Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Alcañiz 4 stars

Castillo Calatravos, s/n, 44600 Alcañiz, Spain

#9 of 22 hotels in Alcañiz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 548 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in spectacular building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We booked a standard room and were asked on arrival if for an extra E25 we wished to upgraded to a larger room which we did. Lovely very large room and bathroom traditionally furnished but all very clean and new looking, comfortable bed. Good value. We would stay here again. Very nice dinner in the restaurant didn't stay for breakfast. Pleasant helpful staff, very impressive building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever!

    Location and amazing castle - high up over the village of Alcañiz. Stunning views and interesting atmospheric setting. Restaurant was lovely for dinner and breakfast- excellent value for such quality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the most beautiful and authentic paradors I have visited in Spain. It was very well worth the trip into the Spanish country side. The staff was very welcoming and attending from the reception to the restaurant. Room was spacious and had a nice view of the country side. Very tranquil place, it felt like the time had stopped. I enjoyed the most quiet lunch with my husband in the courtyard and the food was great. We took the tour of the castle tower too, which was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    a cosy little castle with a long history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant was very ordinary and thats being nice - the warning should have been that it was empty - good food in the local cafes and restaurants though

    great location and history, the courtyard is cosy and a lovely place to have a drink and relax of an afternoon. the staff are friendly and courteous, I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was wonderful and the hotel was magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu for the evening meal was limited and lacked anything regional. Breakfast at €17 each was expensive and all the supposed hot dishes were cold. The nicest part was the bread. We wouldn't have breakfast again.

    The location was wonderful and the hotel was magnificent. Good size room and comfortable bed. Good size bathroom with bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful old castle on top of a hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old castle on top of a hill. Lovely rooms - worth upgrading to get a view out across the countryside. Lots of on site parking. Food good and wine very fairly priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Another stop to add to the List
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the Cafetaria was a little slow - But we were in Spain

    Really good location. There was not much to see nearby but the Parador was enough to say we will go back again The view of the Storks Nests was worth the stay on their own.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing with warm hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late arrival (we were lost coming from late flight to Barcelona) Staff very accommodating and kept dining room open for late dinner at 11 pm! Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for one night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were over priced so didn’t eat at the restaurant. Prices were higher than located on the website. We got a 15% discount on meals as we checked out! Why not when we arrived? There was a storm before we arrived and it took out the internet so only available in the lobby and very poor. No coffee or tea in the room but there is room service for an additional fee. Wouldn’t it have been nice to cover the price of the tour to the chapel in the booking? The tour wasn’t expensive, but anyone can go so you don’t need to stay to visit.

    Great view from the castle. Wonderful historic buildings but you must go on a tour and pay to enter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Want to spend one night in a historical castle? This could be it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included and one look at the buffet convinced us that it’s not worth an additional 17 euros.

    Our friends in Spain recommended to try out one of the Paradores hotels. This was a good choice! Magnific view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Very interesting area. Needs more time to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to complain when staying in a castle but could hear footsteps from floor above. Tile floors lovely, but loud.

    Friendly reception staff. Very helpful with directions etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    This was a bit of a splurge for us and well worth it for the stay in the castle and lovely meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a beautiful castle, great staff, comfortable room and beds. Food was really good and the rooms were beautifully decorated. It was a lovely Christmas Eve.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Really beautiful Parador with very welcoming staff, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really beautiful Parador with very welcoming staff, great location and beautiful dining room. Typical sumptuous large bedroom and excellent en-suite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful building, expensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We noticed this year that the Parador is now displaying four stars, previously it only had three. To us, absolutely nothing had changed however the price has gone up. No matter how special the building is the experience does not feel like value any longer.

    Having stayed at this Parador before we knew what to expect. The building on top of the hill overlooking the town is an impressive sight and makes this hotel feel very special. The views are spectacular. There is plenty of parking, although no garage or covered places. The hotel offer is typical of a Parador with readonable food in both the cafeteria and the restaurant, breakfast is also good here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Typical Spanish Parador Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being a modernised castle, the rooms are rather thin in insulation against noise. Still worth another visit.

    Typical Spanish Parador Hotel. Very Grand rooms, plenty of space, and lots of character. Good restaurant for dinner as well as breakfast. Staff very helpful, booked my next stay with another Parador.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful example of staying in a castle in Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our second stay at this wonderful place, an old castle sitting on top of a hill in the centre of the historic town of Alcaniz. One of the best Paradores in Spain, a little of the beaten track, but worth a visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful room, hotel setting quite special, perched up high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not as friendly as they could have been. In particular, we decided to eat in the restaurant since the menu said that if anybody had dietary requirements, they would do their best to make things as easy as possible. In reality the head waiter visibly rolled his eyes when we asked to check which items were suitable not only for dairy free but gluten free, The food was fine, but his attitude wasn't. He didn't get a tip!!

    Beautiful room, hotel setting quite special, perched up high on the hill with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside in all directions. Breakfast was an incredible spread, plenty of options for our dairy free and gluten free requirements.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Fascinating building, high quality hotel in a stunning setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing - all brilliant

    Wonderful hotel in a stunning setting. Fascinating building. We arrived after a day of travelling to find we had been upgraded. We were given a huge two storey room in a tower. Biggest bed I've ever seen and two bathrooms. Just wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely staff too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    A Great historic building;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alcaniz itself is rather sober; onkunde a few jnteresting things. Very friendly people

    A Great historic building; a top experience to stay there. What a views! Great staff, Great breakfast. Rooms and quality of bed and bathroom high standard!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    A hilltop castle with a lot of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were efficient but not particularly friendly. There was an atmosphere of rigidity and formality (probably coming from the historical nature of-the building) which was pity because we did not feel as relaxed as we would have liked.

    In a castle on the top of a hill overlooking the village. Typical of Paradors this was a historic monument converted to hotel. The historic origins in no way hindered the comfort and facilities but simply added to the charm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location and a lot of excitement about staying in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit sluggish.

    Great location and a lot of excitement about staying in a castle ( even if rebuilt ). Breakfast was great with good inclusion of local specialities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.0
    Another excellent Parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little choice for vegetarians, Spanish aren't there for us yet. To be honest not that impressed with Alcaniz. Worth going just for the Parador if it's on your route.

    Great location. Fantastic building. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.5
    One Night of Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A swimming pool would be a great addition,

    We stayed for only one Sunday night when most of the facilities in the surrounding area were closed. The weather was very hot so we spent most of our time enjoying the tranquility of the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Staying in an ancient palace with modern comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything was perfect! The building itself, like most Paradores, is in itself worth a visit. The food at the hotel restaurant was very good, and the staff most helpful...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    History with Life - a Very Good and Happy Life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was spotty. But that was not really a problem.

    We arrived to freezing cold weather with frost covering the land. Once we stepped into our room, the warmth of the Parador enveloped us and we were in heaven. Our stay was extremely comfortable. The staff, though reserved, were always helpful. I recommend the Parador de Alcaniz to anyone who wants a unique and wonderful experience. We had stayed in the Parador de Plasencia earlier in the week and had been somewhat disappointed with the room...the walls were paper-thin and we could hear noise from four rooms away. This Parador erased those memories and we were thoroughly pleased and completely comfortable. There was something very inviting and earthy about this Parador. It almost immediately gave me a very special feeling...one that is hard to describe. I think the closest I can come to putting words to this feeling was that spending a night at this Parador caused me to think that good things had happened on this property long ago and those good things gave it a life of its own which translated into a very safe and secure feeling within me as I stayed the night.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Classic parador experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great atmosphere, lovely decor, friendly staff, great restaurant, delicious breakfast with a wide range of foods. The tour of the castle is also very interesting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Stunning Parador with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we really like the Parador hotels they do seem to be less value for money than other comparable hotels.

    Beautiful building with the usual Parador service, refined and elegant. Breakfast was particularly good with a bigger range than most and hot dishes cooked to order.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep walk from town

    Enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything !!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Castle stay in Alcaniz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Lovely room with balcony, great views. Comfortable bed and air conditioning. Reasonable bar prices and good fòod in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Ambience, position, laid back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in bathroom.

    Ambience, position, laid back. Attentive staff. A real gem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    The best location but miserable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally miserable staff. No disagreements just not nice welcome.

    Location and character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful to stay in such surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive

    The Building was amazing and its position at the top of the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    It was quite, very comfortable and a relaxing place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite, very comfortable and a relaxing place to finish our holiday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    A fantastic overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historic building. Rooms large and clean with large en suite. Had dinner in the typical large Spanish restaurant. Food fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    All fine but no wifi in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi in the room

    The castle

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    We wish we could have stayed longer, it was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we disliked.

    Everything was to a four star standard, as expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was not at all value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not at all value for money. Not tasty at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    This hotel and historic monument is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    This hotel and historic monument is a gem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    A touch of Aragonese history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic building - fascinating wall paintings dating back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    The Romanesque art was impressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with the parador.

    The Romanesque art was impressive. As well as the grounds where the fortification was located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and the views were wonderful. Felt we couldn't afford breakfast though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of vegetables with our main meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Stunning Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Stunning Hotel, would recommend it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed staying in an authentic very old castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding town was uninteresting.

    The sense of history. Very good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    I would love to go back there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    The view is to die for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take into consideration that there aren't much facilities in the hotel.

    The view is to die for!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    We paid a bit more for a lounge/bedroom in one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - all was good

    We paid a bit more for a lounge/bedroom in one of the towers; wonderful views over Alcaniz. Good food and hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just a very pleasant hotel. Very peaceful and tranquil.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything. Staff, accommodation, view, very quiet and comfortable. Restaurant meal was excellent, breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Parador castle in the Aragon Spanish countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views and rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very overpriced and not good

    Nice room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.3
    Great building - but don't bother with the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food - reminded me of school dinners - not fresh - just micro waved - horrible

    The Building

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.3
    Terrible pillows
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows where terrible

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    Incredible surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a castle!! Awesome view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Relax in luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The general ambience. Super views. Easy parking. An all round positive experience

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Storslået.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtup.

    Friendly staff. Great hotel. Beautiful old building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    7.9
    A dramatic setting in the castle for a comfortable room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing…

    A dramatic setting in the castle for a comfortable room; dinner and breakfast were perfect. There was plenty of open parking outside. The N232 from the coast to Alcañiz has incredible views.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    Location, views, room size (big), toiletries, café, bath,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The long firm pillow - gave me neck ache by the morning. Option of 2 softer pillows would be nice. More water pressure in the shower.

    Location, views, room size (big), toiletries, café, bath, big bathroom, food, helpful English speaking receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    The location in a 12th century castle on top of a hill above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tha narrow roads and lack of good signage made it difficult to find the property.

    The location in a 12th century castle on top of a hill above Alcaniz was fantastic. Our evening was completed with a huge thunderstorm followed by a beautiful rainbow over the castle.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    A quiet haven away from the crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was okay but not good value. We have had much better breakfasts for the same or less than we paid here. No eggs, the food was only semi warm and the hot selection was quite limited.

    A quiet haven away from the crowds. The setting was terrific. We throughly enjoyed our stay here. The accommodation was wonderful (we did upgrade ). The views over the valley were amazing. The staff on front desk were very helpful and had a great sense of humour.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Dinner - presentation and value for money --- Rooms -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast room quite small --- Choice of "hot dishes" is quite limited

    Dinner - presentation and value for money --- Rooms - comfortable and cozy --- Location - great

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    the location makes for easy access to the town and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are less staff than before so service can be slow. Paradores are not homogeneous so you never know what you'll get I. the way of bathroom amenities, not even the same type of hair dryer.

    the location makes for easy access to the town and the panoramic views are tremendous. Paradores are very bureaucratic, too much paper but the staff are getting better

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is beautiful and a well restored classic Spanish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't eat at the hotel. The dining room is worth looking at and reflects the architecture of the Parador. The food and service are poor.

    The hotel is beautiful and a well restored classic Spanish gem. The rooms, view, furnishings are special and worthy of a night's stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Under staffed for waitres'. Bed was hard / springy. Head board was quite loose so makes noise against the wall when there is movement on the bed. Grounds need all the weeds removed from levelled areas around the castle, as it looks to be lacking maintenance. Insufficient place to set your suitcases up off the floor in the room. My recollection is that some literature or web pages state that this hotel has a pool, but it does not.

    Breakfast selection. Clean. The staff that were there we good. Very cool to stay in a castle. Fantastic views. Good orientation to the facilities and the town by staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Another historic building with all the mod cons you need...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Another historic building with all the mod cons you need such as A/C in the rooms and an elevator between floors. Plenty of uncovered parking that was free and quite safe because this hotel sits onto of a hill overlooking the town below. The dining room for dinner is a beautiful space and the food is well prepared and the service was excellent. It looked like a bit of a trek to go into town but during my stay the weather didn't allow any trips into town.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.9
    I loved the castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I first arrived, the person at the reception desk wasn't very friendly but the next morning's person was helpful and all of the servers in the dining room were very nice. I didn't have a car. I arrived in a taxi so it wasn't worth going down the hill as I only had 24 hours and the weather was bad. I wish I had visited the town. The menu was a bit limited and didn't change but it was ok. Not much to choose from for a vegetarian.

    I loved the castle! I spent 24 hours inside, never left. It was cold and super-windy and rainy out so staying in was sheer luxury. I read and used the computer and took a bath and looked out the window. The view was spectacular. I also enjoyed eating in the dining room. I appreciated that they had a box full of difference plugs for different power sources so I was able to keep my laptop charged.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    The beds could have been a little softer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds could have been a little softer

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    10
    very spacious and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very spacious and comfortable room......great views

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    8.3
    As with older Paradores, not designed for people with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As with older Paradores, not designed for people with disabilities, but the staff more than made up for it with their cheerful helpfulness.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful old historic building, an excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No hot food available in bar before 8.30

    Beautiful old historic building, an excellent hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Lovely building, peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely building, peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Beatiful Parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beatiful Parador. Everybody was so helpful. The food was great and service great also. So close to all the places to see.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful building great accomodation superb views of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful building great accomodation superb views of the countryside very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Position good town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Position good town

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador de Alcañiz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: