Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Cambados 4 stars

Paseo de la Calzada, s/n, 36630 Cambados, Spain

#9 of 15 hotels in Cambados

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 326 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful hotel in an excellent location: a short walk from the beautiful old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Reception staff were a bit gruff compared with other Paradors we visited, and the 'lifeguard' young lady at the lovely pool was completely lacking in courtesy or friendliness.

    The location is superb - near the old town and very near the sea front. The bar with garden and pool were lovely - pool surrounded by grass and a good size. The rooms were full of character and charm.. the food in the restaurant good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    A great place spoilt by ill trained receptionist.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we were checking in there was an issue because we only had our driving licences as ID, which was resolved, after a lot of loud huffing from the a sour faced lady on the reception desk, because fortunately we had copies of our passports on an email. Whilst I understand that we were at fault for being unaware that you have to carry your passport everywhere as ID in Spain, this was not a good start. However worse still to come as on the way out when I asked to change the invoice to the company rather than in my name. This I had requested previously to one of her colleagues who had clearly forgotten. My wife and I could not believe the problem this lady created and the rudeness of her manner in dealing with this. Not to go into details, in summary a great stay at a beautiful place spoilt only by a poorly trained receptionist.

    The room is comfortable and very private. You can't hear the other guests. The place is beautiful and well located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    I liked the style and ambience of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No bathrobes provided in rooms. This made returning from the pool area difficult as you couldn't bring the pool towel to your room. We only had hand luggage only- so no room for our towels/beach robe. Nobody told us at breakfast that we could order eggs etc from kitchen. I tried to boil the kettle to make tea, it wasn't working but person who told me this did not offer to get me hot water. Need to be in touch with client's wishes. Customer service doesn't seem to be a priority.

    I liked the style and ambience of the building. The breakfast choice is excellent.The courtyard is a lovely place to relax. There are lots of areas to sit in , even on rainy days. I enjoy staying in Paradors and choose to do so knowing that customer service is not quite 4 star.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful old building, great location for Cambados and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I’m being picky bed was a bit hard and the price of mini bar water was pretty high compared to other places we had stayed in the region.

    Beautiful old building, great location for Cambados and in particular the Albariño festival. Air con!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting for a hotel, typically grand and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful setting for a hotel, typically grand and historical for a parador. Room was big and comfortable and with lovely views over the garden. Communal areas are massive and there's plenty of comfortable and relaxing rooms to sit around in if needed. Location was a huge bonus - excellent position in Cambados. Staff were excellent too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location; beautiful and relaxing garden/patio. Old world charm and modern amenities. We were sorry to have stayed only 1 night and are thinking about returning for longer stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are very polite and helpful but not over friendly. Smile people.

    There are 2 doors between the bed and the corridor which means that you can't hear anyone outside your room and you can get a good night sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay in a charming town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at check-in was not super friendly. The man who took us and our bags to our room was, however. Beautiful furnishings, but somehow seemed a tad cold (in atmosphere) to me.

    Charming, but not spectacular bldg. Easy parking. Lovely outdoor pool. Fabulous location. We enjoyed our walk along the seafront promenade, with palm trees! Also had great walk into historic area and saw wonderful buildings and shops. Well worth at least a 3hr visit. Loved the hotel's courtyard/cafe. Dining room a bit austere, but friendly, fast service. If we could have eaten outside it would have improved the meal tremendously.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Booked for one night then decided to stay for two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location at the bottom of the main restaurant area. Classic Parador service. Very professional and polite. We were lucky to be able to use the pool and sunbathing area in September.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Great stay, great location, mature type of guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame the tennis court, which is being advertised as one of the hotel's facilities, has not been looked after. It's practically no longer in use.

    Very comfortable and quiet hotel. Loved the pool. Room very spacious, good bathroom too. Lady at breakfast in the restaurant super nice and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful place , unpleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Officious reception staff. We arrived during the busy wine festival . The Carpark was busy and three cars had parked badly over the lines. I parked in the only available space next to them . The following day I was told off like a child . On leaving the other cars were still parked badly next to mine !. Really marred our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    My stay required receipt of an express mail package.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My stay required receipt of an express mail package. I informed the desk staff in advance about this and they accommodated my needs very well. No problems with the receipt and delivery of the package.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    A great example of the state run Paradores
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast at €16 a head is a little salty but there are plenty of local supermarkets.

    Fifty meters from the sea front and only a short walk to the main sights of the town made this a perfect two night short stay. My bike was parked right outside in a barrier controlled private hotel car park. Restaurant was good, maybe a little pricey, but hey you're on holiday!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.7
    The Parador from Hell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms surround a courtyard. They held a reception in that courtyard for a private party. The music began at 9.30pm and ended after midnight. We were unable to sleep because of the noise. We will never stay there again!

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Typical Parador quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed in the choice of food in the restaurant. The breakfast was expensive, we ate out in a local bar for a fraction of the cost. The garden area around the pool is poor.

    The hotel is located on the coast and within easy walking distance of the old town with shops bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Great hotel in a fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location in the town right on the waterfront and 5 mins walk from the old quarter. A fabulous old building with lovely gardens and outdoor swimming pool, comfy and spacious bedroom, friendly staff, free parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    El patio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camera súper desagradable

    El patio

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Nothing to add.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to add

    Nothing to add.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Elegance in lovely coastal town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Relaxed feel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    A lovely seaside property.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely seaside property. Great ambience and facilities. Rooms spacious and tasteful decorated. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic! Beautiful parador and wonderful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that beds are made separately as two twins instead of together as a king.

    Nice large room and bath, beautiful building and grounds overall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in perfect location in a wonderful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff could be more friendly. Beds not as comfortable as the overall facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    In shoulder season, the paradors are affordable, a real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. A little hard to find, but worth it.

    Loved the location, the antiques, the elegance of this old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant night on our way to the Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with an iron in the room.

    The staff were attentive and helpful. We were the only people in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    As usual in a Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit oldish

    As usual in a Parador Nice and cosy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Excellent helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent helpful staff. Great value for the money. Perfect location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    A comfy hotel to explore the Rias Baixas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building with comfortable old-style rooms. Quiet and classy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant no children in the propery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All of it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well apointed, hospitable and quite. Parking was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Brilliant downtown location to visit town and Albarino vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a little surly and indifferent...

    Location and safe free car parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    We had a very pleasant stay here. It was a great spot from which to explore the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, relaxing, nice ambiance. Close to the sea and the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Cozy little parador. Fine breakfast. Good dinner. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy little parador. Fine breakfast. Good dinner. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Swimming pool closed to early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool closed to early. After a day out a swim would have been nice but it closed at 7pm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Great homely feel, warm and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great homely feel, warm and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    I forgot passport at save they call me several times and got me
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location architecture gardens people

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location - few minutes walk to the shore and to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out staff could have been friendlier.

    Great location - few minutes walk to the shore and to a cluster of restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    4.2
    No point
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost and staff attitude

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Perfect for vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To leave

    Perfect location. Helpfull staff Facilities. The style.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast not included in quoted price - not made clear at time of booking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast with plenty of choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor welcome by reception staff.did not inform us of hotel amenities

    Good breakfast with plenty of choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.3
    Location ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Water cold when we wanted a shower and contained a high level of iron.

    Location ideal. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lots of activities possible in situ.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    4.2
    I really do not understand how it is possible that staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really do not understand how it is possible that staff when wr arrive while we speak Spanish just say one word Yes just one word passaporte. Not one sign to feel welcome not any sign of interest in me as a client. Just one word which is inportant for their administration and that is passaporte. I trally do not understand when You are working in the hospitality bussiness how employees can be s rude to clients just one word brrrrrr...

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    Pleasant parador in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked almost everything. Maybe the restaurant and food could have been more interesting but nothing was wrong with it.

    Pleasant parador in a good location. Good rooms and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable, lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had dinner there one night and were disappointed. The menu is restricted and confusing.

    Very comfortable, lovely room. Good reception area and public rooms and great situation

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.8
    We stayed at the Parador of Cambados 11 nights - a couple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When we (the older couple) wanted to extend our stay, there was a problem. The receptionist told us that it was not possible, because the hotel was full. I insisted and explained that by that point we already paid for 22 nights (2 room) which amount to thousands of Euros, and I had felt that I deserved a better service. At that point the woman in charge of the hotel interfered, and the problem was solved and we could stay in our room for an extra night. From very bitter we came out very happy, thanks to the boss of the hotel. I always believe that the impossible is possible, and that was prove again!

    We stayed at the Parador of Cambados 11 nights - a couple with two grownups children and a grandson. The facility and all services were great! The location is fantastic. You just cross one street and you are at the sea. There was a problem to find an extra bed for my grandson which was solved very quickly by the staff/ Great!!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.9
    The situation of the parador is excellent for site seeing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a mix up with my particular requirements that seemed not to have been passed on such as a quiet room and soft pillows. This was quickly put right. The menu and the quality of the evening meal was mediocre and you got better value for money eating outside the parador.

    The situation of the parador is excellent for site seeing without the crowds of tourists. if you love eating fish, then this is the place to stay. The staff at the parador were always ready to help.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    The relaxed, friendly yet efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have expected breakfast to be included in a premium brand chain of hotels.

    The relaxed, friendly yet efficient staff. The location was perfect for our stay. The centre of the village with shops and bars were easily accessible on foot.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The whole property with the large room, several nice social...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a pool outside but it was not open until June 1st!! The meny was the same during three days and was not so interesting. Expect more typical dishes.

    The whole property with the large room, several nice social areas, a nice patio. Situated in the old part in town and you can see the sea. The winelist was good with several choiches of Albarino wines. Guarded car parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    8.3
    Location was good and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing !

    Location was good and excellent breakfast. Friendly staff . Close to village restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice town

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very dark, no view.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    position anf staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    position anf staff. excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    beautiful house, nice pool, big room, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    beautiful house, nice pool, big room, very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Breakfast was amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was amazing

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for alborino wine festival but expect the hubbub of noise to match the atmosphere.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.5
    Unfriendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfriendly welcome. A complete contrast to Parador Santiago that we had just come from.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.3
    Well preserved Galician manor house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Well preserved Galician manor house. Swimming pool. Location. Jogging path along the bay. Mariscos.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.8
    General ambience and pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner menu did not change daily.

    General ambience and pool!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: