Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palacio Congresos 3 stars

Clara Campoamor, 13, 34003 Palencia, Spain

#8 of 13 hotels in Palencia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 619 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good apart from location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We regretted not getting a hotel on the more interesting side of town (south). Walking across town in high August temperatures got very tedious. On street parking was a little difficult although by no means impossible.

    Air con in high August temperatures. Extremely good value, maybe because it was the weekend. Nice lady on reception. Lovely "social room"

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Position of Hotel in quiet area but convenient to stroll...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast, Limited Bar hours.

    Position of Hotel in quiet area but convenient to stroll into town for restaurants, sightseeing and shopping. Excellent underground onsite private car parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient for what we wanted, just too noisy
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of insulation between the rooms, We could hear everything in the next room, mobile phone vibrating, toilet flushing, shower running and snoring.

    It was central, easy access from motorway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bookings.com indicated there was a restaurant. And sure enough there was. It was not open though! As we had driven more than 1000km that day it would have been lovely to have got fed and watered without having to go out looking in the rain. Disappointing.

    Beds good. Slept well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although Booking.com states dining room the is NOT one. There are snacks in the bar but after a long drive through Spain a bit cut off the morning Spanish omelette doesn't really cut it. They have the space as the breakfast room was large and could hold upwards of 60 people. Very disappointing. For this reason we would never stay again.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Bar closed during the day but reception staff made coffee for us. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to find access to car park without staff assistance. Once in, we needed two spaces to accommodate our car. Difficult to find exit from car park to reception, and also to find out how to open the garage door next morning. You have to pay a returnable deposit against the car park key, but some instruction in how to use it would be good. Hotel cafe closed Saturday evening, but we were directed to a great bar/restaurant just round the corner.

    Comfortable room. Very helpful staff. Generous choice of buffet breakfast. Secure underground parking. I'd use this hotel again as it's in quite a central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.5
    If you only need a bed and breakfast...............
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant and the snack bar was poorly equipped with little choice of food and drink. But you get what you pay for, so we should not complain but after a long drive, the choice from 3 types of tepid pizza or tortilla was very disappointing.

    Very pleasant helpful staff trying to manage a facility which had little to offer as far as food and drink was concerned although the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.9
    Basic but ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park . Steep in and out and difficult to find your assigned space.

    Basic hotel but comfortable and clean. Nice staff and secure parking . Not central and a reasonable walk to the centre. OK for an enroute stop to Santander. Good value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    Good stop for breaking a journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tea/coffee maker in the room would have been nice ( but not essential)

    Just the right distance from the Santander ferry. Easy to find. Lots of bars close by. The parking below the hotel was very secure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Good size rooms just need to fit fridge on rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good size rooms just need to fit fridge on rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stop
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Stop-off on way south from Northern Ports

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    This is a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a good hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nohing

    All is so good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Great for a stop between Santander and the the south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    8 euros for secure parking. Although it was very secure, underneath parking.

    Easy to find. Very friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    OK hotel, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee or tea in room

    Staff Cleanliness Car Park

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast!

    Lovely Room, warm & clean, secure parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Good choice for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the street

    Quiet, clean, good friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    excellent value, position and service
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have a bigish (BMW 325) car it is a problem getting out of the lowest carpark due to traction problems.....very steep incline!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.0
    Just about ok for one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bland and bed very hard

    Not a lot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Not many restaurants nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Central location easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice location near the city center, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the room was not cleaned when we arrived, but we got another one quickly

    Nice location near the city center, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    A very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and breakfast staff were very nice, breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The town

    Very clean and modern. Friedly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    En route to southern Spain ,ideal stopping off point
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available Saturday nighs

    En route to southern Spain ,ideal stopping off point

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    Too expensive due to Easter but probably a good choice out of peak season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really expensive due to Easter peak period. No possibility to have an extra bed in the room.

    Staff was super friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Definitely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The secure parking is really secure. The room was clean and comfortable. Very quiet in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Free Parking Promotion - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Nice clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    7.9
    It is a modern hotel easily reached off the main a67 .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was filthy . I have never set. Such s dirty bathroom . It all looked clean but on a closer look there was dirt hair and dust sling the back of the bidet toilet and sling the whole wall at floor level . I was really shocked but was told my the receptionist that this was acceptable . She rang the manager as I said I would only pay half the bull she knocked off 13€ . Unacceptable and very unprofessional hotel . A real shame as no hotel will survive with this level of cleanliness . Another guest told me her first room was full of hair . She changed rooms but would not be using the hotel again . Worst level of cleanliness throughout Spain . I will be writing to Palencia tourist board .

    It is a modern hotel easily reached off the main a67 . The receptionist was very good and helped me find the garage underneath the hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    I liked:
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didnt like: 1. stuff via reception didnt know english quite well, and some of them did, but the pronauntiation was hardly understandable. 2. bed was to tough, and there were just blankets. 3. to big price for bed and breakfast. 4. they charged me extra night when i checked in myself around 2 in the morning on the first day and that is not ok; 5.sunblind in the room was making to much noise when it was windy.

    I liked: 1. location is perfect, everything is near the hotel; 2.food for breakfast; 3. room had airconditioning; 4. bathroom is the best part of the room-beautiful; 5. really good wifi connection. 6. oppening hours of the hotel is 24/7.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    We used this hotel as a stop over on our way through to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to the wifi was at best poor

    We used this hotel as a stop over on our way through to Portugal. Very convenient location on the way from Santander, less than 2 hours drive and easy to find from motorway. Clean and comfortable with secure parking. Ver friendly and helpful receptionist. We were a bit late down for breakfast so not a great choice but adequate . Would certainly use again as a stop over.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    10
    We arrived for overnight stop in the middle of the night due...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived for overnight stop in the middle of the night due to problems with ferry from UK. Concierge helped with secure parking in garage. All staff extremely helpful. Will use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    Staff were extremely obliging and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were extremely obliging and pleasant. Room very smart, comfortable and clean. Really liked the sound proofing. A quiet room onto a busy road but couldn't hear a thing as the windows are quadruple glazing. The bed linen was above standard as there were two duvets on each bed for any temperature. The top cover was white linen and obviously changed along with the sheets. Good location, a short stroll to all amenities in the town. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    10
    Location, Secure parking facilities, Comfortable bed.
    • Couple

    Could not smoke a cigarette

    Location, Secure parking facilities, Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.9
    Big bedroom and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel could be better signed Breakfast was average

    Big bedroom and bathroom

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    Good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good position. Easy to find. Good secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant

    Nothing

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: