Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa De Betanzos 3 stars

Avenida de Castilla, 38, 15300 Betanzos, Spain

#4 of 5 hotels in Betanzos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.0
    Despite booking the stay 5 months prior to our visit, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite booking the stay 5 months prior to our visit, we were pilgrims on the Camino Inglés, our booking was cancelled by the hotel the night before and we were rehoused in an alternative hotel 10km+ away from the Camino. The hotel paid for the taxi to the alternative hotel and back again in the morning but we were unable to discover and enjoy Betanzos at all. Rather disappointing really and therefore couldn’t recommend staying here and are unaware of any of their facilities apart from the hotel lobby and a very poor breakfast in the bar in the morning offered as some form of compensation. If you’re walking the Camino, avoid this hotel even though it seems ideally situated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to its location traffic noise could be a problem. Ask for a quiet room away from main road.

    Nice hotel with underground parking. Friendly staff. . Enjoyed a nice continental breakfast in the adjacent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Great little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too close to reception and I could hear everything from guests to the photocopier. It needs a door to divide the area.

    Great location and staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    The location and the cleanliness of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more friendly staff on reception as we were asking the receptionist about our room a coach load of people arrived and we were immediately ignored whilst the coach party was given priority on checking in over us so not very happy about that.

    The location and the cleanliness of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit on the expensive side compared with other similar stays. Room beginning to look a bit tired. I had trouble working the shower over the bath and ended up just using the bath. The hotel restaurant was not open at all during my stay which was a disappointment.

    Great to have a bath! Staff helpful and friendly. Lounge area of the hotel very comfortable. Air conditioning was a real bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Expensive on a pilgrimage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realise we had breakfast included and we couldn't have this as we left at 06.30am and service was from 07.30am. We were walking the Camino Ingles and found out people were getting pilgrims discount, we didn't although they knew we were pilgrims, with back packs and fatigue plus asking them to stamp our crediencials.

    Large bedroom and bathroom, good air con it was a very hot day when we arrived. Not a bad location quite close to the Plaza Principal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Don't stay on the top floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only half the air conditioning worked. The TV was a joke; so small it would have been better not to put it in a hotel room. The picture hanging on the wall was depressing to say the least.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We asked for extra pillows and got them almost instantly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable hotel in the centre of Betanzos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very helpful. Hotel is in a very nice building which has been modernised. Great room with exceptional toiletries and very clean. About a five minute walk to the centre. Bit of a hill home. Really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    This felt like a luxurious treat, about halfway along the Camino Ingles pilgrim's way to Santiago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was rather limited and the coffee wasn't great.

    Comfortable spacious rooms, everything gleaming, big towels; only a short walk from wonderful old town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was great for two people, not a tiny one. Breakfast was good although I thought the coffee was mediocre. They made it in a pot so it was the typical morning espresso type. The room was bright, airy and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    A night in Betanoz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really the cafeteria where breakfast is basically outside, so for me thought I might just as well as only really wanted a quick one.

    Very comfortable, modern room. many of the places I stayed on the Camino good for a night but this was the kind of place you'd happily stay longer. In fact basically came back early watched a film and enjoyed the surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Room was comfortable with windows all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch your step. Floor in the lobby is very slippery when wet. My husband had a fall, and for a moment I was worried he might be injured ending our Camino.

    Room was comfortable with windows all around. Front office staff spoke English. Location was convenient to Camino route, restaurants, and laundromat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Fine choice for Camino stay; but won't overwhelm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Busy street on one side which was loud if windows open and ok if closed. Breakfast was in separate building and pretty basic. Staff took awhile to process 2 room check out with our friend.

    Bed and room were comfortable; location is not too far from core of city (< 10 min walk)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfy, inviting feel.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say — loved our stay! One picky thing would be one side of the bed didn’t have an outlet, but we were fine.

    Comfy, inviting feel. Great staff — pleasant check-in and great advice on what to see around town. Excellent location near the heart of town and right near the Camino Ingles. Solid breakfast. Appreciated the hair dryer!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location. Betanzos is very atmospheric.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor. Not much to choose from and the fruit salad was fizzy.

    The location was great. Just a short walk into town. The staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving at the end of a long day walking the Camino Ingles, to find hotel at the top of a long hill. One hill too many for me that day.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Extremely clean, very modern, quiet room, very handy for el...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get wifi working, suggest to have an ordinary password system. Would be great to be able to open the windows a bit. Breakfast late for peregrinos, suggest to print this in hotel details.

    Extremely clean, very modern, quiet room, very handy for el camino, just 100 metres from Camino Ingles

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay on the camino, brilliant breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was great.

    Staff were helpful. Room and facilities were great, perfect after a day walking. Breakfast was brilliant. Worth paying for if you are doing the camino.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay in betanzos
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of English at reception could be better and the process to get on wifi easier. Room bit noisy

    Very friendly reception and nice room with bath. I didn't eat at the hotel but seemed like a great menu for only 8,50

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    Good practical hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The strange curtains in the room which were difficult to arrange for ventilation while keeping out the light.

    The breakfast waitress in the hotel restaurant went well out of her way to make sure I got what I wanted.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Quiet location, friendly/helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location, friendly/helpful staff. Excellent room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Not for Pilgrims on Sundays
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Sundays no cafe bar or restaurant or water in the room

    Comfortable room good sleep quality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    All very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not very good, could not often get on .

    All very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean and neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and neat. A little off the centre off town but nice comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Fenomenal
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tranquilo, la wifi va estupenda

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheerfully welcomed, well-appointed rooms, good-sized.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Bar closed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    modern and spotless rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Super helpfull and friendly staff, great services and cute, modern and spotless rooms, very central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable reasonable accomodation on the Camino Ingles. Clean and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient for Camino Ingles with great staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location to recharge after a long day on the Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location, friendly/helpful staff. Excellent room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Great city. Quite a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Properly rated 3 star accommodation. Very comfortable stay over after a long hike on the English Camino. Recommendable. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Near to cafés and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern furnishings. Excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Everything was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not worth 7 Euros

    Everything was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    The friendliness of the staff, except Natalia
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unhelpful receptionist Natalia

    The friendliness of the staff, except Natalia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Restaurant closed due to Galicia holiday, though others in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed due to Galicia holiday, though others in town were open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    A good night's rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely property. Comfortable beds and loved the sheets. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    ok, nothing specific, location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing specific, standard hotel

    ok, nothing specific, location is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Realy good pick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very clean. Near piligrime route.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very nice people, specially at breakfast time!! :) Very quiet room and perfect location near downtown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Bed comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfy. appreciated a fridge in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise on the street at 2-4am

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great greeting and service. The owner was welcoming and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable room. A little cold due to the radiator heat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean, modern, well staffed, restaurant closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is outside the hotel and was closed when I stayed. Open breakfast only.

    24hour helpful reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say .

    Very clean place, lovely staff who spoke good English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable stay in the heart of Betanzos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front-desk staff could have been more welcoming and enthusiastic.

    Clean, comfortable stay. Great location in the heart of Betanzos.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    An ideal hotel for those walking the camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern and clean hotel close to centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great air conditioning in the room, lovely clean towels, sheets etc. Bed comfortable. Good location for Camino walkers for next morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Clean and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and cozy. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Great night stop from the Camino in Betanzos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The bed and the bath were tip top

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    Modern update to a historic building - Room was comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Modern update to a historic building - Room was comfortable, clean with good quality bedroom and bathroom facilities. Several restaurants within close proximity.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    4.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room smelt of cigarette. Sent to wrong room with me walking in on sleeping person. Breakfast was watered down orange juice and some toast. Coffee ok

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.1
    A nice large clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was separate from the hotel which was not good on a rainy day.

    A nice large clean room.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Stayed here as we were walking Camino Ingles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor Wi-Fi. Breakfast only available after 9am!

    Stayed here as we were walking Camino Ingles.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: