Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Cardona 4 stars

Castell de Cardona, s/n, 08261 Cardona, Spain

#8 of 12 hotels in Cardona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 889 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is awkward - right corner at top. Breakfast a little overpriced for the quality. WiFi could be better.

    Setting could not be better. Bar has fabulous views. Evening meal was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't appear the room had air-conditioning. We slept with he window open and it was a cool night, so not a problem for us.

    We enjoyed the uniqueness of staying in a castle. We had dinner in the restaurant, and it was good, and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little isolated but what you would expect with a castle. If you didn't want to drive you could only eat in the hotel. Even the restaurants in Cardona had very limited opening times. Parking was a problem and a steep climb up to the reception.

    Beautiful old castle on the top of a hill with magnificent views. Very nice restaurant with good breakfast choices. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very hard.

    Wow - this hotel is one of a kind. The views from the room and around the castle were stunning. There were signs throughout that explained the history. We were able to explore the grounds and castle and there wasn't the hassle of tourists. So many original charms. The room was great. Sufficient room for us. The window opened up bringing in fresh mountain air. The dining hall was full of history and the food was good. They have a lot of local dishes to try. We spent time after we checked out just exploring. The whole stay was breathtaking!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It not entirely their fault but it should be noted it is not for those chronologically gifted. Finding a car park close to the hotel entrance was very difficult with no offer of help with luggage. There is no outdoor area to sit for hotel guests alone. The brazzerie food and choice was dreadful if the restaurant was unavailable for private functions or you didn’t want to eat much.

    The views. The restaurant. The staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing--all was perfect

    The hotel is in a castle built in the 1500's but the hotel part has been refurbished into a unbelievable area. The common areas and dining room are spectacular--a mix of old and modern. Rooms are very comfortable and our room looked out at the mountains. There is a bar/snack bar room and then the main restaurant serving excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of our group of 8 was impressed with the food on the E40 menu (although breakfast was terrific). Very limited choice. Certainly overpriced. Also, we had come by tourist bus and as such, the bus was unable to come up the rather steep pathway to the hotel. We had to drag all our suitcase and bags up without assistance. Difficult for some of the group. We also were just 'told' where the lifts were, rather than shown. Whilst we found the waitstaff friendly, we found it otherwise with the staff at reception.

    Absolutely exquisite location, fantastically appointed rooms and places throughout. Very comfortable beds. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As usual, in my opinion, the truly extraordinary Parador experience is let down by the overpriced and somewhat mediocre food.

    The location is drop dead stunning and the property is truly exquisite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views with a 360 view from the tower. Food is fantastic, had duck paella was amazing. Nothing not to like, you are staying in a castle on a hill.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Places to visit around are not so good, with the exception of the Salt mine

    very well maintained castle, beautiful views, very comfortable rooms with all needed amenities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access when bringing in cases etc and no offer of help from reception staff. The MANAGER never a smile or greeting.

    The location and the staff in the cafeterria

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay in this historical castle. The staff are friendly & helpful, the heater was warm enough during our stay at -4C at night. Except the dinner in restaurant, too salty, can be improve. But their portions were large. The breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked the castle tour to be in or available in (recorded) another language than Spanish.

    Rooms lovely, Dinner experience great, friendly staff and obviously ... it is a castle!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was reasonably priced but the breakfast was very average and cooked food was not freshly cooked.shower was uneven and scolded me twice-Really not good.

    Location and history of castle are outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the evening meal in the restaurant was ok but the breakfastbuffet was with some old dried out stuff and water for the tea was cold.

    the location is great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good to have a small breakfast option (like the cafe/bar menu) in addition to the buffet breakfast.

    Loved the structure, views from the top, restaurant and the historical info on the walls throughout the parador. Comfortable room and cozy sitting areas throughout.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not comfortable.

    We stayed in a castle!!! Loved the beautiful stone work and history. The restaurant was great - regal and again - its a castle!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping in a castle, what could be better? This hotel inside the Cardona castle is well appointed. The history of the place, the food was great, spacious and modern room with a great view. Highly recomend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic experience, helpful friendly staff, particularly in the restaurant and lounge. They absolutely could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs maintenance. Loose tiles in bedroom, broken items, rotten wood on walkways outside.

    Great atmosphere, public spaces, location on top of mountain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect

    What is not to like , where in the United States can one stay at a 9 th century castle , 2 miles away was a salt mine very interesting , must see , at the Castle is a church also built 9 th century , again a must see and in a lower level audio and visual of a famous battle at the castle

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small thing that gave us initial reservations was that all the carpet runners in the long passageways leading to the bedrooms are very stained and a bit smelly. However, there was no smell in the bedrooms, dining rooms, sitting rooms etc.

    This was a brilliant authentic castle experience in a very high location with brieathtaking views of the village of Cardona, surrounding farm lands and beautiful mountains. The rooms were comfortable, the dining room classy and the service very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an extraordinary adventure. The castle was beautiful. The beds were very comfortable. The food was exquisite. There was nothing we would have changed about this stay. It is best to rent a car and drive to the property. It would be too inconvenient any other way. It is about 1.5 hours drive from Barcelona. It was a pretty drive and easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were as hard as a rock. Staff’s favorite saying is “no”or “its not possible. If you’re a picky American eater you will struggle with their food. If you have walking issues this would not be a good hotel for you. You must be able to walk up hill to get to the hotel and a big uphill walk if you go into the village.

    Make sure you take time to walk around. The place is beautiful and so historic. Go into the village. You get to see a real taste of country living in Spain. If you are there on the weekend it’s amazing to watch their “entertainment”. Young people play dodge the bull in a bull ring!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not up to standards expected for this property. Entree on fixed menu changed with no notice. Understaffed. Breakfast far overpriced for what was offered. Bowl of strawberries included many totally moldy and spoiled. Hallway carpets are attractive but need cleaning.

    Lovely room and huge bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disinterested staff on reception, few staff around so the bar was manned but you had to wait for them to respond to bell. Our room overlooked a quarry which started working at 06.30 hrs using a power hammer which did not stop for two hours! until his breakfast break no doubt! I brought this to the attention of the reception staff who clearly couldn't care less. This was the most expensive stay of our vacation and was intended to make the first night special, don't bother its a waste, there are much better options out there.

    The restaurant was very good with service to match, ruined by a very loudly crying/screaming child throughout the meal! The actual building is wonderful and some views both of it and the surroundings are spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited, maybe 6 parks on a level with the castle entrance, otherwise if you're in a car it could be difficult to drive up, drop the cases and turn around, and the walk up from the next park down is steep.

    The setting of the parador in a castle on top of a hill overlooking the town and surrounding countryside is extraordinary. In our visit in late September the castle was quiet even during the day when non-resident tourists visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parador is beautiful but the surrounding area (logging and quarry) makes for a strange stay. Feels a bit of a brand rather than an unique place to enjoy - dinner was a little like a conveyor belt.

    The castle is full of history and offers an amazing experience. Room was grand and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please reverse the above with these comments! We enjoyed our stay. The castle is the closest to a fairytale castle we have stayed in. The layout is very intriguing, spacious areas, hide & seek areas, very high windy outlook areas. There is a museum down along the wall with a 3D model of a battle raged in 1700's. The dining hall is very true to one's imagination of the real thing, not long tables of course but tables for 4.

    Cardona was what we expected for a castle, therefore very interesting. The major difficulty occurs as you arrive at the end of the long circular approach to the main entrance. At this point the road entrance is one way and we arrived with one car unloading, another trying to go down the drive and our car on arrival. What a tangle! The impatient driver was the one tryingto go down, the new arrival tried to hurry up and we had nowhere to go except to try to do a sharp left angled turn past the other two cars on one side and the end of a high solid wall on the other with the potential of car damage to the doors! It took the shine off arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and breakfast were not a good value compared to similar hotels. Room furnishings could have been nicer.

    The hotel building and adjacent castle were stunning. The rooms were fine but did not have period furnishings. Staff were helpful but not overly friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our meal was meh. The food quality could be improved. The bread was stale and rock hard, and the food quality was not good.

    Magical place! Such a unique and unforgettable experience. We came to Cardona to visit the salt mines. I read that "paradors" are unique to Spain and there are many paradors to choose from throughout the country. Located in a secluded area overlooking Cardona and the salt mines, this parador (castle) was one of the highlights of our trip. The views from the look out points and from our room were truly breathtaking. We chose to have dinner at the castle, since how many times can you say we "ate in a medieval castle," and ordered the "Traditional Menu of Cardona." Our meal was okay...the experience of eating in the epic dining room outweighed our dinner. At breakfast, there was a wide selection of fresh fruit, and a variety of breakfast items. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not ideal. Bit of a steep walk from car park to jotel

    Restaurant excellent. Location spectacular. Hotel very comfortable. Staff very attentive and pleasant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historical location that allowed ease of travel to other remote areas. It is not a city centric but is remote so be aware of location pending your wants and needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in / check out were very slow

    Great historical site. There is a museum on site and a lot to see at this particular Parador, well worth the stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just not our sort of place - very conventional

    Spectacular setting but food was a bit disappointing. We forgot our passports and a wallet in the room and within the hour they had been found and we were phoned so were able to retrieve them. Fantastically efficient house keeping/front of house staff for which we were very grateful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a king or queen bed. The room included two adjoining twins and it was ok. I didn't like the pillows. I would have preferred fluffier ones but they were acceptable.

    I loved the food. I had dinner and breakfast as part of my reservation. The menu choices were very good. I had to pay a few euros extra for a wonderful steak. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive. The views were excellent and the site itself was quite lovely. The bathroom was exceptional - all marble and quite modern! Would definitely recommend staying there. I can now say I slept in a castle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the breakfast was quite expensive so we had breakfast in the town instead.

    Nice to stay in this historical place! We enjoyed the environment. It was also nice to walk down to the historic town of Cardona. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps it was a Language issue though staff were a bit cool and non communicative. Polite but didn't go the extra. Found out later there was a tour but as it's run by separate business ( in same building) reception didn't tell us about it.

    Loved staying in the castle. It's been well maintained and lovely to walk around and the near by town. Breakfast was good value and plenty to choose from. The rooms facing away from Salt mines have a nicer view. The first room we were given was very dated in bedding and curtains and faced the Salt mines. Fortunately I was able to change rooms to the other side and there was a noticeable difference in the quality of room for same price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Now for the downside. When booking the room, I checked to see if there was AC unit. According to the listing on Booking.com the property did have AC. After checking into our room, it was burning up and we immediately opened the window and tried to turn on the AC with no luck. After contacting the front desk we were told the property does not have AC in the rooms. We had an interior room on the cloister and despite the cool nightly temps, the room was absolutely unbearable. We checked with the front desk to see if there was any other rooms but were told that paying for an upgrade was the only way to change even though the hotel did not appear very full. Our room was so hot and uncomfortable with absolutely no airflow, even with the small window open. We ended up having to sleep with the main door open (which was very uncomfortable for safety reasons) and my husband made a pallet on the floor in case anyone tried to come in. This was the only way to get any airflow in the room and not feel as if we were sleeping in a sauna. Unfortunately, neither of us slept much and our experience spending the night in a castle was not at all what we had hoped for. Upon checkout, I mentioned the problem to the front desk personnel but he didn't seemed too concerned about the issue. It may have been a language barrier but he really didn't seem too concerned. I am sure there are other rooms in this hotel that are wonderful but if you stay here, I would make sure and request and exterior room. Also, the accuracy of the amenities needs to be updated to reflect what the rooms contain.

    We booked this room after stopping at the castle and enjoying a drink at the bar. The bartender was fabulous and we decided to go ahead and book a room and take advantage of an opportunity to spend the night in a historic castle. The room was clean and the bathroom was a great size with modern amenities. We also had dinner in the restaurant on site. It was absolutely fabulous and one of the best meals of our trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful castle with magnificent views over the countryside with a mountain backdrop. Restaurant is a lovely setting and the food was good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car parking is difficult to enter and rather hit and miss, alternative parking is at the bottom of a sheep slope.

    The property is in a fantastic location with fantastic views. The room was comfortable and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very good but make sure you drive up to the reception office to drop off your luggage as the hill is very steep.

    We stayed at this Parador 34 years ago and were delighted to find that it hadn't lost any of the magic we experienced back then. Located high above the town of Cardona, this castle played a major part in Catalan history - make sure that you do the tour - and has now been transformed into a luxury hotel but still has a charming medieval feel about it, especially the restaurant which also serves excellent meals. The staff are wonderful, our room was large with a very comfortable bed and despite what other reviewers have said, we found the wifi reception very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like loved it all.

    A night in a 17th century castle with very helpful and friendly staff, we throughly enjoy the experience. The quality of service and food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent and the breakfast was also well presented and enjoyable, again with helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is lovely but it was a great shame the food did not live up to expectations. Some of the food was not particularly hot and the meat on both our main courses was fairly tough.

    Being a castle the architecture of the hotel was superb and very interesting and the view from the bedroom was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no public transportation from the castle to the town.

    The castle and the view from the castle on the top of the hill or absolutely beautiful. The ancient Cathedral at the castle was stunning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free drinking water. I am not sure but there was no shop to buy water etc.

    Great experience to stay in a medieval castle not too far away from Barcelona. Fantastic view, nice food and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticisms. It's a lovely place.

    The welcoming staff gave us a room with a stunning view and a four- poster bed. They went out of their way to familiarise us with the layout of the Parador and the diffident bar staff and gregarious restaurant staff were equally friendly, efficient and helpful. The building is amazing: so historic and interesting. We'd both like to spend longer relaxing and walking there. The breakfast would be very difficult to surpass in any hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except for the front desk staff. Never offered to help with our luggage.

    The setting is magnificent. A true castle. Food excellent. Dining room service was the best.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food is what one would expect from a hotel rather than a specialist restaurant so if that is your expectation you won't be disappointed. But if you like Catalan cuisine as much as we do you might be. You could of course stay at the parador and eat elsewhere. As ever in Catalonia, you will find excellent restaurants where ever you go.

    The location is so spectacular it is difficult to believe it could be bettered! The castle - parts of which date back to the 11th century - is superbly appointed, the staff very helpful indeed, and the room excellent, as was the cafeteria with its fantastic views. Cardona's old town is well worth a visit as is the old town of Solsona which is only about a half hour drive away from Cardona.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal in our room wasn't great. Boo-hoo - that's not why you go to the Parador in Cardona.

    The classic Parador - an old fort or castle are a unique delight in today's cookie-cutter so-called luxury hotels. The dining is always first-rate with regional specialities and excellent service. The slight premium over a regular upscale hotel is worth it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi patchy but in such a stunning building who cares. Sorry for folks who struggled with cases and access but it is a castle on a hill, suggest you stick to Hiltons. Staff helpful and friendly, room spacious and comfortable, food and bar quirky but overall an awesome place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although Cardona is not close by medieval towns of Costa Brava, we were able to make some scenic road trips to Besalu, Tossa de Mar and Beget over our weekend. Endless photo opps and never a bad meal.

    Magical setting. Elegant transformation of historic castle into luxury hotel. Fixed menu dinner was exquisite with stellar service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looking at the detail... well... there are some things could be improved. I had holes in my bed sheets, massive bedroom with a very small tv. At the breakfast time, it seemed as the food has been done a week a go, and has been there laying for days, without anyone eating it... so that our down side point. All in all, good. I must say as well that, to be a Parador Nacional, we thought it would be dearer

    The staying in a castle for the night, IS SPECIAL!! so to me, that was the biggest highlight... (we were celebrating our birthdays together...)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Parador was absolutely beautiful. Exploring it was quite the adventure and the views all around were stunning. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I'd recommend trying out the restaurant as the food was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Location of the Castle is heavenly it brought me Peace Gaudi & Dhali would have approved the use of this Treasure for the modern day traveler Well done to whom it was conceived the idea to utelise this historical structure as a hotel I will recommend it to My Special Friends We had dinner -excellent unfortunately Barcelona FC lost Our visit A true joy Thank you

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Four poster bed was terrible - very uncomfortable and much too high to get in easily. Creaked every time you moved!

    Lovely building - old castle on a hill top fantastic views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was really poor and over priced. The staff were not helpful, particularly in the restaurant, we had to go to the kitchen to ask for milk. We asked for an iron and ironing board, they didn't have the latter which meant we couldn't iron. A small thing but it emphasised that with such a lovely location and building, the poor running is such a shame.

    The location was fantastic, great views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were unfriendly and not very helpful. What kind of hotel doesn't have an iron?! Food was highly priced. Bed was uncomfortable- had a sore back after the 3rd night and I don't usually suffer back problems.

    Location was stunning! Bar and cafe staff were very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No swimming pool but in a building such as this probably unfeasible.

    Beds very comfortable. B'fasts good. Dinners very good. Staff mostly very helpful and friendly but male restaurant waiters unsmiling and abrupt.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. The paradors are invariably great places to take a day off from traveling and simply relax.

    We stopped here because a) we love paradors, and b) we needed to break up the drive between Girona and LLeira. It was not a surprise - the food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the surroundings and facilities wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is down the hill and can be a bit tricky unloading your luggage.

    The location is amazing, we had a view out over the valley towards the mountains, huge 4 post bed and very good restaurant for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was looking worn and lacked the usual niceties one has come to expect in hotel rooms; water, tissues and two pillows. The on site restaurant traditional pre-fixed meal menu was lack luster and not worth the 44 Euros. Better to stay with the Meal options of the day. The main feature of our room was a two story window view the country side, it would have been nicer if the widows were clear and had been cleaned.

    Great to have a Castle experience, it was unique. Location was an easy distance from Barcelona. Pleasant out door Bar with great views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a steep climb up in the car which is a bit alarming but you can park close by the reception to load and unload the car. A bit of help with the suitcases would have been appreciated as we had to go up to our room and down a flight of stairs carrying two heavy suitcases, and neither of us are very young! I suppose we should have asked for help.

    The setting is spectacular overlooking the plain below. A special recommendation is the restaurant. The dinner we had was fabulous three courses for €33 each. Great value.and the dinning room is like a medieval banqueting hall Breakfast was also great,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot weather but that's not your fault.

    I want to rave about Noemi Galera Ribera at the front desk. She always has a smile, is personable and went out of her way to help. I've never written about a person in a review before but just wanted you to know what a prize you have behind that front desk. Also, traveled to three paradors on this trip and yours was my favorite and the town is delightful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and uncomfortable. No facecloth / flannel in bathroom. No alarm clock - this is four star level.

    Atmosphere of the property. Bathroom excellent. Breakfast very good. Cafeteria/bar staff very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi and hair dryer were sadly lacking.

    Staff were extremely helpful. Interiors are well maintained and tastefully furnished in keeping with the ambience of the Castle. Restaurants are for guests only which is greatly beneficial.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to understand the history of the salt mine, once you do it's not a negative. Better information on snacks available from the bar would be helpful

    Fabulous views, real castle, genuine antiques, excellent food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room very dated and disappointed in size and furnishings. Lack of facilities for price paid. Gym only assessable if pre booked.

    The scenery, the location, the evening meal, the privacy. Worthy of note staff at evening meal were absolutely superb and very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do except enjoying the castle .... no pool.

    Great view, excellent dinner and wine. Nice lounges for a glas of cava. Breakfast superb with many small dishes, fruits, different juices.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person who served us at the bar, Alice, was extremely friendly & helpful. The views & history of the place, the rooms were spacious & the bed very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of location would have been good if we could have had a snack (other than nuts) when we arrived around 1600

    Beautiful location building stunning with fantastic views across the plain. Restaurant beautiful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information/tour office not open on Sunday and closed too early on Saturday.

    A great affordable experience in an authentic castle. Rooms are renovated and thereby aren't castle like, but they comfortable. Self guided plaques are informative. Easy drive to Cardona village for a wide variety of local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was repetive, and of the 4 Paradors we stayed in, they seem to rely on the beautiful dining room. The veal served was we belive not veal, but beef steak. The table next door complained and refused to eat or pay for it. As beef steak it was very nice. As with all the Paradors it would be nice if there was a fresh daily special

    It is amazing place, some would not like the height, but we thought it special. We stayed 4 nights.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You share the buildings with sightseers. Do not arrive on a Saturday or they will have occupied what limited parking space there is in the castle!

    Spectacular building and location. Modern interiors and facilities tastefully fitted into medieval exterior.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    THIS particular parador was off the beaten path and impossible to get to without renting a car - more challenging as a tourist. And not lots to do in the surrounding area. More suited to a short peaceful relaxing rest stop.

    Fabulous experience. Beautiful construction with breathtaking views. Inspirational to stay in such a wonderful place in a foreign country. Accommodations were surprisingly excellent - large spacious rooms, huge bathrooms, wonderful cross breezes with open windows. Lunch/dinner at the restaurant was three course dinner and delicious with attentive staff. Even snack at the bar was really good. Really inexpensive - great deal for the money. It is a paradise in the middle of beautiful country. Easy check in and out. LOVED it.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador de Cardona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: