Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palau de Girona 4 stars

Pau Casals, 1, 17481 Sant Julià De Ramis, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Sant Julià De Ramis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Far away from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. It can be only option for a stop during long driving distances. It is an expensive hotel if you compare the location.

    The room was perfect clean and free parking space good enough for any type of car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Room / bed was very comfortable, plenty available in the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    although Location was good, the actual hotel 'parking area' itself was very tight (surprise surprise -you had to pay 10€ extra for hotel underground garage / parking) With a rentacar I was concerned, leaving it parked 'infront of reception / bar - even though it was inside the walled perimetre of the hotel. Staff were a bit of a mix - one was super friendly - another very offhand and rude

    Room / bed was very comfortable, plenty available in the bar / cafeteria downstairs -location was ok - easy 'off the road' stop overnight -

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    comfortable but the bathroom radiator rested a few points from the score
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom radiator was not working for two days and the bathroom was freezing as a result.

    The location was perfect for the business I had to do. Staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. There is a nice, if expensive if you deviate from the set daily menu, restaurant virtually next door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, but a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You won't find much to do in this area if you are planning a place to visit. The supplied pillows on the bed are dreadful. They have no substance to them at all. You may as well not have a pillow at all. Pillows desperately need to be changed for a more bodied version. It destroyed what is an otherwise comfortable bed. Breakfast was too pricey for us to give it a go and considering we are vegans, I doubt it'd be worth it for us. The hotel is a nice place. However, I do feel it's a bit pricey for what it is.

    This isn't a bad spot to stop-off if you are only needing a place to put your head down for the night. We were lucky to get parking on site, for free, but during busier times, you'd perhaps have a problem finding parking or have to pay for the hotel parking. Check-in was fairly quick and friendly. The room was very clean and was a decent size with all the necessities to make your stay comfortable. Room temperature was perfect, not too hot, not too cold. The bed was comfortable but could have done with better pillows. The shower was lovely, with good power. Both internal hotel noises and external noises were very minimal. Wifi is quite good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Very clean hotel, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were awful and very uncomfortable. There was a huge amount of noise made by another set of guests which woke up my whole family in the early hours. We booked the room on the day because of a travel emergency and so paid a very high tariff for what turned out to be a room we could barely get any sleep in.

    Very clean hotel, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    A basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived straight from the airport at 2pm but our rooms were not ready till 3pm which was a shame as our baby needed a sleep. The only food we could order was pizza until the chef came for the evening meals. At breakfast there was only 1 highchair so our 1 year old had to sit on a lap until the other child had finished

    The staff, although skeleton, were as helpful as they could be in the circumstances. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was a good spread of food although cost 10 euros pp.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff folks were very friendly and tried hard to meet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is woefully understaffed. Had to wait often for service - because while the staff member was very good - there needed to be twice as many of them

    The staff folks were very friendly and tried hard to meet all needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Quite expensive and nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very starched linen, it feels like you are walking on the snow. Poor and expensive breakfast. On the 1st floor it smelled like marihuana in the hall.

    The room was very cleaned. It was quite easy to find hotel from the highway. Free parking, but limited space in the garage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.8
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is poor. On the outskirts of Girona. The surrounding area is an industrial park. You can get better hotels at this price. I have stayed in three star hotels in Girona which are equal to or better than this hotel and more centrally located. There is limited parking on the premises (parking is at the front of the property). If you arrive late you will probably find yourself parking on the street nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Overall everything was to our full satisfaction - our...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall everything was to our full satisfaction - our expectations are at a high standard. We have made reservations again for March. This hotel is much better (also price wise) than any hotel we've ever stayed in in France!! Also, the hotel is right off the highway!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.4
    Pay more for your dog!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charged more for my dog to stay than it charged for me. When I queried this I was advised that I had received a special offer. This special offer was exactly the same as the 'from' price displayed in enormous letters on the side of the hotel. The sheets were made of a very strange fabric which had the feel of plastic. We will not be returning.

    The hotel was easy to find even though there was torrential rain. We had an excellent meal at the bar a few doors down.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    A convenient hotel, with a good restaurant just across the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets on the bed were made of a strange material and every time you moved they made a lot of noise.

    Convenient from motorway. clean, friendly. Good size room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A car had been allowed to park across the rear of 3 cars already parked in the car park,one being mine, without leaving room name and no means of contacting him! all of us had to wait until he came down and move it, this should not have been allowed to happen.

    Staff on duty on our arrival VERY helpful .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.0
    Eat at this hotel and become ill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like being severely ill with food poisoning the following morning after eating in there so called restaurant which is not in the hotel but is down the road. I also did not like walking down the road with a bottle of wine sold in the hotel to drink 50 meters away from the hotel. I wrote to the owner of the hotel on 2 occasions but he could not be bothered to reply

    I liked that the receptionist took time to apologize to me on behalf of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Classy, comfortable, just off the motorway.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a corner....finding was not easy, needs better signage....at a lower level. Car park at front small and tight but there is underground parking.

    Very modern, very clean and with large twin comfortable beds....lovely linen! On dual carriageway but could not hear traffic noise. Breakfast ok but not cheap....hotel restaurant next door might be a better choice. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    3.8
    Close to the motorway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room smelt of smoke and Booking.com messed up the payment so we left without paying and were continuously chased whilst on holiday

    Close to the motorway

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Very good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be 25€ for 1 dog is a little expensive

    Very friendless hotel Reception very nice and helpful Terrasse for enjoying the good breakfast Free wi fi Good restaurant behind the hotel Room clean, large bed, quite. Pets welcome 25€ for a medium size dog Free Parking outside Or 10€ inside parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    4.2
    Overall ok for one night.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't brilliant. Wasn't many places to eat. The closest restaurant, that was advertised in hotel as hotel restaurant, had horrible service. The moment they realised we were tourists they treated us differently to locals. Didn't bring us a menu, didn't try to understand what we were asking. Didn't bring all our food without us asking, took forever to get dessert. We found out that the manager of restaurant was the manager of the hotel too. And had him on checkout which made things very uncomfortable. If you stay here, avoid eating there. Hotel room wasn't very clean, dust hanging off walls. Bathtub was filthy. Although place looked new, wasn't very clean in room.

    At check in, the guys was brilliant. Really nice, friendly and helpful. Was ok for the one night we stayed whilst driving through Spain. They allow dogs which is good, although for a cost of 15€.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    3.0
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar service was slow but the restaurant was a disaster - the waitress was mute - but by choice not condition - The food was terrible and not fit to serve to pigs! On complaining their excuse was they were busy - the day we visited there was maybe 10-15 people in a restaurant with around 60 covers. I would steer clear of this hotel as even a complaint to booking.com provided no results except 'Sorry' I paid over 200€ for half board - to put this into perspective in Barcelona I took 2 rooms for my family and ate in an exceptional independent restaurant with wine for 200€ - we also did the same in France. This hotel and restaurant would be best demolished and a sign advising travellers to continue to a better location!

    The room was ok!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn’t work, also the bar fridge didn’t work.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean, quit new hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big minus was the noisy, uncomfortable plastic under the sheet in the bed

    Clean, quit new hotel. Peaceful to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    A good and nice hotel for business people and for people stopping by for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garage was very narrow, and the exit out of the garage was extremely stip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested two rooms next to each other but was not given

    Breakfast was ample for 10 Euros each

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent alternative to the expensive rooms in Banyoles
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise on Saturday night

    Proximity to Banyoles, excellent money value, great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    If you want to play golf at the Golf Girona couse, you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to play golf at the Golf Girona couse, you are only 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Couldn't get just a coffee downstairs had to get whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get just a coffee downstairs had to get whole buffet as far as I understood.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    So peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't toothpaste in the bathroom.

    So peaceful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.2
    Overnight stay
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean rooms and very pleasant staff on arrival

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.3
    The room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was on a main road in a semi industrial area about 5 kms out of town. The description on the site was misleading as to it's position. The car parking and breakfast costs were high compared to other hotels we had stayed in. If you after an experience in Girona look elsewhere.

    The room was clean

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    The location was excellent as we were only making an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe there could have been a better choice at breakfast. The bedroom was a little hot.

    The location was excellent as we were only making an overnight stop whilst travelling back to the UK. The bed was very comfortable and of a good size. The wifi was fast and reliable. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    5.4
    Clean room, clean bathroom.
    • Couple

    We had reserved one night with half pension. Hotel had made a mistake; kitchen closed, no half pension. They suggested instead of dinner a pizza or sandwiches. No restaurants around, just a small cafe with some poor sandwiches. Very hot room as the AC did not work. Not possible to keep window open. Entrance gives a poor pct of the hotel.

    Clean room, clean bathroom. The hotel charged us a lower price as we stayed without half pension.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.0
    Staff was attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There were very hot days when we visited and the air conditioning in the room didn't worked well. hardly cooled the room.It was very frustrating.

    Staff was attentive. Budget hotel, very basic.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.9
    I have to say that the location was ideal for us because we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have to say that the location was ideal for us because we needed to stay somewhere for a night close to the motorway. For this reason the hotel is ideal

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    6.7
    Just off the motorway on the main road into Girona, this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The 4* rating is laughable, the quality is on a par with Ibis, a reliable 2*.

    Just off the motorway on the main road into Girona, this small modern hotel is a convenient if characterless stopover, with clean comfortable compact rooms, free parking and internet. The Restaurant Marisqueria next door is owned by the hotel, providing standard tourist fare or the Pizzeria across the road appears to do a roaring trade.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    7.5
    Guy on reception was especially helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was too hot even though I put the air con on cold. Clearly not working but maybe it is because of the time of year. There was an air freshener smell in the room like a plug in but I couldn't find it to turn it off so maybe it was blowing in through the air con. Please turn it off as it is too pungent.

    Guy on reception was especially helpful. He even arranged food for me late at night. Nice areas around the town to walk the dog. I could park the car outside the front door of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.8
    The Breakfast was of good quality and choice, though rather...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning did not work

    The Breakfast was of good quality and choice, though rather expensive.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    7.9
    It was all ok for some hours of sleep, and breakfast was...
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    It was all ok for some hours of sleep, and breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    all
    • Business trip
    • Group

    all

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.9
    Nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking difficult due to trailers being left outside

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    Great place to stay if you are traveling as it's just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay if you are traveling as it's just off the motorway. Quiet area but only a short drive to the centre if you want

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    2.9
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff!

    Perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location - far from girona center

    value for price

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Pizza place right next to it, parking is easy right in front...
    • Solo traveller

    Pizza place right next to it, parking is easy right in front of the entrance

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    All was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Non

    All was great

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Good design and quality materials used in the rooms, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good design and quality materials used in the rooms, which have names not numbers.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: