Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palacete 1 stars

Plaza Guipuzcoa, 5, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain

#11 of 38 hotels in Hondarribia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic as well as the room. There was a festival on when we were there, the place was alive with people which was great. We enjoyed wandering the small winding streets eating tapas and drinking along the way. Another popular area was the tree lined walking strip just outside the castle walls, there you can find more restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location ;,beautiful building ; very friendly staff ; lovely breakfast; convenient to bus, shops and events courtyard and flowers pleasing ; stay was too short .will come again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything that I expect from a hotel: comfortable bed, good shower, very clean, good quality funiture, everything working, friendly and helpfull staff. And bonus: the nice location. Value for money. Very much recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water drain sound (for example, shower after 2am) upstairs was loud but this depends on the guest.

    Charming hotel building at the lovely square. Very near to all the sightseeing spots. Staff was so friendly and supportive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t well insulated against noise. The bed was not very comfortable.

    Fantastic location. Great room, nice and clean. Very helpful morning staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby parking and accessibility. But these are offset by the tremendous location!

    Fantastic location inside a castle within the medieval city. A little hard to find. We didn't want to navigate the tiny streets so parked 10 minutes away and carried in our stuff. We also didn't mind tge fact that there was no elevator...steps are easy to climb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic stone building with spiral stairway access. Near, but not too near, waterfront and town retail center. Family voices clearly audible from adjacent buildings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being ill ( prior to arrival!) and therefore not being able to enjoy the hotel and location as much as my husband could.

    The atmosphere, lovely outside bar filled with locals every evening, great location in old part of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of parking. We managed to get the only private space available for the whole hotel. Other bars in the square could be noisy in the late evening. Breakfast was rather basic.

    Great location in the heart of the medieval walled town. Nice private terrace for drinks. Easy to walk into town and to beach. Close to ferry to Hendaye on other side of the bay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bedroom and thin walls.We have a problem with Booking.com because on this trip we feel that two hotels including this one give clients the worst rooms.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Only book if staying alone and can deal with small spaces. No Refridgerater No Safe. No Kettle. Very, very noisy. You will hear whatever other guests are doing. The locals are also very noisy both day and night time until all hours .

    Staff lovely and very helpful town is beautiful room clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer they didn't bill my credit card prior to arriving as I would have preferred paying cash so not to incur additional fees by having an Australian credit card.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner, but there is a good restaurant up the road and many more a short walk away in the main town. The spiral staircase up to the bedrooms is a bit steep and may not be suitable for young children and the elderly. No parking at the hotel but there is a large free car park a few minutes walk away

    Location excellent, lovely old building in the old town. Staff couldn't have been more helpful even to the extent of driving with us to a local car park when we arrived. The room was lovely, breakfast was excellent and could be eaten outside under a canopy overlooking the Plaza.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only 3 parking spaces near the hotel. If they have been taken before your arrival, you have to park outside the walls and walk about 5 min to hotel. You can park temporarily by the hotel to load/unload luggage.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is awkward due to the hotel's position. Arrive early to get one of the 3 hotel slots. If not, public parking 10 mins walk away. Staff were very helpful sorting this.

    Excellent position, very helpful staff, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had finished our journey across northern Spain on the narrow gauge railway - FEVE to Bilbao and EUSKOTREN to Irun but wanted to stay somewhere different before returning back to Bilbao. Hondarribia. Last minute booking, travelling on a sensible budget . I did a 'panic-double-check' on my phone upon arrival and before check-in, as I could not believe the price we were getting this for - about 60 euros. Arrived and checked in with lovely reception staff to be shown to a charming room on the second floor. Generous size, very comfortable and with a lovely bathroom. The location on an old square was beautiful. Less than 5 minutes' walk from bus stops (if arriving from Irun or the airport, for example). We didn't have breakfast as we prefer to take this in a local cafe, so I cannot comment. I would return in a heartbeat, even though the (admittedly unpredictable) weather was foul. Lovely little town, wonderful accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey for the basic room we stayed in. Pillows and bedspread did not smell so good. Lighting was very harsh. Not restful.

    Location good. Hotel communal areas were nice. Attractive from the outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator and so you must carry your luggage upstairs, although the staff did help. The parking is a block away and there were only 2 spots and we were lucky to get one. I don't know what would have happened if they were both occupied.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The circular stone staircase to your room, it would have been good to be told before hand about it.

    The continental breakfast was basic but good. The staff were very helpful and the room had all of facility's that you would expect for the price and kept nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bland

    The location was perfect, right in the middle of the old town, lovely. The girls were very friendly and helpful and sweet!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Interesting old building. Lovely view from the bedroom over the old square.Breakfast was good- fresh croissants and orange and toast although the coffee could be better

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location and very friendly hosts who could not have been more helpful. The only hotel in the town to be pet-friendly. Facilities are minimal, but that is how you want things in this gourmet enclave with numerous restaurants and bars a short walk away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved the breakfast on the terasse and it was served with lovely smiles. Staff were very helpful and so very friendly and the hotel was very cosy and comfy and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was pretty spotty. Did not always work.

    Great location. Right in historic old town and close to everything. Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. We arrived early enough so we were able to get a prime parking spot at no charge. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. My friend and really enjoyed our 3 night stay and the price was reasonable especially for the location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grouting and sealing round shower tray could be refreshed - otherwise excellent.

    Excellent location, charming square and patio for drinks and very good breakfast - a pleasant change from corporate hotels. Recent refurbishment with electronic card keys very good. Town possesses all ingredients to have a great time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy sometimes , heating in bathroom hard to switch off but small issues

    The bed and friendly staff location and view and the breakfast courtyard

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi did not work in the room and parking was not really available and the city streets (free) were pretty full and parking was hard to find.

    Breakfasts were really great and the staff was very helpful. Almost perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel didn't meet my expectations for a hotel with an average score of 8.7 Small room / +-75 cms around the 3 sides of the bed-no place to put the suitcase(unless on the bed) Decoration of my room was not in line with the nice exterior of the building No elevator Breakfast only as from 8:30AM

    Nice location on a square in the old centre Nice terrace outside

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area was a part of the reception and very small and cramped, but the breakfast was of a reasonable quality.

    The location of this hotel was excellent and our room was very large. They did not provide dinner, but there were plenty of local restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast on the sparse side for the price. A pot of coffee or tea would be better than having to ask for a cup to be refilled. A mirror in the bedroom as well as in the bathroom would make it easier for two people to get ready in the morning

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Parking free.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, quality of beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking but you can park locally

    A great place which deserves a much higher star rating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had lovely view over the plaza, good location in the old town, convenient parking if it's available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room window opens bed good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast. Close to the city centre (walking distance). Very ancient building with character.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building in a beautiful town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival the room was a bit hot for us and we couldn't turn off the radiator.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff & a lovely setting in the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    parking very difficult

    great shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the courtyard, the building, could walk to airport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff excellent. Great breakfast in the courtyard which also served as an excellent place to have a drink later.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location and fantastic place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nicely situated attractive property friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit hot in the room

    The stuffs are friendy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift but considering the age of the property this is understandable.

    A lovely old fashioned small hotel in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small and no bath.

    Excellent location and the staff, facilities where very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were confortable and very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything - and the croissants were extra flakey! Wonderful location, staff and facilities. Good breakfast. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful little hotel, clean and quiet in a gorgeous little square. I had a really nice time here. The breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was poor in our second floor room.

    good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is NOT on site, this should be made clear.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillows would have been helpful.

    The location was awesome. Staff couldn't have been nicer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. We booked the room at 9.30 and checked in at 11.00 so they were very flexible to let us have the room early.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not great

    The staff were very helpful when my youngest child became very sick and needed medical attention. I can't thank them enough.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Such a lovely place in a beautiful square in an old fortified town!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location overlooking probably the best square in town. Beware there are only two spaces reserved for cars albeit if you have a motor bike instead you can park in a recess at side of hotel adjacent to the court yard. We had a car and thankfully the rest of the guests were on bikes which made it good but could have been a problem under other circumstances. Had they turned up in cars we probably would have to use public car park which is about 5 mins walk which can get busy at times. Breakfast a bit boring but ok. Our room was clean but a bit small. Great bar opposite that sells tapas during the day and evening and sandwiches at night. Recommend the Russo - veal burger. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift/elevator but staff offered to help. Didn't deter us from saying it's excellent!

    The staff was incredible!! This hotel is in an old church. It sits on a square and had so much character that it was one of our favorite on our whole trip. Ask for first floor balcony room!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I'd have preferred a double bed to the two singles.

    The old town location is lovely, so is this quaint hotel. The staff were most helpful, breakfast delicious -especially the orange cake!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very difficult to find after the first sign post and it was tucked away in a square. The breakfast time 8.30 is a bit late for travellers. So we did not try breakfast. The Hotel did not have a restaurant for dinner but we found a fabulous tapas bar and had a wonderful evening. Definitely will return

    The town is one if the most beautiful I have seen and the hotel was set right in the heart of it. It is a beautiful old building with very modern facilities. Warm and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are only 2 dedicated parking spaces for 9 rooms. There is free parking on the street, if you can find it. Due to its location, it can be quite noisy.

    The hotel is located in a beautiful, old town square. It is only a 5-10 minute walk to the main areas for bars and restaurants and the promenade. There is a nice courtyard area at the hotel where you can have a drink. One staff member was nice enough to open a bottle of wine that I bought and didn't charge me anything to do so.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Difficult to manage a heavy suitcase on the stairs no lift and no staff at night or first thing in the morning.

    The staff and the beautiful old building.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing not to like

    Very helpful and friendly staff great location and a short walk to the restaurants. We were able to park our motorcycle safely behind the hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location with a marvellous view from our front room. A wonderful historic hotel that provided a delicious breakfast served by friendly competent staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough time there..?

    The Hotel situation was excellent in a wonderful historic courtyard of 'photograph worthy' apartments lived in by locals..not visitors. Very relaxing and yet close to the town.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The website claims free parking, but neglects to say the hotel only has two allotted spaces and if these are taken (as they often are), parking is not possible within the old town. No soap or shampoo is provided in your hotel room. No lift either, and a bit tricky getting luggage up stone spiral staircase. Wi-Fi didn't work in the hotel room, only at Reception.

    The hotel is set in a picturesque square and is very atmospheric.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be an issue but the staff tries to help with the two stalls they have. Typical problem in old walled towns

    Friendly staff rooms clean but small

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nowt!

    Location in beautiful old building in old part of town, very quiet, room cosy, everything you need, you're gonna be out anyway exploring...."

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fine for us but you need to be reasonably fit. Circular stone staircase to rooms. Parking could be a problem at busy times of the year.

    Friendliness of the staff. Breakfast waitress even made a cake for us. Clean, lots of hot water, very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    10-15 min walk to restruraunts and bars down/up hill. Only 2 car parking spaces - we were lucky - otherwise parking could be tricky.

    The building has great charactor. Staff are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not easy to find

    Great Location, looking out onto the square

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was impressive and in a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value or money.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: