Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palacio Azcarate 3 stars

Padre José García, nº 17, 26280 Ezcaray, Spain

#8 of 14 hotels in Ezcaray

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 229 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stylish hotel - you can feel like in other times. Nice brochures about history of hotel and albums about region in the room. Extremly friendly staff, delicious breakfast, perfect wine in the bar full of atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet had multiple issues: wi-fi signals were weak, and the actual internet connection was very slow, when it worked at all.

    I chose this hotel to be in Ezcaray, while being less expensive than the place across the street. It served our needs. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little expensive for a motorbike

    Staff friendly and helpful, room decor very attractive. Restaurant very good, dinner and breakfast excellent. Easily accessible parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike. I loved Ezcaray. Everything about it, from the cloister-like arcades where you can sit in the shade, or the squares where you sit in the sun and admire the old, timbered buildings. A tiny, unobtrusive doorway leads to a loom set up in a saleroom -- the last remnent of Ezcaray's historic economy - the hand weaving of mohair blankets and rainbow-hued scarves and jackets. A tapas bar turns out to be another historic building with a restaurant in a garden behind it. Pleasant surprises abound; and of course the visitors enjoy recognising the places where all the outdoor scenes of "Olmos y Robles" was filmed!

    Palacio Azcaray really is a palace. Furnished and decorated in French Classical style, it is elegant without being off-puttingly formal. The team of half a dozen young ladies who comprise the staff all deserve a special mention. They will always go that extra step (or two) to please the guests. This extra effort makes all the difference . An example? The waitress asked if I'd enjoyed my stroll through the village. I enthused, but added "What a pity I couldn't see inside the church." At once she said "Oh, I know someone who takes visitors into the church. Would you like me to phone him and make an appointment for you?" She did so. The guide was knowledgable and charming and the church interior totally stunning. Now I'll never forget that church, or the kindness of girl who arranged for me to see it. (She doesn't get commission. I asked.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is pretty dated in style and rooms are quite dark and traditionally furnished. The price was way too high for what it was, and it was almost empty.

    Nothing very much. It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception hadn't taken into account prior requests via Booking.com and it seemed hard work getting them to attend to our requests. Wish we'd stayed at the Parador which was less than 10miles away.

    A reasonable hotel for overnight stop.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a different style mattress.

    True style and class, location, historical surroundings, cleanliness, and warm personal attention.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great. Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning is centrally managed and only heating was turned on

    Quiet location, quiet room. Excellent facility and perfect location for regional sightseeing

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of parking and extra cost for allowing a pet in the room.

    The restaurant food and location.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Browse Palacio Azcarate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: