Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Cazorla 3 stars

Sierra de Cazorla, s/n, 23470 Cazorla, Spain

#33 of 54 hotels in Cazorla

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Outstanding Location, Hints of Faded Glories
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of food was moderate, country cooking but often overcooked. Service in dining room was slow. Staff were friendly but seemed to struggle with a modest size (10-12) party of older people while we had to wait unattended. The third (pull-down) bed in our room was comfortable but didn't accommodate the pillows well, causing some discomfort. Not the end of the world, but easy to remedy.

    Location was outstanding, deer and wild pigs shuffling round perimeter fence. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of space, no pressure. Facilities were fine and modern, wifi, good-size tv in bedroom. The establishment is a little jaded but pleasantly reminiscent of 1930s hunting lodge...which is what it is.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic Parador in the National Park, easier to arrive via Cazorla than the drive up through the park if you’re a nervous driver. However the countryside is spectacular and well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing and peaceful overnight escape, surrounded by stunning scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed a one night stay in the Cazorla Parador, which is very beautiful and relaxing with stunning views. We dined in the restaurant in the evening which was amazing. A lovely hotel to visit for peace and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Surrounded by a sea of olives, the drive takes you to a dreamy mountain retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and basic but it didn’t matter. The location made up for it.

    It was a dream to arrive here after a long drive. The views are wonderful. Had a perfect 2 hour walk behind hotel before supper. Would have stayed longer if possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a wonderful stay at this amazing hilltop Parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the waiter didn’t explain the menu correctly as we wanted to have the Parador menu. So when the bill arrived we had supplementary items added. Also one of our party of four was given a starter of cold meat and almonds that he hadnt ordered and on explanation from the waiter why this happened, he was told they had run out of his order. He was then given his main course while we had our starter, followed by a very large starter of juicy chicken and rice, both of which he enjoyed.

    We loved the location in the Sierra de Cazorla and enjoyed two super walks. As well we loved the ambience of this lovely hilltop Parador and would recommend it. Both meals were delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    We will return,probably many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bookings .com advise it is only 3.8 kms from Cazorla town centre It is ,in a straight line. In reality it is 25 Kms and 55 mins of winding roads away.

    Large clean comfortable rooms Excellent dining experiences..Everytime The service throughput was as it should be,but seldom is.😊 Great location for day hikes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful mountain getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location in the mountains! Excellent staff at all levels. Walking in the woods on the nearby trails was a treat. Hotel is more than 50years old but well maintained in a lodge kind of feeling. Breakfast was spectacular and generous—among the best over two weeks of travel in Andalusia!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    beautiful surroundings, need to improve service and facilities to match other paradores hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property just opened up after heavy renovations, slight smell of paint/plaster still in the air, wi-fi not working well a stronger router needed especially for rooms area.

    bed was comfy, breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Everything in the hotel was super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel - but IMPOSSIBLE to find!! It took us hours because - 1. It is NOT in Cazorla! 2. Sign posting is awful! 3. It has no address so you cannot use a GPS to find it!

    Everything in the hotel was super!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay at the Parador de Cazorla and will return , provided room No35 is available
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gin and tonics very expensive. Additional cost of 15 Euros per night for the dog is excessive.

    Very pleasant accommodation. Good access for the dog. Very good food in the restaurant. Hotel grounds very picturesque. Great location. Lots of wild deer to be seen and superb walks in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    disappointing...would not go back with our dog however if you don't have a pet well worth a visit .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being called parador cazorla it is about a 30 minute drive from cazorla it should be called ''parador in the middle of nowhere''however the scenery is stunning

    This place describes itself asmpet friendly however it is anything but you have to leave your pet locked in the room and it isnt allowed anywhere in the main building our little dog was distressed and barking when we went for our evening meal so we took her out of our room and left her in our car where she was happier...we left 1 day early

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    U
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and furniture need upgrading. They needed more literature on the national park, when I suggested the

    Rooms below what you expect in a parador, we had to have a doggy room, clean good bathroom, but rest very poor. Other guests Who were in standard rooms were complaining to me, the main rooms dining and sitting areas where good, views of course beautiful, and outdoor pool, and gardens lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Set in very nice scenery, excellent views from Parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No other restaurants within a twenty minute drive, giving the Parador a monopoly on where you eat. Breakfast expensive compared to many other Hotels.

    Set in very nice scenery, excellent views from Parador. Very helpful staff. Lovely to see some wildlife around perimeter of property namely deer and wild boar with young amongst others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Parador at Cazola
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows, a bolster, and a flat pillow retrieved from the wardrobe, not comfortable for me personally. Lighting in the bedroom too subdued, struggled to read a book.

    lovely location, lots to do in the area if you are the out doors type, pleasant friendly staff. The pool is out doors, too cold to use at the end of May, but lovely setting in the garden, should be really good in the summer. Meals were a little expensive but we were offered a half board option which gave a good reduction. All in all a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    The staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were helpful and friendly. they were kind enough to move me from the room with the worst view to one with the glorious view shared by the restaurant and terrace. Excellent food (including breakfast) in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    The remoteness of the location makes this hotel fabulous if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi is good throughout the property but it struggles during heavy occupancy

    The remoteness of the location makes this hotel fabulous if you want to get away from it all; but it's a long way from civilisation. Vultures and eagles over the hotel make for great wildlife watching

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    The drive to the parador was challenging but beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parador did not honor a written statement (valid until December 2016) that was in the room which stated that a single person occupying a double room should pay no more than 80% of the double rate. Our son who was in a single room paid the same price as we did for our double room.

    The drive to the parador was challenging but beautiful. Even though it is a newer parador, it contains lovely old details.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Very peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Lovely property and right in the mountains with great walks nearby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    The peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The peace and quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    A really relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very peaceful in a beautiful location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    A surprisingly good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not too good. The madresses were too uncomfortable.

    The atmosphere in generel was good, kind and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    A perfect countryside escale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location a real escape into the countryside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic hunting lodge, cosy and remote. Perfect for walking and being among nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great selection of rooms. We stayed in a different room each night, worth going for a room with a view!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Unforgettable for all the right reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    The room was amazing. We had up graded and it was a very worthwhile decision

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    In the heart of nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat dated. No air con.

    Stunning location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.0
    If you must go for the location, go. If not, avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning (over 30 degrees in room at night, undoable); no variation of menu, limited choice for vegetarians

    Nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. High in the hills. Stunning views. Friendly staff. Very accommodating with the dog.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Mountain hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating control in room didn't work - full on only, so had to turned off at reception.

    Position, position, position - in the National Park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    ideal for a rest in real nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    quiet location - wild life - star filled sky at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    It was simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant answer this question...I did like everything :)

    The place, the staff, the suite, the food, the views...everything!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    5.0
    in need of upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in need of upgrade

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant forest location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant isolated forest location with wild boar, stags & deer just yards from the back of the Parador !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.0
    The setting is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting is superb. The food was very good, particularly dinner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    The staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room (19) was very noisy, The floor above had not been insulated

    The position was lovely with superb views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    Food was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attempted to be sold updates. If we've booked; we've booked. We don't expect high pressure tactics from a Parador. Also the Parador is very, very, badly signposted.

    Food was good

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    It was a little bit adventure to reach the place but once...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Electricity went out like 25 times at the morning for seconds each time

    It was a little bit adventure to reach the place but once you are there you will feel alive again. The place is incredible amazing fantastic :) seriously being there is totally different than anything in Spain. The reception was speaking english and helpful by telling us what to visit and where to go for hiking. I stayed there only for one night and it worth it. The staff all of them trying to help everybody. Good place for relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Set in splendid isolation in the middle of beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First in the restaurant, but not even asked if we wanted a drink for 25 minutes whilst 4 or 5 other tables were dealt with ahead of us. Had to ask head waiter for attention. Not impressed. Noisy heating system in bedroom.

    Set in splendid isolation in the middle of beautiful countryside, with various marked footpaths passing next to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.3
    The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and although the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no instruction leaflet for the phone in the room.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and although the weather was cold and it was snowing the interior of the building was warm and cosy with a log fire in one room. We were also warned about the weather conditions in case we were thinking of driving. We enjoyed the varied menu using local produce of the region.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    9.2
    The room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike

    The room was excellent..we asked for tea and coffee facilities in the room as this is not always normal in Spain and it was brought straight away

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.8
    This is a classic lodge in the wilderness, favoured by local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ride on the dramatic hairpin turns on the road to the Parador were unexpected and terrified me when I was on the outside looking down. It's only fair to say my husband thoroughly enjoyed the drive!

    This is a classic lodge in the wilderness, favoured by local families. It caters to people who value the style, comfort, and tempo of an earlier era. We totally enjoyed the experience.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Location is over 1400 metres above sea level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is over 1400 metres above sea level Fabulous drive up into the mountains Comfortable Great views both up and down Food portions where massive and the quality was GREAT

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    Location inside the Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Parador lacked any ambience. Decor was tired. There was a very solemn atmosphere about the place.

    Location inside the Park. Food very good. Half board cost only 36€ per person per night. That was good value.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful location, stunning views, really in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a twin bed in a standard room, but when we arrived they told us a standard room doesn't have a twin bed, only doubles. We had to upgrade for EUR 20 per night to a superior room (or whatever). Bit disappointing, given an already firm price. The food in the restaurant was bad the first evening, though much better the second, so I'd say it's a bit hit-or-miss. Portions are sometimes way too big and oddly presented.

    Beautiful location, stunning views, really in the middle of nowhere. You need your own wheels. Good base for walks in the area. Nice hotel, excellent breakfast, we had a very spacious room (but see 'negatives') and considered the overall style as rustic and traditional, certainly not outdated or worn out.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    The setting is fantastic and the hotel itself has an antique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We'd not done our homework, so the hotel was difficult to find. For the rest, everything fine.

    The setting is fantastic and the hotel itself has an antique charm in keeping with the rural location. A good place simply to relax, but they encourage walks in the surrounding countryside, too.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.8
    This parador is in a very beautiful location in the Sierra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the facilities, especially the en suite bathroom, could do with some modernisation. The location is wonderful (a high point) but it is very isolated, dozens of kilometers from the nearest town or village which is a drawback if you wanted to eat or drink away from the hotel.

    This parador is in a very beautiful location in the Sierra de Cazorla Natural Park. It has a rather 'old fashioned' charm about it. Very good service, particularly helpful front desk, Jesus Hernandez was very happy to help on all accounts. Restaurant is rather formal but standard of cuisine, especially breakfasts, is high.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Location was great and we wished that we could have just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience - but an overwhelming one - the starter I had for the evening meal was 5 times as much pate as we would have in UK - it looked as big as a main course - I couldn't possibly eat it all - it was a waste

    Location was great and we wished that we could have just relaxed there for longer than the overnight stay we had - also we would have loved to have done some walking.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    A great hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Due to the extreme heat the upper floors were very hot but the receptionist allowed us to move to a cooler lower floor. They could do with air conditioning.

    A great hotel in a fantastic location. Clean, comfortable rooms. Nice lounges, bar and restaurant. Wonderful terrace to eat on and take in the stunning views. Great food and exceptionally helpful friendly staff. Will go again.Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.9
    The view from the Parador is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Once at the Parador there is nowhere else to go or to do, unless you love serious hiking. There is a swimming pool.....outside...but it is only open a couple of months a year..

    The view from the Parador is lovely. Staff helpful and breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.5
    Great location for getting away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Specifically requested a room with views, when we arrived, they did not have one, and had to shift us around to accomodate as they had given the room away earlier.

    Great location for getting away

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    Lots of places to sit and read
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleaner would wedge open the main door to the toilets, onto the corridor when people were using the loos – happened twice!

    Lots of places to sit and read

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    The staff were really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ok, if you are looking for a place that is completely convenient & easy to drive to, this may not be for you.

    The staff were really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    6.3
    the peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food and drink very expensive - and nowhere else to go to eat

    the peace and quiet

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Excellent chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent chef. Friendly welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    Very disappointed with the food for evening meal although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very disappointed with the food for evening meal although breakfast ok

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.9
    Peace and nature, mountains, swimming pool, local traditions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace and nature, mountains, swimming pool, local traditions on menu of restaurant

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Everything was better than we had expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was better than we had expected. Thoroughly enjoyed the night sky experience

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    10
    overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overall good

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel, beautiful surroundings, staff very friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location meant not being able to go elsewhere at night

    Nice hotel, beautiful surroundings, staff very friendly, restaurant good

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. Impeccable service, as always in the Paradores.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: