Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palacio Garcia Quijano 3 stars

Tarriba, 13-14, 39406 Los Corrales de Buelna, Spain

#1 of 5 hotels in Los Corrales de Buelna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Short and ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water was murky. One receptionist was good, one poor. Not much close by. Nothing apart from the attractiveness of hotel to make it stand out

    The courtyard was pretty. Rooms were clean and well decorated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the hotel was beautiful, we were quite disappointed about the service. Due to a mistake of the hotel, we couldn’t have the two rooms we had booked and to our surprise, the hotel did nothing at all to compensate us. We had to stay in a small room all together, but no excuses, no free breakfast, nothing at all…. Other conditions could have been better as well: the water of the swimming pool rather dirty, the breakfast very modest, no effort to make us feel at home, only the hotel itself was really beautiful.

    Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, beautiful scenery,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annexed Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, they do not have a restaurant ( not even for sandwich) at the hotel, so either go to the nearby restaurant (not so good) or drive to a nearby one. The pool needs some cleaning.

    Friendly staff, beautiful scenery,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    Characterful rural idle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annexed Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there is no on site parking. Cars have to be left an a communal car park 50m from the hotel. That said the area is very quiet and we were assured that they never have any trouble.

    This is an ideal first night stopover if you have come into Santander by ferry. The Hotel is in a very peaceful rural village, staff are very helpful and speak good English if required.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    A placeyou must visit.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What we did not like was our time was very limited arriving after eight in the evening and leaving by seven thirty the next morning, the time was too short to enjoy such a charming place. Beds are to each individuals choice, we found it too hard for our liking and we could have done with more pillows. The address on Booking.com is not accurate and the satnav could not find it which wasted an hour. The receptionist did point out the bottom step is not carpeted. Let me explain originally it had a stone staircase, in the refurbishment they replaced it with a timber one which they then carpeted but for some reason not the bottom stone one. In the early morning before the premises opened, we left and with a heavy case in hand made my way down this beautiful red carpeted stairway, not noticing the last step was different and stumbled. It would be an excellent idea for the owners to highlight that last step so it is more visible.

    Everything was perfect, well not quite everything but too small to matter, as the property was a complete surprise, a four hundred year old farm house which had been recently renovated taking care to keep the original features. The rooms were large and comfortable with thick stone walls. The large en suite had a jacuzzi type bath with towels and toiletry facilitates. The bed is one of the largest we have seen in a hotel room. The local village is charming modern Spanish with the man town a few mile away. The house itself has lovely manicured gardens with a swimming pool and places to relax in, it must be really great in the summer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    This was our most luxurious accommodation of our two week...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Palacio was pretty difficult to find and then finding restaurants in the dark was also very difficult - even with GPS!

    This was our most luxurious accommodation of our two week trip and incredibly inexpensive. Really beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find. Breakfast was a bit disapointing.

    Stuff was great. Room was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    I would really recommend it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The great and calm garden with swimming pool, fantastic staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable for stopover after arriving at Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable for stopover after arriving at Santander

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Very
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annexed Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well positioned for an overnight touring stop. Only 5 mins walk to lovely quiet village to eat/drink.

    Very

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    The house and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner, beds were poor. Breakfast average.

    The house and grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Just spent 6 nights at this beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Just spent 6 nights at this beautiful hotel. Wonderful hosts, lovely room and location near the park, overlooking the mountains and farms. Gorgeous sitting areas, nice breakfast, and helpful touring advice. This is a perfect location for the Cuevas de Altamira, Cueva de Castillo and Cueva de Monedas. You are within driving distance to Alto Campoo and the Natural Park. Highly recommend this area for your exploration, as well as this comfy place to stay! We will be back!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    5.0
    The place was very delightfully .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was very poor and the owner was not very pleasant .

    The place was very delightfully . But the staff appeared that they were not to keen in having the bother of people staying in there hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    Country location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi difficult

    Country location, Pleasant staff Good breakfast Just as advertised Plain good tapas bar with meals 10 mins walk Untried Michelin Star restaurant 25 mins walk

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    Staff very friendly, secure parking available for motorbikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening meals or much choice to eat out nearby although the local Vinas bar did excellent steaks.

    Staff very friendly, secure parking available for motorbikes. Location was very scenic and the old restored building has been renovated to a very high standard.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Although a sole traveller I was made very welcome and given...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although a sole traveller I was made very welcome and given a lovely room. It was quiet and I had the small swimming pool area virually to myself. The staff went overboard to make my visit very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.0
    the hotel its self
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the address is incorrect and so impossible to find by sat-nav. there is very little by way of restaurants nearby and nothing at all within the hotel.

    the hotel its self

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    location and the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was not brilliant.

    location and the town. Owner recommended a place to eat and the food was excellent! Biggest steaks we have ever had! Allowed us to park our motorcycles in the courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.3
    Lovely restored building, character rooms and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Remote location - maybe ok to "get away from it all" but dinner options are very limited. Nothing at the hotel, and only a couple of bars within reasonable distance.

    Lovely restored building, character rooms and cleanliness. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very quite location.qua

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.3
    Cleanliness, value for money helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find ,lack of signage in village . No dinner available in hotel and limited around local area . Eat before you get there but worth every penny.

    Cleanliness, value for money helpful Great bed and bathroom

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.9
    Very spacious rooms and complete hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No dinner. Breakfast starts at 09:00

    Very spacious rooms and complete hotel. Generous breakfast. Very nice and interested staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and lovely building.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    It was so peaceful, quiet, beautiful, large rooms, amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was so peaceful, quiet, beautiful, large rooms, amazing staff, nice pool, outdoors tables, close to so many fun things to visit.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful setting, friendly courteous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful setting, friendly courteous staff. Close to real gems like Comillaa, prehistoric caves, Santillsna del Mar. Just gorgeous.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Palacio Garcia Quijano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: