Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palacio Dos Olivos 3 stars

Plaza Luis Balerdi, 2, 31290 Galdeano, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Galdeano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable and tranquil rural stay in a friendly and well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet village setting with lovely view across a valley with an easy 10 minute drive to Estella (well worth several visits) and to wonderful nature walks. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. A place to unwind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Escape from stress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have a bit more variety, but it was sufficiently wide in variety and the quality was good.

    Very nice hotel in an outstanding natural environment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Hill town treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we did not like.

    This is an exquisite 16th former palace in a remote hill town in Navarro. It is beautifully decorated, clean, luxurious. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We loved every minute of our stay, and will not hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to have breakfast as room service, which was limited. Quite off the beaten track. We were the only people staying that night.

    Ery nice hotel, lovely setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Staff accommodated a change in our original room with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends assigned room next to ours has a terrible spray smell. Luckily they allowed them to move to a much better room

    Staff accommodated a change in our original room with no hassle or problem. Very professionals al staff!👍🏾

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is in an old palace next to an abandoned church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small but efficient shower in a large bathroom.

    The hotel is in an old palace next to an abandoned church. The views are spectacular! It set on a hill overlooking farmland, but only 15 min. to Estrella Spain. All that said the rooms are new and modern even with an elevator.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice secluded hotel off the beaten path . Worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a very romantic place so is great for couples ,nice decor and views and a solitary feeling , we where the only guests on our stay so it felt like living in a Palace .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.0
    overall, a very disappointing stay, which was unfortunate because it was in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. When I booked online I had the option of a twin room or double and I chose the double. However, when we arrived we were told all the double rooms were booked out. This was very disappointing, it should not have come up as an option if it was not available. 2. The website said there was a spa/jacuzzi but we were informed they have never had a spa at the hotel. 3. The wifi did not work 4. The food at the restaurant was inedible 5. The walls in the rooms were thin and it was very loud 6. There was no air con or fan to cool the room down, and it was extremely hot and uncomfortable and difficult to sleep 7. When we arrived we waited in the lobby for over 20 minutes for a staff member to check us in. No one else was around.

    The location was stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a tiny ,quiet village,we were kept awake ALL night by the neighbour joing on to the Hotel,who had his tv on with windows open ALL NIGHT! No air con in the rooms. Breakfast expensive.

    The views from the Hotel. Large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there during a heatwave and there wasn't any air con in our room. Normally this wouldn't be a problem.

    View from the hotel was beautiful, as is the rest of the hotel. The restaurant served good food, the whole place was well looked after and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Amazing hotel but the experience fell short
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At around 10:30 p.m a tour bus unloaded about 25 people at the hotel and from that point until well past midnight the peace and quiet was gone and my wife and I could not sleep. When I checked out I mentioned this to the receptionist and said it wasn’t their fault. But in retrospect, the management could have asked the tour group to respect quiet hours and settle down. Also even though we were upstairs we could hear the tables and chairs being moved along the floors which was very loud to set up for this large group.

    Wow, what an amazing hotel! The restoration of a palace into this beautiful hotel is truly special. The town was very quiet and a little sleepy, we went for a short walk and didn’t see any people. When we checked in around 5 p.m. it seemed like we were the only people in the hotel. The food was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Beatiful place with very bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst breakfast!!! Was nothing to eat at all. We were reject in our request to fried us eggs. Dinner wasn't tasty and presentation was very pretentious. However tasteless. The hotel would do much better with simple warm food for dinner and better breakfast.

    Located in beatiful area. Amazing views. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.1
    Lovely place but a bit too quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the beginning of October the hotel was practically empty and the bar was closed. A limited evening menu which we didn't fancy meant we ate our own snacks and drank our own wine in the evening. There was nowhere else to eat/drink within reach. I expected it to be in a village.

    The location was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Disappointing welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff were most inadequate ....we felt uneasy with their lack of engagement and almost non existent level of English. WI FI was terrible.

    The dinner was quite good with 4 courses and wine but overall didn't overcome the isolation and lack of warm atmosphere.......not a cheap dining option at all

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    The room in the roof with window but no views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room in the roof with window but no views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The stay was nice the inly thing that was less that good was the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not too good.no cereal.yogurt.and the fruit was bruised and rotting.coffee was cold

    Location excellent.staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Historical building done to a very high standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very noisey from adjacent rooms

    Good views historical building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Amazing location but needed a wider menu for breakfast and dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu was a bit limited

    Great location and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Great place, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, it exceded expectations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of nowhere. They only did dinner on Fridays and Saturdays . So a problem on other days!

    Beautiful. Clean. Brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    9.2
    Located in a beautiful little village and away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in a beautiful little village and away from the crowds and motorways. Beautiful room and view from room over peaceful valley - luxury at a bargain price. In house dining very acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    beautifully restored historic building, very well designed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant on the first evening due to staff shortage, a 20 minute drive for a meal! No English spoken until checkout when a new face appeared at reception.

    beautifully restored historic building, very well designed and fitted out.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    A well converted old country house with wonderful views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit weird, they never opened the curtains in the public rooms, so it was all in darkness during the day, and the lights were off at night. Our check in was "odd" and lacked warmth.

    A well converted old country house with wonderful views over the countryside

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building.Gorgeous interior Grounds and village stunning. Comfortable bedroom. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. We had a fabulous stay..

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.3
    Good location for the national park - if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendly, but difficult to communicate since we did not speak Spanish.

    Good location for the national park - if you have a car. The facilities of the hotel were nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    We loved the atmosphere in the old castle from the 13th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the atmosphere in the old castle from the 13th century. It was renovated and turned into a luxury hotel 10 years ago and the owner really makes you feel at home (and he also prepares a delicious breakfast!). This hotel is maybe not as inexpensive as other places in this area, but definitely the best!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    What a beautiful hotel there has been payed so much...
    • Couple

    Sheets felt very hard (forgot perhaps to add softener. Such a pity due to the fact we where outside the season the restaurant was not open on weekdays (which is understandable) but would be nice if they could have offered something small like sandwich with fried eggs. Such a pity we didn't speak Spanish.

    What a beautiful hotel there has been payed so much attention into the smallest details. So well maintained it looks like everything is brand new.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    Staff were very friendly and a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and a beautiful hotel. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    The setting was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The setting was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful place/decor, wonderful views, in tiny village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    Wonderful place/decor, wonderful views, in tiny village.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Location, decor and fabulous sitting room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, decor and fabulous sitting room

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stunning hotel Great value

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    Lovely location and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Evening meal disappointing

    Lovely location and comfortable hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.9
    Beautifully restored castle with fabulous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully restored castle with fabulous staff. Great location for hiking in the Urederra National Park.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    Very quite location, friendly welcome,and great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing else apart a closed church in the village.

    Very quite location, friendly welcome,and great facilities.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Staff very helpful especially as we did not speak Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful especially as we did not speak Spanish. Wonderful scenery. Evening meal was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.8
    The stuff, the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not sound proof, noise cleaners in the morning.

    The stuff, the building

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Very dadicated staff.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Hotel Palacio Dos Olivos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: