Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Occidental Lanzarote Playa 4 stars

Avenida del Mar, 6, 35508 Costa Teguise, Spain

#19 of 74 hotels in Costa Teguise

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 885 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The hotel is modern, clean rooms.Nice and big pools.Food was delicious during the day, big variety of food(e.g prawns,mussels,pork,beef,chicken,salads,fruit and desserts). 20 minute walk from Costa Teguise centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes at midnight which seemed a little early. Also it can get quite windy there so felt the umbrellas outside could be better suited so you weren't having to chase them around, could also do with some sort of cup holders as the amount of times drinks got blown over!

    A lovely hotel, friendly staff, very clean inside and out. Lovely pool areas for sunbathing and beautiful sea views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold swimming pools, even toddler repetitive weekly menu and entertainment, ok if staying for one week but being there for two it got a little boring. Not enough daytime entertainment, kids mini disco same every evening, not enough variety for kids menu both during the day and at night. Stray cats around pool area which generated a smell of cat poo

    Friendly staff, room facilities, overall cleanliness of hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the beach.... sadly there wasn't one :-( The location is not great but there is a free shuttle bus to Costa Teguise and the regular bus stops right outside the hotel so its not too bad, Bus cost €5.90 for two to Puerto Del Carmen.

    The food was fantastic. So much variety and always plenty of it no mater what time we arrived in to eat. Staff were beyond helpful, polite and very professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the location for poor walkers was a little out of the way but as we were with younger family it suited them fine. The free bus into Teguise was very good but a stop nearer the centre of Teguise would have been a great help. The entertainment was fair to middling but should be held in the main lounge not in the dingy salon which does not even have a bar and drinks have to be carried downstairs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff very grumpy and never smile only few people were pleasant. Food the same every day and not tasty at all- mostly chips and fish. Old fashioned music, no spanish music at all.

    Big respect for Valerie from the restaurant. She was always smiling and very helpful, real professional. Also some guys from the bar were very friendly and helpful. Drinks in all-in option were good. Big, comfortable beds and terrace, huge and deep swimming pool. Sea very close, but rocky beach almost no sand, but you can do snorkeling and see lots of nice fishes around you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is spacious. The bed is comfortable. The view of mountains and ocean is spectacular. Everything (even dinners) is included in the price. I checked in late at night (and missed the dinner), and the hotel staff even brought me something to eat in my room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    HI, I spent one week in this hotel with my family, the staff was lovely and the food was really nice. The animation team were amazing. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists did not speak or understand English very well so not very informative if asked questions. People smoked all around the pools. The floor around the pool could have been cleaned in the evening. It was quite sticky in several places. Would have been good if the gym had air conditioning. More information about the hotel available on the tv. Eg times of free shuttle and entertainment for the day. The pools were very cold.

    The variety of sports available on site. The ease of the booking and hiring of the equipment. The size of the heated pool. The variety of food available for breakfast and evening meal ( only half board ). The entertainment staff and what was in offer. Football on big screens in the bar but no volume so didn’t disturb others. The interactive information boards. Lots of sun beds available and only a handful of customers ignored the no taking the sun beds early with a towel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home

    excellent facilities - staff are very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness is to very high standard. Great food & beverage selection. Animacion team are brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet with average food, missing fresh fruits and vegetables

    Overall pleasant stay in good all inclusive hotel - average food, good relaxing experience - great for a short stay before exploring the island

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on a short break as a couple found the entertainment for adults a bit boring. However, we did go to Puerto del Carmen in a taxi it was a lot more livelier and suited us more

    Had an amazing stay. Staff all excellent and friendly. Beds are so comfortable and rooms clean and cool. Lots of drinks on offer on all inclusive. Food was lovely always something nice to eat. Even had a roast dinner on easter Sunday. Would definitely recommend this hotel for families the animation team do a great job with the little ones.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the buffet restaurant although varied was mainly tepid at best a real letdown. Our room had a number of faults e.g. The doors to the balcony would not lock the catch was broken. The sliding door to dressing room would not close. There was a lot of water on the floor in the shower and toilet area. Although booked a room with a double bed, the bed was two singles made up as singles and shoved together so that you fell through the middle.

    The entertainment was varied and very good. The table service in the buffet restaurant was great and the bar service was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No availability at the a la carte restaurant 😢. Shower screen leaked which caused flooding in bathroom. A few drinks and cocktails are now excluded from all inclusive since our visit last year

    Good location. Short transfer from airport which is important when only there for a long weekend. Heated pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were stranded in Lanzarote airport by a weather event on Sunday 25th Feb (party of 4 adults). I booked two rooms on booking.com so that we wouldn’t have to spend the night sleeping in the airport. We left the airport, joined the large queue for the taxis, and while queueing, I rang the hotel to confirm our rooms would be available, only to be told that they could not see my booking (even though I had received a Booking.com confirmation email & number) and that they would not have the rooms available for us. So, as it turned out, we had to go back through security & spent the night in a cold, noisy airport. Not at all impressed by this service from either Booking.com or Occidental Lanzarote Playa Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like would definitely go back!

    The property is beautiful really deserving of it's 4* status. The staff were welcoming, friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location:Far to beach and centre (but is free bus from hotel)

    All good during our holiday,very friendly staff:)Clean room,Variety food and tasty:) Nice activities- I love Zumba. Thank you soo much. A&A

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the location - a bit too far out of the centre of Costa Teguise. It’s a pleasant walk but takes a good 30 minutes.

    No complaints - food, staff, activities and entertainment were all superb. Jose and his team work tirelessly to ensure everything runs smoothly and people are enjoying themselves without being too in anyone’s face. We had an issue with an unpleasant smell in our room when we checked in but was quickly sorted when I approached reception. We were in room 520 - perfect view, sun on balcony from sunrise till about 4pm. Would definitely go back. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fantastic. Beds extremely comfortable. Staff exemplary, plus a special mention for the animation team. Grout in the shower could do with a little freshening up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No sunshade or table on room balcony. Paid 25 euros for a 3 hour later check-out (which was value for money if you wanted to continue the use of all-inclusive etc.) However, went back to the room after 2. 1/2 hours to find key did not work (not good when you think you're almost there for a pee) and to get it re-activated, I had to go 5 floors down to reception (to get in a queue - and then return to room). This is a huge hotel

    Bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge of 3 euro per night for room safe is extortionate! Seating for evening entertainment was not well thought out. Virtually all tables were arranged with 4 chairs. I counted 50empty seats one evening and nowhere for a group of four to sit together. A lot of people come as couples and others do not like to ask if they can sit with other couples. We were in the auditorium by 8 o'clock each evening and had difficulty each time to find 4 seats together. The chairs seem to have been chosen for 'style' rather than practicality and were extremely large and heavy to try and move. Singers in the evening went on for a considerable length of time and as the volume increased it became more difficult to hold a conversation. They were good singers but you can sometimes get too much of a good thing. It would have been nice to be able to find a quieter place some of the time if you wished to have just background music and be able to play cards or just chat.

    Food excellent choice and quality. All inclusive very good nothing needed to be paid for except for room safe as below. Magicians and other acts were very high quality and entertaining.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    For the first time I experienced to get french fries to breakfast, lunch and dinner.l Very cold lounge owing to open doors in both end of the lounge leading to swimming pool making it very draughty. Sweater or other outdor coat were used among the guests. Leakages in the roof causing a lot of water flooding the reception floor and the lounge floor and also in the reataurant. Floors looked like patchwork quilt after putting towels on the floor everywhere. It seemed like this experience was not new to the staff when they put up their yellow cones advising guest to be cautious. This was clearly seen in the restaurant where the ceiling and the walls was clearly affected of previous leaks. So easy to repair, but still manana attitude. This is not good enough Mr. Director. The food for lunch and dinner was exactly the same every day. For a long stay guets this is boring and is not in favour of the hotel. Some fantasy in having different dishes to serve would have helped a lot. No fresh cooked fish was available in the 19 days stay, only fried Hake and so on together with fried chicken filet. Som improvments necessarry. Shape up Mr. Director. At present your hotel is not a 4* hotel.

    Kind staff at reception. Did their best at all times

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not comfortable (beds were fine but not a nice place to relax) weird hole in the floor of the wardrobe (we complained, were told maintenance would be in to fix it never happened), coffee was shockingly bad, bar area cold @ night.

    Big complex located by the sea, lovely walk into the main town might be too far out if you don’t like to walk. Food was good not restaurant quality but fine and good variety. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main area on the lower ground where the entertainment takes place though large I often found it difficult to find somewhere to sit. Although I was staying at the hotel on an all inclusive basis i didn’t drink any alcohol and used the water dispensers provided. There is only one bar in this area which in my opinion isn’t enough for the amount of guests staying at the hotel who want to drink alcohol and their was always a long line of people waiting to be served.

    I like the friendly and helpful staff at the reception. The restaurant and the food was delicious. The waiters were helpful. The free shuttle bus which I used daily to go to the nearest town. The Animation Team are excellent. I enjoyed the cookery demonstration I also enjoyed the dance class.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the waiting staff could have been friendlier. They seemed to be stressed out. Generally if you asked for something they'd point and walk away. This happened a few times. I learned just not to ask.

    The selection of food was great. The facilities were good. Private balcony with sea view. And the housekeeping staff were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting time at check in - only one person on the desk meant we waited at least 30 minutes to be welcomed and get our room key. Restaurant - extremely busy, lukewarm warm buffet food, miserable staff. Room - difficult to find in the dark, we were not taken by a porter, must have been furthest away from reception, cracked tiles on floor and in bathroom, some sort of gravel tray in the bottom of the wardrobe. Bar area - extremely crowded, no available seats to have a drink after our evening meal, very long queue to the bar for drinks so didn't bother.

    Spacious reception area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the entertainment is very poor and even when it was good somebody complained about the noise and they TOOK the entertainment off

    the hotel is lovely costa tequise is also nice if you like getting out and visiting places its good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a tennis court but after queuing for 15 mins we attempted to ask a lady behind the desk if we could just grab the rackets and were told rather brutally to get back in line. By the time we got to the tennis court we'd used half of our hour booked just stood in a queue!

    Our room in particular had a lovely sea view. The location is lovely and the majority of the staff were helpful and smiley. Decent evening entertainment and a lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little out of the way but nice walk along promenade into Costa teguise and short taxi ride 4euro. Entertainment in hotel meant didn't need to leave though.

    Really enjoyed our stay here. Unfortunately weather wasn't great but the hotel was so nice that we were happy to relax. Food was very good. Always fresh and great selection. Good range of drinks in all inclusive. Night entertainmemt very good. Staff very friendly. Place very clean and bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Would definetely go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bedroom floor mopped everyday but not bathroom. Because the weather was not kind to us, we stayed indoors quite a bit, but the lounge/bar area was always cold. Saw little of the Animation team and did not know where activities were and they were not announced. But they were very pleasant.

    Lovely food and attentive/efficient staff. Large bedroom with double sink in the bathroom. Easy to get into Costa Teguise town via free bus. Staff always helpful and smiling. Loved the electronic display list of food each day. Public areas very clean, including toilets!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small drinks(no pints for beer inless you paid for all inclusive), fresh fruit not good quality in the restaurant, gym had some machines not working

    The food was of a very good standard, The bedroom size was to an excellent standard (2205) and facilities were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food! It was only Luke warm, not enough choice was cooked while you waited. The fruit was mainly tinned with melon and papaya some days. The lounge and bar area were really cold in the evenings, but the weather was very windy and rainy while we were there. The band system they have for half board and all inclusive, was really childish, maybe they could use a card system as other hotels do. The treadmill in the fitness centre, which was miles away from our room, was broken the whole 11 days we were there and the staff in fitness centre didn’t know when it would be repaired.

    The rooms were spacious, the beds and bedding were really comfortable, and the shower was really good and very hot. Plenty of sun beds, pool area very clean. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was amazing for the price paid, facilities were excellent and food and drink were superb. would recommend this hotel to anyone for a short or long stay. we won with friends but our kids would have loved it, climbing frames, kids pool with slide, activities and free slush machine!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much help from reception staff in regards to excursions or transport, and no reps to be found.

    Hotel lovely and clean. Food was great, and the a la carte restaurant was lovely. Cocktails went down a treat!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing time. The food options on the all inclusive package were fantastic. We had so much choice. The hotel is beautiful, entertainment at night was really good and varied. We were there for my mums 50th birthday and the hotel gave her a bottle of Cava and a card which was a lovely gesture and she was delighted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities in room would have been nice. The main seated areas were a bit cold . More hangers in wardrobes.

    The beds were really comfy. The room was a good size. The food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Coffe could have been better but maybe thats just my taste!

    The hotel was very clean & tidy & the hotel staff were very helpful. Great choice of food, I noticed there was a vegetarian section, The room we stayed in had a view of the sea, try to get one of these! Bus opposite the road to go to town,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the lobby area. The bedroom needed updating and the shower screen needs to be movable. As the island is very weak net it would be a great idea to have a secluded area to sunbath.

    I stayed in the de mar last year and the food is better in lay playa. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The evening entertainment was poor - can no one sing in the Canaries ? Wi Fi was not very good at all kept either cutting out or unable to connect - in this day and age this should be better. Also view of a power station was not good, but I don't suppose they can move it

    Rooms were very good, cleanliness was excellent - always someone tidy up, and food was of a fair standard, overall staff were excellent, however could have done with extra staff in the main bar on certain nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is at the reception ex: towels, tennis etc. And you need to wait in line because there is very little staff at the reception. I’d recommand adding those things to the bar as it’s in the middle of everything and easier for everyone to access and less people. Also how when you reserve anything ex: mini golf they give you a piece of paper, just your room number and a note in your file should be good enough, no need to waste paper that will be in the garbage 45 minutes later.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cover under sheet!

    Room was spacious, clean and addequetly equipped with all you needed. Bed was really comfy. Restaurant - buffet was excellent range of food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment average but I always find that about hotel entertainment. I have been on 70 plus foreign holidays and never found good entertainment.

    Clean and no. Good 4 star property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having just returned today and thoughts fresh .. I’d have to say the stay was fine .room was big enough and shower bathroom plenty good enough.if there was a gripe it wasn’t the selection of food but more of keeping things hot.food was always just warm .plenty of selection all round though .not sure what would happen in the evenings for entertainment as there seemed more people than chairs,and can imagine come summer months this could be a problem.all in all a good stay and would return

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot fault the property at all, but if you want to go into town it’s a bit of a walk. Only 1.60 on the bus though, or 4 euros in a taxi.

    Beautiful hotel, huge clean comfortable rooms with exceptionally comfortable beds. Lovely bathroom and balcony. The food was superb and the all inclusive package was well worth the extra money. Perfect for relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much plastic, please stop using marmelade and honey in those small plastic packages, it’s very common in other hotels to use glas. Also in the poolrestaurant you get plastic spoons and plates and the beverages are served in plastic.

    Very friendly staff, especially at the reception. Delicious breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets were a bit smelly and needed updating /modernisation.

    The beds were very comfortable buying a memory foam mattress topper as a result, food and staff excellent would love to go back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertised beach however there is little beach and rocky access to the sea Requested a double bed and got 2 singles pushed together

    The hotel is excellent, all the staff are friendly and helpful Entertainment team worked extremely hard and always had a smile on their faces Food was great different choices at every meal time Booked for next year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated pool was being renovated and the pool area was like a dusty building site! No apologies from the staff for the inconvenience of this. Overall cleanliness was very poor and food was same at all meals. Would not go back.

    Very little.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel pool area was under construction, staff were unfriendly on reception, hotel room was dated and dirty, pool area was dirty, cleaners barely made the bed didn’t change the sheets, food was terrible same thing fir lunch and dinner! Overall very poor!

    Was a €20 trip from airport so was easy to get to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hmmm very hard , only thing was the maintenance work to the pool , the dust was very bad and the noise on two of the days.

    had such a lovely 4 day break the hotel and staff were lovely. we did the all inclusive and there was so much choice. the only down side was one of the pools was not working so when you sat on your sunbed the view was not great but there is never a good time to do the repairs i suppose. the beds are so comfy too,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very long delay on checking in , a lot of ground staff but front of house recpt very slow .

    The food was great very high standard plenty of choice . Staff very professional and extremely friendly . Great service from older man in the resteraunt Pe chay he was exceptional . Beds where very comfortable and rooms very clean . The activity crew where great fun and very entertaining . I will be back . Fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    On arrival 14th 1700 the receptionist wasn't very pleasant. Have been in this hotel about 7 times before and politely requested if we could have a room on the same floor as previous years. Third floor. She waved a piece of paper almost in my face and said in a dismissive manner ' These are standard rooms that are allocated to Booking.com. I was tired and hadn't the energy to continue.

    The 'Goat Stew' was a bit of a challenge. Salads were excellent. Restaurant staff pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1 drinks bar in evening for full occupancy was totally inadequate outside pool bar could have stayed open to ease queues, and the entertainment was abominable although the animation team clearly were doing what they were told to do and they were fine, the problem quality, Karaoke on A Saturday night, movie quiz on on Friday night, dont think so and other nights were poor choices also, sorry wont be back based on this

    Food choice was excellent, accommodation excellent, staff in general fine, resort was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information booklet in the room when you arrive. It's always helpful to have a little information about the Area around you, taxi services & the availability of amenities in the Hotel. There is a sign in the elevator with such things on it but if you were not looking for it you would miss it.

    Loved how clean it was, the Buffet was an excellent standard & staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com advertise cheap stays but the hotel then bump up there costs when you arrive. We were charged 49 euros for an extra bed in the room which then wasn't put in the room until 9.45pm after I had been to reception. We were unable to pay for a safe for 1 night as we were told at reception they would only normally do a safe for a week!! Ridiculous when your on a short stay!! Very disappointed with this hotel as I'd only booked it after a stay in another of the barcelo group!! Very noisy in the hotel at night!

    Convenient location for Costa tequise, nice rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both baby pools were freezing. Main pool is very deep even for me as an adult so to try and play with a toddler in there was very difficult. If only baby pool could have been heated like main pool.

    Everything was excellent, staff polite friendly & cleanliness amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff in restaurants bars and entertainment. Pool lovely and warm Food fab- great choice Very clean everywhere Nice stroll (30) along seafronts into Teguise

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my partner have just returned home from a 4 night stay at this hotel in celebration of his birthday. After the first night we looked at finding somewhere else to stay. The first night we were there the chef was serving pork that was still raw inside, needless to say that put us off pork for the rest of our stay. I got served a raw piece of chicken on the final night, I complained to the staff and all I got back was ''Oh sorry''. I don't know how people can say the food is excellent as we aren't fussy eaters but there was literally hardly any variety and the food looked like it had been warmed up from previous nights. We were told there was a free bus into the town center, however this cost us 2.80 every time we went downtown. It is quite a distance from everything, we walked a mile or so to the nearest bar, After reading the reviews we thought it would take us 20 minutes to walk into the center. however, it cost us 5 euros in a taxi and then we had to wak another 10 minutes til we reached the center. The entertainment during the day was great, however evenings apart from one disco party we found ourselves spending most of our time outside of the hotel as it was very poor and disappointing. When booking I asked for a double bed and we got 2 singles, not that bothered though as the rooms were big and spacious and beds were very comfy. The hospitality was great, my partner even got delivered a bottle of champagne on the afternoon of his birthday. This really put a downer on the holiday for us due to the poor quality of food and entertainment on an evening. We would not recommend to friends and family and will not be returning unless it's booked as a bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out the way Evening entertainment substandard

    Animation team great always on go. Food very nice plenty of selection for all visitors Nice bar and pool areas Very clean Staff where amazing in all areas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Personal treat excelent. The food is very good and they do care if you have a medical condition. The animation team is great. The small beach called "El Ancla" is very good for snorkel and the stones from the volcano makes it strange in a nice way. I would like to mention that in general the clients were very cool people. In fact were the best holidays in my life (and I did visit a lot of places).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location on the other hand is not so good - the beach is rocky, on one side wind power plant, on the other some empty space and abandoned buildings. Good thing, is that Hotel provides bus to the center, but why not take an accomodation there in the first place? :) If you like to sleep early, keep in mind that there are some parties to 23-24:00, which can distract you if you are not a fan of those. The building itself is good by local standards, but I've seen 3 star hotels being more comfy. Gym - needless to say, small room, there's no gym practially at the moment. But I've read comments that it's under development and known by management.

    Staff is exellent. They solved all the issues quickly and carefully. Animation team also made some interesting stuff like yoga on paddleboards. Also there are some lovely tour operators in the building, providing with good service and interesging excursions. Food is good - there were a variety in menu, 8 out of 10 times I was really happy about it. Pool and rest area is also good, if you're into bathing in sun near pool in the hotel the whole day - that's for you. There is also live music playing in the lounge area, some good and talented musicians could make your evening more romantic and enjoyable. Room sizes - exactly what you pay for. If you need bigger space, ask in advance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our stay in the hotel - we booked to stay for a week but had to leave early due to a death at home. The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly especially Christina. The room was very tidy and cleaned daily, bed was so comfortable. Food - there was a choice for all types of eaters and the food was delicious. Definitely will be returning to this hotel 10/10

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality poor- was an all inclusive hotel and haphazard arrangements re where food was- sharp practice re charging for kettle €12 and wi-Fi €25 and large supplement for sea view. The location was further out than write up indicated.

    Good beds good size good shower good balcony and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking on balcony's very annoying as we was on the top floor, extra charges for safe €2.50 a day

    Staff were amazing, rooms were lovely good views, lots of sun beds enough for everyone, pool was cold but nice in the hot weather, good distance of costa teguise main town (€3.80 in a taxi) where there was plenty of bars, restaurants and convenience stores, a big variety of food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for an iron each day and also to use the safe in room. I was half board and a drink is not included in the evening meal even for kids, they had to be paid for.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff and great food. Great facilities especially pools and kids club.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a bit of a refresh. Shower head was worn and tiles had some mould. Use of an iron should be free in a 4 star hotel and not to be paid for also the safe in room should be free. For half board a soft drink is not included with dinner which I think it should be.

    Food was great, lots of choice. Comfortable bed, room cleaned everyday. Great pools and kids pools.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room cleaning service wasnt great. Floor never swept unless message on paper sheet was left, blanket were changed everyday but pillows cover not! We had to take them off to show staff they should be replaced. Dissapointed thing like for 4 stars hotel.

    Great food choice, always fresh and tasty. Good drinks, never watered down. Excellent staff specially bar staff. Cat house made for feral cats was great idea!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Gym wasn't great. A small room, very hot and not the best equipment.

    Lovely hotel, very clean, nice rooms with balcony and sea view. Rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels. Food very good, lots of choice. Liked the cheese section! All inclusive bar open til midnight! Staff very friendly. Daytime entertainment very good. Lovely swimming pools. Enjoyed the bike aqua fit in the pool! Also played tennis, crazy golf and table tennis!! Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet hasn't had bideh and on our last day to have shower they didn't give us proper room with facilities and also they only give us half an hour to have shower which wasn't enough time for me and my husband to dry my hair I went to toilet to use hand dryer to dry my hair in our past holidays the hotels always gives us proper room to get ready

    Beds was uncomfortable you sink in the middle of the mattress wasn't good for my back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited Wi fi when it was free and unlimited in the sister hotel across the road and the pool was very cold !!

    Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, good and plentiful food and drinks. The location was good too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of the hotel could be painted. The reception area is spacious and needs lots of plants as it currently is quite clinical/airport lounge like in appearance.

    The hotel could be updated but was spotlessly clean. The food was varied and very good. The overall service - reception, room, restaurant, bar and entertainment was of a very good standard. The entertainment team were excellent and made a great effort to ensure that guests enjoyed their holiday and became involved in activities if they chose to do so. I'd definitely go again on hol.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Despite phoning to confirm my booking 6 weeks in advance,the hotel kept me at their reception area for over an hour and a half, as they said my booking with booking .com was for three adults and not for a child as well and threated to charge me 790 euros. extra despite the fact that I had all my official confirmation sent to me confirming my correct booking,by booking .com.My father had died 3 weeks earlier, which I explained to the reception,hence I made the phone call so I would not have any stress,so crying after been up since 3 am in the morning ,it was now 1330,I was not taken into a side room and no manager came to talk to me.Very poor public relations ,eventually they waved the bill. Do not go half board in this hotel, as its 20 Euros extra per person per day to go allinclusive,you are not allowed to even access water by the pool.You can by bottled water but in a few minutes it is too warm to drink. water has to be paid for in the dinning room.

    The Hotel bright ,clean,lots of sunbeds,spacious pools and separate area for childrens pool.Lots of sporting activities if wanted.Full board,the food is well worth it.Dont go for a lovely beach as in Coasta Tequise ,the beach across from the hotel is all rocky ,tiny bit of sand , full of sharp rocks enterering the sea,very dangerous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looks 4 stars but operates as 1 star hotel - all good until you have a basic special request of early check in, cleaning the room, baby cot, after you provide baby cot why dont you add a blanket and a pillow - never getting what you ask for - big disappointment though it looks promising at first sight.

    Well maintained complex

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't aware we didn't get drinks at dinner with half-board but wasn't a major issue as drinks were cheap.

    Bed was very very comfy and breakfast was so good, had an excellent varied choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - hair in bed - booked sea view but had half of the view on the constructial waist, if we were warned we would not pay extra for a sea view. - dirty plates during breakfast - tables a cleaned poorly - no help with suitcases ... stuff saw us struggling but did not care - we needed a taxi from the hotel that was able to provide a receipt. The stuff promised to make that happened but in the end of our journey back to airport we were refused a receipt - because we stayed a night no one gave us any attention compared to those customers staying longer - we were delayed for over 24 hrs and that is why stayed one night only, no compassion was showed to a tired family with the toddler

    The main hall is nice , the animation sounded fun but we did not had chance to attend this

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Occidental Lanzarote Playa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: