Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Suites Hotel Sercotel Palacio del Mar 4 stars

Alcalde Vega Lamera, 5, 390005 Santander, Spain

#25 of 32 hotels in Santander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1181 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Big spacious rooms, good service everything clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, to reach the city center you need to walk up and down the hills or spend about 20mins in the bus.

    Big spacious rooms, good service everything clean and tidy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Good location, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The third bed wasn't the best but for one night it was ok.

    It was a quite big room with very nice bathroom. Clean and spacious and the beach was very close. Parking was also very easy and fine and free. It was a pleasure.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Ok - not great
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is rather far from the ocean/sea. It is a little bit devastated - 4 stars are a little too much.

    Big rooms (2 rooms for 3 persons) and big, comfortable beds. Very, very comfortable bathtub.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.5
    Overall enjoyable and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor and not good value. No effort made to give a wider choice. Meats and cheeses not appetising. The breakfast fruit had not been peeled. There did not seem to be a main restaurant, only the bar to eat in the evening.

    Convenient for ferry port and close to the beach and motorway to go south. Staff courteous and friendly. Bed comfortable, and overall hygiene good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing hotel in a disappointing location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had booked a suite on the basis that we would have 2 double beds (one in the bedroom and one sofabed). We were told that we could only have the sofabed made up at an extra charge. When the staff said that it would be possible, they then made up only one side of the sofabed (which is in fact 2 camp beds). The hotel is very dated, the common parts are quite horrible. The location is at least double the distance from the beach than was advertised on Booking.com

    The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel in a perfect location near wonderful beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think the biggest issue for this hotel is that it is 'upside down'. It has great bedrooms, but all its communal rooms (dining room, breakfast room, bar) are in the basement with no natural light. It needs to get the services of a good designer to plan its lighting and decor in the communal areas (currently a chaotic mix of matador outfits; acquarium/fish themes; wild Cavalli / Versace - esque African prints mixed in with hunting trophies). The basement felt airless and a bit damp, which put us off ever having an evening meal/snack there.

    Large comfortable room with comfortable beds and great air-conditioning. Only 7 minutes walk onto great beaches. Easy to get a bus into central Santander. Free use of the great pool, sauna and steam room next door at the Fitness Centre. Great breakfasts. Wonderful seafood restaurant only 5 minutes away for late-night meals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place, we'd stay there anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of Electric kettle in the room, lack of a soap holder in the shower, spring mattress

    Location, proximity to beach and shopping, spaciousness of suite, access to the gym and pool at health spa next door!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel exterior bit outdated Basement bar decoration horrible with artificial hunting trophies. Really out of this world...

    Junior suite very spacious, rather newly renovated. Separate large living room Big bed Very quiet room Very good darkening curtains Five minutes walk to the beach Good breakfast, but missing fresh vegetables (tomato, cucumber, lettuce)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room/suite was large but a bit dated, plenty of ro9m but very small WC room. Altogether a bit soulless

    The staff were pleasant, the bar staff also. Easy walk to Sardinella’s beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Use of Spa next door with excellent pool and is free for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It sounds and looks promising but the rooms are very dated - the balconies are very narrow and my side looked over a school. The restaurant in the basement is really horrible with an outdated African theme with this HUGE fiberglass elephant head dominating the whole room. It is very dark - I did not want to eat there it was so outdated...I wish they would remodel it and bring it into the 21st century - it is a great space but the African theme does not work! Also if you are sensitive about bullfighting then you won’t like the glass cases with matador uniforms and swords ‘estocas’ around the lobby. I think you could do better for your money elsewhere in Santander.

    Use of Spa next door with excellent pool and is free for Hotel guests. Room Service good and it is literally 5 minutes walk to the beach which is great and a lovely beach. Staff very nice and they have an espresso machine €1 for a coffee in the lobby. It is very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Location, size of rooms,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant waitress was very very very rude she even snatched the pen out of my hand after signing for the poor quality evening meal four bits of pork, some sauce, and a few chips very disappointing for a four star hotel. One long sausage pillow each, very uncomfortable

    Location, size of rooms,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    The food at the facility was really good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The internet in my room (202) was lacking, and I couldn't receive proper Wi-Fi signal from the hotel. These was a major turn-off for me along with the fact that the spa center was not on the same site as the hotel. They were a few hundreds of meters away.

    The food at the facility was really good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable suite of two rooms, though far too warm when sleeping. Good value for money overall tho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One receptionist told us that the sightseeing bus tour was not operating currently - only during summer. She was misinformed and we were disappointed to not have been able to avail of it as we had a very short stay and couldn't explore to any great extent. The same receptionist told us that there was no Duty Free Shop at Santander airport; again misinformed. Luckily we still got to the airport early enough to do some gift shopping. Dinner is not served in the 'cafeteria' downstairs until 9pm which was far too late for us, and very disappointing as we had to go looking for food elsewhere when we were very tired. This is not good enough for non-Spanish visitors, in my opinion.

    The receptionists spoke good English and tried to be helpful most of the time. The suite was spacious, with a lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    Cheap but not cheerful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioning was awful. Non existent in reality. The breakfast was awful. Not a bowl in sight for the cereal and not a staff member seen in 25 mins in the room to even ask for one. Hot food selection has been sitting untouched for a considerable period by the looks of it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to move room as very noisy bar underneath hotel Whilst it states swimming pool you are given a voucher to go next door to a local complex

    Friendly staff and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, good parking - walking distance to beach - recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel felt a little dated, but the price point reflected this so this is not a complaint

    great staff they found an item i had left in the room , packaged it up and sent it by carrier to a hotel i was staying at later in the holiday - they were very friendly and ultra helpful on reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Spacious rooms!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exceedingly poor back-bar choice! Only basic Tequila & no Bourbon or ginger ale??? (Please contact me for product recommendations)!? Staff behind bar/cafe were friendly however! No tea/coffee facilities in room despite lots of space! Poor choice of pastries in cafe to go with tea/coffees!

    Spacious rooms! Free storage of cases on final day, for late flight departure! Friendly & smiling help from Alicia (receptionist) in added 3 days to our stay, due to Ryanair flight cancellation due to French air controller strike!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Good selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prefer a regular room to the junior suite. Garage door and lights kept closing and turning off, whilst trying to park. Very dangerous.

    Great location and bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To be honest, and this is a personal taste thing I know, but the decor of the lobby and the downstairs bar was fairly hair-raising, with an elephants' head on the wall along with a whole variety of the front end of other mainly African animals adorning the walls, and the admiration and adulation of slaughtering bulls (a whole bullfighting theme on the reception floor), but I suppose that's Spain for you! I couldn't really relax with all those dead eyes following you around... and also for personal taste, the room, though clean (which is the main thing) is very dated and very bland.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was kept very clean. This hotel is well-enough situated (about 5-10 mins walk) from the main beach, if that's what you like it will suit well. To get into the main part of town was about 15-25mins on a bus, for €1.30pp so not a big inconvenience and very easy to get around, but if you're mainly into a buzzing night-life and restaurants, you'd be better getting a hotel in around the main part of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.4
    Liked Santander and the size of our accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and lacks any warmth. The room itself could have done with a good clean and certainly a lick of paint would not have went wrong

    Liked Santander and the size of our accommodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Our hotel of choice in Sardinero
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little updating of room and fittings needed.

    Great room, with plenty of space, lighting and plug points. Very comfortable bedroom and bathroom arrangements.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Cosy and big. Well located and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a great time. Of course nothing is perfect. Just need a few bits and pieces of work in the room. Not major things.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very original decoration. Very well located. 10 min walking from the beach. Near to the University. Supermarket near by. The room has a good division. Big and very cosy at the same time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.7
    The best thing for us was that we could fit 3 people all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems the hotel used to be great, but long time ago, facilities are rather old

    The best thing for us was that we could fit 3 people all together. There were 2 separate rooms in the "room". The hotel is very close to the beach, we loved our walks there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Good but quirky hotel. Could be a bit more personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot and there was no way to turn down the heating. Staff dont give the place any personality

    This is a good hotel, large, but quite quirky. Needs some updating, but I would stay there again. I had a spa bath in my bedroom as well as a shower in the bathroom!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    Part of the staff did an excellent job.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do have a serious problem with the cleaning: one of the elevators had a lot of hairs on the floor, the first room I stayed in was pretty dirty and smelled badly), the hairdryer had a lot of sports from whatever, I do not want to know), the mirrow was dirty, too... somebody must have smoked in that room, I asked to change and got a better room but even that one was pretty dusty and the fridge was wery sticky, seemed that someone had spilled orange juice that was all over the lower part of the fridge... The decoration is really worn out and especially the entrance with the old carpets and the bullfight-style Deco is a nightmare. For up to 50 euros a night I would book again but not for much more...

    Part of the staff did an excellent job. The male part of it, the women at the reception were not really friendly. To be able to use the nearby gym was a great plus. the location is good, next to the football stadion and near the Sardinero beach. Thanks to the really nice recepcionist who was there at nighttime.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.4
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife was a little disappointed that the pool was not on the premises.

    The reception staff were excellent and obtained a wheelchair to help me get about the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    6.7
    Room was more spacious than similar hotels, so if with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms although spacious are tired and out dated. I would not consider this 4 star, however, you cannot have it all and this is reflected in the price.

    Room was more spacious than similar hotels, so if with a family works well. Most rooms have a terrace. Easy walking distance to all Sardinero restaurants and beach. Taxis are easily on hand. Wifi good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very poor WiFi.the hotel needs attention.

    lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    The location was great, very clean and spacious rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, very clean and spacious rooms! Definitely will be staying there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was very helpful with our needs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff Spacious and clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location to walk to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to walk to the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room

    Amazing gym and pool. Staff fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Hidden gem very close to the ferry terminal but with good access to the beach and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved being in a suite. Spa bath was great and robes felt very luxurious. Hotel was a short walk to the beach and lots of good places to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Exactly what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were phenomenally helpful. Food was amazing and the steaks were the best. Rooms were well appointed and plenty of space. Fantastic value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    We stayed here because Booking.com cancelled our apartment booking at short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is poor and hotel is a bit dated and needs refurbishment

    Nice friendly staff and the food was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff, lovely room, great shower, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff, lovely room, great shower, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Good facilities at hotel with large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff little abrupt with non speaking Spanish guests

    Great facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    All relaxing after a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just can not fault at all

    Spacious,massive bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were excellent. Beautiful large and airy. Very stylish

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a suite. It was huge. More like a one bedroom apartment. The food in the bar/restaurant was lovely and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Nice return after 12 years
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spaciousness and position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    The rooms were very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar decor was very random and a little dated.

    The rooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't recommend this hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor value for money Very tired;holes in door and scruffy furniture No view Awful meal

    Breakfast and space in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location for beach and ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food availability

    Close to beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel just outside central Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and comfortable for me and my 2 young children, allowing me the space to not have to go to bed when they do!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    2.9
    Could not wait to leave. Dated. Dirty and needs major revamp
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Relax by thecsea
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except the weather

    Situation and comfort

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendliness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of hotel was poor, and the carpet in the hallways smelt.

    Friendliness of the staff. Large rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable room, and great loacation near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside and reception a lttle dated.

    Very comfortable room, and great loacation near the beach. Good value for the ptice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    A real 💎 quiet comfortable and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to detriment it was perfect.

    Suite was very comfortable particularly the bed. Only a short walk to the beach and the promenade was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant

    The room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.8
    The stuff are very frindly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and the restaurant are coold in wintertime. But it's ok.

    The stuff are very frindly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.2
    Spacious room and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking availability !

    Nice linen sheets.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Perfect hotel to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing Nada

    In general, everything. En general, todo

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one disabled parking bay.

    Breakfast was very good, staff friendly,location of the hotel to the ferry was easy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    So near ,very roomy,clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No entertainment in hotel ....very quiet ...no atmosphere...felt empty ...corridors ver dark

    So near ,very roomy,clean...helpful friendly staff ..good value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    The room was enormous, with a balcony, a sitting room and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was enormous, with a balcony, a sitting room and a large bathroom with separate toilet. And all extremely clean. I loved the fun lift! This hotel is not situated in the main part of the city but in a lovely area surrounded by a park and the beach. There are plenty of small bars and restaurants for drinks, meals or tapas and people are exceptionally friendly. This was perfect for an overnight stay, as the following day we drove the short distance to the town centre for a look around before continuing our journey.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.7
    I liked the room size and decor and the massive big couch to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms could do with sound proofing as I found it fairly noisy at night with other people in their rooms, and there were no tea or coffee facility,s which would have been good but being seosoned travellers now we take our own with us so it didnt matter a great deal . It is also pretty far up from the town but was easily accessable by bus just round the corner a bit.They could do with brushing outside a bit more as it did look untidy with ciggy butts and some broken glass out the back door .Cafeteria and dining room were both closed on day we arrived at night also but being the end of the seoson maybe this was why as it was quiet we when we arrived and I did notice nearer to the weekend when hotel was busier it was open but by that time we,d found some really good places to eat and didnt go in. The one real thing that I didnt like towards the end of the week was all the traffic noise [and there is a lot of traffic] any time the window was open. All in all we did have a nice stay though next time I,d pick a hotel further down the town area and a little away from a main road area .

    I liked the room size and decor and the massive big couch to sit on was really comfy, Beds were comfy and changed when we were there and within the week and my pillow got changed completley as it smelled of sick or sweat they gave me a new one right away though so there were no more issues there. The mini bar which we used to keep our milk etc in was really good and was jammed packed with lots of goodies which we didnt use lots of drinks etc. Reception was very good and dealt with issues very quickly as we had a leak in our toilet late at night from above us too and they came within minutes to fix it up till next morning when the maintance guy must have fixed it properly as we had no problems after the first day/night at all and everything ran very smoothly .It was a good last minute holiday and Santander is very nice with lots of everything and some lovely sunshine and scenery well worth a visit as you can walk for miles or catch a bus for very little we will hopefully return there as we really did enjoy it its a lovely place and our 7 days were not really enough to see and do everything that we wanted so we will return in the not too distant future.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.5
    Location was easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room had seen better days. Missing trim on closet, Windows difficult to open, air conditioning did not work properly (no cold air). Front desk staff were efficient but not particularly friendly.

    Location was easy to find. Within walking distance of restaurants. Quiet location. Street parking available at no charge.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.3
    Hugely spacious rooms, it was like a flat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you dont have a car, it is goin to be poblem. One needs to walk 10 min to near by supermarket.

    Hugely spacious rooms, it was like a flat. Well stocked freeze. Near to the beach

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    2.5
    Absolutely nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff rude. Overpriced. Smell of sewage in room and chemical smell everywhere else. Should not be operating as a 4 star...even a one star hotel. Complete rip off.

    Absolutely nothing.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.8
    The hotel feels run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel feels run down. There was a sliding door in the room that we thought was going to fall off numerous times. It was alot of money for the value of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    6.5
    Room was decent sized, but we booked for 3 and 3rd bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Overpriced, wifi was poor, breakfast not great. Location ok, but at the edge of beach & town area.

    Room was decent sized, but we booked for 3 and 3rd bed wasn't ready when we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.4
    We liked the fact that we were upgraded to a huge suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant didn't open until late with few restaurants nearby. Pool located in next door complex. Spa didn't work.

    We liked the fact that we were upgraded to a huge suite. Staff were very approachable.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.3
    Lovely staff, very spacious rooms, which were clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite a distance to Santander city centre, and everything inside feels a bit dated. No wi-fi login details in the room, you have to ask at the reception.

    Lovely staff, very spacious rooms, which were clean and tidy. Parking is located near the entrance, the hotel itself near the beach. A very correct price per night.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    felt very comfortable in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    felt very comfortable in the hotel. the staff were so obliging. the room was so clean yet homely. nothing was too much trouble. beach was beautiful too .

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    5.0
    reception staff were good and spoke good English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy room (307) with constant air flow noise centred in ceiling around bedroom entrance/wash basin area so disturbed sleep and "tilt and slide" aluminium patio type door to balcony continually came off runners (heavy to replace but easier than calling staff 6/7 times per day)

    reception staff were good and spoke good English

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    3.8
    Room was smelly - old stale smoke despite being non smoking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was smelly - old stale smoke despite being non smoking. No bath towels provided and toiletries only for 1 person. Breakfast was OK but very limited. Hotel has clearly seen better days. Overpriced.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    This was perfect for our night's stay in Santander...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was perfect for our night's stay in Santander before our ferry home to Portsmouth. The room was akin to a large apartment with sofa, armchairs, dining table and chairs and 2 large tvs. Staff were extremely helpful and we ate in the dining room which was a good facility on site.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    10
    The bed was very large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The bed was very large and comfortable. The room was a large suite not just a room with a bed.Bathroom sink was separate to the bathroom which was very handy. Not too far from the city centre and nice and quite as we slept well. Secure car park with cctv which you had to pay or a free small one just outside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.1
    The decor is unreal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The heating was turned off in the lobby in the lounge, bar and breakfast rooms to save money...

    The decor is unreal. Torero outfits in various windows in the lobby. Elephant heads hanging from the wall in the lounge. The breakfast room will remind the visitor of the Soviet hotels...The rooms are very comfortable. Friendly multi lingual staff at reception.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.8
    Lovely, clean, spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was a little bit out from the city centre

    Lovely, clean, spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    The rooms were very spacious and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room or available free to use in the lobby

    The rooms were very spacious and clean

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: