Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlton 5 stars

Plaza de Federico Moyúa, 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain

#3 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3057 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must have stayed here 20 or more times. The only times I’ve come to Bilbao and not stayed here are when it’s full. This was the first time to book through booking.com. Normally we book through our office rate. The hotel has a grandeur, history and location that make it a Bilbao landmark in its own right. The function room through the lobby with its stained glass oval dome ceiling is splendid, the breakfasts are generous, the high ceilinged bedrooms spacious, the little bar off down the left hand corridor is always worth a visit after check in and before dinner. This is a grand hotel in the old tradition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a horrible disappointment. We had to wait in line for 40 min just to get inside the dining area. We finally got to our table at 10:30 ,which theoretically still left half an hour for breakfast , but almost all food containers were already empty. The waiters didn’t bring new ones , and when asked if they could at least bring us some buns they said they’re out of them for today :/ Definitely not the service you would expect from a 5 star hotel . Very overpriced and overrated!

    The location of the hotel is pretty good. It’s not far from Guggenheim museum as well as the old center. Both are in like 15 min walk. The bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is unsurpassed. but the hotel is an older property and some upgrades would be more than needed. Bathrooms very poorly designed for two people. only one luggage rack for a king bedded room. Furnishings.. could really use an upgrade. It's an old timer hotel. in superb location. to fun restaurants.. and a lively evening scene. Walk to everything.. including Guggenheim museum. Short easy ride to Bilbao airport. I would stay there again.. unless I could find something in that area.. Barbro Greene

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was empty and felt soulless. Then, when we went in search of a bar at 10 pm the other bars were all closed or closing 😱!

    Big rooms, very comfortable bed so slept really well. Helpful staff. Very central in Bilbao so able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome The location next to Don Diego de Haro The size of our room The pride in telling friends “we’re at Hotel Carlton The taxi rank right there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in & out was slow. Not much interaction from staff.

    Perfect location for exploring Bilbao. Bus from Airport stops just a few mins walk away. Extra large and extremely comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was very expensive.

    Beautiful hotel, spacious and comfortable room and very helpful staff. Delicious buffet breakfast. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    super close to airport bus and within easy walking distance to main attractions and shops. very nice breakfast and fast room service. on arrival they will provide you with a city map and would love to answer any questions re your trip. love the fact that they have two sinks in the bathroom although i stayed alone :) might be a little expensive for a small city like Bilbao, but still, you get what you pay for :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet too close to wall and had to sit sideways when using it. No good for someone with long legs. The staff at reception were not friendly. No greeting. Had waited at reception to be attended to and then they served a newcomer and ignored us. The same when returning umbrellas the following day to the concierge. Was left with the feeling that they thought they were better than us and not that they were there to make us feel welcome. Much better reception at smaller properties

    The hotel itself was very nice. The main salon stunning. Location was good but not many restaurants in the area only bars Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a 5* Hotel. We are at a loss to understand how Booking.com can rate it like this. It is not an excuse to just take over the local rating scheme. It is totally clear that nobody of booking.com has ever audited such a place. It is in fact totally rediculous to call this a 5 star hotel!!!

    Nothing really!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have breakfast as we felt it was overpriced.

    Th hotel is palacial and the room was excellent. We had a view over the plaza and a large balcony - wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working air conditioning. Room was very hot, on opening the window the street noice was disturbing!!

    Very clean and well maintained, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All more than satisfactory!

    We love our Room 312 overlooking the beautiful park. We find the staff very friendly an accommodating. Hotel Carlton is my favorite hotel inSpain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit dated, but clean and comfortable.

    Great location - central in the city, airport bus stop right outside. Probably seen better days, but very nice staff, and very comfortable. Seems to be mostly older guests, but thought price was able to get was very competitive to other options. If you can get a decent price, would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a double instead got two single, didn't get any of the special requests initially asked for, not very welcoming staff, did not feel worth the price paid at all.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was way too expensive for what I got. The wardrobe had holes in it. The bathroom was old and had an old hair dryer (the one still attached to the wall). The room was ok, but you could hear through the wall and had carpent on the floor, which, no matter how often you clean it, it keeps being dusty.

    The location was great. Perfect to go anywhere at any time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful hotel. It felt very luxurious. Great room size. The staff was extremely professional and very helpful. The breakfast was a little pricey, but the options and quality of the food seemed to justify a higher price. The location in town was also pretty ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t totally clear whether breakfast was included ( I had thought it was when originally booked) but nothing was said at check in and we opted to eat out. The hotel bar/ cafe was not really in evidence and looked underused which was a shame. It felt a bit like the Marie Celeste! However, can’t fault rooms or cleanliness, just a bit more info at check in would have been nice.

    Huge room and early check in on arrival from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude employee in bar. Obviously because we were tourists. We tried to speak in Spanish. This did help AC in room appeared to be on heat all the time

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was hoping it would have a nice hammam steam sauna, but it was turned off and not what I hoped for. It takes a long time to warm up a sauna, so we didn't use it in the end.

    I liked being able to use a PC in the Business Center (a small room with three PC computers) to do some unexpected work. The breakfast buffet is spectacular, reminds me of the grand old days of great European hotels, as this hotel is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two twin beds pushed together. Dog barking at reception during check in. A little over priced. More suitable for business travelers.

    Large room. Very nice bathroom with good lighting. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have received a complementary bottle of water which we seemed to get at other motels.

    Room & bathroom were spacious and clean. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant with great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking by a bellboy to nearby garage. No parking space outside hotel.

    Perfect location at city center. Ongoing renovations did not disturb us. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff and rooms were excellent! There was initially a problem with the room and the staff was quick to take care of the situation. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, staff looked miserable and were not professional. Impossible to order room Service (pasta with butter and cheese=a plate of butter and cheese), bathtub full of hair when we arrived. No air conditioning, walls thin as paper.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air conditioning, very hot night, no one slept. Spoke to reception at 230am and the next morning, no help or apology. Safe not working. Noisy as under going work.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff came across a bit 'snobbish'. My partner and I are a couple in our late 20s and felt that a lot of the older customers where granted priority when they asked for their cars to be taken out of the valet parking etc

    Great building right in the center of Bilbao

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room but decorated in very dark colours, the window for such a large room was tiny! Hardly had light during the day, so depressing! Was not informed of restoration work in progress and 3 fronts covered in scaffolding. Ask when booking or expect a very dark room!

    The location is fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an outside renovation going on (Feb 2018), and this wasn’t informed during the booking. It did bot bother at all, though.

    The room and the bathroom were very comfortable, and I especially likes the separate the separate small foyer which blocks all the noise from the corridor. Breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing could have been better!

    All functoned perfectly from the first monment of our stay/arrival. Reception, room, staff, breakfast, helpful tips for shopping and eating were simply great! Keep up with the good work!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had 2 mattresses and was quite uncomfortable - no matter how hard I tried I ended up in a space between these 2 mattresses. That kind of a bed could be suitable for 2 strangers maybe, not for couples definitely.

    Friendly staff, clean room, long breakfast time. The best location possible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed, although huge was a little bit hard, so neither of us slept very well. It was very quiet in the hotel so we felt like we almost had it to ourselves, but perhaps it is busier during the week, for business trips. The hotel did not reply to emails in advance of our trip, which was disappointing. There was no information in the room about the facilities in the hotel or places to visit.

    Easy journey by taxi from the airport in 20 minutes. Taxi rank outside the airport. Central location, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and The Guggenheim. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a lovely sofa day bed and coffee machine. Great choice for breakfast, including lots of fresh fruit and water with fresh lemons or oranges! Good recommendations for restaurants close by and they lent us umbrellas, as it was a rainy weekend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I was a solo traveler and felt comfortable from the beginning(very warm welcome at the reception)!! The room was also super clean and bath is also nice, everything was perfect during my stay :) Thank you so much!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV channels not as advertised. Mini bar might have been better stocked. €8 to iron (only) a mans shirt seems steep.

    The wifi was free and stable. The location is excellent near bars, restaurants, shops and entertainment, museums etc. Rooms were large although a little dated/tired. The lobby and public areas below retain their original beautiful features.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could only spend one night on this occasion

    We have visited the Carlton on half a dozen occasions during the last 5 years and they seem to consistently maintain their high standards. Breakfast is the full Monty...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good

    The staff were exceedingly pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble from booking restaurants, ensuring that the rooms were as we wanted, giving tickets for the Guggenheim. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking.com didn't say Wifi is available throughout the hotel. I almost didn't book this property because of that. Then I found out on a different website that it's available throughout the hotel.

    Location. It was convenient location to get on a bus to Bakio (to go to San Fan de Gaztelugatxe). Taxi stand is right next to the hotel. It takes 15 seconds from Metro exit to the hotel. I could walk to the old city easily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor sound insulation between bedrooms. Reception weren't able to provide concierge-style advice about shows/plays that were on that weekend. There was a temporary mini market for women in the ground floor function room whilst I was there which would have been useful had I wanted to buy anything but otherwise it just made the reception area noisy and busy. The breakfast quality wasn't up to the 22 Euro cost. The frosted glass bathroom door had no lock and looked out of place with the more classical design. The shower head rail wasn't securely fastened to the wall.

    Lovely decor of the hotel made the atmosphere very elegant. The room (407) was large, in good condition with a good TV and a small entrance hall with a second door from the corridor making the room feel quiet and secure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stated above.. We could not understand why the drawers of bedside tables could not open? There should be a picture may be above right of the tv..

    No, croisants should not be with sugar glaze..breads were good.. We had better breakfast at Hotel Londres in St Sebastiane, same price. Could be better with your hotel's standards. Several tv channels were not on, BBC forexample. There should be more French channels, at least France 2..cleanning staff of 105 was very helpful..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The environment around the hotel is busy, and therefore quite noisy at night. I should add that my home is in a very quiet location, and therefore this may not be a problem for many guests.

    This is a hotel built in the old grand style and it has been well maintained and updated where necessary. One of its key strengths is the staff, whom we found friendly and helpful in all areas - garage, reception, breakfast, bar and restaurant. The location is both pleasing and convenient, with the Guggenheim museum an easy 10 minute walk away. It was wonderful to have on site parking at such a central location, and although the access is quite difficult, the garage attendant took care of the parking and retrieving our car when it was needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Bar area was a little disappointing and had to ask exactly where to find it. Also could not find the gym.

    Beautiful hotel and city. GREAT location as Metro and airport bus right outside front door. Hotel staff very helpful. 👍

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception staff could be a "bit" more friendly and younger! The reception, the equipment, the appliances as well as the staff look sort of "old fashioned", out of style, like it was in the traditional hotels in the "good old days"....

    First of all the location and the quite spacious room!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room needs to be updated and refurbished. Noisy pipes. Difficult to get to access the toilet even if you are not too big.

    Location is awesome. Staff was great. when I arrived to leave my suitcase in the luggage storage they offered me to enter my room way earlier than the check-in time. Huge thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indifferent front desk staff, no night lights so stumbling in the dark at night, decor needs to be updated

    Location, beautiful common rooms, lots of choice at breakfast buffet, quiet and comfortable room, very quiet A/C

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave us the Handicap room that was not wonderful carpeted but with cheep vinyl flooring. The unit had a shower that allowed wheelchairs but also allowed the water to spray the entire bath area . There is no Parking Unless you make Reservation; but we were not made aware that parking is difficult and the lot has a minimal and finite amount of space. By the way not cheep if you can make the reservation which we didn't. know about on website.

    Lovely old style hotel with plenty of room and a small hallway with door to adequately insulate sound from hallway and from the room to the hallway. No IKEA furnishing. A step up not put into today hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Central location. Easy walk to Guggenheim Museum. Close to transport, including the airport bus. Large spacious bedroom and bathroom. Excellent ambience to the building. Good bar. Top breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The nice decorated hotel, room, bathroom, breakfast, location, stuff, safety all were extraordinary , showing total quality approach in everything they do. The reception Pablo and Sebastian were very kind and helpful. Housekeeping was perfect. The food variety and quality at breakfast exceeded our expectation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of even one thing I didn’t like!

    Bedroom spacious & v comfortable - spotless too. Location superb - 5 min from Guggenheim & v convenient to shops, bars & restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a five star hotel. The staff are unhelpful and the facilities antiquated. The room is very basic and not up to the standard that is expected of a hotel of this category.

    the hotel was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious, clean and comfy. With a balcony for some great views. We arrived early and managed to get a parking space in their (v small) underground car park. Our room was ready so we were able to go up straight away - 3hrs early. We didn’t have breakfast or a main meal here but we had some tapas in their bar/grill which were good. Service was excellent throughout our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wanted a double bed and got twin beds... nothing terrible just not that confortable.

    When we arrived we had the room and crib prepared. They were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was firstly given a room with two single beds for me and my partner. When speaking to the desk, they were not too happy about my request for a double bed. They continued to tell me there were no rooms available (the hotel seemed very quiet for a "full" hotel). They then reluctantly gave me an "upgraded room", though all the amenities, room size etc. were none too different to my first room.

    Great location. Easy access to everything in Bilbao.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and our room was very spacious. Fantastic shower. I can't say enough about our bed! I woke up a couple of times to turn and just thought wow! I love this matress. Great hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I did not like. It was good value for the money.

    The breakfast tasted really good. They had freshly squeezed orange juice. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot.

    Spacious room, interesting stair case and stain glass ceiling in atrium. Restaurant recommendation was great. Very friendly staff. Left my kindle in room. Retrieved later and they were very gracious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very expensive Rooms furnished and decorated in a very modern style which would have looked great in a modern, glass tower but here sadly contrasted with the elegance , flamboyance and antique style of the Hotel . Obviously the designer must have been under 25 !!

    A very big room with very comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The hotel has the style & charm of the golden age. A most beautiful building that has an interesting history. It is impeccably clean & detailed. A most beautiful building with grand sized rooms. The American Bar is a treat & the restaurant has beautiful food. The staff are of tradition that understand service & personality. The location is very central & close to what Bilbao offers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound isolation could be better as you could hear voices from other rooms.

    Very good location, near shopping and pinchos bars. Guggenheim and old town within walking distance. Metro station 30 meters from hotel door. Breakfast very good with lot of cold and warm choices. Cava available every morning. Grilled croissants highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic old school classic 5 star hotel right in the middle of Bilbao. You must reserve parking ahead of your arrival. Depending on what direction you come from, it can be a bit tricky to pull up under the portico of the hotel, because it is on the sidewalk. It is easiest to circle around the back of the hotel so that you are coming toward the portico from the back and side. You may have to wait for people to clear the crosswalk and sidewalk before you pull in. They have a pillow menu, large rooms, comfortable beds, large bathrooms, a mini bar, coffee and tea, English news channels on the tv and a safe. It is easy to retrieve your car at the front desk. You can walk comfortably to all the major museums, restaurants ands shops. We did not try the breakfast but had wonderful coffee and croissants at the "American bar" on the ground floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I find it hard to think of a fault. Maybe better, more clear instructions before we arrived about where to park our car. We had not realised that it was valet parking and drove around and around before we found the car park. But this is only a minor quibble.

    It is a beautiful , old, "fin de siècle" type purpose built hotel. Beautiful stairs, 6 flights of curved, decorative wrought iron uprights. Lovely wide corridors. High ceilings in the bedroom. A day bed which my husband loved to read on. Impeccably, clean and comfortable bed linen, bathroom etc. Lovely spacious room. As comfortable as home. And so conveniently located. Just a stones throw from the Guggenheim and beaux Arts. A lovely, older and more kind atmosphere with wonderfully helpful staff at reception. Beautiful common areas to sit and relax in. We will definitely be back and I would highly recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel could not be more central. It's literally on the biggest roundabout in the middle of town. The bus from the airport stops right outside, and the metro stop is also very close. The train station, river and old city are within walking distance. The friendly staff even let me briefly leave luggage there a few days before my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel is excellent. Very high standard of building decoration breakfast staff. Looks out onto a round park, actually a big roundabout but looks really good. You need to be quick thinking arriving by car as you have to turn by the side of the entrance and immediately up the pavement under portico. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were very disappointed by the staff, who seem not to like people or want them to stay in the hotel. Maybe it was us in particular! Though I assure you we are friendly, open, courteous and happy - esp. on vacation! So this was a v strange experience for us. At check in, the fellow was argumentative about the number of nights we were staying (I had increased the stay by one night on Booking.com, many months ago). He was very insistent until I showed him my confirmation e-mail. But no apology or graciousness ensued. No smiles from these folks for the 3 nights we were here so we avoided them. BTW, the hotel was basically empty our entire stay so I'm unsure the resistence to revenue. The bar has that shocking bright environmentally friendly lighting seen more frequently around Spain and only one kind bartender who appears, again, to like people (the older of the two gentlemen). The other fellow was always rude and looking for an excuse not to serve patrons. Time for a career change. Unsure if we'll stay there again as the service experience was so poor...

    Stayed here 4 years ago - the location can't be beat as casco viejo, shopping and the guggenheim are easy walks. Was blown away then by the entire experience (and i think we paid much more per night, maybe EUR 240+ to ~EUR 140 this time, but I didn't mind then). If we had the same experience then we would have been appalled at the price and would not have stayed there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The number of available parking spaces is not sufficient for all the guests. There was no place available (although the reservation happened a week in advance). The income and the bar area are very cold. I'm not convinced that a 5 star rating is correct. Cigarette smoke entered our room.

    The hotel is located in an area close to the new center and stores and has a direct access to public transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath needs an upgrade

    Beautiful old building , excellent staff , fast check in and check out , very good dinner in the restaurant , very good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was an absolute bargain and perhaps the best place to stay in Bilbao. It was walking distance to the Gugenheim, shopping, restaurants and the old town and the rooms and service were first class. I would definitely stay here again if I travel again to Bilbao.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were poor...hostel quality ! (But the pillows were not good in any hotel we stayed in while in Spain.) Lighting in the room could have been better...none of the lights gave off enough light. Breakfast was just ok ...not worth the 22euro charge. The bath and some tiling was very dated, the shower attachment above it was poor quality. But, overall, these were minor issues ...we enjoyed staying here and we would stay again

    The bed was enormous and the room was spacious. The room had good storage space with a double wardrobe. We had a partial view of the very beautiful circular garden in front of the hotel. The bathroom had two washbasins and the toilet was separate from the washing area.The common areas of the hotel are lovely. There is a steam room on the first floor and a small gym. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The location of the hotel is great. It is a 5-10 min walk to the Gugenheim museum. The subway stop is just outside the hotel. There is a long shopping street just around the corner from the hotel. The airport shuttle bus stops close to the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How breakfast options reduced significantly towards the end of the breakfast period. Anyone coming in the last 30mins before the end of the Breakfast period missed out on some of the wonderful choices.

    Excellent location. The Airport Bus stopped beside the hotel and cost about €1. 50. The balcony over the hotel entrance is a perfect place to have an aperitif before dinner. The breakfast is simply the best I've ever experienced. The choices are endless, the quality is superb and the staff are welcoming and attentive. I would confidently recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything is great

    The hotel is lovely, staff at reception are superb and professtional in particular Patricia- she is proactive and hard worker, same apply to rest of team at reception. Property is beautiful, our room was with balcony 313 overlooking plaza, room is spacious and staff are attentive. Thank you so much for a beautiful and memorable stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is absolutely nothing I did not like about the historical Carlton Hotel. The hotel is highly recommendable and a home away from home.

    I absolutely loved everything at the hotel. All members of the staff are a real asset to their Hotel Company. Breakfast displayed fresh and delicious products and the restaurant member were very helpful, professional and friendly. The bedrooms and bathrooms are well kept; spotless clean, very comfortable and big bed size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Carlton was a relaxing final destination for our holiday. The hotel staff were really helpful and the room was well appointed with a luxuriously comfortable bed. The terrace bar was a nice oasis for a nightcap after a day exploring Bilbao.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and internet

    Great hotel. parking was the only problem, but they could improve the internet connectivity and stop asking to re-register each day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stank of cigarettes on entry. (I specifically requested non-smoking) Cigarette burns on the smelly carpet. Generally in need of a facelift. Bath seal needs cleaning/replacing as it looks dirty. Staff was unfriendly and austere....like from another era. I don't think this is worthy of it's 5* status... nice 4* perhaps due to the nice lobby area.

    Location was good. Balcony was nice touch....if a bit noisy due to its location on roundabout. Bed was great size. Public areas were very impressive and looked well kept. Lovely stairway and overall a fabulous building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They first gave us a room that was smaller than expected and very dark, but the last day of our stay they managed to give us a room that was bigger and with a nice big window. The third floor has been refurbished and the rooms on the street side are definitely better than the ones giving on the internal courtyard. The hotel is rather old and a bit overpriced, but the staff is friendly and the hotel has the charm of past luxury. The location is excellent.I would stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare. Hotel parking was full when we arrived (4 pm) so had to seek street parking - took almost an hour at beginning of August!

    Very large comfortable room and adjoining bathroom, toilet - albeit looking in at other rooms. Convenient location for shops, city and river walks with older town at about 2 km walk. Wifi very good

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: