Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Cangas de Onís 4 stars

Villanueva de Cangas de Onís s/n, 33550 Villanueva de Cangas de Onís, Spain

Review score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    The staff were efficient, the room was large and generally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room with a four poster bed, which was in need of a more thorough dusting. There were no means of making a hot drink in the room. Apart from the room size, there seemed to be little to warrant the premium room rate,

    The staff were efficient, the room was large and generally satisfactory but....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Quaint and lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very expensive and just adequate. We had an expensive dinner there with poor service and diner type food, unimaginative, hot foods were lukewarm as were the cold foods. Breakfast (at an extra cost) was good. Don’t waste your money on dinner. The AC in our room the first night was not working. We were moved to a room with working AC the second night. The bathroom shower flooded in the second room. It was not the luxurious stay I was anticipating. The hotel is beautiful but it needs some upkeep. Go with an open mind (as we did) and you will have an awesome time. It’s a different culture, enjoy it!

    Beautiful grounds, corridors, outdoor courtyard. Beni and Pilar were helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    beautiful hotel in a remote location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location was remote - one was locked in without taking the car out

    This used to be a monastery and there has been a very sympathetic modern extension added. The room was roomy and comfortable, The food in the restaurant was very good but a bit pricey. The bar was in a lovely old courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location but not the best price-quality relation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor and expensive breakfast. Dangerous access and exit from and to the road (in a curve).

    Surroundings were very nice. Walking distance to Cangas de Onis centre. Availability in peak season (maybe because high price)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay in Asturias
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is about a mile away from Cangas de Onís, which for me was perfect. You can enjoy the peacefulness of the area while only being a few minutes from town. The courtyard is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a few drinks before or after dinner. During our stay they even had a string quartet playing in the evening, which was wonderful. The hotel itself is very clean and taken care of by a friendly and diligent staff. Overall, I would say the Parador Cangas de Onís is a very comfortable hotel that gives you access to all the beauty and activity that Asturias has to offer. I will definitely return... for a third time!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Loved the history and attachment to the monastery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a touch dated in decor but still very comfortable

    Loved the history and attachment to the monastery. Nice breakfast spread, dinner and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful relaxing place to stay with loads of history Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no negatives

    This was an outstanding old building with the new additions sitting sympathetically with the old. Grounds were well maintained. Interesting walking around old building with good English explanations of each room in the monastery. An easy 25 min walk into the town along the river where there were loads of restaurants and bars. A wonderful stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, but not worth the Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price tipped the scales of too high in my opinion. We stayed at 2 other Paradors at 1/2 the price of this one (220 Euros) and they were just as nice. If I had to do over again, I would research more for another hotel nearby--the area is in no short supply.

    The relative seclusion of the property, but it did have highway noise. It was a beautiful converted monastery, but a bit sterile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    We used this Parador as a base for our stay in the Picos...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We opted not to have breakfast here as we felt it was overpriced. We ate in the restaurant on the first night of our stay and whilst the food was excellent and the service very good we felt it was overpriced for what it was and compared to other local places that we ate in.

    We used this Parador as a base for our stay in the Picos Mountains. Our room was in the new block and rooms very comfortable and spacious. The old part of the building is really interesting and it has lots of information (almost like a mini museum itself) on its origins as a monastery.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Hotel fulfilled 80-85% of our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first of our two night stay we were awakened by water pouring from the ceiling in our room and forming puddles on the floor. When we called maintenance a night porter came up with towels to mop up the water and suggested we turn off our air-conditioning which we did and the dripping eventually stopped. After this disturbance we had a sticky night as there were people celebrating a wedding outside in the gardens and we were unable to leave the windows open. Although we spoke to the receptionist who ensured the unit was repaired the next day we were disappointed that there was no consideration of our disturbed night allowed for on our bill.

    Building is stunning and a delight to stay in. Breakfast and bar food excellent and good value. Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Amazing experience in middle ages monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Beautiful and well preserved XII century monastery full of history, perfectly decorated with antiques. The huge room with amazing views was very big and with a comfortable bed, peaceful location, very close to Cangas de Onis, which is one of the most beautiful towns in Asturias. There was also a guided visit organized for the guests of the Parador where the director explained the history of the monuments and of Spain and Asturias at that time. The breakfast was fantastic!!!! Buffet breakfast with everything you could dream of, including all sorts of Asturian meat, cheese and bakery & pastries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    A lovely Parador with lots of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long walk in to Cangas even going by the river path so no option but to eat at hotel or drive. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Good selection of food at breakfast and evening meal. Lovely location by the river and lots of history in the old part of the Parador. The hotel provided a guide to explore and there is lots of information in English. Lovely room with huge bathroom but terrrible hairdryer! Very efficient air con and WiFi. Wedding reception held while we were there so added to the interest of the location especially the bagpipes!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staf. I could visit 2 rooms and chose the one I liked! Beautiful old building, with lovely church included. Quiet and peaceful place. Very good breakfast. A very nice Parador, ideal to visit Covadonga

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Would absolutely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Softer beds would definitely be appreciated, and the fabada in the on-site restaurant was not very good at all.

    Staying at the Paradores, and enjoying their history, is part of the travel and sightseeing experience of going to Spain for us. This property had an excellent and peaceful location, convenient parking, beautiful views, fantastic service, great rooms and baths, and a delicious breakfast. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Retreat into Spain's Royal Past
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have transport services. However, this is a minute detail. Everything else was splendid.

    Everything! Location, destination, the history. I definitely loved how it has played up the history of place and building. I spent many hours searching the halls for great reads and have explored the area to further learn of it's glorious past.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged for 2 coffees at dinner that I didn't have. When requesting softer pillow as suggested I was given a harder one.

    Location, parking, building, facilities all combined to make a pleasant expeience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    This parador has its own chapel, museum, and library. I loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was well-appointed but not deluxe.

    Remarkable building with amazing history. Great breakfast. And an amazing location to take advantage of Los Picos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    the setting, the building, the decor in the room, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the dustbin emptying at 6.20 am

    the setting, the building, the decor in the room, the staff were very helpful and professional and the food was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional hotel, thoroughly enjoyed it and would love to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could criticise, and it is purely personal taste, is the beds. They were exceptionally hard and the pillows not much better. This is true of all the Pardors, all the same beds! If I had known I would have taken a mattress topper with me, if it would have fitted in the car!

    The Parador was beautiful, like staying in a museum. The building was exceptional, with cloisters, church and exposed archeology finds to view around the inside of the building. There was a library with a super range of books relating to the surrounding national parks. The furnishings were just right for the type of building it was and of an exceptional standard. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. I defy anyone to not fall in love with this Parador. We stayed two nights but would have liked to stay longer, the Parador was situated in just the right area for exploring around the Pico National Park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi in room is slow, need to improve.

    Very good place! If you like mountain freshness, near the river -it"s you place. It's very good feeling to stay in the old historical building with all modern amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    The our favourite Parador ever! Restored monastery, near mountains & sea. Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the rooms was weak but it was fine in the common areas

    Wonderful common areas take full advantage of the historic monastery. Convenient to great day trips in the mountains and at the sea. Wonderful friendly staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Room is very well decorated with we loved the river located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the dining room - the ambience was sterile. Also we thought the food wasn’t as good as we expected.

    Room is very well decorated with we loved the river located next to room. Public area is wonderful as well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed it but it would have been nice if dogs were allowed in the retaurant and / or bar
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rules and regulations re dogs was a full A4 sheet, including dog to be left on patio or locked in bathroom when alone! Dog not allowed in the bar or the restaurant Dog walking poor

    Excellent room with a patio and a kennel (if needed) for the dog, inside the room they provided a lovely Dog Welcome pack of Royal Canin food and bed for our wolf! Very comfortable room and bathroom with twin sinks Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful parador in the heart of the Picos de Asturias.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee is the worst we had in Spain.

    Everything but the coffee; also, we were there last year and the breakfast buffet was better. The library in the upper floor of the old building is a jewel. As an author, I find the place conducive to writing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    A gem of a hotel in the heart of the Asturias.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls in the new building. More documentation than usual to register a pet—but that’s a small price to pay to bring a dog around Spain, which is not pet friendly.

    Well-appointed, pet friendly new building with large garden. Beautifully restored historic old buildings. Convenient location just outside town. Good restaurant in Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Parador was fascinating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most European hotels air conditioning is non-existent from September - May. Unfortunately for us the weather was unusually hot and it was a bit stuffy. We we're able to open the balcony door and let fresh air in which was made the room pleasant.

    Hotel is impressive. The transformation of convent to hotel is fascinating. The decor and grounds are beautifully maintained. The bathrooms are huge with double sink. Beds are joined together to make a king but they slide apart. The need to develop a better system or put in true queen or king beds. Our stay was very relaxing, peaceful and quite. Delicious Asturias apples and fresh water were available throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing building in a lovely location beside the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report

    The hotel is spectacular and do is the church. Beautiful location where we were able to walk into Cangas in the morning along the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.5
    Nice location Shame about the unwanted children's playground
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a beautiful location they build a children's playground right in front of room 108 garden terrace. Don't stay in this room if you want peace and quiet! But of course, handy if you are travelling with a children!

    The building is a beautiful restored abbey just outside Cangas de Onis. The room was large and well set out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful grounds and stunning buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues - had a couple of really hot days whilst we were there and icing on the cake would be a pool

    Beautiful grounds and stunning buildings. Courtyard very calm and great service from all staff. Easy walk into town - it does take about 30 mins.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Easy to recommend this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main courses were devoid of green vegetables.

    Breakfasts were good as were the deserts. Historic building particularly the cloisters gave comforting ambience. The barman was really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Parador with a history and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It s quite far from Cangas De Onis. Have to depends on supplies from the Parador or have to buy in advance. Staff not feeling friendly at the reception.

    The parador itself s a museum with lots of history. The food in the restaurant s very good and we have all our dinners there. Surrounding area s quiet and heavenly, it s pity that we hadn't try the walk from the Parador to Cangas De Onis. Lots of birds around, but we didn't bring our binoculars! Room clean and large for our group of three.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Historic with a good breakfast but service was questionable by some.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk person and the manager of the restaurant were not friendly and the restaurant didn't want to split our check on 3 three room but would take 3 cards.

    The tapas were just OK. The location and history of the facility is interesting and beautiful. It is not walking distance to the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    This was a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    This was a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. Our twin room was spacious and spotlessly clean. We ate in the bar area and there was a good selection on the menu. There was also a huge choice at breakfast, second to none. The staff were friendly and helpful. Attention to detail throughout was first class would definitely stay here again. Just beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    A beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful place! Simple elegance , all amenities, a beautiful atrium with beverage service. Great breakfast buffet , polite and helpful staff. Highly recommended !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful buildings and very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Great menu, very well presented and friendly staff. Only trouble is that presentation and looks are only half the requirement - the food (at dinner) lacked flavour and fish dishes were particularly poor.

    Very pretty and quiet location. Beautiful buildings. Secure parking. Breakfast was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    An interesting Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park was large and right next to Reception. Warm welcome at Reception. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Lacked atmosphere as it was in the new section but we did have a little balcony which looked out over the gardens and the view was gorgeous. The Parador itself was very interesting with lots of information about the monastery. Inner courtyard bar was lovely and service was good. We ate one night in town, taking the river walk to the town. An easy walk, even in the dark. Dinner at the Parador was good and the rice pudding was divine. Breakfast was adequate with all the usual choices

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Luxury and History
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect.

    The Paradore made for a perfect retreat, the historic building and its surroundings is to love. The location is ideal for all the activities in the Covadonga area. Very comfortable bed, quality linen and very functional bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    More style than comfort with an uninspiring restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As in all of these historic hotels, the bedroom was a bit gloomy with no outlook. The public areas had little comfort. The bar was attractive but there was a TV on all of the time. The outside seating area for the bar was scruffy and airless with no plants and dirty wooden chairs and tables. The restaurant was lacking in any soft or stylish decor. It was plain; I was looking at the breakfast bat with stacks of china and food containers; my wife was looking at a plain wall. There was no ambiance.; it was more like a breakfast room which indeed it was. The were not enough staff on duty at dinner and we had to wait far longer than we would have expected. The staff on duty were overworked and had to run around the tables to and from the kitchen. Much too much like a fast-food joint.

    Excellent location with easy parking, friendly staff and spacious bedrooms. The food and wines were very good. The grounds were delightful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Elegant Parador in the Picos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was remote but the excellent quality of the facilities more than compensated for this.

    The breakfast buffet was outstanding. I found the dinner menu somewhat limited. I would have preferred a wider selection of salads and vegetable side dishes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    The position was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prices. very expensive. Wi Fi was not good. we could not log on.

    The position was very convenient.. We did not part take of any of the facilities other than our overnight stay. Breakfast was very expensive at 72 euros for two mornings. There is a cafe a couple of hundred yards down the road and you can have coffee, orange juice, pastries and as we did take away 2 slices of the local potato omelette for your lunch all for 7 euros.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    A green oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual for cheaper establishments the towels were thin, little else to complain about.

    Lovely staff with the bonus of their welcoming attitude to dogs. Excellent restaurant for its price bracket and good choice of wines. Interesting and green surroundings looking out over the bare Spanish uplands with Avila in sight across the valley.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    A peaceful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. What's not to like!

    Beautiful parador set beside a river. Most relaxing atmosphere. Excellent dinner in their restaurant. Good choice for breakfast. Room very comfortable and bathroom well equipped

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.0
    Not succesful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totalt overprised and food not up to standard.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Room was adequate staff was very helpful and food quality not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall food was average at breakfast and below average at dinner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic area, lovely room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices are high without comparison to any other Parador we have visited, night stay and restaurant alike.

    Fantastic area, lovely room with a view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Parador failed to provide pre arranged group meal on the first night of our stay

    Just a beautiful place in stunning surroundings

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful historic location - excellent restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    an outdoor swimming pool would be perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    an outdoor swimming pool would be perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Restaurant was very pleasent with good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room in the old part of the building was quite noisy, sound isolation not worthy of luxury hotel.

    Restaurant was very pleasent with good service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great experience of a great Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic monastical building steeped in history. Welcoming and friendly staff. Set in beatiful countryside and mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location beside the river;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location beside the river; beautiful setting and terrific food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful old monastery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old monastery. Enjoyed our stay in an historic building. Evening meal was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Environment & atmosphere was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Environment & atmosphere was great. The walk from the Parador along Rio Sella was therapeutic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Very nice location and helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place. Cool location. Breakfast very good and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, peaceful, tranquil great finish to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, peaceful, tranquil great finish to our road trip

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Classical old monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from a nearby road

    Classical old monastery

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all.

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Unbelievably beautiful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievably beautiful; breakfast by the fireside; superb library; a living museum

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    A bit of luxury for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was expensive - 18 Euros.

    Lovely old monastery, attractive location and excellent room. Good restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    It was everything we remembered from a previous visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The peaceful ambience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Amazing location, quality service and facilities, no negatives whatsoever. Our dog loved it too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    In a word, perfection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Very smart but lacking leisure facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds Tea/Coffee making facilities Lack of international TV

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff No wifi available for few hours Noisy room (bad isolation)

    Parking Very nice architecture

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Great view and nice garden with table and chairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view and nice garden with table and chairs. My most recomend is near the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Parador hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely authentic Parador

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in room

    The dinner menu is a bit limited

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    space and history about the Convent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    two beds when we requested ONE large bed.

    space and history about the Convent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent hotel to stay during your visit to Picos da Europa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Spacious room, excellent and charmy building, very welcome staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Our first parador experience - will not be our last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Our first parador experience - will not be our last. Very professional staff. Great place to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast service and food selection was not as I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service and food selection was not as I had expected

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful building alongside the river with a delightful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful building alongside the river with a delightful Romanesque Church.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    great location and lovely historical buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    great location and lovely historical buildings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Food not up to overall standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food not up to overall standard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    BEd was small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEd was small

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador de Cangas de Onís traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: