Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Opera 4 stars

Cuesta de Santo Domingo, 2, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#207 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1920 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Friendly helpful staff with cheerful greeter at breakfast. Hey upgraded my room which is always z bonus and much appreciated. Great central location close to Theatre Real and Royal Palace. Easy to walk to main shopping areas and to catch city tour bus. I felt very safe in the area. Clean well appointed facilities. I paid extra for the breakfast and it was well worth it offering a good variety which catered for my gluten and dairy free needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing to the street from level 3 was very poor, as was sound insulation from the public corridor to rooms on level 3.

    The location is excellent, as was the ground floor tapis bar and outdoor Street cafe. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. A wide range of tapis bars next to the opera house were a delight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much to dislike at this hotel except possibly the air conditioning, which didn’t seem to cool the room very much. We stayed at this hotel in March and early April and didn’t need air conditioning then, but in late May it was quite warm.

    The rooms, even facing the front of the street, are quiet. The location is excellent and within walking distance of many good restaurants and the royal palace. The price is also reasonable for a 4-Star hotel in the center of Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a fridge in the room, but managed to fit our water in the mini bar fridge so wasn’t really a problem.

    The staff were very helpful. We arrived 3 hours before our booking in time, but they booked us straight in. They also booked a taxi to the airport for our departure. Everything went very smoothly thanks to their help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After being bumped off our flight we were placed on another which meant we arrived very late in Madrid and missed our connections. We found this hotel on Booking.com and were absolutely delighted after being stuck at Gatwick for 12 hours. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was AMAZING much bigger and luxurious then we expected. There were 3 of us, all adults in a family room which would have comfortably slept 5. We chose the breakfast option which again was amazing - a buffet selection, typical Spanish option tortilla, ham etc along with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, bread selection, juice and hot drinks. The hotel is roughly a 5 minute walk from the Real Palace Madrid and well based for travelling on with metros also within walking distance. All in all after a horrendous journey to Madrid, we felt blessed to come across Hotel Opera, with friendly staff, beautiful rooms and delicious breakfast. We look forward to staying there again. Definitely 10 out of 10!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - I've asked for an iron. They brought up totally dirty iron which leaves spots on my white shirt (see photo). - Quite noisy district. Impossible to sleep with open window at night (and no enough fresh air in the room if window closed). - Slowest onsite restaurant in the world - you can wait for your beer for 20 minutes (!)

    +Very convenient location. Very close to metro and some attractions. +Helpful frontdesk staff +Nice room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing between rooms was not great.

    I became unwell on our second day and the reception staff, who had already been warm and friendly on arrival, were sympathetic and helpful. They gave us a few hours extra on our check out time, free of charge, although I believe the hotel was fully booked. This was very much appreciated. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable, breakfast room too small for number of guests, no HOT water for tea drinkers only warm water in a jug!!

    Bed very uncomfortable, breakfast room too small for number of guests, no HOT water for tea drinkers only warm water in a jug!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i had the perfect stay at your hotel

    cappucino hot chocolate croissant pain au chocolat service in the hotel really excellent friendly and helpful personels i will book this hotel again on my next visit but one think=g breakfast should be included in the price even if the price of the room be a bit higher.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staff, flawless location (a 4-minute walk even less to Callao & Gran Vía), perfect comfortable room, lovely views (I've added pictures!), very quiet at night - easy to sleep, I really have nothing bad to say! Staff were extra nice and really do deserve the recognition for the effort! I have definitely found my new favourite hotel for when I visit Madrid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite dark could do with improving the lighting.

    The location was great, the staff were welcoming, and there's a restaurant and a cafe on site. Definitely an easy place to explore Madrid from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge me more than 200 euro without informing me first so when i do checkout i was shocked about the price.

    Location is great in the city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite dark, and a bit noisy at night, although not so much that it would bother most.

    The location was great, the staff were welcoming, and there's a restaurant on site (though it costs a little bit more). Definitely an easy place to explore Madrid from

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff in the café were the rudest Spanish people I have ever meet. We went in and asked if possible could we swop our free drink of Sangria for a coffee as we don't drink Sangria. The waitress slammed the vouchers on the table and practically shouted at us that you couldn't change the drink. The coffee and churros was over priced compared with other cafes we went in and the waitress was slow and surly.

    Bed was very comfortable. It was raining heavily when we arrived and the following morning we noticed a damp patch on our ceiling. We were moved immediately and they apologised for our inconvenience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy and dark rooms. Furniture in rooms looked dirty. Very hot and stuffy in room. Thin walls, could hear next doors TV all night. Came back one night to find a random chair had been placed in the middle of our room. One of the showers did not work.

    Good location, easy walking distance to restaurants. Good Wi-Fi. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weird and not so pleasant smell in the room (could be the stuff they use for cleaning). Really poor selection of TV channels. The room was livable and ok, but overall the room is run down and would need some freshen up repairing. The price is a bit high for the condition of the room.

    The very central location, close to the places to see and must be's in terms of restaurants. Very good client orientation by reception and excellent service overall. Welcome glass of sangria at check-in. Good and fast wifi. Good and varied breakfast with excellent service. Great large bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    This was our third stay in the hotel and unless something changes, or it becomes too expensive, will remain our base whenever we are in Madrid,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning ladies were extremely rude, i told them to stop making so much noise, they just ignored!I could not rest at all! Sauna costs 5 euros to use...4 star hotel..

    Bed very comfortable, very clean, nice shower, great position in city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On the negative side is cleanness. There was a dirty towel in the room. And we weren't sure that the floor was swept during cleaning.

    1. Location is great! Everything is within walking distance. But if necessary - metro station and taxi stand are 1 minute walk. 2. Breakfasts are really tasty (recommended!!) 3. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel attendant was accommodating. When he learned that one of the party forgot a passport at 5am and on our way to the airport, he reteieved it for us and provided it promptly when we returned to collect. Very close to the palace and night life.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hotel is perfect for a trip to Madrid. And better still, the staff at the Opera are extremely friendly and helpful, which for first-time visitors is a very welcome bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room faced the Opera House, and we could hear street noise all night even though we were on the 3rd floor. The hotel is at Opera Plaza and so the area was quite busy until very late night.

    The room was very large, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was not outstanding; not available in parts of room

    Location outstanding; easy access to all the sites. Easy to take metro from airport to hotel. Takes about 40 minutes and hotel is two minute walk from Opera metro stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a rough start. We arrived the day after our initial date due to airline errors, discovered upon landing in Barajas Airport in Madrid, that my mother's luggage hadn't arrived, and that the airport shuttle listed in our Hotel Opera's reservation was not available. We were instructed to take a taxi 30€ + tip to their location. Even though we contacted Hotel Opera the night before to inform them about our delayed arrival due to the airline, we still had to pay for the initial night. I was disappointed, but I understand that was their policy with booking.com. Understanding that we've already lost our paid dollars for the initial night, we were still willing to extend our stay for another night. However, they would only extend an additional night for 100€ above our current rate. At least, we were able to still have our prepaid breakfast in the cafe that the staff pointed us towards. After having our breakfast, our waitress gave us a bill. We felt bad because she was so busy, and had to resolve that too. Finally, as we settled in for the night, from an exhausting travel day, we discovered two outlets didn't work in the room, the legs of the bathroom stool was loose & my mother almost slipped and fell onto the floor, and the shower's drain didn't drain. Harvey, the maintenance guy, came in the next morning to take care of most of the issues, since we were waiting for our luggage to arrive anyway.

    Location is very close to El Palacio Real, and about a 10-15 minute walk to El Cortes de Ingles department stores, restaurants & other shops. It's about a 15-20 minutes from Puerto del Sol.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had some kind of smell, there where spider webs on ceiling, stains on the walls near the window. The sheets smelled, I actually went to front desk to ask them to redo the sheets.

    location is great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the street as some of the windows do not close properly.

    Terrific location. Within waliking distance of most of the important tourist locations. Half hour taxi ride from airport. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We enjoyed the easy access to Metro and sightseeing, and enjoying the Paseo each night. Staff was also helpful in providing some staples we needed for a medical condition.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few amenities I felt. Staff in cafe do not speak English (no problem but just be aware it is hard to order if you don't speak spanish) Food in restaurant very poor sadly. I ordered room service one night and tray was still there 24 hours later! Phone in room broken.

    Excellent location and decent price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could use an update, especially with the bathroom. Our bathroom was dated and could have been cleaner.

    It is all about the location! We opted for a room with a balcony which overlooked the royal palace and Plaza Espana, which was a beautiful way to start and end the day. The bed was also the most comfortable we experienced while traveling around Spain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds were a little too close together however that is pretty standard in Europe. The breakfast in the first morning

    Excellent location, good size room for Europe, friendly staff, very clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The thermostat in one of our two rooms was not working well because it seemed hot despite the set temperature

    Walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Comfortable rooms. We stayed 4 days, left to see other cities and returned for 2 nights before leaving Spain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wasn't happy about being woken up at 9:30 with a constant hammering noise that went on for an hour +, this ruined the stay here for us.

    the room was perfect and spacious. everything was clean and staff were always helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room temperature was maintained at 20 degrees which I think was too warm and caused some uneasiness. Will recommend to maintain 18 degrees with higher velocity blower.

    We as a family unit of 4 stayed for 3 days in July 2017. Excellent location...right near the city centre and the points of attraction. Good service and descent breakfast...has many good restaurants near by. The Aircon was something that needs little repair as it was little warm in the night despite repeated requests. Overall, will strongly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is really poor and the room is just not enough for so many guests. The fruit was spoiled, in the second day I couldn't just pick it because that horrible taste was on my mind. The room was the smallest I ever seen in a four starts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The two rooms where breakfast was served were very small and we had to wait for long to be seated. The personnel serving the breakfast was rude (partly because of the pressure they had from people waiting to be settled.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very conveniently located near the Opera Metro Station. I had no trouble finding it and it was near all the places I needed and wanted to go. The room was comfortable and quiet - with helpful amenities. I appreciated being given a welcome drink at the cafe which is next door. The staff was helpful too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had a bad smell and was small (we took Double Room with Terrace and Jacuzzi) and the Jacuzzi took out a lot of dirt when you turned it on so it was not usable Beside that: The bed was not comfortable The breakfast was not good And they wanted to charge us a full night stay for late checkout (first time we came across this amount of charge and we travel a lot)

    The location was good but not perfect The place and room are clean The staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym from the 70's. Things were literally falling apart The lack of English proficiency among the staff Noise every morning - goods unloading for the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, our room's air conditioner was not working. this with outside temperatures of 96 F . The hotel did not have any other room available. We had to wait until next day for the AC to be fixed. So.. we could not sleep that night. I think they should have refunded us for that night. The 9th floor is very hot even after they fixed the AC, it did not work properly.

    Location, location, location, staff, coffee!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with twin beds put against each other. No ice available for room use.

    Great staff. Good shower pressure. Comfy pillows. Great location with stores, restaurants, etc in walking distance. Comfortable air conditioned rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was extremely poor to the point that it didn't even function properly. Thank goodness my stay there wasn't in the heat of summer.

    View from the room was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are kinda disappointed that when we arrived las night around 10pm, we were asked by hotel opera to transfer to another hotel because some noisy teens were occupying the floor. I was not informed ahead of this situation in spite that we had conversations via this Booking.com App, and that the hotel had authrised payment from my credit card. (I hoped their really had no alternative and we were too tired to bother). Though that other hotel is few minutes walk up the road, costing €20 less for the night (28-29/5), but the neighbourhood seemed less safe and the rating on booking.com is lower. We were put to a twin room on 1/F at back of that hotel, of which the carpet is stained, the decor is dated and the wall is paper-thin. i wish you could be more considerate in handling similar situation next time.

    Convenient location (because we arrived late in the evening)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning in the room was ineffective. Got a bit warm at night and may be a bit uncomfortable during summer.

    Excellent location within an easy 10-15 min walk of plethora of shops, bars, restaurants and tourist attractions (Mercado se San Miguel, Mayor Plaza and Royal Palace). Close to the Trapstur tours office (5 minute walk) for day and 1/2 day tours of Madrid and the surrounding areas. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major

    Breakfast very good, location central for tourist. Staff helpful, language support_English option staff. Staff very friendly and supportive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If your reservation doesn't automatically include breakfast, there is a pointless and annoying piece of bureaucracy to arrange to have breakfast in the hotel. You will be sent from the breakfast room to stand in a line at reception behind people who are checking in or checking out in order to obtain a piece of paper that entitles you to go back to the breakfast room and have breakfast. Instead of just signing a sheet in the breakfast room.

    Attended the opera evening in the basement restaurant. Some well-known and some less well-known arias are sung at intervals by professional singers. It makes for an enjoyable evening and it is possible to chat away in the intervals between the arias.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With my room being on the road side it was nosy at night.

    Great value for money. Very central. The room catered for a single person only, which suited me. Was comfy & cosy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No coffee in the room. But it seems to be a pattern in Spain. Lower floor on front of hotel is street noisey.

    Location is great. Breakfast is very good. Rooms are nice and staff is very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing. Everything meet my expectations

    Nice hotel in the center of Madrid with high qualities like: 1. beds 2. restaurant 3. concierge 4. very clean 4. excellent staff 5. walking distance to main tourist attractions and Metro. I will definitely staying again in my next trip to Madrid.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noisy people in the haiiway in the middle of the night, especially right outside my door from people going in and out of the adjoining room.

    Room juat right for a single traveler. Cozy and comfortable. Very nice and friendly maid. Room had everything I needed except a coffee maker.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was my stay was too short.

    This was our 4th visit to the hotel, brilliant location and accommodation is excellent. Staff are fanatic, friendly, helpful and smart. The adjoining cafe is great for snack and refreshments.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy. The room was not well noise isolated.

    The location was in the very center. Nearby shops and restaurants. Very well connected to go everywhere. Comfortable bed. Very nice and helpful people at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    The staff here were amazing. They all spoke English well, bent over backwards to be helpful and friendly, and they all had a terrific sense of humor! We had a couple of small problems with the bathroom on arrival. The staff were sympathetic, apologized profusely, fixed the problems immediately and gave us free breakfast vouchers. The hotel was recently renovated and the room was sleek and modern. There's a taxi rank around the corner and the Metro is also right there. Plus the Mercado San Miguel food hall is only 3 blocks away - my favorite place to get food in Madrid.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were very small. Some street noise at night.

    Location superb, within easy walking distance of so many of the main sights of Madrid and of good shops. Staff in general were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a glass wall between the bed and the bathroom. This meant that if one of us went to the bathroom in the middle of the night, it woke up the other person. This seems like a design flaw.

    The staff were extremely helpful and the location was perfect. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are very thin and one can listen everything in the neibours room. The hotel should improve insonorization.

    Very polite and attentive staff. Very good breakfast and the lady serving in that room, is amazing! All in all, I will repeat, for sure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure and gym facilities.

    Very friendly staff, very clean, comfortable and modern room. Fantastic location on the Opera Square. All round good experience and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi in the terrace closed with windows connected to the bathroom, very romantic. The hotel is located near the opera and royal theater next to a plaza with cafés and restorants. It's a 10 min walk from calle Grand via.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym area needs full renovation, plus I could not use the treadmill because a key was missing.

    The location very close to the Senate was very convenient as I had a meeting there. The room was comfortable and the hotel is correct. Sol is just a minute away, metro lines at the door of the hotel which is very much downtown in Madrid.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the staff had informed us at checkout that the metro to the airport was not operational. The replacement bus service laid on by the metro was very confusing and we wasted a lot of time. Wish we had gotten the hotels airport shuttle bus instead. Not a complaint against the hotel at all really.

    Very central. Right next to metro stop, palace, cable car, etc and easy walking distance to plaza mayor etc. Reasonably quiet room. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Didnt try the cafe downstairs but it was always busy and looked nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was shockingly bad. If this is really a 4 star hotel they need to do much better. They had very limited options of hot food, the yogurts were awful and not there were only about 2 cereals to choose from.

    Rooms were clean and of a decent size. It was close to a metro station and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast included 2 kinds of eggs, fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, croissants....and more! Worth it! Also, the rooms had blackout shades for sleeping in!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt know how to turn jacuzzi on and also when we did , it over heated and we didnt know how to lower it so we didnt even bother using it anymore

    Bed was so comfy and showers were amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we booked in the last moment, we were given a last floor room, which had some oddities.

    Late checkout at 2 pm; perfect location; quiet room on the 9th floor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In January the room was a bit cold, and at first slightly dusty.

    Nice location near metro connection and city center. Very helpful staff and good value breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was full of dust, my black socks were grey after 1 minute walking on the room. Hotel should remember that there are people with dust allergies and asthma, and this can impair their health. The room was too noisy, can hear everything from the street, from the corridors and from the rooms near mine. In one of the days I haven't had the right to have a floor towel neither bath gel. The breakfast was really poor and confusing. One of the days there was no bread and I have asked for coffee that never came. Lack of healthy food also. The gym was very bad, the apparels were dirty and the maintenance is poor, in most of the hotels the gym has paper and detergent.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise of construction across the street over night kept us awake. You can hear the construction workers arguing in the middle of the night.

    The room was nice and clean. The front desk was helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel flip-flops, stained towels, continuous noise due to construction next to our room and chats of the cleaning staff

    The appearance from outside, its cosy lobby with warmly Christmas decorations

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were put in the attic room on the first night and were disturbed by workmen early the following day. We moved rooms with no problem. Not enough fresh vegetables in the dining room.

    We changed room with no problem. My wife had an upset stomach on the last night and we asked for a late checkout. Not only were we told we could stay but we were not charged. Excellent! Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    gym was a bit outdated

    nice Location, quick to walk into the City and enjoy Madrid. 30-40 minutes to the Airport. Staff was very friendly and room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    First up they cancelled my booking 2 days before arrival, forcing me to rebook at a higher price. Wish I'd taken the hint & booked an alternative hotel! Check in was a nightmare, a very blunt receptionist that wasn't happy using my driving licence as proof of ID. All this was communicated with my limited Spanish vocabulary, as soon as I produced a photocopy of my passport from my phone he suddenly remembered he was fluent in English. Next was the room, 2 single beds pushed together even though I booked a double. That's fine if you have been married 20 years, but it's no good for a new couple having a romantic weekend. No kettle, tea/coffee facilities at all. Shower didn't drain properly, resulting in a very slippy paddling pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Madrid is very noisy and even on the 6th Floor with the windows shut you can hear the crowds outside at night, so take earplugs if you want a quiet night. The breakfast room is quite small and can get crowded. But most of all, the hotel has lifts operated by key cards (which I hate) and on one day the card reader was faulty in one of the lifts so that it was stuck on ground floor. When we told the guy on reception he said it was our fault for not swiping the card properly! Which it quite clearly wasn't as no-one could get the lift to work. I resent being blamed by hotel staff when their equipment doesn't work

    This is a lovely hotel in a great location close to the opera house and very central. The room was spacious and well equipped, bathroom likewise. The breakfast was excellent with a huge range of food including English style, continental style, great choice of pastries and fresh fruit, even fresh pineapple! And proper coffee, not from a machine. Most of the time the staff were courteous and helpful, in fact one day when I had food poisoning (not from the hotel food let me be clear!) they were really considerate and caring. Also, we went to the Hotel's "Opera Dinner" which was excellent and good value - perfect for a romantic evening

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy at night. We could hear the outside clearly despite the windows shut, and we could hear the banging around of people moving about in the hotel. But the bed was comfy so it didn't take too long to drift off.

    Room was a good size, and the beds were comfy. The bath was nice and deep which was great after a long travel. The staff were great, very welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We tried eating in the downstairs cafe Opera, but left after sitting unattended for a while. Just as well, as there were other choices in the neighborhood, and downstairs looked more like a pizza place.

    The hotel and its staff were fine in all respects. Clean room, high floor, adequately quiet room. We did not have extensive interaction with the staff. Good location: walking distance to Plaza Mayor and a little longer to Puerta del Sol (we grabbed the metro for the most part right across the adjacent plaza)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Space permitting, an armchair in the bedroom would be nice. Lack of soap dish in washbasin always creates a gooey mess.

    The attached sidewalk café that acted as an extension of the hotel. A great place for meeting friends or just for watching people go by, rain or shine!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could hear noise from other rooms such that kept thinking someone was coming into my room.

    Beds were good to sleep on. Staff were very helpful and approachable.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Opera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: