Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort - All Inclusive 24 hours 4 stars

Las Acacias, 6, 35570 Playa Blanca, Spain

#34 of 159 hotels in Playa Blanca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 624 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No snack available other than vending machine. Many seats had no cushions and took away from comfort of chairs Need for more umbrellas around and beds

    Very friendly and obliging staff 4 separate pools and indoor spa Selection of food for all meals was exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant! I would strongly recommend upgrading to the Royal Elite service. The extras make it well worth while. And be ready to put on a few pounds! 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were not very professional. Despite of booking a sea view room,first they gave me a pool view room with side sea view and after arguing a lot,they changed my room to sea view.Arguing for something that you already booked was not a good experience for me at the time of checking in.

    Location was nice. Food options were diverse and good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap mixers tonic soft drinks. Food aonly ok. No waiter service or enough staff to even clear up round pool area

    Playa Blanca 30mins walk. Lovely bars & restaurants. Hotel has potential to be good but skimp on all inclusive. Cheap mixers rolla cola etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the entertainment really didn't appeal to me, a complex that size should have a night club or disco.

    good friendly staff, very willing to help. good choice on the menu

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having lost two jackets in the hotel in a week, the staff could’ve been a lot more helpful in trying to find them. It was a little suspicious and having complained on our return, nothing has been done. I would visit again but be very careful of my belongings!

    Staff were really friendly, the food was good and the range of activities was exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room ( 2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are rude by the snack bar - asking for an ice cream seemed to make them really huffy - the manager doesn’t really seem to know what’s going on in the hotel - would be good to see a manager walking about talking to guests and asking how their holiday is. The food was very bland, same every day and night and the chef making eggs would throw them on the plates without a care of grease went over you. The never smile either or say “Hello/Ola” etc. Disappointing. Food in snack bar is awful - cheap burgers every day.

    The entertainment team tried really hard and were kind to the children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The all inclusive was great but with no one at the restaurant to receive you, you had to seek out a table yourself, for a family of 6, not an easy task.

    After bailing out on a local villa due to poor maintenance, we loved our 2 days at this resort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff could have been much friendlier particularly in the bars. Nightly entertainment was good for children/families and more mature people however it was limited for those 30-50.

    Pools were lovely with adequate sunbeds. The entertainment was generally good. Huge choice of food for all meals and all food was very tasty! Themed night was good at the Fusion restaurant - good to have this choice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures are a little misleading.This hotel is large and lacking in character. The food was hit and miss. Royal elite was nothing special. A separate lounge that was void of atmosphere. The evening turn down and chocolate on pillow was a bit of a scam. Enter the green bar or canary bar if you dare. Think hotel salana off Benidorm.... but worse! There are no nearby attractions. Beach is a good 30 mins walk away. This was, in every way, a good 2/3 star hotel. If you are on a budget or have kids, this place will do. If you want a top notch hotel you have to go 5 star in Lanzarote. Don't be mislead into thinking this is anything other than a mediocre all inclusive resort.

    Good sea view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The red and rose wine was under par. I usually drink red Rioja so it wasn't a don't like Spanish wine issue. We found a solution to the problem though. The downstairs entertainment area could have more seats putting out. The complimentary bus to Playa Blanca should have two stops, one to the marina where the market is, and one to the centre of Playa Blanca not in the middle of the two locations. It would assist those that have impaired mobility.

    Good variety of food of a decent quality. I am not a chip person so enjoyed the huge selection of salad, fish and protein dishes. Chips, pizza and pasta were on hand for those that like it. There were adequate sunbeds so the 6.30am brigade to reserve a bed didn't exist. The evening entertainment was varied and of a decent calibre. Children's entertainment appeared to be good but our children are adults.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the normal package was a bit like canteen food, it was too busy abd bright, we upgraded to the gold elite which is a must! Still buffet and the dinner isn’t great, but the table service at breakfast and dinner and quality of the wine made infinitely better - the bed was 2 single beds pushed together which was annoying and the massage at the spa was average to poor

    The staff were fabulous and the room with a sea view exceeded my expectations, the pools were great and location was beside a cliff walk which was 10 mins from a gorgeous marina and upmarket shopping area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No private taxi transfer from the airport and back arranged by the hotel. (35 min. ride)

    the life cooking in the italian restaurant was very good! The fresh fruits delicious The softdrinks like pepsi was real. The room was very clean. the view was amazing. the location is very nice. The animation is very good and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The theatre bar was not very good The entertainment was ok but the comfort was not. Rows of seats with no tables to put your drinks on No glasses only plastic cups. We only visited once Some of the food was sometimes cold usually the vegetables Some of the lifts are very confusing in how they are numbered we from level zero down to -3 walked along this became level five at another lift then went down to number 4 to get tour room

    Food in the international restaurant is very varied and good The hotel is very large with all amenities. It is fairly isolated but the hotel put on a free bus service to take you into playa blanca The rooms are large and comfortable Good value hotel.The plaza bar was excellent with very good entertainment and the resident entertainers seemed to enjoy it as much as we did.Overall we had a great time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi terrible expected wifi in room for a 4 star more better channels on tv hotel bit tired in places we had new superior room bits of new draws falling off all bit rushed cracks papered over 😯

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very underwhelming, no flavour and little variation day to day. Cocktails were undrinkable - premixed and did not taste like what they were supposed to be.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the food in the fusion restaurant on the one night we went there. Maybe just an off night for them. Sometimes it was a little late in the day when the rooms were cleaned.

    Great selection of food every night. Fabulous activities in hotel if you like an active holiday. Staff very helpful, Pedro great fun. Would highly recommend this hotel. First time doing all inclusive, would also recommend this and paying extra for royal elite. Great location. Will certainly go back again. Thanks to all for a lovely break.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor choice of all-inclusive wines- no cava on Valentines Day with dinner! Gap between 6 and 7 pm for eating - nowhere to eat for kids! Wifi poor, and unusable after 7am

    Great food -bread, superb eggs, poultry, salads, meats

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been good

    Excellent food, excellent facilities, very helpful and friendly staff. We liked the fact that it was away from the centre of Playa Blanca and therefore more secluded, but it was an easy and very pleasant walk to get there if you wanted to,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paella was so tasty! Great selection in the buffet in main restaurant. Also many options on where to eat with choices between Italian, Chinese, tex mex & Spanish cuisine. The Mexican being my favourite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the rooms weren’t clean nor the booking.com advertised a terrace and a mini bar with the room and we didn’t receive one. The cocktails were always warm as premixed bottles were just on shelf. Entertainment wasn’t to our taste and also the pool bar was totally closed for 2 full days of our visit. Bedsheets weren’t changed either and floor wasn’t brushed or mopped the full week other than when I did it myself using cleaners mop and brush

    Iiked the pool and the oriental food. Pool snack bar was ok too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of fresh juices at breakfast although there was one every day. More choices in the Italian restaurant (I didn’t get to try Fusion restaurant) Cocktails in the bar were from pre-made bottled mixtures with the alcohol added and not as good as making them from scratch but still a good choice of drinks included in the bar menu.

    I didn’t upgrade to Royal Elite yet there was huge choice of breakfasts/lunches/dinners - hot/cold, healthy/not so healthy but nice! Food stations plentiful and well spread out so no queues. I’m Vegetarian and there were good choices for me. Lovely bedrooms - large and modern. Great to have bbc1/2 and itv which you don’t always get in hotels abroad. Wifi worked in my room (block H) and by pool which I hadn’t expected

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The weather wasn't great but that's not the hotels fault! Entertainment team and photographers did an excellent job.

    Staff friendly and facilities great. The choice of food and beverages are great and the quality of the food was excellent. Entertainment team and photographers did a great job. Free shuttle into Playa Blanca close by. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never write reviews but after staying here I had to review it because I was so happy with this hotel. Great selection of food definitely something for everyone, staff were so lovely and very helpful, rooms modern and comfortable, the whole place was always so clean, also went for a massage in Spa it was amazing and not too expensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The all inclusive ended at 11 pm - not 24 hours as advertised. The hotel grudgingly supplied water bottles for use in the room instead wanting you to fill up an old water bottle . Food was a bit repetitive and the 'themed restaurants' were not A la carte.

    The room was very clean, pool area and grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough food options especially for those with gluten allergies/intolerances. Often much of the food tasted bland and vegetables were over-cooked. Double beds are actually two singles pushed together and can slide apart very easily.

    Freshly cooked meat and fish section was done well. The hotel is in a beautiful bay and you get to enjoy being near to the ocean if you get a sea view room The beds are comfortable and firm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a bit off the beaten track but a taxi into Playa is inexpensive.

    The overall experience was excellent.Food,staff and cleanliness were 100%.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wifi could be better. But in general this place is so amazing that small things like such you can ignore and enjoy the nature for few days.

    A perfect place to hang around. The property offers really good value for money. Their fusion restaurant where the clients have to make a reservation first serves really good meals. Fusion restaurant offers asian and maxican food alternative days. The property is situated at a perfect place, papagayo beach is minutes walk away. First when me and my wife entered the property, we couldn't believe it to be this good. Their night bar offers snack whole night, and the customer service is just amazing. They have really clean pools and the property serves the best views ever. We would just grab a coffee / drink and walk around the resort at night times. Not many young people there though but it is also a good thing because older people are generally nicer and easy ones to get along with. The only thing there which needs improvement is their wifi connectivity. In all i would love to visit this place again and again, also will highly recommend my friends and family to visit there and get spoiled with their all inclusive package.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional bar staff a little “cool” - maybe they were having a testing day - it was out of character

    Staff in the main were welcoming , helpful & charming. Loved our room for spaciousness & food choice was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the elite package, a couple of the bar staff at bars other than the elite bars, seemed unwilling to give the better drinks despite showing the wristband to them, further training required I think! Whilst the hotels “team” entertainment made a lot of effort, in the main the entertainment was “karaoke” ie singers with backing tapes. A minor point but the Steam room in the Spa not that good, pretty cold as ceiling too high in my opinion.

    Sea view rooms very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay

    The food was absolutly amazing - So many options and so fresh and delicious , the wine and cava and beer was wonderful and the cocktails were lovely (very sugary and strong) the pool was lovely used the heated one as it was January- the staff are so friendly and accommodating and the entertainment was brilliant especially the lion king (I've never actually attended entertainment at a resort before this was really good ) the animation team were so friendly and lovely for all the activities and there's a roaming photographer 😂 the near by beaches are wonderful and scenic and one is white sand and there are lovely picturesque rocky coves and the harbour is a short walk in the other direction

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the reception staff were very stressed anytime I went to reception, one female was very dismissive of our questions, more training needed at front of house, not as friendly as rest of staff

    the location of the resort was perfect for our stay, food fantastic many choices, extremely clean, the seafood dishes were fresh and very tasty, domestic, waiting staff, bar staff and chefs very professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds.... We asked deliberately for a double bed, and as usual in mainland Europe (in our experience), we received two singles pushed together. Great if you like space in the bed but not if you want to cuddle up at night. Overall it meant we either had uncomfortable sleep falling into the space in the bed or we slept apart on each bed. Not Ideal. No kettle in the room was a disappointment for my partner as she likes her tea and coffee. I know it was all inclusive, but as our room was on the far side of the hotel complex it meant a 10 minute trip to get a tea or coffee. A kettle and tea & coffee facilities in the room would have been the icing on the cake.

    The breakfast was great, they catered for all tastes with a huge variety of cooked & uncooked food. As it was an 'all inclusive' deal we could take or leave as we pleased. We didn't like the coffee as it was to strong for our taste but the hot chocolate & choice of teas was great. The lunch & dinner menus were also of a very high standard, every day they put on different main courses as well as deserts. The chefs & waiting staff were superb and really should be praised highly for their skill & professionalism. Drinks were on tap and the buffet style system is highly efficient and allows you to go at your own pace, whether you just want to fuel up or enjoy your meal. We loved the fact that they had English speaking channels on the TV, this in our experience is quite rare when travelling in Europe (apart from Sky News). They had BBC1, BBC2, ITV and CH4 and it was a great added delight. The pools were extremely clean (3 of them) and one was slightly heated which took the chill out of it. The hotel grounds were pristine with cats patrolling for any vermin, hence there were none. Staff were efficient and at the same time non intrusive which is great from a holidaying point of view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to rent an iron- deposit 15€ and 5€ for rental. The iron was crap Buffet food not great.

    Lots of options however the restaurant (Mexican) was fantastic. 24 hour snack bar was good nice pizza!!! Easy to get a taxi at reception We had a later flight and we were allowed stay in our room till 2pm with no charge. Spa treatments were also very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room ( 2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would include the locker in the price: to spend 20 Euro after you just paid 2500 it doesn't make sense. I suggest also to give water in bottle free of charge and not just one when you arrive.

    Food was really good. Also pasta and espresso very close to the Italian standards. It was a real all inclusive: everything was free excluding some really expensive items (that make sense). Position very good. You can reach the beach on the ocean with the lift. To go to the centre of the village you need to drive 10 minutes. Swimming pool outside was climatized (28,3°)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    LACK OF STAFF WITH KNOWLEDGE OF LOCAL FACILITIES, AND UNWILLING TO FIND OUT. ROOM NOT ALWAYS CLEANED DAILY TO STANDARD, NOT GOOD FOOD AND LACK OF VARIETY ON FOOD OPTIONS, STAFF COULD BE FRIENDLIER.

    OK VALUE FOR MONEY

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We found absolutely nothing to complain about during our trip.

    This resort blew our expectations out of the water. The upgrade to Royal Elite was well worth it, and every member of the staff that we encountered did everything in their power to ensure we had a good trip. The location itself was also postcard perfect. I highly reccomend this resort to anyone looking at a trip to Lanzarote.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm swimming pool was not warm at all. So we didn't go in. one day we came into our room after the cleaner left and it smelled of cigarette and the room (mainly the bathroom) wad not really clean. But all other times it was fab.

    The choice of food at almost every meal was amazing. Most staff on all levels were lovely, especially the cleaners, gardeners and maintenance who we came across. And of course Rosa from the spa was a star!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room ( 2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids pools were not heated which was bit of a disappointment.

    We had a great time at this resort, good food with lot of options. We had young kids and they enjoyed the unlimited supply of soft drinks/ice cream and the entertainment. The shuttle bus service to Playa Blanca was a nice touch and the animation team were amazing. We were allowed to use the facilities in the resort even after check out which was really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was terrible with very limited options if you are a vegetarian but very good if you are meat eater. Out of 4 meals we only liked the last meal. Staff challenging you again and again on an issue that was previously discussed and closed.

    Only location nothing else

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    spa manager is a bit pushy, after being told no 3 times she needs to back off no Saturday night entertainment which was a bit disappointing

    nice clean hotel good facilities nice spa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegeterian choices.

    The Royal Elite was amazing. We loved our room. Beautiful surroundings, stunning views, Papagayo beach proximity was a huge plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are fantastic, friendly and professional. Louis and Miguel in the restaurant, Esther and Arminda in the spa and all at reception are exceptional. The hotel is large with a number of terraces and outside places to sit, relax and take in the beautiful sea views. Plenty of cava to toast your holiday too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View ( 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is access to a beach from the hotel but it is not one that you can sunbath on. Lovely to sit on a rock for contemplation and a stroll through the lapping surf but not if you are looking for a sunlounger to spend the day at the beach.

    Good Food and very plentiful. Clean rooms, comfy beds. Evening entertainment surprisingly good - don't normally go in for that stuff but was surprised at how good it was. We didn't use it but there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel into town and nearby beach in Playa Blanca or there is a path to the amazing Papagayo beaches for those of you who enjoy a morning stroll/trek.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the mini bar in room should be stocked!! Why put a mini bar with nothing in it.

    Staff implementation of no reserving sun beds The soundproofing in rooms...so quiet. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I used the gym and found it far too hot. There wasn't any air conditioning or even a fan. Also limited free weights, would be nice to have some heavier ones and maybe a multi gym instead of having numerous running machines. Just for variety.

    I really liked the food in the elite restaurant, the pools had so much space and loads of loungers so there was never a fight for space or beds. The staff were amazing, helpful and approachable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.gave 1 bottle of mineral water Which we had to refill our selves Same bottle everyday 2.had to pay to use the safe 3.no iron or ironing board even 3 Star hotels have those facilities. 4.cockroaches in the room on 2 occasions and loadd of ants 5 room was"nt cleaned for 2 days Even after calling reception When it was there was still dust Everywhere,did'nt clean sink or bath.sorry was'nt happy even after Leaving them a tip everyday for cleaning. Only had 2 returants buffet and fusion i think it was called and did'nt like the wine being on tap. 6.childrens club started from age 5 and my grandson is 4 and they wouldn't let him in even with me staying with him.

    Big hotel and plenty of pools even For toddles, pool entertaining was good and classes,evening entertainment was good bar area was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to refill water bottle everyday from water canister, room safe is not free, iron and board is not free, same food everyday in buffet restaurant, undercooked sausages everyday for breakfast, definitely need Al a carte restaurant.

    Plenty of facilities too past time, excellent shows in the evening, food very good in mexican and asian restaurant. Beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is the wifi connection. We had to used our own data.

    There are four swimming pools one for adult. We had large room with balcony with superb view over the marina, sunset , pools and the sea. Food was amazing in both restaurant with many drinks to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night, the room stank badly perhaps the air conditioning wasn't working properly (seemed previous occupiers either smoked or had a pet) and the room only had a shower room not a bath. The room was not suitable for families with toddlers so was moved to a different room with a bath but the aircon again wasn't working. The aircon in my parents bedroom also was not working properly. Non-royal elite guest will have to pay extra to have a kettle in the room (when you have kids on formula, good luck) and pay to use the safety deposit box. Alcohol was simply undrinkable. The sangria and beer were tolerable the others were just horrendous. Daytime activites actually OK. The evening entertainment was pretty much non-existent. Lastly, reception and concierge only seem to know what you have to pay for and nothing else. Will not be staying here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach is too far. We had to take the car through a dirt road. Once you arrive, the Papagayo beach is pretty, but there are prettier beaches on the island. It was nice that it was all inclusive but the food was terrible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection of food wasn't that great. The meat was all very fatty.

    The hotel is on a beach but there is stunning secluded beaches a short walk away. Our room was lovely, there was always sun loungers available beside the pools and most of the staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has no sandy beach to swim or bath ( although you can dive), food was as expected for a 4*hotel, closest beach is across the hill and Papagayo beach and few other ones are even far away ( you need car and also to pay fee to the Nationa Park), WiFi is very poor. Didn't got a chance to stay at the pool as it was very windy.

    Nice hotel and staff, close to Papagayo beach if you have a car, lots of activities for kids. Very nice walk to Blaya Blanca. Noticed there are buses from hotel to town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Themed restaurant food selection was poor and we weren't told that the spa would be closed when we were staying

    Food selection in the main restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food didnt have variety, the beaches were not good enough, the spa treatment was very poor, the food was also very greasy, the italian restaurant was lacking of variety and the quality was very poor, the swimming pool was too small for the adults place and very cold, also they were allowing people to reserve seats at the pool from the previous night so there were not many seats available. I have booked a room with a sea view and i was place on the first floor with no sea view at all

    The hotel room inside was spacefull and nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found several staff quite rude and unhelpful . Had to pay for an iron and they expected me to carry both the iron and board to room . Entertainment very poor .

    Facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn't so great. The access to the Papagayo beach is difficult, and the distance from town is not worth it

    Great facilities, great rooms, very friendly staff, very clean. Excellent for a family vacation, less for couples.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was quite boring and not a lot of healthy options or variety. Felt a bit like a camp food hall. The wifi was not very strong and would often drop off a lot at times and in certain places.

    The staff in the Spa were very nice and our massages were very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Beds in the rooms are very comfy, excellent sea views, great walkway from the outside of the hotel all the way to the marina and beyond to playa blanca centre.plenty loungers for everyone in the large seating areas at the pools and also away from the pools..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The WIFI is terrible. The hotel needs to invest in the WIFI infrastructure.

    Royal Elite Package well worth the extra money. The staff are professional and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent choice of food, esp for a non meat eater. Helpful friendly staff. Lovely room with sea view on Royal Elite and the comfiest bed ever! Quiet location and very relaxing environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant isn't great. Standard mass produced buffet food. Maintenance is behind, lots of places could do with a fresh layer of paint/tidy up. Staff is friendly enough but goes through the motions. Don't follow Google maps if driving if it sends you off road over the gravel track to the hotel. There's a proper road through playa blanca that will take slightly longer but worth avoiding a very bumpy ride.

    There isn't a sandy beach in front of the hotel but one is an easy walk towards the centre of town (following promenade). Less busy, sandy beaches towards the other end, taking a gravel road or a slight more intense but beautiful walk away. Lovely local restaurant nearby (3 min walk) Casa Carlos; amazing local food and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The swimming pools could do with some heating.

    There is an 'adult only' area for sunbathing and an 'adult only' bar too which was very relaxing if you haven't got any children or grandchildren with you. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas around the 4 swimming pools. There is a wide selection of food and drinks virtually all day. The staff are all very polite, helpful and friendly. There is also plenty for children to do at the hotel. The hotel rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel is a short walk along the coastline to the main town and harbour, where the market is held. Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals were good but ideally I would like: hot plates, at breakfast porridge option with berries, nuts and/or seeds. Fruit salad is much better if fresh rather than tinned.

    The room was a good size, quiet, bright and virtually spotless. The balcony had an excellent, private sea view. Staff at meals were friendly and attentative

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee was poor. I had an espresso and added hot water and milk to get a reasonable coffee.

    Bed was very comfy and the sunbeds were plentiful. Has an adult only space - pool and a bar. The bar had a musician playing the evening we visited it. He was actually quite good - grand piano - a bit of jazz. The choice of food was good in the buffet. We were only there 4 days so didn't get a chance to sample the other restaurant on site which required booking 24 hours in advance. A collection of shops just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The shops included a hairdressers a chemist, a gift shop, clothes shop, bike hire among others. We have booked again for December 2017 and are taking the children with us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Room was very cold! No blanket and the air con was hard to control. If it was off the room was hot on the lowest setting it was super cold. - The bar in Royal Elite should have a bartender -Jacuzzis were cold

    The hotel and the royal elite experience were great. Was a good four day break, not sure if I would want to spend longer

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Heated pool available earlier than 10 am for adult use only as all the other pools are too cold to swim this time of the year.

    All day food and drink available. Clean, good service. Good facilities. Next to the coast with a nice easy walk to the Marina where there are shops and a market. Regular free shuttle service to the white sand beach Playa Dorada in the Playa Blanca area where there are also lots of restuarants and shops. I had a nice sea view room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elite bars had great drinks but people in there were old, it was like gods waiting room. If you happen to go out to the toilet they refused you entry back in to see your wife/friends even when you say you have a drink already

    Elite membership

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very poor Internet, works in the main building only - not a surprise - it is a problem of all hotels on the islands. The short way to the Papagayo beaches from the hotel beach is quite difficult - you have to climb about 20 meters up. Some stairs should be organized there. No naturist area in the hotel - even smaller hotels in Canarians have it.

    Tee/Coffee machines in the restaurant are working all day, while in some other all-inclusive hotels they work at breakfast only.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wine served with meals as part of the "all-in" package was truly awful -- so bad it was, in our view, undrinkable.

    The staff, the general cleanliness of the place and the location -- away from the madding crowds but close enough to engage and close also to a stylist marina with shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn't great. It sufficed but was only in main building and kept disconnecting.

    Staff were lovely. Facilities very clean and lovely touches such as chocolates left on your bed daily. Got upgraded to a suite which was fabulous. Great variety of food daily. Pool area was lovely and animation team were friendly and energetic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi was poor, difficult to log in and signal dropped easily. I would have preferred more dance related entertainment. Everything stopped at 11 pm and it would have been nice to linger longer some evenings or at least have the choice. Quite a long walk into Playa Blanca although pleasant. It would be nice to be provided with a kettle in the room. The local bay was rocky but the shuttle bus took you to Playa Dorada which was a nice sandy beach. The pools were cold even the heated one. The air conditioning/heating did not appear to be working and I could not decipher the dials.

    The rooms were pleasant and close to the pool. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good and there was adequate variety but not very imaginative. Drinks were nice. The need to book the Fusion Restaurant 24 hours before seemed rather excessive as it was not full. Perhaps a few more alternative restaurants would be nice and with waiter service. Car rental was easy and efficient. I enjoyed the pilates and morning light exercises.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For me who was travelling alone it was a bit of a too large complex with a lot of people and a lot going on. If you like it to be animated it is a good place though.

    Very comfortable room; good bed and bathroom. Good warm temperature on one of the pools. I liked very much the view from the beach side bars.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a double bed, and were given two twin beds pushed together. The property is advertised as having wi-fi but in fact there is only wi-fi available in the main dining and reception area, not in the rooms.

    Good selection of food, staff were amazing and collected dirty plates and refilled food quickly and efficiently. The animation team were amazing, one man in particular, but we didn't catch his name. He was fantastic. Also received a free bottle of cava on our arrival to celebrate our anniversary. A very special trip!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding my way around..perhaps put some information in the room. I had to keep asking recepcion about buses, taxis, finding the way to the beach.

    Choices

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: