Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palacio Muñatones 1 stars

Barrio San Julian, 61, 48550 Muskiz, Spain

#2 of 4 hotels in Muskiz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 415 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Stylish elegant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very stylish and beautifully decorated hotel. Likewise the room and bathroom. Very comfy large bed, great shower with instant hot water. Limited snack menu but good food at good prices. Nice bar area. Very friendly staff/owners. Secure parking and convenient for ferry. Reasonably priced and highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were shocked to find a gas refinery next door. The room was so hot but you could not open the windows due to the smell,lights and noise. Only 1 towel in the room

    Secure parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Made to feel welcome in a very nicely decorated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near refinery was initially off-putting, but had no impact on an enjoyable stay.

    Beautifully renovated building, with very attractive taste in decor. The owners were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    We picked this hotel primarily for it's location near to the ferry port, it was better than expected
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-con in the bedroom and very hot in August

    The location was ideal for the ferry, the staff were very friendly and helpful evening snacks and breakfast very good secure on site free parking and good value for money lovely old building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Perfect place to rest your head while travelling through Basque Country!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic property! Very clean, very quiet, and secure parking for my car. Staff were very friendly and kind. I would definitely stay here again! For dinner I would recommend the delicious jamon and local wine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a one night overnight stay before boarding ferry next morning with secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food offering needs a lot of improvement, there is a extremely large refinary very near that smells a little

    Parking on site, close to ferry port, a lovely boutique hotel very freindly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location for ferry with secure parking. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long day travelling, it would have been better if there had been more choice on the menu for dinner as there were no other restaurants nearby.

    The location was excellent for catching the Ferry to UK and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    convenient 15 mnitues drive to ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is really a snack bar.The menu comprises sandwiches, plate of cheese or meats ,mixed salad, bacon and eggs or burger. And there is nowhere else to eat close by. The proximity of a huge chemical works is unpleasant visually and smell wise!

    Quality of fittings and furnishings very high standard. Secure parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is situated next to an oil refinery, however it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated next to an oil refinery, however it is a fantastic location if you are using the ferry, being only 6 miles away (20 mins). We have stayed here twice now and both times I asked for a room facing away from the refinery and we have been very comfortable. The bathroom facilities are second to none - the shower is huge. Great value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    We loved this hotel, despite its unfortunate position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a minor thing and it didn’t bother us at all, but i have to be honest. if you are looking for a hotel with beautiful surroundings, then you have it on 3 sides of the hotel. There is a large petroleum plant the other side of the river in the valley directly behind the hotel.

    The owners were really friendly and helpful. The hotel was really smart, and our room was amazing. The bar area had a limited evening food menu, but what we did have was very nice. Buffet breakfast was lovely. We were there for one night only and it was a nice way to finish our week off. 15 mins from the ferry port of Bilbao. We couldn’t fault the hotel itself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Small room. Old building, modernized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Huge petrol plant for view, but it was actually pretty at night as it looked like a cruise ship all lit up. Room apparently had no A/C and we wanted more air but we didn’t open window because of noise from plant, a constant, even hum. Hence, stuffy room. Dim lighting in room. End table only for just one side of bed. Clerk (owner?) who checked us in was the only unwelcoming hotel staff person we’ve encountered during our five weeks in Spain. All business, no smiles on arrival or departure. Front door was locked so we had to go through bar. Patio was full of cigarette smokers. Hated walking through the stench and smoke. The fact that they had many cameras that were monitored at front desk made me wonder if they had security problems.

    One staff member was super friendly and nice. Eager to please and helpful. Good enough breakfast. Clean. Convenient parking on premises.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location and service pity about the view to the rear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location spoilt by proximity of petrol works behind and aromas not good. Room at front best!

    Location for Bilbao Port very good, only 15 minutes drive to Ferry. Hosts were really friendly and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall a great place to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that let the hotel down was the mattress on our bed. After a long and tiring drive we were looking forward to a good nights sleep but the mattress was hard leading to a fitful nights sleep.

    The whole hotel. The room was very comfy, the bar area was very relaxing and food served there was tasty, the breakfast area was clean and tidy, the continental breakfast laid on was very plentiful and hotel location good for day trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    As the building was a former palace, we definitely felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    As the building was a former palace, we definitely felt like royalty. Beautiful stone building with tasteful additions. Tastefully decorated. Attention to every detail. Doors from bedroom opening onto Juliette Balcony. View from both doors and windows across country side. Exceptional bathroom, large marbel floored shower. Comfortable sitting room adjacent to bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Quaint little palace with character and very clean rooms. Good location for port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Temperature dropped dramatically late afternoon so asked for the heating to be put on. This was then fine.

    Hotel very quaint with exposed beams throughout. Room very comfortable, very clean and a comfortable bed. Bathroom was superb. Limited menu in the bar but food was delicious. Local community seem to congregate there which made for a good atmosphere. Owner and family were very obliging. Breakfast was adequate. Distance from Bilbao ferry very good (15 mins). Don't be put off by the refinery opposite, it looks spectacular at night!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel provided comfortable accommodation and food close by ferry port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the hotel is lovely and convenient for the ferry it's outlook at the back overlooks the oil refinery,not very picturesque but having said I would use it again,but just for one night

    Very friendly and helpful staff comfortable room in a a stylishly refurbished period property. Very convenient for Bilbao ferry port.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oil refinery immediately behind hotel - not the view we expected. Further from beach than suggested (5km). Noisy plumbing. Couldn't find anywhere else to eat locally. Limited English spoken.

    Nice room. Good breakfast. 20 mins drive from ferry port

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.8
    Hotel very isolated not easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant, no safe in room, no bathrobes slippers, no iron, no clothes horse, Our print out stated all these were included especially as only room available was deluxe room at time of booking. Room very dark not enough lighting. No air conditioning. Next to refinery. Would not stay here again, and would not recommend it.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Last port of call
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives this hotel is great value for money

    Staff very welcoming the hotel is in a great location if using the ferry. VERY clean and though no restaurant the cafeteria offers great filling snacks our 'burgers' we're fabulous and though hubby would have liked chips I can assure you they are not needed. Room comfortable though think the cleaners forgot to leave bath towel but no problem we had our own but I am sure if I had asked they would have been supplied. I cannot fault this hotel credit to the owners, I saw previous comments about the refinery nearby but did not cause us any problems. We will definitely use again on our travels to Spain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above, location

    it didn't show this is opposite an oil refinery. Be honest please. Otherwise it was ok, owners were very nice, and did a very nice salad for supper.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value only 20 minutes from Bilbao ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room with a view to the front, which was pleasant. The rooms at the back of the hotel have views of the large oil refinery which is very close. I would recommend asking for a room at the front of the property.

    Great location for an overnight stay prior to catching the morning Ferry to Portsmouth. Room not huge but comfortable for our short stay. Great bathroom, and the breakfast was good. We didn't want to drive out for dinner, enjoyed a burger special from the snack menu (not something I would usually have) with a really tasty bread bun and accompaniments. The scores given reflects very good value for the rate paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable with on-site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elephant in the room here, which no one else seems to have mentioned, is that it is adjacent to an oil refinery. This didn't cause us any problems as our room was facing away. If you are merely staying for one night before or after a ferry crossing then it is perfectly adequate but the oil refinery does need to be mentioned in an objective review.

    Clean and comfortable and a short car journey to the Brittany ferry port

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Check the location before booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    right next to huge imposing power station, located well outside a rather depressing town with no restaurants to speak of.

    very clean and well appointed. great shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Friendly welcome and very clean nicely presented room Very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is next to and overlooking an Oil refinery. There is no restaurant in spite of pictures that indicate there is. This is a 50/60Euro hotel not 80

    Friendly welcome and very clean nicely presented room Very good internet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Great for the Bilbao ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu for the evening meal was limited and rather basic but the food we had was very good.

    Very friendly welcome and excellent service - met 3 other groups of English travelers who were all using the hotel for the first time as an hotel close to Bilbao ferry port - we all said that we would use the hotel again for the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    A Good Place to Stay Close to Ferry, but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning would have been a bonus

    Very comfortable, stylish, spacious room with fantastic large shower. Great location close to the port for catching the ferry home (about 15 min drive). There is a bar which on a hot day is essential! We had a room facing away from the refinery, but could still hear it droning on all night and the background smell which is all pervading is not terrible pleasant. Having said that, we would use the hotel again because it was a very nice room, was excellent value and so convenient to the port.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    It was only a few minutes from a nice beach .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the Petronor refinery just across the river . The hotel only provided cafetería facilities while we were there .Anyone wanting a more substantial meal would need to travel out of the village .

    It was only a few minutes from a nice beach . The staff were excellent in all respects . It is a very welcoming small hotel though not perhaps the ideal location for an extended stay .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Not for use by disabled people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this as it was described as being suitable for disabled people, the first problem was that there was a step up onto the pavement, the barman saw the problem and pushed my husband in his wheelchair right into the hotel. The room that we were given was on the second floor, the bathroom was not fitted out for a disabled person.

    A delightful tastefully restored building, it was spotless, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Awesome place to stay in a almost deserted place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place deserves more than 1 star! The petroleum refinery is just next door and in the morning there was a bit of a funny smell

    Very kind staff! Awesome what they did with the place. The manager was so kind to prepare us a meal in the evening because we arrived quite late.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.0
    Sadly disappointing end to our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am genuinely dismayed to write a poor review for this hotel after having read such favourable reviews prior to booking. We speak little Spanish (which incidentally we see as entirely our problem!) but attempted to use the few words we know, always with a smile and "por favor " / "gracias" to show appreciation, so put any reservedness down to the language barrier. A kind gentleman, who acted as interpreter and who appeared to be in some way linked to the hotel helped arrange a vegetarian meal of pasta, salad with tomatoes, cheese and fries. My partner, who is not vegetarian, also requested some fish "if possible?". We received lettuce, a little onion, one tomato and one egg between us. I did not receive the cheese, pasta or fries (which I thought may come later!). My partner received a piece of fish after the salad, unceremoniously served with no accompaniment save a little sauce. On requesting the bill afterwards we were shocked to find my salad was €8 and my partner was charged an extra €7 for the fish. I questioned the price but was simply told it was correct. I may be incorrect in finding these costs excessive but we are fairly familiar with the normally fair prices in Spain and I was left feeling insulted and somewhat taken advantage of. We arrived there with a positive attitude despite a difficult journey (car problems) and didn't even raise an eyebrow at the outlook from the hotel onto a huge refinery, not mentioned in its description. We really tried to find the positives in our stay but to no avail. Very sad to leave feeling so disappointed.

    Location close to ferry port

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.9
    Handy for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location in itself was fine but for the very large refinery practically on the doorstep and overlooked by the car park (and our bathroom window). However, we weren't affected directly by it,

    Our room was lovely, bed comfortable and staff very friendly despite the language barrier. The beach was a short distance away and its nearness to the ferry port at Bilbao was a plus (the main reason we chose the hotel).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    One night near Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Las Arena one of my favourite spots in the Basque country. Great wee hotel, restaurant closed but in was late October. Very clean, quite and comfortable. Off road parking and bonus. I would stay here again.-

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Such a lovely hotel, well presented and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the next door room.

    Such a lovely hotel, well presented and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    Just stayed one night for return ferry trip back to UK. Close to Ferry Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening Menu was very limited.

    Room was lovely, staff welcoming & breakfast great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very good, and the food in the restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very good, and the food in the restaurant was delicious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything was very nice and breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant and we had to go out but did not find anywhere for a decent meal

    Everything was very nice and breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Pre Ferry Stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The petroleum depot

    Proximity to the ferry

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Great for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable accommodation and friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    handy for ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    handy for ferry

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I would not hesitate in staying here again, our one night stopover suited us perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better in my opinion

    The rooms were lovely, the breakfast was great, more than enough and the staff were very accommodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good for one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not easy to find it

    Room was just great as well as breakfast. Walk to the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was nice shame about the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was next to a petrol chemical works

    Owner was friendly & helpful but didn't speak English

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Grand Surprise of a Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!!

    Just charming, Doña Ana & husband are grand people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough light in bedroom for reading.

    bed comfortable, breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    good value, shame about the smell of cigarette smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room had been used by smokers

    very comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    A good clean friendly hotel, situated perfect for the Brittany ferry. Friendly bar and nice staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food choice too limited and very basic.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good location for ferry, good bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Limited food choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    An historic building with excellent modern amenities and quality fitments

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing accommodation within easy access to ferry port and airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Friendly, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Rooms tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    A nice small hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The industrial are/refinery adjacent spoilt the location views and also smelt outside the hotel.

    A nice small hotel with character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged more than expected

    Lovely bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Good and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearest restaurant some way away 3kms, and not brilliant

    Convenient for the ferry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal location for catching the Bilbao ferry back to england

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    The lady at Reception was lovely -beautiful building tastefully refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right across from a HUGE petrochemical plant...

    Best pillows ever and amazing showers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable room , enough to stay one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located close to a big petrol factory

    A very good and comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Good location near facilities and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine

    Very comfortable and clean. The staff were pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Good friendly short stop hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big industrial works next door.

    Location was superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    A fantastic stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really welcoming, amazing burger for dinner, fantastic breakfast, beautiful smart rooms and outstanding bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel close to the ferry port!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a Company right behind it and you hear noises all night Long!

    The staff was very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Bar snacks and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar snacks and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.8
    Bathroom very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and no restaurant

    Bathroom very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for one night the outlook was poor but overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants were fair only

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Ideally situated for Bilbao ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in room. No on site restaurant.

    Lovely bathroom. Bed very comfy room quite chic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely throughout. Ideal for travel by car to Ferry Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    A beautiful property, well appointed throughout, very friendly and helpful owners/staff. Close to Ferry Port

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Great stop over near Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant not available in the evening.

    Friendly staff and great little bar.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    It was our first stay at this hotel and we will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities at the hotel were very good and we will stay there again. The staff were very pleasant and were very keen to please

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Friendly very tidy and clean a buetiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal

    Friendly very tidy and clean a buetiful hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    This hotel is well placed for the ferry port!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was under the impression they served meals! however they only provide a cold platter, which if you have been travelling all day is a let down and the town is a good mile away if you want to try for a meal. When you look to the back of the hotel there is a huge industrial park which could be off putting, look to the front you get the hamblett and the hills! Don't let the industrial bit put you off if you want a quiet nights sleep before the ferry!

    This hotel is well placed for the ferry port! A beautiful building which has been tastefully made into a hotel. All the rooms and ensuites are to a very high standard. The bar seems to be the hub of the village. There is car parking which is free! The public areas while small are well presented. There are only about 10 bedrooms. One of which is a single which are quite difficult to find. The hotel is on the edge of the hamblet and the turning could easily be missed. Situated where it is you get a good nights sleep! The beds are very comfortable! Breakfast is on offer from 7.00 am. Continental. Because the hotel is outside city and past the port the drive back to the ferry port is an easy and quick drive! Fromwhat I saw they appeared to have good disabled facilites.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    8.3
    The room was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of any hot food at all is very disappointing all they have is sandwiches. I'm sure they could do something simple even a microwave meal would have been good after driving for 6 hours.

    The room was very good. Great bathroom and shower good bed

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    5.0
    The Hotel is close to the Ferry Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel is a little isolated, and did not have food available other than a plate of ham and cheese and some bread

    The Hotel is close to the Ferry Port

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.7
    A NICE CLEAN WELL APPOINTED HOTEL BUT OUR ROOM (OVERLOOKING...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THERE IS NO INDICATION THAT THIS HOTEL IS SITUATED WITHIN TWO HUNDRED METERS OF A LARGE NOISY, SMELLY OIL REFINERY. LACK OF AIR CON IS VERY BAD. WHAT DO PEOPLE DO IN THE SUMMER HEAT, THE ROOM MUST BE UNBEARABLE.

    A NICE CLEAN WELL APPOINTED HOTEL BUT OUR ROOM (OVERLOOKING A LARGE PETRO-CHEMICAL FACILITY) DID NOT HAVE A VERY NEEDED AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM. VERY NOISY NIGHT IN HIGH TEMPERATURE. NOT GOOD

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.3
    Very luxurious room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was quite ordinary and unimaginative Limited bar menu ( bit pricy too)

    Very luxurious room..... Fabulous shower! Great location for the port Extremely accommodating staff

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    everything , from the beautiful elegant hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing .. every thing was top class ,

    everything , from the beautiful elegant hotel . lovingly and tastefully restored . high quality linen . clean, the staff, all friendly ,, when you stay some where like this , it can make your holiday into a great holiday ,, will use this in future as our base when we return to spain .

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Despite the language barrier the staff were extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor point the view is a Petrol refinery.

    Despite the language barrier the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Close to Bilbao ferry port and secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness of the owners/staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No fault of the hotel, but it and the surrounding houses/area are slap bang next to a petro-chemical plant. Not exactly beautiful but no noise from it in hotel and no smell. Just a bit of an eyesore. Do not let it stop you using this hotel!!!

    Friendliness of the owners/staff. Comfort and design etc of the hotel. The welcome.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    Knowing about the gas plant from previous reviews, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Knowing about the gas plant from previous reviews, it wasn't a surprise and though somewhat unsightly, it is spectacular when lit up at night and had no negative impact on our stay - the children loved watching the "flame thrower". Ideal for a stop over, gorgeous old property close to Bilbao, owner very helpful, rooms clean and comfortable and breakfast was amazing - especially the fresh donuts!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: