Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Occidental Bilbao 4 stars

Avenida Zumalakarregi, 40, 48006 Bilbao, Spain

#26 of 49 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2263 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend and will return many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    I travelled alone, first time since my husband died. Felt safe , comfortable and relaxed. A good place for people traveling alone. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Quiet location with good views over the City. Only 3 minutes to Metro station which made acces to t
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised as having an Indoor pool and gym available to gusets but these facilities very expensive

    Well equipped rooms, on site parking and outdoor pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    There was a wedding taking place but nobody at the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding taking place but nobody at the reception did mention it or apologied for any inconvenice. I had to get up at 4.30 am to go to the airport, so the loud music was annoying! At least they should have told me without asking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Very modern and it has everything you would expect from a 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather a long way to walk down into the old part of the city and then back up again. However to get to the Guggenheim museum the number 48 bus stop is really close and takes you there in 15 minutes.

    Very modern and it has everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Great food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    Get somewhere closer to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the cost, we were in a dodgy part of town. Check-in staff were rude. Unclear if the water in the mini fridge was complimentary or not. For the price, I expected more. The gym should have been free due to the cost of the stay. Bar staff in this day and age should not be handing out nuts in the bar area. We didn't do breakfast for obvious reasons.

    It visually looks lovely and there is an artificial grass area for sunbathing which is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay and very friendly/helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful reception and staff members. We have initially booked the hotel for 3 nights. We wanted to stay one more night but the hotel was fully booked. They have managed to arrange one more night for us to stay. We have really appreciated for that. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    The bed was really comfy and the room service was tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication was poor, shower was awful, no toilet paper in room, music at pool was loud and terrible, staff didn’t seem very friendly - overall not the experience that I would have expected from a 4 star hotel. The location isn’t great, but we were aware of that at the time of booking. I wouldn’t stay here again.

    The bed was really comfy and the room service was tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi didn't work... staff did try to fix it though. Have to pay to use the gym... shouldn't advertise if it's not included in price.

    Gorgeous lobby... super clean...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with frriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought the parking was very expensive, but considering there was nowhere else to park, had to be done. Staying 4 nights did make a big extra.

    The bed was extremely comfy and the room was very quiet. The staff were very friendly, especially the evening waiters. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    Clean, Modern Hotel, located on the wrong side of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very urban right next to a main road and lots of housing and 10 minutes on the Metro from Bilbao Centre. The pool and gym were an extra €8 Euro's per visit to use which should be included in a Hotel that is costing over €125 Per Night. My room was meant to be a Superior Room but in all honesty no better than a standard Premier Innin the UK

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was immaculately clean. The decor was very modern and the lounge was relaxing. Handy location for the Bilbao Metro network which is a 3 minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfully comfy hotel with amazing bar staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked this hotel as it was one of the only ones in Bilbao with a pool area - unfortunately, as the pool was also used by gym members (from the gym downstairs) we found there were never any sunbeds around the pool free which was a little disappointing as we would have liked to have used it a little due to the heat whilst we were there. Also, some of the reception desk staff could be a little unfriendly but not so so much that it spoiled our holiday. That is the only two things I can think of though and weren't majorly annoying to us - we still had a fab stay there!

    We really enjoyed staying at this hotel - our room was so comfy and very spacious/clean. The beds were amazingly comfy - we slept like a log every night! In particular for us, what made the holiday was the bar staff - they were absolutely awesome - in particular, the stand out people for us that should be highly commended are as follows: David, Carlos, Mamadou and Joseba - they made us feel so welcome and because of this, we ended up eating in the hotel every night (the food was great too! The brownie with cherry ice cream was to die for!) They worked so hard and always had everything neat and tidy in the bar/restaurant areas - we didn't see it untidy once. These guys deserve a pat on the back from the management.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    Located far from the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located far from the old city.. more than 20 min. By walk.. The room is not that big, as they promise you. I specialty order a bathroom because we came with a 3 month old baby.. and didn’t get it. The food is nice. The staff are really nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable, clean hotel, with easy access to city centre and lovely pool area as a bonus.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times we had to wait several minutes to be served by reception staff or bar staff. Not because they were busy with other people but they just weren’t on the desk and nowhere to be seen. So if you are in a hurry to book a taxi or for information don’t leave it til the last minute! When we had used the coffee sachets and tea bags in the room they were not replenished, not a big problem unless like me you want a cup of coffee very early.

    The rooms were spacious. Air conditioning very efficient and not noisy. Bathroom excellent and well stocked with toiletries. Beds very comfortable. Pool area one of the cleanest I have ever used with comfortable sun loungers. Location is good as it is only 300m to metro stop. Also not being in the centre it is peaceful at night but only 10 minutes by metro to Casco Viejo and El Ensanche areas. Reception area also very pleasant and comfortable to sit in of an evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for city break, pool a bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit further away from the city centre than I would have liked but the metro was close by. The pool area could do with some more seating and somewhere to get drinks.

    Breakfast was good and it was nice to have a pool. The staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Superbly comfortable and welcoming accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of!

    We had a really enjoyable stay! The staff were super helpful and gave a few add ons when we arrived without even asking. The room was superb and the location ideal for exploring Bilbao.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Good stay in Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not feel that cozy. Also the breakfast, although good, was overpriced.

    Definately a plus: lobby, restaurant and the pool area. The hotel has a good feel and is well run. I also appreciated the design.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Pool very nice and lounge area
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on 2nd floor below meeting room sound of furniture being moved above at night. No storage space e.g drawers for storage

    Pool very nice and lounge area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay and relax during a visit to Bilbao. Airy and comfortable with great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was emptied during our stay so out of bounds. Gym was not free which wasn’t clear on website

    Reception area was perfect to relax with drink, overlooking amazing views. Drinks were reasonably priced and food good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Big room, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realise a ‘double superior room’ here is two single beds pushed together and still made up as single beds...not a double - not ever had this before. After some interesting discussion we were moved. Be careful of this as they see it as normal. Pool full of people from the gym isn’t our scene.

    Big room, very clean. Easy walk up hill from Santuxu metro station. Google maps doesn’t work well so take the exit to Zabalbide, go up hill then left at main road. Had a foot injury and staff gave me bags of ice each evening - much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Food in hotel nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out the way. A fifteen minute walk to Old Town, but down about half a mile of steps. Unless you are fit, get the Metro. Not much to do once you get there either. Not impressed with Bilbao of I'm honest. Wouldnt return. Okay as. stop through hotel for a night or two.

    Food in hotel nice Clean room Near to metro

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Expensive, but good spot for car-equipped travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more forthcoming, altogether - rather expensive. Fusion with the gym (Metropolitan) creates an odd atmosphere - you may feel that you are an intruder to the system. Room small/cramped for the money.

    Very good location, close to the centre and to the airport (15 min easy drive). As the hotel has a very good car park (pricey though - 19 euro/day) it's worth to have a car and drive to San Sebastian and Biarritz (in France - great charm, better than San Sebastian)(1 hr to SS, 1hr 50 to Biarritz). Excellent beds, good breakfast, all pretty clean. If you are going to visit Guggenheim try to plan it when there is a good temporary exhibition (we've seen excellent Chagall one) - otherwise it may be quite disappointing; building is not everything. From the permanent stuff - do not ignore and walk through Richard Serra ground floor large iron torque sculptures: an interesting experience even for non-modern art lovers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel with great pool and comfy beds. Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I would say is that breakfast is a little expensive.

    We really enjoyed our stay here. It's a little bit away from the centre but not so far that it is an issue - there are good transport links and we really enjoyed the walking. The pool is fab and the bar is a lovely chilled out area for a drink or one of their delicious club sandwiches. Staff were lovely and we really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff needed at breakfast time. You could have an omelette made to order but only staff available on first morning !!!! On last morning staff had to be phoned from reception!!!! Maybe a bell at the omelette station would be helpful

    Very clean hotel . Food good Staff friendly Very comfotable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and high spec hotel - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much - lack of wardrobe space would be the only issue internally but this should not really detract from a wonderful hotel. Bit of a trek (20 mins) to city centre which constitutes a major climb on return but a bus costs just 1.30 Euros and a taxi 6.65 Euros so not an issue.

    Efficient yet relaxed ambience in public areas. Sofas very comfortable. Staff very accommodating and helpful; restaurant waiting staff particularly attentive and considerate. Evening meal excellent and good value. Walk in shower great and powerful. Best pillows we have come across ever! Beds very comfortable. Good sized fridge and access to desk area despite three beds in room. Liked the multiple charging ports in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel which made our stay in Bilbao really pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes the staff can appear a little flippant on the front reception desk and chat to each other when guests are queuing to be dealt with.

    What a wonderful hotel. We loved that we could walk down some steps straight into the Old Town of Bilbao and it was around the corner from the metro station. The outside pool was great especially after a long day sight-seeing or at the Guggenheim. We didn't want to leave, especially as the beds were so comfortable and the air-conditioning was so good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Nica and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fresh veggetables for breakfast. Staff was ok. Price a bit too high.

    Nica and clean rooms. Outdoor pool is a plus. Location near metro station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    "An Excellent Hotel"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was perfect !!

    As soon a you arrive at the Hotel, you know that you have picked a good one. From reception you gaze out of the big floor to ceiling windows to the wide expanse of Bilbao city. The foyer and adjacent bar are modern, with nice furnishing and mood lighting. Our room on the fifth floor was immaculate, light modern tones throughout, give that warm welcoming feel, the bedding was of high quality and the bed itself gave us a sumptuous restful sleep. The Breakfast Buffet was excellent, the Chef was available each morning to cook anything that could not already be found in the vast array of food before you, like the rest of the Hotel the staff here were excellent, always with a smile and warm welcome. There are lots of things The Occidental Hotel has that many others don't. A large outdoors area with a great swimming pool as its centre piece and a fully equipped gymnasium for guests wanting to keep in shape or work on loosing a couple of excess kilos. The on site Restaurant and Bar that is open till late each night that adds to the convenience that the Hotel offers. We always enjoy value for money, at The Occidental Bilbao you are getting a five star Hotel, for the price of a three star Hotel, it was a great stay, a great Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    €19 is a bit steep for overnight parking

    Friendly English speaking staff Good sized & clean room & bathroom Excellent breakfast Super location for old town Convenient late (12:00) checkout

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Great staff, very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, welcoming and stored our luggage both before we checked in and after we. Checked out. Good food, great bed and air conditioning. 20 mins walk from old town, 25 mins door to door from the Guggenheim (on the metro). Didn’t try the pool but my kids said it was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    An excellent place to stay for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An excellent place to stay for a short break. The open plan bar and lounge area is a pleasant place to have a drink and relax. The Hotel is near the excellent Bilbao metro making it easy to get into the city centre. Very good breakfast. Efficient and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cruel together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not connecting with hotel,but our expirience with nice town Bilbnao,'couse we've been robbed in the old city,in the middle of the day, in the garden of one good restoran.

    Staff,breakfast,pool,parking,cosy stay for few days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was stacked/busy during the daytime. Also it seemed as if the (more lucrative side of the hotel) gym/spa users took priority over the hotel guests particularly when it came to the amenities for the pool. No robes provided etc.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly staff who were happy to help. Reasonable price. Cool bar with relaxed seating. We were able to leave the car in the car park after we’d checked out to see more of the city :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great location. Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unnecessary loud music played by the pool. Not ideal when I'm trying to relax.

    Friendly staff, great value for money, good location, tasty food, lovely room. Pleasantly surprised with the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely service. Nice pool and plenty of room to relax in the lobby area. Very comfortable. Safe parking. Big beds. Happy to have kids there. Generous buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean and comfortable, with a nice lobby area to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What you don't see from the photos is that the outdoor pool is beside a major road. Although you can't see the road from the pool because of the fake hedging, you can hear the constant traffic when you are poolside. We had a room facing away from the road so couldn't hear the traffic in the rooms. The staff at check-in in the afternoon was also quite rude, although I made, paid for the booking and was doing the check-in, she changed the name on the reservation to my husband's, and when I asked why she told me rather aggressively 'it doesn't matter, just sign it.'

    The hotel is located in the Bergona district of Bilbao, right behind the Basilica. It is at the top of the hill and a pleasant walk down into the historic old town of Bilbao. The hotel staff gave us a map and directions of how to walk into town. What they don't tell you is that you can take the lift in the Casco Viejo metro station (€3.50 for 10 tickets) back up past the steepest part of the return walk. The bedrooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant average. The staff in the restaurant and morning front desk were friendly even though we spoke rather poor Spanish. There is a spacious and comfortable lounge area to rest and relax.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and if the price was right would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the room wasn't the best. Also we had to pay an extortionate amount to park the hire car, which i felt was a lot more than it should have been. Around €18 per day! I also had a gritty tortilla sandwich, which I assume was due to dirty potatoes being used.

    The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The shower was really lovely and spacious. The poolside area was very relaxing and pool a good size. The reception was very modern and enjoyable to hang around in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Good, not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast 16€, fried chicken burger not so great, bar not open at late hours, indoor swimming pool/sauna not included in the booking

    Room was very nice, spacious and clean. Can leave luggage after checking out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Free parking 10-15 minute walk to beach bit noisy at night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air on. Breakfast could be better. Like a school canteen

    Free parking 10-15 minute walk to beach bit noisy at night as had window open as no air on. Perfectly acceptable for 1-2 nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. It was on a different part of the map on the Booking.com app. When I flew in and entered the address at the airport, I had a big surprise. It wasn’t too far from downtown, but far enough to be inconvenient for my travel plans. Family room was small. King bed with twin chair next to it turned into sofa bed. Not what I was expecting based on the description.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Highly Recommended would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    little away from center of town. However only 1 stop on the metro located 5 min walk fro hotel and great to use. Great having the pool on hot days. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    Expectations not met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disinterested check and check out staff. Bar food was cold and unappetising far below the standard expected

    The pillows were the most outstanding feature!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    The food/drinks were generally good value for a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to sit outside for a drink/food etc. The 'terrace' is actually completely covered, there's just glass walls but it's not outside. Very disappointing when the weather is nice No drinks allowed by the pool, and you must pay extra if you want to use the indoor pool. Our 'superior double' room was 2 twin beds pushed together with individual sheets/bedding etc and there was very little storage space for clothes etc

    The food/drinks were generally good value for a hotel. And facilities new and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was pleasant, the rooms well equipped and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was horrible, gated, plastic grass no bar it was like a council run pool

    The hotel was pleasant, the rooms well equipped and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Very near the center of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool is big, but the same depth everywhere (read:shallow). So do not dive! :)

    Very near the center of the town. It is on a hill, so a walk back can be tough, although there are some escalators (!) on the way when you take the right route. Another option is the metro; just one stop. Friendly staff,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stylish hotel with good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is not included with the room, at least the indoor swimming pool could have been. Location was about 15mins walk from the old town but the parking facilities were good for us.

    Great stylish hotel with good parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    I could not fault the hotel or staff who were always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I could not fault the hotel or staff who were always friendly and helpful. The hotel entrance and foyer area were very comfortable allowing for a relaxing morning coffee and evening wine. Would look to use this chain again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and miserly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was poor, as was the re-filling of hot items. The hotel advertises an indoor pool but that is not true - they merely offer discount on a neighbouring indoor pool and gym. The outdoor pool towel policy is mean and overly fussy (one towel per stay and €1 charge for a fresh one!). We had a “superior” double room, but it was in no way remarkable - can’t see at all what it offers above a normal room. Reception staff on check in were impatient. All in all, overpriced and miserly.

    Location is good. Pool is clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    I whish I had booked somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was closed.. there is no opportunity to sit out side to enjoy the sun or read a book or something. You need to pay additional fee to go the SPA 20 euro's. It's far away from the center. I think there are a lot of other opportunities in Bilbao!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is perfectly located to explore Bilbao, very comfortable and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing -

    Location - well positioned The old town is walkable (downhill) and the nearest Metro is 5 minute walk away. Facilities - Very good - outdoor pool, lobby area great for relaxing, coffee available along with pastries Room - very comfortable and all the usual facilities Staff - very friendly Value for money - Excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Unfrieldly staff who showed us to a room that already had a couple staying in it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in staff barley smiled at check in. They didn't direct us to the right elevator to get to our room, instead watched us go to the wrong elevator. The worst part being when we got to our room, they had given us the key to a room which had people staying in it! We walked in on people which was awful for both them and us. Barley any apology at reception. The next room we got was a twin, when we had booked a double. We walked around the hotel for 20 minutes looking for access to the pool, again, no mention of it at reception. Al in all, they were most unhelpful and wouldn't stay here ever again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    A mixed picture but more positives than negatives
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little disappointing e.g. the wardrobe area was an open space, there were no English breakfast tea bags and only two tiny milk pots which were not replaced during our stay.

    The pool is excellent (and we are swimmers). The large areas in the front lobby for sitting, watching TV or having a coffee were great and appreciated. Overall, a mixed picture but in good weather the pool and outside sunbathing area was welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Common areas and prices for food/drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although paying peak season prices, checked in 1st June, the pool was closed as apparently it is not peak season yet and therefore not open.

    Common areas and prices for food/drink

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing for a 4 star hotel - I would have rated it as a 3 after our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool was not yet open and we had not been made aware of this.€20 each to use the indoor pool was very expensive considering we were guests. Reception staff although helpful if you asked a question were not overly helpful on our arrival - other places they ask if you want a map, know how to get to city centre/airport etc without having to ask.

    Maintenance staff were very friendly - sorted any issues we had immediately.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Great reception area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the front desk were rude and didn’t communicate clearly - I asked if the spa was included was told yes Then we were charged £20 pp and virtually told we were liars no one Would ever have told us it was included

    Great reception area Fab spa Nice room Lovely man serving in the coffee shop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    the bar and food on it were very expensive and it was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bar and food on it were very expensive and it was not obvious where the pool was so we ended up not using it which is why we stayed there in the first place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with iron n drawers for clothes. More milk for coffee. Have to pay for gym n pool.

    The beds n pillows were great. Coffee maker in room. Room cleaned v well everyday. Windows open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Quiet but close to town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed until arrival that the swimming pool doesn’t open until June. It’s was the only reason I booked this hotel!

    Quiet but close to town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with lovely facilities, friendly staff and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the parking was very expensive considering this hotel is not in the city centre and there is actually a lot of free off street parking in the nearby streets. I know the 19 Euro charge is clearly stated on the website and this is the fee for non-residents too and I think it would do no harm to discount the fee for hotel residents to maybe 10 Euros per day.

    Good location. Lovely public spaces and the room was spacious and clean and light. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast was superb. The health club attached to the hotel was excellent and the gym was available for hotel guests to use for a small fee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay but not value for money this weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €20 per day extra to use the indoor pool. Ridiculous price. Accommodation prices were massively inflated because of the European cup finals (rugby).

    Lovely hotel. Good food, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city centre, breakfast poor for such a hotel, pool only open from June. They don't tell you that.. just "seasonal"

    Clean and helpful staff, taxis came quickly. Close to metro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    relaxed Bilbao experience with a luxury touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderfull location near old Church and a park. Walking distance from city center. Beautifull route via old stairs. Supermarket nearby. Great lounge where you can also get a Small breakfast (i did not book breakfast). Good bed, not too soft.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Our stay with friends in Bilbao was very enjoyable however the hotel was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we booked the hotel specifically because it had a pool and on the two days it was 26 degrees it was locked up . It would have been lovely to have a been by the pool on such nice days.

    It was ok and nothing else

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Pretty clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's not so close to city centre. Also we wrote in comments that we have sleeping problems few months in advance and asked for very quite room. And we got a room next to central ventilation system and had to asked to be moved to other rooms. Also hotel has a serious lack of windows' handlers and we were told if we need to open or close our window we have to asked personal to come and do it every time.

    Pretty clean and comfortable. Nice lobby zone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Silent but not what it looks to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi in the room (6th floor) was terrible, except during the night, suggesting they have a capacity problem. Often I had to turn wifi off and on every 15-20 seconds to get a signal during the day. At best, it would be ok for a few minutes. In the lobby area the wifi was ok. No toilet brush. The bathroom door had a layer of dust, suggesting it is some time since they cleaned the room for dust. The hotel includes a lot of photos of the spa and gym, which was one of the reasons why I booked this hotel. However, these facilities all belong to a different company, a sports club. The advertisement says that hotel guests have a discount to access the spa and gym. However, while a regular member of the spa and gym pays 70 euro or less (e.g. if senior member) per month for a membership (available to anyone), hotel guests must pay 8 euro for the gym or 20 euro for the spa (including gym) on each visit. Hence, after four spa visits a hotel guest has paid more than anyone would have to pay per month as a regular member. I would not call this a discount. Thus, the hotel has a nice lobby area and rooms in terms of interior design, but the pools, spa and gym are not part of the hotel and come as expensive extras. In my opinion the photos and discount statement are deliberately misleading, and the hotel should not be rated as 4*. Breakfast would comes at an extra 16 euro per meal. When a regular room booked well in advance costs about 115 euro per night, and spa and breakfast add 36 euro extra per night, I question the value for money.

    As requested the room was silent. Safe was large enough to store computers in it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed the outdoor pool wasn't open and thought it was a bit cheeky to ask for 20 euros to use the indoor pool

    Lovely staff. Very comfortable room. Good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    shame that the hotel cleanliness and food let down the lovely front of house staff that work here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here because it said it was 550m away from Bilbao exhibition centre which is categorically untrue - taxi ride of 15-20 mins - I should have checked a map but it was so last minute I just accepted the info I read Room service food - I order this as I was travelling alone and it was late - in all honesty it was inedible - just dreadful food. I place tray outside door as you normally do and I was still there the next morning along with 6-7 other trays down the corridor. The floor was dirty also - there was mud all over it Outside seating had a lot of un-cleared glasses and plates which is just not nice when you want to enjoy a drink in the sun after a long days work

    Staff were lovely and really accommodating - they allowed me a late check out no dramas because of an information issue regarding location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Good for a short stay, fonctional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive for the value. The room is not particularly beautiful. The spa is not included in the price of the room. The bed structure is a bit too squeaky.

    The restaurant is very good as well as the breakfast. The bathroom is beautiful and clean. The room has a good size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That everything has an additional charge. €20 for one person 1 day for the gym and spa. €16 for the breakfast and approx €20 to park for the day. All a bit excessive

    Good transport links, the shower and on site facilities were food, although for a fee. Clean and spacious. Helpful staff and large comfy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we went to buy a bottle of beer and a packet of crisps from the fridge by reception and it came to 7.50 euros. That's overpriced.

    Very comfortable beds and the pool table is free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    A lobby with a view. Perfect if it would include gym and some wellness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact we couldn't use the gym and indoor pool for free. I misunderstood that the spa facilities and gym aren't included. We didn't mind staying a bit further from the city center in return for some wellness. There is no clear information about the additional charges upfront. It could be an USP.

    The sincere recommendations of the receptionist regarding the pinxtos bars and parking spots. The bath in our room. Very accessible by car. Modern, spacious, cosy lobby. With a view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall, nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we couldn’t open the window. Breakfast could be cheaper, good quality although not the biggest variety you could find.

    The Apple computers in the lobby and the bar. (Although they don’t serve cocktails)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. Pretty much perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, no complaints at all. Maybe the parking was a little expensive but that's it.

    The main entrance and seating area was beautifully laid out, I felt comfortable straight away. All the staff were helpful and I would 100% stay here again if I return to Bilbao!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel for business stays.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be closer to the city center but then it becomes further away from airport. For business it is not an issue.

    Close to airport. Clean. Have plenty of parking space - not free. Good quality stay. Fast and easy WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for the pool/spar/gym was a bit of a downer

    The bed was amazing, huge and extremely comfortable. Great location with very cheap metro system around the corner

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    It was a lovely and comfortable hotel with friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool is not accessible with/by children aged 18<

    It was a lovely and comfortable hotel with friendly and competent staff. It has a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: