Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of OCEANO Hotel Health Spa 4 stars

Calle Océano Pacifico, 1, 38240 Punta del Hidalgo, Spain

#2 of 2 hotels in Punta del Hidalgo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Specifically booked a double bed for our honeymoon and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Specifically booked a double bed for our honeymoon and had two single beds pushed together separately made up and single duvets with a double cover over the top. Not impressed! And shower curtain was horrible yellow on the bottom. Needs replacing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    The guys at the reception were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The SPA, for a 4 stars hotel is not very well equipped.

    The guys at the reception were very friendly. The view was simply amazing!!! Looks like to have the sound of the Ocean in the room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to mention one thing than the beds could be a bit more comfortable for me. Bit to soft for my taste

    Staff will do their best for you! Great service!!!! Everyone is really trying to make your holiday as nice as possible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Room was clean and sauna area was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it is a therapy hotel for people to recover!!! didnt feel treated as guests. Massage for a SPA hotel not possible to book! Poor area for evening activity , no little shop in neighbourhood

    Room was clean and sauna area was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Clean and bright - but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Initially put in a room next to the road where roadworks were going on, and one of the windows didn't shut properly. Had to argue to be moved Wifi was pretty slow Gym had no free weights area, barbell, etc

    Airy, clean rooms - lovely view to the sea Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    location was great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wrong bed when I arrived, after long discussion they changed it... which was fine didn't feel like a Spanish/Tenerife hotel.

    location was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    A relaxing stay in delightful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was expensive compared to the locality and not worth the extra. More staff at breakfast time would help - sometimes we had to wait for someone to to come to cook eggs and things were not always replenished in a timely fashion.

    The spacious room and the amazing views from the balcony. The reception staff in particular were delightful and really helpful eg. with bus timetables. The garden was beautiful and it was lovely to sit looking at it with the sea in the background when having breakfast every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.3
    Really nice massages, great hydropool (34 degrees) and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu and the rooms need a make over. The rooms are not 4 star and for a health hotel you need more healthy food options.

    Really nice massages, great hydropool (34 degrees) and a nice outside pool and terras.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Creative quality food and Comfortable Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool water was too cold for swimming and even outdoor hot tub wasn't hot by US standards.

    Room and public rooms were recently remodeled; bed was comfy, all rooms face ocean with a private terrace and a useful sun shade; Rooms have cross ventilation which precludes the need for air conditioning; bath fixtures are of the highest quality (Hans Grohe); meals were excellent with wide creative selections and top quality; staff was superb and helpful; used hotel as a one night layover at end of a 30 day trip to the Canaries to fly back to USA (about 30 minutes from Tenerife Airport Norte). Hotel rooms and restaurant face ocean with great views of a unique municipal ocean pool and a walkway along the sea front. Another unique thing was an area on the roof of the hotel where sun bathing was allowed in the nude. Also, many single women use the hotel spa and treatments with times marked for women only use of the sauna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    The room was very clean, the breakfast was good as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is in the north of the island, it takes 1h30 to get to south, were all the beaches and activities are. In the north, it is much colder than in the south (10°C difference). There are few beaches in the north, and even though the water is cold and very windy. If you plan to stay at hotel, then it might be a good choice - consider as well the cloudy weather, but if you want to spend the vacation at the beach, clubs/restaurants, ocean activities - everything is in the south - definitely a souther location is much better. The pool and gym are closing at 8pm. We asked for a double bed, but we got 2 single beds.

    The room was very clean, the breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location, but don't have dinner there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok - just. Cereal, bread, cold meat & cheese, boiled eggs, limited selection of fruit. No omelettes on offer, there were of letters when we stayed in May. Dinner was €22 for 3 courses, but very limited menu. We had fish of the day, which was said to be sea bass,I didn't think it was cooked properly, served with mussels, 4 small potatoes in a thin pea soup, no vegetables at all. Cooking very poor,I could have done better myself. TV - we are English, only 2 English tv channels, BBC World News and Bloomberg. Lots of German channels, I realise this hotel caters more for German guests, but another English tv channel would be appreciated. Wifi - free upstairs in reading room, but have to pay for it in your room. In this day and age internet access is important, and should be free in all rooms, as the hotel is quite expensive.

    Our room was above average, small kitchen area - with a kettle! - comfortable seating area with a sofa, chair, dining table & 2 chairs, large bed. Balcony was spacious, table and 2 lounging chairs, and the most wonderful view right in front of the sea, quite private, not overlooked by other people. Very clean, bathroom was a good size with walk-in shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The cleaning lady on my floor wasn't the best, she did not clean properly and she did not change the bed sheets in two weeks, even though I asked her to do so. The room was not dirty, she did the bare minimum, but she would have to be asked to replace towels, sheets and shampoos, and she would still not do it every time I asked.

    Gorgeous location, in a less touristic spot of Tenerife. The alkaline outside pool of the hotel is magnificent and great for leisurely swimming. Next to the hotel there is also a public infinity pool. All rooms have a view to the sea and most rooms have balconies, where you can sit and read or just enjoy the view. The garden of the hotel is good for sunbathing,there are lots of spots (both sunny and shaded) where you can lay on the hotel's sunbeds. The area is also good for walking tours and hiking. I had a double room which was very spacious, equipped with a small kitchen, and having a bedroom and a livingroom area. The hotel offers various activities (most for a fee) on almost every day of the week, ranging from hiking tours and visits to other towns, to yoga and aqua-gymnastic. The hotel has a fantastic spa and a very experienced, brilliant team of therapists. The spa offers a full range of treatments, from Thalasso wraps to Shiatsu, osteopathy, personal training and FX Mayr detox.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Amazing views from the window, quite many healty things on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strangest thing that there was a kettle in the room, but no tea or coffee been offered. Disappointing.

    Amazing views from the window, quite many healty things on breakfast buffet, but personally i wasnt after that so i did was feeling that it missing something.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi, was only available in our room for €8 a day, otherwise free wifi was available on 3rd floor in the library, which we used, but was inconvenient. There were only 3 English tv channels available, however, lots of German ones. We would have liked to have used out IPads in our bedroom, but we're not willing to pay €8 a day, I think free wifi should be available in all hotels, in the bedrooms, as an essential facility.

    The location was fantastic, and our room lovely and big, with a beautiful view of the pool and the sea. There was a small kitchen with a two plate hob and a kettle, crockery and cutlery for two people. The bed was comfortable, nice bathroom. The staff were welcoming and helpful, came out immediately to help us with our suitcases, and escorted us to our room. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. This is also a hotel where you can have special treatments, massages, diets, etc., but we did not use this facility.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful north with superb stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff is superb! Helpful, patient and funny. Wonderful sunset, very nice breakfest. It's great to spend a da or two there to enjoy calm of this place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.1
    Location and view from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine but dinner left a lot to be desired. I fell price was high for the time of year.

    Location and view from room. Good base to explore the area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Overall a very relaxing stay which only interrupted by the loud music on Saturdays evenings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was very long as the transfer info was incorrect. I was originally charged for single transfer when in fact I was joined by a couple.

    Extra facilities pool, garden, sauna, excursions with Norberto, especially Teide!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    9.2
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the pictures it's seems like natural pool belongs to the hotel , but it's public and full of kids.

    This is a really beautiful, quite and relaxing place to stay. Room is light with a wonderful terrace and comfy bed. You can relax in spa area, it's modern, new and there are not that many people to disturb you. Good breakfast and nice swimming pool outdoors. I would 100% recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Nudism shouldn't be allowed in the sauna area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nudism shouldn't be allowed in the sauna area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Selected the double bed option but they just pushed two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selected the double bed option but they just pushed two seperate singles together, that didn’t stay together was such an uncomfortable sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    great if you want some relaxation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi not working at night

    the cozyness off the hotel is great, great quality overall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent

    very relaxing, beautiful view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Lunch option very limited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lunch option very limited Sauna never open

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Best view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was the best I've ever seen. We lived at 9th floor and spent all time at the balcony enjoying waves and ocean breeze.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Not the lively, commercial and noisy Tenerife!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking too small, a little old

    Position, quiet place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Very peaceful Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very peaceful Hotel. Very few people used the swimming pool. Beautiful Garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    The most relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning view from the room, wonderful food and excellent facilities. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    The hotel had a beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a very medical feel to it.

    The hotel had a beautiful view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Excellent relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TOO MANY CHILDREN! I honestly thought it was adults only

    very relaxing, lovely hotel excellent staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    6.7
    Superb view over ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The jacuzzi was outside and not warm and not clean. There was a sewer smell in the hall. The coffee was the worst we drank on Tenerife, I don't think it's coffee at all.

    Superb view over ocean. Nice room, little outdated.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No airco (sleeping w 30Celcius was impossible; had to ask for fan at 1oçlock at night), no coffee at breakfast (some brown soapy stuff), extra undefiable charges on top of the already expensive rooms, very hard beds (even my 4 yr old noticed!!), all German (a few; no wonder!) guests etc etc. NOT RECOMMENDED! Location is great yes.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    This is a most relaxing hotel - wonderful for time out and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a most relaxing hotel - wonderful for time out and all the staff are massively helpful. Excellent swimming pool and superb view from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    Fabulous,this hotel is wonderful,attention to detail is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fabulous,this hotel is wonderful,attention to detail is outstanding,from the beautiful bird of paradise flowers everywhere,the spotless rooms and general areas to the helpful and knowledgeable staff.We booked three extra nights ,could'nt be to leave

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    6.7
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole hotel has seen better days It looks like it was quite fancy many years ago. Needs renovation. The shower was awful and the water switched from too hot to too cold every minute The price is way too high

    Location and view

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    6.7
    The treatments were all very good with a range of options...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were unfortunate to get quite bad weather and were reliant on the activities within the hotel more than we might otherwise have been. Sadly, the thyllaso-pool was out of action for 3 of our 4 days and the wind meant the outdoor pool could not be covered and was therefore cold. We would like to have relaxed in communal areas on some relaxing chairs but they were not terribly comfortable/cosy and access to free wifi was very limited. The intern staff were well intentioned but inexperienced about treatments and there was a bit of a language barrier (the hotel is predominantly German). Despite all this, we did enjoy the ambience, food and relaxation and I could still recommend it for peace and relaxation. We were just a bit unlucky.

    The treatments were all very good with a range of options and prices. The food was very good and the restaurant staff all very friendly and welcoming. The transfers from the airport were timely and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought hotel was over priced for what it was. Rooms dated.

    Breakfast was great. Nice view of ocean.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse OCEANO Hotel Health Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: