Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palacio de la Magdalena 4 stars

Finca de La Magdalena, 33126 Soto del Barco, Spain

#1 of 4 hotels in Soto del Barco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 697 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Would love to stay here again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A breakfast option was not explained

    The room was fabulous and there was plenty space both in the bedroom and the bathroom. We only had a drink in the bar ask we didn't know that snacks were served but the staff and the surrounding were very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No take away breakfast as promised. Mini bar gin and tonic was water as previous guest had cheated the hotel. Restaurant did not open till 20.30. Tapas in bar were dried and stale. No English spoken.

    Staff at reception promised take away breakfast as I was leaving early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry service seems unusual for a 4* hotel. Breakfast was below par because the eggs and bacon seemed to have been sitting in the Bain Marie for a long time without being refreshed. Fried egg very old and rubbery one day (admittedly near end of breakfast service) and the warm food was stone cold on another (despite it only being 8 am). The coffee was appalling at breakfast each day despite being good in the restaurant in the evening. The bed with foam mattress was a little too firm for my liking.

    Good location in a quiet town for touring Asturias. Good view over a river estuary. Nicely appointed clean room and bathroom. Very pleasant and helpful staff. They helped us book a tour of nearby prehistoric cave paintings. Evening meals in their restaurant were excellent. The spa was great as well as the other relaxing treatments.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location but food needs to be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was not very good, which was a real shame. I think if the food were better we would be tempted to stay again. Also the reception staff were lovely but the rest of the staff at times were quite rude especially as we speak Spanish.

    The room was spacious, lovely bathroom, fabulous view. Also the location was spot on as was the view from our room. The spa was nice if not a little eccentric.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    My flight got cancelled so I missed my reservation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    My flight got cancelled so I missed my reservation. Contact them asking if could be possible to get a refund. Only answer just not possible and full charge billed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, renovation in some rooms would be good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant has not a high standard

    Nice old building. The furniture sometimes looks old. The restaurant has not a high standard. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is not for children unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel because we wanted to use swimming pool as the weather usually is not good in this region but the pool is only for adults use . The kids pool is so small and useless ( the depth is about 20 cm ! The adult pool was empty in that time but they didn’t allowed our 6 year old daughter to swim even for 5 minutes. This is really strange. No place to go . Nearest restaurant is about 4 km

    Nice lunch in the restaurant for 15 € just huge. Nice hotel and nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soto Del Barco itself has very little to offer, especially on a Sunday

    As described by other reviewers, a very impressive property at a very reasonable price. The restaurant provided us with a superb dinner, again very reasonably. Spa facilities were very pleasant, but beware the extras you may have to buy (slippers, swimming cap etc) in order to use them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this Hotel as I was arriving into the airport at midnight. Therefore, did not really have an opportunity to use facilities, however, it is very close to the airport (short taxi ride) and the staff were wonderful, very helpful and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big room comfortable bed. We got a room with a nice view. Spa ok especially the pool. A lot of places to discover around. Very good price quality ratio

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose to stay here for one night as it was close to the airport and we were coming in on a late flight. The hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the reception staff very friendly. We traveled with a four year old who loved the playground outside the hotel, check out at midday meant she could play for a bit after breakfast (which, by the way, was very tasty). We'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    A flying visit but good as airport stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit firm.

    Hotel is a very impressive building with interesting features. For us this was just a one nighter after a late flight arrival from Heathrow. It has a 24 hour reception so when we arrived at midnight everything was fine. For us it was up in the morning, breakfast and off to get hire car so didn't make use of the hotel facilities. Breakfast was extra but very good buffet. 15 euros taxi ride to/from airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Great room, comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa wasn't open until 19:00 that day- one of the reasons I booked this Hotel to relax in the afternoon. I could't turn off the light over the door (emergency light?) so they stayed on the whole night :-(

    Great room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds should be upgraded. Poor television quality. Not possible to watch television while lying in bed, only from sitting near the desk. Internet kept going on and off which prevented normal use. The temperature of the shower was not constant - went from hot to cold to hot.

    Beautiful building. Was unfortunately too tired to take advantage of the 90 minute spa circuit included in the room rate. Excellent location less than a ten-minute drive from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful covered palace, with a spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little difficult to control due to some water pressure irregularities

    A palace converted into a hotel on a rise dominating a small town and valley. Although Soto Del Barco doesn't offer a great deal, the views from our room were really great. Although quite busy when we were there, there is something unhurried and calm about the place. Staff really helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    This was my second visit and I shall doubtless return.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the dinner in the hotel restaurant was of a lesser standard than I expected for such an otherwise excellent hotel.

    The breakfast was excellent, and it was greatly appreciated that the breakfast restaurant opened early.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Classy joint and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signs of incomplete cleaning of our room. But we were early checking in and so they may have rushed the job

    High level of service and a great location. Room 115 was especially spacious. Spa facilities clean and staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel with poor restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal in restaurant rather bland to put it mildly and not to be recommended. There is an excellent local restaurant with 15 minutes walking.

    Large comfortable room and spa facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Perfect first night and last night of road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,stayed on arrival and then decided to stay on the last night of trip before early morning flight

    Perfect location,use of spa included ( remember your cap and slippers) Friendly staff,room size and comfort,views,only 10 mins from the airport but in stunning countryside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Stunning view over the mountains and river
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and breakfast area is heavy air conditioned which was a reason for us to choose dinner in a local city instead. The breakfast menu was plain and on the boring side.

    Charming old building with a stunning view. Very big rooms and bathrooms and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Consistently good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within the same room rate, rooms can vary quite a bit in size. However, even the smallest room I've stayed in is still quite spacious. This isn't an issue for me personally since we have a car whenever we stay in this hotel, but there isn't a WHOLE lot around within walking distance. While the spa is nice (though noisy treatment rooms if there are a lot of people around), it is getting a little bit tired and could be due for a bit of a face-lift soon.

    I've stayed in this hotel many, many times since it opened several years ago. It is consistently a good choice. It is close to the airport, has great views, centrally located, and the rooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel if you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    This was a lovely hotel which did have a spa attached which we didn't get a chance to use as we were only there for one night. Breakfast which was included had a decent selection. The hotel recommended a lovely local restaurant for dinner and we were not disappointed... huge plates of food at a decent price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Palacio de la Magdalena - a jewel in the crown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well , may be the fruit at breakfast could be fresher.

    Everything. Stunning views as far as the eye can see , from coast to to the mountains. Hotel is beautifully and tastefully refurbished. Spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds , and lovely bathrooms. Everything worked. . The General Manager Mr Javier made us feel personally welcome. He made it a point to speak to all the guests in the dinner room , and he even showed us a huge freshly caught fish which he brought into tbe kitchen . We appreciated that personal touch. . Food at dinner was good , one of the best we have had over 2 weeks in Spain. This is a hotel which deserves 5 stars !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Spanish gem in Soto del Barco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property is very well positioned for people flying into Asturias airport. It is a wonderful place to spend a first night in Northern Spain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    One night become two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've noticed with many hotels that have spas that the water is never really very hot, nor are the saunas or steam rooms. Clearly, it's expensive to maintain temperatures in spas that aren't used all day (like a Hammam). But it was still nice to have some of the spa amenities.

    We spent the night here when we arrived too late to pick up a rental car. We decided to spend a second night because we enjoyed it so much. Very nice staff. Good location to drive to some other nearby areas.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Quality hoteI in ideal location for quick transfer to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast looked quite good on first impressions but the reality was somewhat different - very weak fruit juices and cold fried items.

    Top quality hotel in a good location for the airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Like a parador - with spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s beautiful and comfortable and we enjoyed the spa circuit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Lovely spa hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel we enjoyed visiting the spa area included in the price of the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Spa and meals were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and meals were great. Views and proximity to Cudillero.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    The location, views from the grounds and the helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, views from the grounds and the helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Ambience, location & spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ambience, location & spa

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Thank you, we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, staff kindness and food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice staff, and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC very weak.

    Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Food and service at dinner was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and service at dinner was very good. Location perfect for an early morning flight

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable, fabulous location. The set menu looked appealing, we chose to go a’ la carte and had a great meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is okay, but soulless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful.

    Good location and great views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    No internet in room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A nice place to celebrate my 70 year birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice place to celebrate my 70 year birthday. Only the 2 of us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing property and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing property and room Good breakfast Nice spa area Good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great staff and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Relajante
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La estancia en general

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    unfortunately no any vegetables during breakfast seems that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately no any vegetables during breakfast seems that this is normally for Spain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was really amazing

    Big spaces, nice spa, wonderful meals

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, lots to see locally and just 10 minutes drive from the airport. Interesting history of the building too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    It was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way and not many restaurants to eat at.

    Very nice hotel. Large rooms, good service. They also have a spa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Good helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa hours.

    Great location for Camino. Spa hours not great. Closed between 2 & 5.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building. Not too far to drive from airport, but far enough not to hear planes. Convenient as plane arrived at 20.30.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    The rooms are spacious and the pool/spa area is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are spacious and the pool/spa area is awesome. Wish we stayed here one more night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Wow! Great bit of luxury while walking the Camino!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow! Great bit of luxury while walking the Camino! Beautiful rooms - the spa pool was fabulous! Fantastic brekkie!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Set menu was very cheap, but food was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Set menu was very cheap, but food was poor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant, welcoming place with helpful, courteous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was fine

    Clean and fresh. Nice restaurant and welcoming staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Excellent service, attention to details and lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service, attention to details and lovely staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    amazing people, great hospitality from the maids, reception, bar and waiting staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything! Wonderful staff & breakfast selections.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good quality for a reasonable price
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the Sauna was not as expected, not too hot

    The menu for dinner and the decoration of the rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was great service is very friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    plastic cups for tooth brush !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    plastic cups for tooth brush !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    A fine hotel reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast bacon and eggs in a bain Marie were stone cold, what a pity

    Fluffy bathrobes, large comfy room warm on a cold day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Palatial palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we missed the spa as we arrived after it closed

    Hotel was beautiful, very palace-like!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Second Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location to Camino del Norte path. Excellent meal with attentive staff. Second stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay but don't have breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not worth it at the price. Even 5 euros is too much

    The lunch was excellent. The breakfast was appalling. Dried bread and limited choice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel on top of hill overlooking the river with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The spa does not stay open long enough! It should be open until at least 10:00pm for late arrivals like ourselves! Also, when we went down to dinner, they could not accommodate us (The restaurant is too small). We sat at the bar and ordered bar appetizers which was the only option. However, it took more than an hour to get our food and by then two of our party had left and gone to bed. Also, another friend ordered room service and it never came-not even a phone call!

    Beautiful hotel on top of hill overlooking the river with the ocean in the background. Our rooms were very nice and comfortable. Good breakfast in morning. Be sure to ask for fresh eggs and bacon!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Super place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super place. Friendly staff except for reception. Perhaps he looked at us as backpackers - we were doing the Camino! Marvellous dinner for fixed 25 euro per head. Lunch snack menu good. Surprised at how reasonable and good value of extras. Very happy with what we got. Friendliness of staff and attention to detail good. Top Class.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    I thought the spa was excellent and the hotel was very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather, but we were just unlucky !

    I thought the spa was excellent and the hotel was very well presented and kept. The rooms were lovely and very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    A beautiful grand old hotel, that has been well maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel

    A beautiful grand old hotel, that has been well maintained in keeping with its historic past. We ate in the hotel on 2 occasions and the food was excellent. The breakfast, included in our booking, was plentiful, varied and good quality. There was a pleasant bar/lounge to sit in, serving drinks and snacks at reasonable rates. My wife enjoyed the Spa facilties. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We paid just £80 a night, B & B for this excellent hotel, probably around half of what you would expect to pay in the UK for one of similar standards and facilities

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, Good looking building. Loved the sitting area. spa was OK would have preferred warmer water in pool, I enjoyed the hot beds but the plastic cups were too thin for the hot drink.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.8
    Good situation near airport, and good views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good situation near airport, and good views. Lavishly furnished, appropriately for its history. Helpful staff. Comfortable room. Excellent bathroom. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.8
    Superbly appointed room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was not told on arrival that you needed to book a table for dinner so were most surprised to be refused a table at first. After some discussion we did eat but at a speedy pace (the table was obviously needed later). Bar staff dilatory.

    Superbly appointed room Garage parking if needed Spa and pool available (but no time to use them - take a bathing cap if you want to!) Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    I liked the location, the room was a good size, the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked the location, the room was a good size, the bathroom was spacious. Stunning view from our room. Good location for Asturius Airport

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    Everyone was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences

    Everyone was very friendly. The breakfast was excellent, the room was lovely and the Spa was brilliant!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Very attractive building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You need a car because there is not much to see in the town.

    Very attractive building. Lovely staff in the dining room. Food very good value

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    Comfort of hotel and the proximity to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort of hotel and the proximity to the airport

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    It was truly luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was truly luxurious

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pass everything was brilliant

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    The grandeur of the old house has been preserved in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The grandeur of the old house has been preserved in the hotel. The views are fantastic.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: