Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay 5 stars

Miguel Ángel, 29-31, Chamberí, 28010 Madrid, Spain

#299 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 739 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The different information that was gave from the employees at the front desk and in the restaurant about the breakfast.

    The size of the room was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My check-in was late, first night I have a night in the room with no windows, all night was noise (room wall connected with night club)-room was for disable people. Next day staff change room to normal, but without any sorry. Concierge/porter is never asking for any help with luggage, only standing and looking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being over critical but parts of the room was a little dated

    Good central location, staff and service levels very good - I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised that there was no shower towel and slippers in the executive room!!

    I liked the relaxed location, the service on the executive floor. Almost everything was positive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather small, there was only one chair and one armchair. One of us had to sit on the bathroom stool to use the desk. The breakfast (extra) at € 22 is definitely not worth it.

    A good hotel of international standard, in a residential area, with good transport links to the main tourist sites, also close to the airport. It is necessary to use public transport to reach most of the sights. Excellent wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was ridiculously dear we asked for a high floor they put us in a low floor we asked for a double bed we got two single beds and the food and drinks were also extremely pricey

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms, while clean were very dated. The TV set was inside a cupboard that made it impossible to fully view the screen from the bed or the sofa provided. The room temperature was set too high and was not possible to modify on your own, while I did ask for someone to take care of it, the problem wasn't solved.

    The location is great, has a metro station by the door and the area is great. Rooms were very clean (though the first one I was sent to did smell of cigarretes, I was promptly switched) and personnel is courteous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In some areas the hotel need an update Close to the shopping area of Serrano but long distance to the city center The sauna in the room was very small - not for two persons

    Good breakfast Large and comfortable rooms Goow WIFI

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a disaster, rude and unhelpful. Twin beds for one person instead of a double. Couldn't find the reservation; had to personally connect to email and send it to them!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why do European bathrooms insist on showers over bathtubs? It must be impossible for older travelers...

    We stayed at this hotel before joining a tour that started at the same place. We were able to have the same room as the one allocated for our tour and were charged the same reduced price. The room was really good and we were very happy with our stay overall. The beautiful antique furniture throughout the hotel makes for a very attractive place to be in. This hotel is located close to hop on hop off bus stops, making it very easy to get around Madrid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Wasn’t many restaurants or bars near by and hotel was very expensive for food and drink. Staff were lovely and hotel was beautiful shame the spa was out of use

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm said to give this hotel a poor review but I see no other choice. On my first day there was a problem with the plumbing in the building. As a result, there was no water or electricity in the entire hotel. I had to cancel the remainder of my stay and find a different hotel at a short notice which was expensive. Also, the room was dark (had to use a torch light on my phone even on a sunny day when there was no electricity) and it looked dated.

    Good location, nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and its straff was not prepared for this kind of incident

    I had no electricity or water. Not able to take a shower or go to the toilet I dont think i should pay full price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting in queue with tour groups for breakfast.

    Celia at reception was welcoming, informative, both friendly and professional and made a positive difference to our stay. Technician Ivan was prompt and courteous in attending to our room safe. Convenient location next to metro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was patchy and kept dropping. Gym and health club was not working (though they have informed about this in advance). Away from the tourists hot spots.

    A decent hotel at the right price and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is NOT a 5 star hotel. Its not because its old, sometime well preserved and maintain old hotels are great. But this hotel needs urgently a renovation if they would like to consider themselves a 5 star hotel. It will be great if Booking.com can send someone to check the property and compare it with what a truly 5 hotel is about.

    I like the location of the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rzoom was not even of a 4* standard. Needs an urgent refurbishment including the bathroom which was also obsolete

    The location is excellent and the staff at the reception as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seems annoyed when I asked for local guide with car because I wanted to go to Atienza town and there's no tour going there. Just handed me the tour brochure which is for group tour.

    Metro and bus stop is just around the corner from hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room and quite. Great bed and sheets.

    I am sure that the hotel was good in the past. Do not deserved the 5 stars. It is old and need an updated urgently. Half of the things in the room work by miracle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good central location; walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Metro nearby was convenient and easy to use. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is only allowed if you pay €20 as it is part of the spa. It should be accessible at no fee for clients. Also hotel is not central to downtown

    Clean hotel, lots of restaurants in area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was okay though for the price of the room, breakfast should have been included. On the second night, I was in a different, cheaper room and breakfast was included.

    High speed wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was really convenient to both the metro from the airport and to my meeting destination in Madrid. Hotel was very comfortable and quiet and the staff were most helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very spacious but the bed felt a bit springy. The wall on the side of the room looked like it needed some repair.

    The receptionist was very helpful and nice. As soon as I arrived I was helped with my key and provided a map with directions to restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors / carpets in need of major refurbishment Booked a double / got a twin Great view of a brick wall outside !!

    Close to metro - that's the highlight

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything was wrong: Dated furniture, uncomfortable bed,dirty walls in the room,basic room,nothing compared to a real 5 stars hotel

    The location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the first nigth they gave me a dirty room (dirty walls, dirty berger) and the aircondition was not working. İt was like a three star hotel. The next morning i changed my room to a very beautiful room which was in standards of what was said in booking.com They did not even feel sorry for this Confusion and did not do any discounts for the first night. Breakfest is expensive.

    The location is near to Nuevos Ministerios and Salamanca district by walk. Central place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an update Limited breakfast Executive lounge not really an executive lounge Not a five star hotel

    Fast and user friendly wifi Location Large rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was extremely expensive at 22 euros! Also, the room smelled of wet wood.

    Location was key for me. It was close to where I wanted to be and right next to the Metro, where you can practically get to any part of the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets in bedrooms are seriously worn out. Could benefit from a refresh / upgrade.

    Very professional and efficient staff, decent breakfast albeit quite expensive. Common areas as in generally good condition

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is old and needs renovation. The bathroom has no fan, the heating working poorly (entered the room at 7PM, very cold, set to 35°C for all the night, in the morning the temperature was the same). Breakfast quality is average. To be honest, the price is too high for the quality of the room.

    Good location, nice staff, big room (bathroom very large), not bad if you have to stay one/two nights

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge to use swimming pool

    It's a very easy going and relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. The staff seem to just appear just as you need them. There are snacks, tea and coffee left out throughout the day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's far from a 5 star (as they claim)-- having a phone in the bathroom shouldn't give a 5star. Poor, saggy,soft beds; scratches on furniture which is very tired; 4 sheets of tissues given; bathroom fixtures are old and need replacing---too many other things for the price they charge.

    Staff at front desk were helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    IMHO Not so good deal at full price, but 50% off made it great value. Crazy breakfast price.

    Very nice hotel after-all, attentive and helpful staff. Type of old and quality establishment with proper price tag attached to it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that several TV channels were not available. Our receptionist reported the problem and discovered it was an issue with Canal+ which the hotel is trying to resolve.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Th moment i entered the room, i regretted my booking. The room decoration is so old, with chipped wood furniture. And the breakfast buffet is very basic, no variety at all compared to what you can have in similar range hotels

    good location, just a few metres from the metro

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is getting a bit tired on some floors probably due for a refurbishment

    Breakfast and facilities good. In area with lots of restaurants. Easy access by bus to centro. Goòd restaurants in hotel itself.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/s fairly basic for prices

    Service, quality and range of food, cleanliness, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's getting old

    quietness in the club

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in the room was very out dated and desperately in need of some modernisation and the plumbing was very noisy.

    Beautifully presented hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was old, not as we expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear people next door early hours of the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very recommendable hotel well located in Madrid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel services (ie. Gym, pool, etc) are extremely limited during weekends

    The location of very good and the beds are really comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, noisy, internet is not usable in certain rooms

    Friendly staff, close to my travel location, internet was good in the second room I got

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast

    The hotel is a classic of madrid. Staff is friendly and pro

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On first night we booked, bed was hard..

    The closeness of proximity to my daughter’s apt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi -fi poor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this kind of Hotel the single room or double use is too small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked the hotel beacose if spa and gym, but they there closed

    Location is very convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed. Slightly shabby decor and hall carpets were dirty. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Good location next to Metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness was close without an notice in advance

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices some times are not affordable.

    The location and the service are great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Special Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    21st century and only to plug intakes one having to disconnect tv and the other in the bathroom

    The service of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    All

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the blow dryer was clearly from 1970

    they let me check in before the check in time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer very 1970's.

    The spa!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC wasn't working appropriately, which is quite an issue when it's 38º C!

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is outdated, feels like the 70s

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is nice and traditional but now in need of refurbishments

    Excellent location for business

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very old. Dirty rooms for extremely high price. Can't imagine that this ever could happen in 5 stars hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness poor. It is a pity because alll the rest is almost ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old an needs to be refurbished

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel looks and feels outdated, needs big bucks to bring it back to the level of competition

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired. Needs urgent renovation

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit on the small side, old fashioned room deco

    Breakfast, spa/pool/gym, location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it is a beautiful and antique hotel

    Everything was perfect, the sunshine in the patio, the hot showers. Delicate furniture

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI speed

    Friendly staff, location and extremely comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room too hot spa small few places to sit and relax they charged to go to the spa

    breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture old fashion Price too high compared to what offer and to other hotel in the surrounding Swimming pool not included

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel didn't have my reservation initially and couldn't give me a receipt at check out

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. But the best thing was the service. Truly excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: