Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Cuenca 4 stars

Subida a San Pablo, s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain

#6 of 26 hotels in Cuenca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1282 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    Evening main meals could be either full portion or half...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a coffee and a croissant for breakfast for a reasonable price, not a buffet for 19 euros each.

    Evening main meals could be either full portion or half portion - brilliant idea!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As far as I know there was no shuttle to the new town at the foot of the hill. This would have allowed you to leave the immediate area of the hotel without giving a valuable parking space.

    The welcome was very good and all the facilities excellent. The breakfast was very good and the dinner fine. The location was execeptional being close to the old village and conncected to it by a bridge over the gorge.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    The property and location are fantastic, with magnificent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property and location are fantastic, with magnificent views and close to the old town. However the location would not be very suitable for anyone that struggles walking in steep surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Worth staying at the Parador simply for the breathtaking location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let down by the surliness of the staff those who work there, particularly on reception. For an internationally renowned venue the reception staff seemed almost to resent having to speak any English. The rooms themselves are nice and in line with style/age of property, but are a little tired. Though it is a large property, it seemed to be dominated by + 60 couples who walk and sit in silence. As such, I wouldn't have said it was an ideal accomodation for families with younger children.

    Incredible location and beautiful venue.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy conversation in courtyard made it difficult to nap. Might be nice to fill outer rooms first (maybe you did).

    The beauty of the retained architectural details! Attentive wait staff in restaurant. Desk staff were very very helpful. I mislaid my bag and the museum staff made sure to let the desk staff know, then they relayed the message.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    The best location in Cuenca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dated and should have been cleaner. Lots of long hairs on the floor when we checked in.

    Perfect location in Cuenca. A really interesting and historic building. Great view from room, excellent breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Fourth visit here - my stays just keep getting more enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was only there 1 night 😥. This is my fourth stay and it just gets more enjoyable on each visit. Its especially good if you are a biker - a very good place to rest after a days riding 😎

    Location, location, location and the hotel itself is stunning. Superb staff that are very attentive without being in your face. Resturant and food is excellent. Parador Cuenca are very good at what they do.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location with terrific view to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not informed at check-in that we should make a restaurant reservation for that evening. Restaurant maitre d was reluctant to seat us around 8:45pm when restaurant was just over half full due to the number of diners who had arrived at 8:30pm. Many of the diners were not Spanish, hence the preference to eat around as early as possible. If the restaurant is unable to cope with the influx of diners, open at 8:00pm or ensure that Reception has a booking form at time of check-in. Meal was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, very large building with a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was just about able to cope so glad we went when the weather had cooled slightly. Very flaky WiFi - we ended up using Data which is free for us but for anyone relying on this, say for business, is not acceptable these days, - needs boosted/looked urgently looked at. I mentioned this on check-out but was just met with a shrug of the shoulders? We also thought 19 Euros per person for breakfast was far too expensive so we made other arrangements

    Fantastic location, very large building with a large courtyard, very tranquil feel to the place. Very comfortable room and bed. We had a great meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Our Spanish highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't reach our room but there were plenty of good lounges to relax in with wifi.

    Wow! What a beautiful place. Great views of the hanging houses from our spacious room and lots of places to sit and relax around the property. This was our highlight of Spain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    History and elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More facilities in the room would have been welcome. Tea making. Perhaps a bowl of fruit.

    Everything you'd expect from a Parador - luxury and history. The view from this Parador was exceptional. The gorge of Cuenca with suspension bridge and 'hanging' houses. Everything beautifully presented from breakfast to dinner and everything in-between.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Perfect short break in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very difficult. It would help if the web sites highlighted that there is a parking garage nearby.

    Beautiful location. Spacious clean room and elegant public rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The location adjacent to the Hanging Houses was unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location adjacent to the Hanging Houses was unique. Large rooms and comfortable beds were great. The hotel Itself is a marvelous building to wander through.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous historic building, lovely staff and very comfortably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area is across the road and didn’t open until 12 noon

    Lovely parador, staff are really friendly and fabulous scenery. There was a 3 day medieval fiesta and we arrived on the last day. Wish we’d have know about it as we would have come a day earlier.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    A Delightful Parador in an Amazing Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant we felt was over-priced for what was on offer - the bar was a better alternative and at half the price. Free car parking can be a little fraught; we arrived on a Sunday afternoon when a lot of local people were visiting and consequently there were numerous cars. That said, the Parador has a good and secure underground car park which is chargeable.

    The building is a delightful old convent. The room was reasonably large and comfortable, full of character and with two easy chairs as well as a desk and chair. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable; the bathroom was also good with an over-bath shower. Like most rooms ours had a good view (in ours over the gorge) whilst some have a lovely view of Cuenca itself and the hanging houses. There is a pedestrian bridge adjacent to the Parador which takes you into the old town in less than 5 minutes. There are lots of comfortable sitting areas in the public spaces around the building. The whole place has a feeling of space and unhurried leisure. The bar was good and with a good menu at reasonable prices. We did not use them, but the gym, tennis court and swimming pool are a bonus for an old property such as this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Parasites Cuenca - beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking outside hotel. They do have a secure garage for about 24 cars which is, in effect underground so car stays cool but this is 18euros per day. This is worthwhile. But just an unexpected cost.

    Breakfast was superb. So much to choose from and all excellent quality. View of the hills and cliffs of Cuenca from our room and it is right by the footbridge over the gorge.everything is walkable from the doorstep. The building is the old monastery so the rooms, buildings and courtyards are stunning. Thoroughly recommended and we will go back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Gorgeous Parador, well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prices for the breakfast could be cheaper.

    Absolutely loved this Parador, we were apprehensive about spending this much money on a hotel but I have to say it was worth every penny. The Parador is in a fabulous position across a foot bridge from Cuenca's old town. The staff were attentive and polite and obviously proud to work at such a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure the breakfast was really worth the money in fact I would say avoid. My husband asked for eggs ( in Spanish) and the lady said yes but never came back and he ended up paying 17 euros for one piece of fruit and a coffee. We had to leave for the airport so did not have time to chase. However she was quick enough to get us to sign the slip as soon as we sat down.

    It is an amazing location. Ask for rooms with even number so you get view over the gorge. The people were very friendly and polite. Our room was very comfortable and the beds were the best we slept in. We will certainly go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    We stayed only for one night, we took a room with a view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed only for one night, we took a room with a view and it was worth it. The location is perfect. You just have to cross the bridge and you are in the beautiful city of Cuenca.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful building , fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not available I. the rooms & very week in all the public areas

    Beautiful building , fantastic location. Swimming pool was lovely and refreshing after a morning of walking around the town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool water was absolutely freezing and the changing rooms were looking dated and grubby. A stark contrast to the rest of the hotel.

    The rooms are large, clean, cool and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and cheerful. The location is fantastic. The hotel is beautiful and very calming and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Location, amazing view, great artworks, nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no hair dryer in the room but you can ask for it at the reception. Rooms were quite old.

    Location, amazing view, great artworks, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Parador is beautiful, location is great, food is excellent, views. Parking is difficult because it is a medieval city. We found parking on the street, and didn't move the car until we left. Nice pool!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location. The dinning area was beautifull!! The night was perfect, the food delicious and the music too. I will recommend this Parador to anyone. Close walk to the catedral and areas of interest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic Parador in the National Park, easier to arrive via...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic Parador in the National Park, easier to arrive via Cazorla town, but the route through the park is spectacular albeit a bit of a hairy drive when you meet a coach!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    The history of the hotel and where it was situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking. We were stopped at the bottom of the road and a "local" managed to take 25 euros off us for parking. More fool us for giving it to him.

    The history of the hotel and where it was situated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place but tell your guests in advance if you run music events outside their room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very irritated to find that hotel staging evening musical entertainment outside the front of the hotel. We were not told in advance of arrival and were told it would finish at 11 pm. It didn't. We had arranged a room at the front of the hotel for view but this means the band was 10 meters from our window. I want to chose if we join in not have it forced on us. We complained and moved rooms for second night. This was unnecessary and annoying. If we had know there would be noise in some rooms we could have planned a room at the back of the hotel and been perfectly happy rather than annoyed. Please just inform people and give choice and accurate information on arrival as a finish time of 11.45 is significantly different from 11 when you have travelled and are tired. This lack of thought for guests is disappointing.

    Building is magnificent with wonderful views. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Food is very good with courtyard dining. Staff were attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel (lame restaurant)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was bad and over-priced. They served our two-year-old chicken that was not fully cooked, and when we told them we would like it cooked all the way through, they asked if we wanted them to put it in the microwave (no, thank you). We highly recommend that other travelers book meals outside the hotel.

    The building is beautiful, and the hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were friendly, but also somehow unprofessional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Paradoxes de Cuenca is a MUST for anyone with a couple of spare days after visiting madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were at the paradore de Cuenca over twenty years ago and it left an indelible mark on our memories. The hotel is exceptional and the town is just magnificent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant service was a little slow (even to get drinks out), they were very nice though and it was a pretty relaxed lovely location.

    Really beautiful place in a stunning location. Very nice friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The staff were professional and helpful and the parador was very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast - we could never eat 18€ worth of food for breakfast.

    Great location - receptionist was very helpful and spoke excellent English. It was within walking distance of the main sights. Room and bed were really good. Would come back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one member of staff in the bar trying to serve drinks and food so couldn't get a drink later on in the evening. The town is very nice but there is not a lot there in terms of restaurants etc. so had to eat in the Hotel. Very nice food but not cheap.

    Lovely hotel in beautiful location. Safe parking for motorcycles on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable parador in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive for what was offered.

    A fantastic location with easy access to the town (as long as you can cope with fairly steep paths). The room was comfortable with a view of the river valley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    The bed is comfortable,and the bathroom is clean,you can use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is far from the center,is been to drive a car here ,or take a bus up to the plaza mayor and go through the puente

    The bed is comfortable,and the bathroom is clean,you can use all the facilities in the parador,including the gym and the swimming pool. And enjoy the bar and restaurant in the parador,although it’s a little bit expensive,but I think it worth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location for overnight visit to Cuenca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 2 English language TV channels, including Fake News CNN. CNN is not an honest and credible news source. Please delete CNN Int'l and offer other reputable TV News channels. Reservations are non-refundable.

    Charming, historic former convent connected to center of town by scenic foot bridge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    The view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner experience. The food was nice and the staff did their job adequately but their interaction was minimal they did little to enhance the dining experience and make our evening memorable.

    The view from our room. It was amazing! It looked straight over to the old medieval town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location in a lovely historic building but disappointed at having an extra bill to pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt misled over pricing and it was a shame on such a hot June day that the swimming pool was closed

    A fantastic location, lovely food and an historic place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    If you want to be made to feel special, come.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the Parador, it is a gem. There some "helpful" locals who will insist on helping you park your car and will then demand 1 euro as a "fee". There are more in the old town who will "help" show you around.

    If you want to be made to feel special, come. Heaps of old school charm in a laid back style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous position in Cuenca. Elegant and comfortable hotel. Our room was spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities or a free tea/coffee station in the lounge.

    Delicious breakfast with a great range of foods in the buffet. Nespresso coffee and fresh juice a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is ideal for exploring the old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were a little disinterested and not welcoming. Service is not what you would expect from a Hotel of this quality. Expensive for the quality of rooms and service provided.

    The location is ideal for exploring the old Town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Stunning views and historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar and breakfast staff were not as on the ball as one would expect for a hotel of that calibre. They were pleasant enough once you got their attention. Would have liked a bit more information about the building

    Location, views and convenience wonderful. Parking and Gluten free bread were available which was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place, but the dining was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food in the dining room was very disappointing. The service was cheerful, expert and friendly. It was the food itself that disappointed. In particular, the special Manchegan set menu was awful. The roast lamb used a very cheap, fatty cut of meat, which we do not expect at the prices charged. And the less said about the trio of starters, the better.

    The location and the building could not be bettered. It is, however, quite expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    A Parador in a beautiful mountain setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed to attract all and sundry who visited the gorge. We stayed on a bank holiday- big mistake as the world and his wife and tons of kids sauntered through the cloisters to see the building. Trouble was the kids played on bikes in the courtyard and balls in the cloisters, breaking the glass ware. Tables were not cleared very well in the cafe area. There seemed to be a shortage of staff to cope with the number of people.

    We asked for a room with a view when we arrived and I think because we stayed 3 nights, more than most people stay we were given that. A very large room with a settee and chairs. Lovely former convent with a lot of charm. Lovely breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    this is one of our favorite Paradors and will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was not a superior room so did not have a view beds were not comfortable however this is only to our taste and not a reflection on the standard of the bedding at the time of our stay the outside car park was being relayed however still was not offered parking in the garage

    the Parador is an old building that has been converted into a hotel so you get great surroundings. the staff were great and helpful on booking me a restaurant in town. sitting in the courtyard having a drink was delighful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Come to see Cuenca and stay in Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our staying at Parador, it was perfect experience. The hotel is located only in 5 min walking distance from the city center; the price per night is not cheap, but worth staying anyway!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Apart from minor complaints about the staff, it is fantastic and memorable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The some of the staff need to learn to make guests feel more welcomed. The service in the bar was bad. On our second evening we had to ask three times to be served and waited 25 minutes.

    The incredible building and incredible location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Very antique looking hotel next to the walled portion of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot from heater running, answer from front desk was to turn off the heat and open a window (but it was raining outside so water got on the floor on some things). Not many amenities in the hotel room for the price paid and the "number of stars". Breakfast was terrible - they forgot one order - fine, but the eggs/potatoes was literally about 1/2 an egg and and a kg of potatoes. And regrettably it was very expensive for this plate of potatoes with a hint of egg. Staff were nice. Essentially you are paying for the building being historic and lovely but the quality of the hotel itself does not match the price.

    Very antique looking hotel next to the walled portion of city, easy to walk to those places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Parador de Cuenca was special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom and powder room lights very bright, could have used a night light.

    The dining hall is in a magnificent old hall in the restored convento. We were pleased with the meals and the service was excellent. The views from the Parador are wonderful. It was a pleasant walk across the pedestrian bridge to the old city. It was easy to get a taxi from the train station, which makes it a good choice for a car free trip, if you wish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    The Parador Cuenca is a delightful hotel in a magical village. One must consider this a destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather...

    The whole experience was constantly delightful. Juan at the desk was especially helpful and even mailed my postcards! All of the staff we very friendly as well. The building itself is a beautifully restored monastery so the ambiance is one of luxury.. the food is reasonably priced,interesting local choices as well as delicious. Cuenca is a magical town, so I would definitely come back and recommend the Parador Cuenca!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    This was a very disappointing three days with high prices and poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi never worked in my room and staff and mgt response was poor. After three days of this, the manager gave me a plate of cookies. Other similar events make me give this hotel below average rating.

    Structure was interesting, location not as remote as I expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    An experience I'll never forget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero criticism.

    I mean, it's a 16th century monastery built on top of a cliff... The stuff of dreams!! It's beautiful inside and out, plus a quick walk across the bridge into the historic Cuenca city center. Breakfast was delicious and well worth the price. We also lucked out and found a free parking spot in the circular driveway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a sauna, but there were no slippers or bathrobes in our room, compared to the other Paradores we stayed at earlier which didn't have spa/gym options. There was also no tea/coffee option in the room.

    Beautiful, spacious hotel with a great view of the hanging houses. The room was big and warm and the bed huge and comfy. There are extra thick blankets in the closet. The dining room/restaurant is a gigantic hall with lovely decor and the service was pleasant. They offered to make us a few vegetarian dishes that weren't on the menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Romantic, grown up, reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar area not as impressive as the rest of the parador. Bridge across Gorge was a little challenging if you suffer from vertigo !

    Incredible views from our room- you pay more for it but its what you are there for really.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend staying here but eating in town ( though bar/cafe offered decent choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and food was good and decent pricing for what we got and the great quiet facilities. Did dinner on large dinning hall one night and were disappointed in the overall quality for the price being charged. Ate in town the 2nd night with much better experience and cost.

    Thought the location was excellent. Nice large well-appointed room. With bar-cafeteria and dinning on site was a bonus but rather pricey 😬

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    The location was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was superb The bedroom & bathroom excellent. Restaurants evening meal & breakfast were both great value & the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    We went there for a romantic week-end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant is ok. unfortunately the fish we have chosen had too much salt. we had to change it. They did without any questioning.

    We went there for a romantic week-end. The Parador was the right choice. Directly at the bridge to walk to the old city the location is perfect. Very good heating. Important as we have been there in January.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful rooms at a beautiful location. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi in our room was a bit unstable. Sometimes the connection just lost suddenly.

    The environment is really beautiful. Our room has a stunning view of the valley. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near to most of the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Amazing Views from Superior Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities should be available at this price. Poor sound insulation. Cleaning could be much better. We ate at the restaurant one evening and were very disappointed with the quality for the price.

    We booked a Superior Double Room (No. 302) which had stunning views of the Casas Colgadas and the valley with the bridge across to the historic quarter. You will struggle to get a better view anywhere! The Front Desk were exceedingly helpful, warm and welcoming. It was worrying when we arrived, as the front of the hotel was packed with cars (due to a function), yet the staff helped me squeeze through them all and park safely. When conditions allowed, they let me park in a much bigger and better space. Then, on our second day, they let me park in their secure car park for free. The room was a good size, spacious, warm and comfortable. However, as is usually the case in Spain, the bed was hard and bouncy. They should really cater for foreign tourists better, in this respect. The bathroom was a good size, and brightly lit. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced and needs a re-do and a new manager and a new chef....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms with a view are in front of the hotel next to the parking lot and it can be quite noisy even with the windows closed. The front desk staff are all quite grim and unpleasant. It is extremely difficult to find the hotel because there are no signs. The dinner I had was awful and un-edible (and I'm not at all a food snob).

    Lovely location, beautiful views, staff in bar and restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent but pricrly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most beautiful place to stay around touristic area. However, it is too pricey if you intend to stay more than a day . Just get a night to get a feel of it .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    This hotel by itself makes Cuenca a great overnight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel by itself makes Cuenca a great overnight destination. It is perched atop a cliff overlooking the spectacular town. The hotel occupies the site of an old monastery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant stay in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little tired and not overly clean The beds were hard and the pillows were like rocks

    Fantastic location and very interesting building Just a very short walk over the iron bridge with views of the hanging houses takes you into the historic centre. The cathedral is a must see, it is amazing Large room, lovely and warm with views of the hanging houses

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    This Parador located extreme nice place, from the entrance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Parador located extreme nice place, from the entrance you can see wonderful views. Here should be one of the best places you should stay with family or partner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Cuenca is a discovery, Parador is a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I tried to call the hotel before travelling to secure the parking place and they didn't answer the phone, when I could finally communicated with them, the person assisting was dreadful, unpolite, rude and not helpful, a pity that they have some employees delivering bad news to clients

    This is "the location" if you are visiting Cuenca, the Parador, sitting in a medieval monastery in front of the old city, has breathtaking views. Cuenca is one of the hidden jewels of Spain, amazing place, definitely worth a detour for a visit. The service and premises of the hotel are great, with some exceptions in the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Delightful. It was a treat after some of our more modest accomodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable & spacious, loved having a sitting "room". Cafeteria spaces lovely, enjoyed snacks. Breakfast buffet a bit expensive but restaurant was lovely & excellent food choices available. The lane behind the Parador gave me an enjoyable oneKm+ walk through impressive cliffs & autumn trees. Bridge across gorge is impressive & the old town is delightful. Tourist "train is good way to get around. old town see some of newer Cuenca.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Great position in fantastic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast would have been 19 Euros each..! (just walk 5 mins across the bridge for alternative cafes) Limited but free parking outside hotel & up the track. Pool closed (end September)... why?

    Fantastic position across the gorge (over the high level pedestrian bridge) from Cuenca. Classy up-market feel to the Parador - converted from an old convent. Good room with view. Nice inner courtyard & seating with reasonably priced drinks. Great staff. Cuenca very interesting town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Would like the breakfast charges refunded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were booking with booking.com the prices included breakfast but when we paid the hotel they charged us for the four breakfast. When we queried this the hotel said that their charges did not include breakfast and we had to pay this. We showed the photo of your web showing that the price included breakfast to no avail. Unpleasant and no encouragement to use booking.com.

    Everything was ok but see below.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location with marvelous view of the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location with marvelous view of the Old Town. Very good food in restourant as well as a good service in a bar on open air. Do not miss local vine with Petit Verdot grape.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The options of the restaurant are strict, if you don't want to eat local/spanish food...

    Location is perfect, near the walk on bridge to get to old town and the "casas colgadas" (hanging houses) can be seen from the hotel. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a great location. Will recommend it to anyone who visits Cuenca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because the hotel is far from the centre of Cuenca, perhaps the hotel can provide shuttle service to the centre so that tourists like us can also visit the centre besides the hanging houses.

    The location is great - right across from the hanging houses. The hotel has great ambience, having being converted from an old convent. The rooms are spacious. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast spread is adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Ok but not the best value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was poor. Rack of Lamb looked like spare ribs you woud get from a chinease takeaway! Pool was closed for the winter despite outside temparature of 33 degrees! We had requested a reservation in the restaurant but they told us they had not received it

    Great Location, Nice setting, Good sized rooms & bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    best place in cuenca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice hotel with a spectacular view of Cuenca (absolutely stunning) five minute walk across the beautiful bridge to the center of the old town (gorgeous). nice large rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A brilliant location enhanced by our treatment by the female staff, bar and dining room staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found some of the male receptionists a little abrupt in response to telephone enquiries and generally.

    Stunning location. Very helpful female receptionist who promised us a’good room’ despite no balcony which we had requested. The room and views were exceptional. A charming and vivacious Dutch waitress/bar staff added to our experience - her command of English and warmth of welcome and service over two nights really enhanced our stay which we extended from 1 to 2 nights. Restaurant food and wine was fabulous - especially the croquetas!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    A fabulous hotel night spoiled by the lack of working air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room (223) was below the plant room and heat radiated down through the ceiling. The air conditioning was ineffective to say the least - it was either disconnected or broken. The room temperature was 24'c + all night. A trip to reception brought us a noisy fan but (while slightly better) didn't help us sleep. Having treated ourselves to a night of luxury (and many aspects were luxurious) we felt let down by being unable to sleep.

    The location and building were stunning. The meals were excellent and in keeping with a luxury hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, great staff, great comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an expensive option..but treat yourself. The guy at the gate who waved our motorbike into the Moto parking spot and looked for a tip...we knew about him from previous reviews so he got nothing!

    Superb Parador, wonderful location, staff were excellent with great English ...would highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador de Cuenca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: