Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospes Palacio de Arenales & Spa 5 stars

Ctra 521 Km 52, 100, 10005 Cáceres, Spain

#6 of 25 hotels in Cáceres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1150 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Pure excellence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We travel through France and Spain to The Algarve and this is by far the best Hotel we have stayed at, it is so easy to find, being just off the motorway but still peaceful and the sunset was a sight to behold. The whole experience was wonderful and there was absolutely nothing to complain about, they also welcomed our dog and even provided a dog bed and food dish in the room for him, how thoughtful. We ordered a meal in the evening which arrived hot and tasty and the breakfast in the morning was delicious, the scrambled egg and crispy bacon was perfect. Every one of the staff were polite and very accommodating, especially Irene on Reception who was lovely, friendly and professional. Your staff are a credit to you as is the hotel. We are thinking of starting our journey home a day earlier so that we can stay again but if not, we will most definitely return on our next trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    This is a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not good. No atmosphere, terrible background music. Food did not live up to expectations.

    This is a beautiful hotel. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Wish we could have stayed longer
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite expensive

    There was an outdoor/patio area of the restaurant where pets were allowed so we didn’t have to leave our dog in the hotel room when we ate. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English (communication is often a problem in that area of Spain)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner in the restaurant was not great, but ok. Annoying squeaky doors every time the staff was in and out of the kitchen. Very good service and nice food in the bar area for a late lunch but very slow with just one waiter working. Lovely man and felt sorry for him he was working so hard with no help.

    Nice large rooms, great spa, nice touch for little kids with a teddy and spa dressing gown. Beautiful building. Good choice of breakfast. Nice snack lunch. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money in a luxury spa resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great access to motorway, huge comfy rooms, free spa session, outdoor pool, great parking, staff were very friendly and helpful, food was superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.5
    Very good 2 night stay....dog friendly!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unexpected stay at this hotel just outside the lovely Caceres which we had visited earlier in our holiday but a very enjoyable 2 night stay. Welcome check-in - park outside of the hotel to unload and then move car to large on-site parking. The room was very spacious, well equipped, clean and comfortable. Water provided in the room, welcome chocolates, excellent wifi. Luggage was carried to the room. The hotel architecture and layout was a little unexpected and odd accessing the cafeteria, reception and breakfast area from the outside but OK. The staff were very friendly and helpful, some small issue in the cafeteria with communication difficulties when ordering a meal........ The breakfast was excellent, good quality and choices - the best freshly prepared Tortilla Omelette and great coffee! The Spa facilities were also excellent The hotel grounds were lovely and great with a dog as there was plenty of walks surrounding the property......if time available visit the beautiful town of Trujillo some 30 minutes away. We would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    We booked a 3 person room, but in reality it was just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a 3 person room, but in reality it was just a small normal room where they had put an additional bed. Quite disappointing when you pay EUR 120 additional for that all in all EUR 280. The pool is extremely small and there were not enough tanning beds. All in all happy we only stayed there one night - not exactly 5 stars level.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.0
    Good place to stay outside of the historic bustling city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    While good, breakfast could have been better, in particular we missed some really good jamón serrano and a selection of Extremadura cheese rather than the rather bland single cheese offered at breakfast. Especially after reading other comments about the supposedly great breakfast, it was a bit disappointing actually

    Very comfy beds. Good place to use as a base for exploring Caceres

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    No five star hotel in our opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    It just has nothing to do with a 5 star hotel. The room had airconditioning with a lot of noise, there was a smell in the room of smoke, or humidity, it was just not fresh. A small window. For me it was more like a 3 star hotel, so price quality was really not good. The price should have been half of what we paid for.

    just the outside of the building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, lacked a bit of atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lacked a bit of atmosphere. Decor was not what I would expect from a 5* hotel, a bit bare.

    Nice setting out in the country. Staff very helpful. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    The location and property architecture were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several of the staff did not speak English and it was difficult to communicate. The add on prices are exorbitant .

    The location and property architecture were perfect. The interior decor was very tasteful. Breakfast staff were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly staff, very nice Spa facilities, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in specific,

    Super friendly staff, very nice Spa facilities, good location just a few minutes drive from Caceres, parking available on the hotel site. Perfect for a short and relaxing getaway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable & would definitely stay again. The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lighting could have been a little brighter.

    The cleanliness throughout the hotel was excellent, the beds nice & comfortable & bathroom good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing, lovely quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast on this visit was not as nice as on previous visits, and the plate was cold !

    I love the welcome, and the fact that they have a superb menu for me, as I am gluten free !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic touch of rural luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing x

    Lovely appointed hotel situated just outside Caceres - made parking easy and a very short drive into the town to see the sights. Felt very spoilt ... and our dog had her own bed and treat also !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Great place to relax away from Caceres, pampering service
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very far from the city if you plan drinking check other options or check the taxi prices - 10km/ 18 min drive.

    The spa is very good The service is superb, everyone is kind and try to help you. The food in the restaurant is not special, just regular. doesn’t meet the expectations after the reviews I read. But there is a good wine list and very fair prices. Gluten free options too. One more the service is very nice here too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    5-star experience. Great relaxing Spa. Will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa was a bit crowded, but not to the point where you can't use the available massage jets. This was a bit expected as we stayed during a rainy day, so people opted to stay at the Spa rather than visit Cáceres.

    Expecting a 5-star hotel, we were not disappointed. From the outside the hotel is unassuming, and you might wonder if you're at the right place. But once you enter the building and room, everything is very modern, clean and comfortable. Our room had two floors with a small "living-room" in the ground floor and the bedroom itself in the top floor. It was very spacious, but we were there for the Spa and were not disappointed. The hotel requires you to book your Spa time so as to avoid a crowd. We arrived on a day that was expected to be rainy, but we waited less than 1h after arrival for Spa time. Besides a warm large swimming pool with multiple massage jets, the Spa includes a waterfall, a jacuzzi and sauna. Tea is offered during your stay at the Spa. You have free parking outside as well as paid indoor parking, at your preference. In the hotel's plot there are stork nesting poles and an artificial lake with small turtles, so you get to see storks flying around every now and then. Surrounding land is agricultural, so you get a very peaceful setting for your stay. We only spent a day but had a great time there. Nearby Cáceres has a wonderful old city center and great restaurants. We will come back. :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel that we wished were staying longer in - close to motorway, easy parking!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we weren't staying more than one night :-)

    The hotel was a lot nicer than we expected - we were only staying overnight as the hotel was located very conveniently near the motorway. It was a little more than we'd usually pay but it was worth it for the greeting alone - the staff were so nice. It was very late at night and they offered us a drink whilst we checked in and really looked after us. The room was beautiful and clean too. Also, there was plenty of easy parking for a tall van and a van and trailer. The only issue is was that we weren't staying more than one night :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    Had hoped for relaxing stopover on way to Portugal. Lovely hotel with no soul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside pool closed which was the only reason I booked Although site said spa included it was only for 1 hour extra hours at 25 euros really ! Air stuck on heat , ants in the room we were offered another room but as leaving early am after long drive couldn't face the upheavle

    Room nice clean comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing place after a long drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the evening meal

    A very good stopover between Santander and the South, one minute off the motorway but in a very quiet and tranquil location. Food was fantastic, if on the expensive side. All in all, a very good stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bizarre hotel - very luxurious but without a soul ... No bar inside main building - rather 'cold' ambiance in the restaurant - food ok bt not 'great'

    Very nice room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Stork 'Palace' on main highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI very disappointing in rooms for modern business type hotel. Good in reception but needs improving and Vodafone gadget to help boost no good.

    Good location for moving south. Access to Spa a bonus. Excellent breakfast and good to have choice between restaurant and bar for evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Staff were so friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities were fantastic.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!! One of the best hotels I’ve stayed at in Spain.

    Fantastic hotel. The spa is fabulous. Our room was lovely. Huge bed, beautiful linen, massive bathroom. Staff were so friendly. Hotel was very clean. Great cafe room for snacks and drinks. Restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really

    Big bedroom. Excellent bathroom with well thought out design. Especially for someone with poor mobility and it didn't look like it was for disabled only. Well done.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    This will probably become our regular stay during our trips to Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a negative experience during our stay.

    When we arrived the receptionist offered us a glass of Cava while we waited to check in. Staff carried our bags to the room. We brought our dogs and they placed a doggy bed and a nice treat for the dogs in our room. On top there was a nice hand written welcome note and chocolates. The dinner in the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about except the cafeteria managed to get our order wrong but sorted quickly.

    This was an excellent hotel fully deserving its star rating. The accommodation was great as expected as we had stayed before. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    The building and gardens.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like cafetieres of coffee on individual tables so that we can just help ourselves when desired. Also there are no shower caps provided.

    The building and gardens.the room was pleasant.t he staff were very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Fitness center left a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness center left a lot to be desired. A small windowless boxroom with three aerobic machines and two 8 kilo dumbbells is not much of a gym. Given the five star status of the hotel this smacked of mere lip service to the notion of a fitness center. It left much to be desired given the relatively high standard throughout. A gym was considered essential by my party as there was no real external area to exercise given the location of the hotel being on a main road about 5 km or so from the city of Caceres. The hotel location was hard to find there being insufficient direction boards amongst the numerous roundabouts when approaching Caceres.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wardrobe space was limited with no shelves but that is being picky.

    Very comfortable room and bed. The sauna and pool are excellent. The staff were all very professional, helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant and bar was very good with a good selection of wine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    It is ideally located just off the motorway, and a lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would prefer a larger bed given that the room was large and plenty of space, and there was a small window so the room felt a little dark.

    The spa was very nice and included complimentary towels. The room was spacious and the fridge and tea making facilities was very welcome. The bathroom was excellent and it was very quiet too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Value of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and helpful staff. The hotel is with fashion design and very comfortable. Also enjoyed the nice dinner there. The waiter communicated with us patiently in both English and body language with hummor to ensure he understand us correctly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    friendly helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    the dinner could have been better,dissapointing to have food served on cold plates,i would expect better from the chef at this level.However,I was offered an alternitive if i wanted.The duty manager was extremely obliging as were the restaurant servers.Kitchen could try harder.

    friendly helpfull staff.very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely wonderful stay u
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing; all was terrific!

    Beautiful historic compound wonderfully converted to a very modern hotel spa. Complimentary 1 hr/day at Spa's hydrotherapy center was terrific, & the reasonably-priced spa services were world class. Having both an on site cafe & restaurant was very convenient for impromptu dining. Food & service was excellent & a very good value. Dining outside on their terrace was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    NINE OUT OF TEN, LET DOWN BY THE BLUE BADGE PARKING, OTHERWISE A TEN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BLUE BADGE PARKING WAS QUITE A WALK FROM THE HOTEL AND IF YOU CHOSE THE SECURE PARKING OPTION THERE WAS NO DIRECT ACCESS FROM THERE TO THE HOTEL, AGAIN A LONG WALK, THERE IS ROOM TO CREATE BLUE BADGE PARKING NEAR TO RECEPTION

    AFTER FIVE WEEKS ON A CAMPSITE ON THE COSTA DEL SOL IT WAS HEAVEN

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely place but a little disappointing this time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same dinner as the last 3 years. Different Staff that didn't understand English and it became quite hard work so changed location on our return to Santander

    Been lots of times before so no the location as it's near the motorway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Setting, architecture, furnishing, breakfast, all topped off with friendly, helpful reception staff. Also good clean outside pool and cafe/bar - we used both. Ideally situated to explore Caceres a short taxi ride to centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay when traveling in the extremadura
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The occasional waiter around the pool would of been nice, but really not much to complain about this hotel.

    Rural location, but close to motorway great room with large bed, good food in restaurant both diner and breakfast. We made good use of the swimming pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    If you want quiet away from town in a spacious Quinta with Spa facilities this is the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the bedroom was very noisy, it felt a bit like the 'Marie Celeste' while we were there!

    The restaurant and quality of the food was excellent for dinner, good service especially from Ana, however the breakfast was too expensive at 14 euros, we did not use it. A beautiful if minimalist Quinta a few kilometres from Caceres.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Convenient, relaxing stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite a 5 star hotel. No extra flourishes one might expect.

    Convenient location en-route to Portugal. Free outdoor parking. 1 hour free use of spa. Cooked to order breakfast and staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    A relief after having driven 400 miles !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it is a brilliant hotel, the staff are attentive and healpful at all times, and our "suite" was beautiful.

    I am gluten free and was totally catered for, the menue has a full compliment of gluten free food and the hot bread rolls were delicious !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    want somewhere different and romantic. visit this hotel/spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited choice of food at restaurant esp if you don't like/or allergic to fish. otherwise very nice and highly recommended

    exceptional nice people and excellent facilities with very relaxing and romantic place. most unique in all aspects- highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Charming, relaxed and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really, it ticked all the boxes, as it was ideally located for two travellers who had just spent 3 noisy but great nights in Madrid and were going on to Salamanca for a further 3 nights.

    A beautiful property with architecture similar to some of Spain's wonderful Paradors and with staff that were professional, warm and welcoming and spoke English and eager to learn. Nothing too much trouble. We had a lovely, spacious room that overlooked the nesting storks, very dramatic at sunset. Breakfast was delightful, loved their artisan breads. With easy access to the historic town of Cacares and their many tapas bars plus the interesting countryside we were able to spend 5, very enjoyable and relaxing days here, taking advantage of their fabulous spa and outdoor pool while visiting the local towns of Extramadura, including the wildlife.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    A bonus to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not try everything but no faults noted

    Outside town, as we knew, but easy to find and a really nice place. Lovely bit of countryside and excellent facilities. Will stay longer next time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    A superb hotel with frendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A superb hotel with frendly helpful staff. The meal in the restaurant was excellent. Room and bed very comfortable and very quiet environment. Plenty of outdoor and garage parking. Out of town but perfect for stop off on journey from Algarve to Santander.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    good hotel worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant food was poor and limited choice, should have gone into town along with other guests ( we seemed the only clients using it). Accidentally left latest kindle in our room when we left, though hotel "could not find this" subsequently when contacted later the same day...

    Good location out of town yet close enough for easy access via car. Good facilities and clean modern rooms, easy parking and great reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Great value for a genuine 5 star hotel, let down buy 3 star dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we ate there three nights and found the food good but not value for money and not a great varied menu.

    The room was a suite that we did not expect, the staff are very much 5 star and the hotel is interesting to see and wander about in. The breakfasts were 5 star and enjoyable. Great pool area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Would not recommend for a holiday trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impersonal. Expensive , the old town is worth the visit- magnificent.

    Not attractive lounge or dining . A real convention type of place. Too big for a private visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    A luxury option for a Caceres stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We think that the "separated/ relaxed area " bar environment should be more sophisticated for the standard set by the property. Internet works , but too slow.

    Staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. Spacious accommodation. We commend the evening meal chef on the quality of the final product.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    A exele
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It has high standards and very good staff it was a wonderful stay we will stay again it has easy access from the auto rout and you can get a taxi into the old town well worth seeing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the secure garage now costs 10 euros a day, but there is other adequate parking within the grounds, free of charge.

    We use this hotel twice a year, in both March & October, perfect location for heading North or South in Spain. We book well in advance when prices are realistic. The staff are probably the Hotels biggest asset, both in reception and the restaurant. We will continue to use this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious place for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we used the restaurant for an evening meal and that was a mistake. Very poor food. Chefs night off maybe? On the upside our complaint was taken seriously by the management and the cost of the meal was deducted from our bill, with profuse apologies.

    We were given an upgrade to a very splendid room with an extremely comfy bed. Breakfast next day was also good, served by pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay, providing you are prepared to drive into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dinner was very over priced .Hotel is too far from the old city too walk in

    rooms and general areas of hotel were excellent breakfast superb , staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel just off the main highway perfect as an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very good dinner not so good. Needs more choice of smaller plates.

    Lovely hotel just off the main highway perfect as an overnight stop on the ferry route. Lovely staff and very nice free spa. Completely recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    Massages by Monique and Lydia in the spa where great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection was very slow and some times not at all possible. There were not enough lamps in the rooms. To dark and not very cosy.

    Massages by Monique and Lydia in the spa where great. The "Valentine" dinner was realy lovely. And great value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    5.4
    I will be looking for alternative accomodation when next passing this way.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    My credit card which works correctly in many other establishments was rejected on three separate occasions here so I had to use a sterling card. The drains stank in the first room we were offered. The hotel WiFi failed too.

    Staff did try to put things right. Changed the room and lent us a 4G modem. Also offered a bottle of Cava for the problems.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing in a nice visiting area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived I was told that the spa was not open to children in the end of the afternoon, when normally tourists arrive. This was very sad for us, I don't think the spa should have limitations, since it doesn't make sense for a father to go to swim and the kids forbidden.

    A wonderful place, comfortable, excellent restaurant and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Very comfy and great value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, good breakfast and in room dining. We now use Hospes Palacio when travelling through Spain as they all seem to be of a very good standard and terrific value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    Driving from Santander to Marbella. One of our planned stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Perfect location on the edge of Caceres. Excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly, helpful staff. Contemporary, spotlessly clean minimalist interior interior which we like.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    One of our favourite hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We use this hotel regularly as it/Caceres is well positioned for the journey to/from the Algarve and the ferry at Santander/Bilbao. The staff are all helpful and polite,the spa facilities are excellent, and the restaurant offers a good and varied menu if you do not wish to venture into Caceres.Room facilities and cleanliness also impressive. Sometimes offered an upgrade, particularly in low season.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast, parking and the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower - in a slippery bathtub! How about a proper shower??? Room was cold and the heater did not work. It worked on cooling only.

    Breakfast, parking and the bed. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Huge room and bathroom,very clean with all provisions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sweets in breakfast wasn't fresh

    Huge room and bathroom,very clean with all provisions. Very good outdoor. Free parking. Helpful staff. It is outside the town and you need car but is very quiet place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.7
    A mixed bag
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was far too small, I would have put 2 children not adults. The evening meal was dreadful we could not eat it. My lamb had been pre cooked and was tepid. If it was not for a lovely waitress called Ana we would not have been served, the other staff only attended the Spanish guests there was not a language issue. We compared notes in the morning with other guests, they had same bed and dinner issues.

    The welcoming staff were great. They welcomed our little dogs. The room was well prepared for the dogs.The breakfast especially poached eggs was nice. The location is good but is difficult for sat nav as it goes under the name of the prior establishment. It has a lot of outdoor space and is well laid out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Setting & ambience very good and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room facilities were excellent, noisy air con in room, kettle temperamental in bedroom. Dinner in restaurant average quality with food lukewarm and poor accompaniments with meal. I did speak to the new hotel manager in the morning and a percentage taken off dinner meal still making expensive. Compared with other 4 star hotels we have stayed in Spain this was disappointing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    We will return ..... the good Lord willing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The early morning departure process at the reception was comical but as we have a GSOH it just added to the enjoyment.

    Our stay was just for one night but that did not matter as we were treated with politeness and warmly welcomed by Irene. The manager was able to accommodate our pet request - bless him - and my wife thought he was a hunk which brought a reprimand from me and I told her to act her age (78) - poor old soul, she does not get much fun these days!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    This is a beautiful hotel, excellent courteous staff who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little point .. With the deluxe rooms you were always welcomed in your room with a chilled bottle of Cava waiting, but due to cut backs the hotels in this chain have stopped it. It is a shame because it was a lovely welcoming gesture and which after the long journey down from Santander was most appreciated

    This is a beautiful hotel, excellent courteous staff who make you feel very welcome. Facilities are brilliant, from the facilities within the hotel (spa etc) and outside which is a beautiful nature reserve which is beautiful to walk round and see the wildlife. We always stay here on our way up to Santander for the ferry, It's location is great for this, just of the A66 motorway. But the hospitality of the hotel is what makes it. We always go for a deluxe room where you feel very much looked after. A gem of a hotel which we love.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in a previously unexplored region for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we could fault about this hotel,. The location is slightly out of town with no easy access but would guess anyone coming here would have a hire car so shouldn't be a problem.

    This is class hotel, very good attention to detail, the facilities are wonderful, especially the spa. The staff are quiet and reserved but very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. We used it as a base to visit the local towns and the national park and also had a couple of days relaxing by the pool and using the spa.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Peaceful, relaxing and a very cool (temperature) Hotel. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not get a bottle of bubbly we were promised on arrival at Reception! When we got to the room it was a bottle of Water!

    Breakfast excellent. Lovely, clean room, very quiet. Excellent bathroom. Lovely swimming pool. The lady called Anna at the Restaurant was excellent, spoke good English, very attentive and smiley!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Breakfast was excellent, and hotel was only a short taxi ride to the centre of the city, so no need to drive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Not a 5 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool is the best.

    The only nice receptionist (Lidia). Over priced food and definitely not a 5 star hotel as it claims.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Quality feel if hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar food very poor quality Ridiculous price for pet stay - higher than dog kennel Will never stay here again

    Quality feel if hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    The spa was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little small.

    The spa was brilliant! The restaurant too. We liked in particular the local produce, cheese, wine etc. Location beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.5
    Very relaxing and enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The barman in the bar seamed more interested in the football and his phone than serving the customers

    Overall a very good and enjoyable hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Restaurant was good, our dog was welcome and the hotel was just off the motorway,.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying 30 euros for our dog which was not mentioned until after commitment to booking the room.

    Outdoor eating space which was dog friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    very pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent facilities ,location was good for us as it was a little remote .very good value couldnt fault this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hospes Palacio de Arenales & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: