic part of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has the history and construction of many of the Spanish Paradors which are scattered around Spain but this hotel was more personal and a fraction of parador prices when compared " like for like."

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful historic building in a great location and with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Beautiful historic building in a great location. Wonderful, friendly and efficient staff. Large, comfortable and charming rooms in the style of the property. Good bar too! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    peaceful , calm and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very lucky with parking - 1 place left just outside. Not sure about where extra parking place would be?

    good location - short ramble to local restaurants down on the main street where there is a lively atmosphere and wide range of eateries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A gem for a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Charming 15th century home with total modern comfort. Excellent location for both the village, and the nearby Spanish and French towns and resorts. Superb service. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    A great location in a beautiful small town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An old-school hotel in a beautiful location. It's in the old part of Hondaribbia with great old-town charm. The town itself is beautiful. If you're a bit unsteady on your feet, worth knowing that there's no lift up to those second floor rooms at the top but that's also part of this hotel's authentic charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Traditional Spanish Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Traditional Spanish Hotel in centre of old town. Very clean rooms and public areas - really helpful staff. Excellent breakfast selection including freshly made hot breakfast. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    The breakfast in the room was an excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast in the room was an excellent service. The city is stunning and we will be back and would definitely stay here again. The gin and tonics we’re perfect by the fire before dinner and after! Thank you all

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely come back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small glitch with toilet flush but didn’t spoil the stay .

    Good size room ,good value ,exceptional toiletries ,very clean .location superb for the town . Characterful hotel .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in the centre of the old town. We travelled in December the weather was miserable but the hotel was warm with a large stove lighting in the guest area which made the hotel warm and cosy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay, just into Spain, 15 min from motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not much

    Nice hotel, good location in the old town, good rooms, friendly staff. NB: quite a lot of steps, no lift..good exercise! Nearby bars and restruants good. Mid October hotel restruant closed ( for refurbishment?)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    This is a great hotel in the old part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great hotel in the old part of town. It’s near a square with good bars and it’s a quick walk down to the rest of the town. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only 6 parking spaces for the hotel. We were lucky in that the helpful reception managed to secure one for us on arrival. Otherwise it is public parking down a steep hill. Entrance to hotel is at the rear so case carrying can be problematic - quite a few stone steps to negotiate. In retrospect, these are minor niggles as the hotel is beautiful, ancient and in a splendid location. Tapas bars down in town are to die for.

    Fabulous room with balcony and a turret terrace with chairs and table. If only the weather had been good enough to enjoy it. Great views. Comfortable interior and very good breakfasts. We ate lunch in the cafe attached to the hotel and it was delicious. Our room was enormous and had comfy chairs and good quality bed linens. TV a bit patchy but local service was being changed to HD so I guess that caused a problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Breakfast was wonderful and staying in an old castle was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Breakfast was wonderful and staying in an old castle was the best. We decided this hotel was the best on we stayed in in the region and wished we had been able to stay longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.8
    We have stayed at this hotel before so knew the area well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The main complaint was that booking.com stated that the price would be 98euros per night but we were charged 790 euros (no meals included). Having spoken to the reception staff they confirmed that the price would have been much less had we made the booking by phone directly to the hotel. It seems that an error has been made either by the hotel or more likely by booking.com. The price was taken from our account well before we arrived there.

    We have stayed at this hotel before so knew the area well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Stunning location, hotel full of character and friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are bijou (small). Lots of steps. Shower over bath instead of full shower.

    Full of character. Well appointed rooms. Great location. Excellent [free] wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Good stay in a historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only 6 parking spaces in front of the hotel and all were full. We parked where the locals were parking but somehow we were the only car that got towed away. It took 2 hours and 100 euros to get it back again. Beware the parking if all 6 spaces are gone.

    Central location in the old town right in front of one of the oldest squares. Good breakfast and friendly staff Easy to take the bus to San Sebastián as timetable is in the bus stop immediately down from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.5
    Disappointing to say the least
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom fixtures are so old that there is little enamel left on the bathtub surface. The dressers, chairs and bed headboards look like collection day discards. The single beds push together suggested a dormitory at a nunnery rather than a romantic interlude.

    We only had to stay in the room until 5:30 am. It is better than sleeping in a barn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointed: no bath, despite booking confirmation, and room gloomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking: Private parking unavailable. Had to resort to public car park. Room provided without bath, despite specifying when booking. Staff apologetic but unhelpful. Room gloomy and dark. Lack of restaurant.

    Location in old city and ancient building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    3.8
    Horrible! Noisy, small bed, toilet-bathroom mansard with law ceiling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed very small for 2, 185 sm tool=fits out of bed. An old clim sisteme noisy ,mansardé ,windows don't protect from noise of airport,road,work of construction near and cat trees in garden from 8 AM. Don't have a lift, and help for bagages wasn't proposed for 3 floor.

    La ville. Extérieur du hôtel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location in a beautiful old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on top floor and we had to carry our luggage up three flights of stairs.

    Location was excellent and the room and amenities were also very good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    The birds swam by
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast garden was so relaxing, the birds hid in the ivy covered wall and watched the fish swim by, the castle keep fireplace in the downstairs lounge was big enough for three to stand in, and they make a gin tonic that cures all the worlds troubles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Views overlooking France in beautiful historic centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was a little tired, it needs freshening up and some new furniture. It was very expensive.

    The location - excellent. The building was stunning, loved the space in our room and our balcony with fabulous views. The bed was extremely comfortable - quality sheets. Hondarribia is a lovely, beautiful diverse town - everything from the historic centre to the promenade and beach, is within walking distance. There is an elevator if you wish to avoid the very manageable climb up to the old town centre!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in beautiful old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old hotel in centre of old Medieval walled town. Close to cafes & restaurants, Tourist Info. centre. It was great to walk around this small old area with interesting houses and narrow cobbled lanes. Staff were excellent, very helpful, room was a good size with a garden view. Breakfast was also excellent and good value. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.8
    Too expensive for the kind of service we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff polite but rather cold and impersonal, not really friendly. Too expensive for what it is. We booked in April for a certain rate and saw that the rates were lower on their website in July. We felt cheated and the hotel did not try to make us feel any better, did not even apologise. Narrow shower with plastic curtain instead of glass screen.

    Nice breakfast. Charming decoration of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had little natural light and bathroom in need of upgrading- especially shower and cubicle. Hot water not always available

    Old building good sized room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Location in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was off site on street - very few nearby spaces available in the evening when we arrived. Hotel maintains only 7 spaces on site for guests.

    Location in old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Charming quirky hotel in lovely medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the nearby small airport is a bit intrusive, although there aren't many flights. The hotel has no lift and many stairs. The staff don't offer help with luggage. Some rooms are rather cramped with small windows.

    The hotel is in the absolutely charming centre of old Hondarribia, in a 16th century building. The best rooms have balconies with lovely views, these are good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel in a good location for the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no lifts so luggage has to be carried up stairs and our sat nav tried to take us to the hotel up a flight of stairs so you need to plan your route in.

    Reception staff helpful and the hotel delivers as advertised.The property is situated on a little plaza and has a nice bar across from the hotel which we preferred to the hotel bar. The old town has several restaurants but the bulk of the restaurants and bars are a 10/15 minute walk in the more modern part of the town.The hotel only has 7 car parking spots but there is a good free car park 5 minutes walk away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Winner winner winner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    I love the historical aspect it was beautiful charming be lovely views fantastic restaurant downstairs great idea sorry to have to leave it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic historic building within the walls of the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No warning before checking in that parking is restricted to 6 cars next to the hotel (inevitably all full) so after dropping bags you have to move your car 5-10 mins walk away to free roadside parking, but no big deal. Room relatively small, with limited privacy as window opened virtually onto public terrace/bar

    Fantastic historic building within the walls of the old town, beautifully converted retaining original features with all mod cons. Well signed and easy to find. Hotel within 5 mins walk of wide variety of fantastic restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    We found the staff very helpful particularly at breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All day bar

    We found the staff very helpful particularly at breakfast and the bar. A lot of steps but the room on the ground floor was very suitable for us. It was good to be central and we will come again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Hotel Obispo can make a fantasy come true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is vary charming hotel that was once a castle like mansion. Many of the stone archways and Gothic doors still exist lookout the rooms and stairwells.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    A charming hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything! The hotel is very comfortably and cleverly organized in old buildings which were parts of the city walls: it looks superb, like the rest of the old city of Hondarribia!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location and old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The inside bar area was a bit like a cafe not very comfy but we sat outside most nights anyway. Nice lounge with comfy seats though through the back of the hotel.

    Great location in the old part of town. Nice big bedroom with a window to the side - big window pity it didn't open fully only the top half opened. Outside area was nice too with great views down to the sea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Very quaint hotel, nicely located in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. Great location in the old city. Also very close to public transport (bus) from San Sebastian. Room was very quaint and quite spacious. Excellent restaurants within walking distance, including a one Michelin star restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    The Obispo is in the old town close to the Parador and makes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no lift. This is OK unless, like us, you are on the second or third floor.

    The Obispo is in the old town close to the Parador and makes good use of it's spectacular medieval architecture. Our room was very large on the third floor with wonderful views over the estuary into France. The staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice lovely little rustic style hotel, with a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They only have 6 parking placesl, however, there is a free parking right by the hotel which the staff kindly told us about; so in the end we didnt have any problems at all with the parking.

    Very nice lovely little rustic style hotel, with a nice terrace and an amazing breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    great position for exploring the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double room and ticked the box to have a double bed , but on arrival , the woman on the reception said that we would have to pay an extra 30 Euro to have a double bed . So as it was just 1 night we declined .

    The views of the open courtyard below and the sea and harbour in the distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.3
    Great historic old building; solid offering
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking hit or miss (a miss when we arrived, and a hit later in our stay). Public areas of hotel could be more thoughtfully and comfortably furnished–seemed a little sparse/utilitarian.

    Attractive old building–management should consider telling its history more forthrightly to their guests. Beautiful views into France and to the south. Tucked into a neat, quiet square. Solid breakfast in a congenial-feeling room. Nice toiletries. Comfortable bedding.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Fancy place to stay with a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not only the hotel's building itself but also its quiet and cosy neighborhood made us feel as if we had stepped into a medieval quarter. We also enjoyed splendid views even from our room in the attic. The staff were nice to smile at us on the corridors and very kind to let us into the room at 11 am when it became available.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    A little piece of Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old hotel and there was a little noise from fellow guests as they arrived, but nothing else.

    Gorgeous hotel, well situated in a beautiful town. Really comfortable and an excellent breakfast, to boot!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Lovely place to stay if you can get room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked we said that a room with a view would be a bonus. They gave us a room which overlooked the river on one side and the square on the other and to top it off we had a lovely balcony to sit and enjoy it all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Gem in a quiet scenic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff. Stones throw to a Michelin starred restaurant. Property sits right in the town square. Walking distance to laundromat, grocery store and bay front promanade with numerous restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.8
    good value in a unique building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    constantly under supervision or so it felt by one of the staff, very strange

    the building and public areas are in a castle on the city walls,reception excellent and we enjoyed the local area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.3
    Welcoming staff and picturesque location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very comfortable and spacious but had inadequate light for our needs at times.

    Loved the welcome from the staff and the location in the quaint old town area of Hondarribia. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    A real treasure of a location to use to explore this part of Spain and the Basque Region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was brilliant inside old city walls. Staff were positive and always helpful. Very clean facilities. Great Bar area with outside facilities and good tapas. Old building but very sensitively modified to provide good accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Take a step back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a low roof (attic room) so we had to watch our head on the beams, but then that was also part of the charm of our particular room. Ancient rough wooden beams and skylight windows.

    Very unique hotel in an old stone palace. Each room is unique and decorated nicely. Very "old world" feeling about the place. Excellent breakfast. Easy bus access to San Sebastian. Hondarribia was a lovely little spot to spend a few days.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Stunning beautiful town worth a journey, historic and quiet hotel in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is poor quality, parking is difficult.

    Excellent location, good quality bed and room setting with historic feel. Helpful and friendly staff. Great restaurant nearby; Alamera correct priced one Michelin star, outstanding, we found with help of hotel staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location in old part of the town and only a 10 min walk to lively harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest lounge in basement.

    Lovely room and view over the harbour. Room a little dated but spotless.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    One night stay - unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent. close to the coast and the Old Town.

    One night stay - unfortunately. A week would have been much better

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    The only downside to this facility was that we had to hand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside to this facility was that we had to hand carry our luggage up three flights of stairs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with an upgrade

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Center of all town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from bar on live music night until 2pm.

    Staff were friendly. The room was nice, although a bit dark.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location in the old town. Balcony and view from superior rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only available for one night - we wanted two

    Everything about our stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Location at the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little dated but just fine.

    Location at the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient for the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included in the basic room rate

    Very convenient for the town. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Obispo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room.at this price should.include breakfast. The Wi-Fi signal was not that good.

    Great location in the old.town, excellent bar for tapas next door.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: