Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Fuente Dé 3 stars

Carretera de Fuente Dé, s/n, 39588 Fuente De, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Fuente De

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1108 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The rooms with connecting doors were perfect for our family. A perfect location just next to the cable car, fantastic views a good breakfast until 11.00 am a free parking place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Amazing views and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Location was amazing. We had a view of the mountains from our balcony. We had a dog with us and there was a dog bowl, small bed and dog food in the room. Staff were lovely and the room was big with a lovely bathroom. It's not expensive either which was a huge bonus considering how good the hotel was.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very tired now. All the floorboards creek so if you’re in a room on the first floor, anyone who moves about above you creates a massive din. The staff were lovely on check in and show you to your room. The express check out was good too. Sleep is a bonus here as it’s so noisy and the beds are like concrete. One thing we did appreciate was the kettle: we asked for one and it was delivered to our room within minutes, although they pointed out that kettles in northern Spain in hotel rooms are not common. The cable car and the mountain range is the main attraction here but it only opens from 10am, which is a pain if you’re intending to head out the next morning and haven’t yet had chance to go on it. It’s also very busy with coach loads of visitors. Don’t get room 111 as you’ll get loads of calls from people thinking you’re reception or room service: a real pain.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful part of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was woeful!! Practically non-existent. And the coffee at breakfast was not very good either.

    The beautiful surroundings and majestic Picos De Europa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Interesting stay, whose potential was limited by poor weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My one night stay had 15-rooms taken in a hotel I believe has 77-rooms, so felt some what abandoned. The remote, high in the mountains position necessitates good or the right weather. For my stay it rained, with the hotel in the clouds, which greatly limits the locations potential enjoyment.

    Hotel is at base of mountains, with ski lift within the hotel grounds. Comfortable, large bedroom, with good modern bathroom. Large public lounge area & good sized restaurant. Venue had a somewhat state-managed feel (not untypical of Paradors). Ease of access to ski lift was very good, although queues are thought typical. Staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    James Bond meets The Shining
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an oddly charming hotel, which cannot decide if it's want to be the the scene for the next Bond movie or Spanish remake of The Shining. Paradores stands for it own luxury - this is how the Franco wanted it to be and still is. It breathes sixties and seventies, but not in the bad way. I do recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection was unreliable at best. Alsost impossible to get a signal in our room at the far end of one of the wings but there was at least a patchy connection in the lounge and near reception.

    Fabulous, quiet location at the end of the valley and only 1 minutes walk from the cable car station. Beautiful scenery all around the hotel with flowery meadows and a waterfall 200 metres or so behind the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    I didn't get a chance to enjoy this lovely area because of my accident, so I'm determined to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi signal was poor.

    The breakfast had wide variation, loads of fruit, and the waitresses are extremely helpful. I had a fall on the mountains which required a couple of days of hospitalisation, the staff were brilliantly supportive when I eventually got back to Fuent De. I couldn't have expected such a pleasant group of staff members who tried so hard to make their guests feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Beatriz on reception was friendly, cordial & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beatriz on reception was friendly, cordial & helpful. Bar/dining room staff were friendly & helpful also. Room we were given had fabulous views of mountains. Fantastic destination!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been better..just being picky!!!

    Normal Parador good quality - as expected. Convenient for Fuente De and cable car. Car park. Nice rooms. Lots of areas for just chilling out in a comfortable sofa. Hotel room had balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of the room is controlled by reception staff. Noisy closing of room doors.

    Fantastic location. Traditional Parador, with antique furniture, wonderful views and delicious local dishes in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel, in a stunning location, exceeded our expectations in decor and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitresses in the dining room who I’m afraid were somewhat unprofessional and not particularly welcoming.

    Large bedroom and bathroom. Proximity to the mountains and cable car

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot, turning on cooling only produced more hot air. Reception staff is not friendly (other personnel is)

    Location is superb. Balcony with large windows. Wintersports hotel- atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel and location, disappointing restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very disappointing! We ate here on our first night and to start with the waitress forgot to bring us our bread. When the starters were brought out, my husband's was dropped on the floor right by his feet and with no apology the waitress put my starter down and then disappeared. She returned a few minutes later with a dustpan and brush and swept his cod salad and broken bowl up and then threw a napkin on the floor and used her foot to wipe up the mess! Eventually a replacement starter was brought out which my husband said tasted very nice. I had chosen the veal entrecot for my main course but I was not asked how I would like it cooked. When it came out, it was so tough that even their steak knife could not cut through it....it was also a bit too rare for my liking. I probably ate about 1/3 of my meal and the rest was inedible. When the waitress came to collect our plates she asked me if I didn't like my dinner, I told her it was extremely tough and she asked if I wanted to order anything else but I said no I would have preferred my dinner to be edible. We were given a glass of dessert wine on the house by way of an apology but overall our experience was very disappointing, and it cost us nearly €100!!

    Very spacious and clean rooms with excellent en suite facilities. We were also happy to find we could pay for undercover overnight parking for our motorbike and a bargain at only €6 per night. Lovely location to explore from, we went for a couple of runs up the mountain and the views were stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Just great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was not hot enough and the heating noisy. Shame the cable car was not operational but that’s not the fault of the hotel.

    Location was just fabulous and the room and furnishings throughout were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Homely, relaxing, clean, comfortable, great breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room we would pay extra for this service.

    Homely, relaxing, clean, comfortable, great breakfast, outstanding views of the mountains, polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great scenery, great accommodations, great service and gracious staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Enes the server and bar person was so kind and wonderful to us. The service at this Parador was magnificent in contrast to Santo Domingo dela Calzada where the service was very poor for anyone speaking English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    In a rocky place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a feeling of hospitality. We were put into a room, which was beautiful, but when we went down for a bite to eat we were told There was nothing until 8:30. This is unusual in Spain, where tapas are so often available in early evening. The manner in which we were told was not friendly. I suggest they have some fruit and cheese, maybe soup... We passed on the breakfast buffet, which was 17 Euros each. The night before we stayed at a similar place and had a good buffet for 7 E. Maybe the place was hoping for posher clients than us!

    They gave us a room with a spectacular view of the Rocky Mountain face. Beautiful furnishings and the art is real - not “hotel art”.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    well ,paradores are paradores !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if they took some reality tablets and realised that for the price they want for breakfast , was the price i paid for an excellent evening meal i had at a restaurant 3 k down the hill. it would be a good business move!

    the price of a room in this PARADORE was very reasonable we did'nt eat ther tho'

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    THE HOTEL WAS LIKE A ALPINE LODGE, VERY RELAXING, STAFF WERE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE HOTEL WAS LIKE A ALPINE LODGE, VERY RELAXING, STAFF WERE VERY WELCOMING AND HELPFUL, FOOD WAS GREAT AND THE ROOMS VERY COMFORTABLE PERFECT BEFORE TRAVELLING INTO THE MOUNTAINS FOR 3 DAYS I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND A VISIT

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable base for the South East Picos de Europa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive packed lunch. Uninspiring menu for dinner although it was well cooked.

    Excellent G&T's - no fiddling with a measure just a generous glug from the bottle. Friendly helpful staff Very clean spacious bedroom with an excellent en-suite. A very short walk to the Fuente De cable car

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road to Fuente De is quite challenging because it is VERY narrow and windy. But it's worth it to go anyway because of the hiking in the area. Beautiful, quiet hiking areas amid the sheep, doable even if you're not a 'serious' hiker.

    The dinner was simply incredible, and the breakfast was also great -- considering that there seems to be only one other choice for eating in the end-of-the-road Fuente De, we were pleased at the quality of food. Dinner is quite expensive, but worth it. Location at the base of the gondola was great. Hiking in the area is magnificent. The room was nice -- not fancy, but clean with a charming rustic quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    There was a mix up over names on our registration and in fact we were given a room for someone else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was average - rather overpriced and of course late dining is not really for us

    Happy that the room had a little balcony we could sit on rather than in the room itself

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location but do not eat here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is really poor and expensive. Tasteless food and the problem is that it is so remote there is very little choice

    Like something from a James Bond movie. Location stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    the smallness of the bar (4 tables) for such a large hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bar staff poor (one) and unhappy restaurant staff very over worked by a coach booking but did their best about 25mins wait to be served

    the smallness of the bar (4 tables) for such a large hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay at an exquisite location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast does not start before 08:00, but the wait is worth it! Beds are quite firm.

    Beautiful location, across the street from the gondola. For mor eating options the nearest town is just 3kms with some fantastic restaurants. Dinner reservations must be made in advance for the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Mature couples' overnight stay before catching the ferry back to the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This parador is a little tired. For example, there are too many scuff marks on the walls and the granite-topped coffee table in our room was cracked. Our evening dinner in the restaurant was OK but, at the price we paid, it should have been lovely. It wasn't.

    Fuerte De is a lovely location. The drive along the N621 is spectacular (especially in a little sports car). The hotel is just 100 metres from the cable-car to the top of the mountain, which offers beautiful views over the Picos de Europe. As with all paradors that I've experienced, check-in is easy and the rooms are clean, well equipped, comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Very quiet and good located just near the funicular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of the inhouse restaurant was a mess. The food was realy good but the service was bad. Everything took forever and slow slow and not efficient

    Very quiet and good located just near the funicular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Luxury accommodation in the heart of the Picos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supposed terrace was inside with just windows to look out through, not able to sit outside.

    Large bed, massive bathroom, secure covered parking for our motorcycle, very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Wake up to unbelievable scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water for a shower or bath. After a long walk from the summit this was disappointing and unacceptable.

    Fantastic location and views, proximity to cable car and walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely parador. Wonderful views from our room onto the mountains. In fact, we had a small "verandah" with chairs, you could close it off from the bedroom & enjoy open windows. Many people walking, with dogs, on the property & on trails beyond. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location and friendly staff make a good base in the Picos de Europa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food (dinner and breakfast) was fine but felt a bit expensive for what it was. It's at the cheaper end of the parador range, so no 5-star luxury -- but what it does, it does well.

    Friendly chalet-style parador in a great location next to the cable car at Fuente De. Stayed here 4 nights and enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    A memorable experience...worthy of a longer stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only difficulty we encountered was the road journey in the dark...narrow roads, wet weather and it took much longer than we expected. Nothing can be done about this except to make it worthwhile by staying for more than a single night.

    Fuente De catered for our dog exceptionally well... provided food...easy access to an exercise area and even a private balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    A maximum stay of three days, if the weather is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is rather expensive and the breakfast is definitely very expensive. No choice of other restaurants on a walking distance. The outside common space is not equipped to seat in the sun, a part from the chairs and tables of the restaurant.

    The room was exactly like in the Booking photos. The room was big but a bit dark, because of the veranda in front of the room. The hotel is rather oldish but they have nice big and newly furnished living rooms available for the guests, which is fine because the weather is not always nice in that area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Good, but low value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had its best years and I think it's due a make up. It looked old and dusty. For the rate they charge, you would expect a bit more upclass. Also, none of the many flyers in the room had any information about the surroundings, the places of interest, the activities you could do around.

    It's close to the telecabina that takes you up the mountain. The views at the top are surreal. However, facilities at the top are totally missing. There was not even one shed where you could hide from the midday burning sun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Really enjoyed the stay - route 24 ( I think) from the top of the cable was not too tough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bar is a bit Fawlty Towers depending on staff on duty - you might or might not get immediate attention

    Amazing views up the mountain and very peaceful when the crowds depart. Cable car is quite a ride ! Small hotel opposite is good for a drink and tapas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Parador de Fuente Dé is located in the heart of the natural...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parador de Fuente Dé is located in the heart of the natural park of Picos de Europa, adjacent to an impressive cable car lifting you 800 meters from the plateau. The Parador keeps an austere mountain style suited to the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the restaurant was overpriced and quite average. Staff were over worked so too busy to answer questions and quite grumpy. Dogs barking all night in neighboring rooms so very difficult to sleep.

    Beautiful setting!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for the cable car up the mountain and hiking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining options limited (it's basically the hotel) and the hotel dining room is OK but nothing more. Breakfast a bit uninspiring.

    Great location adjacent to the cable car up the mountain so you can beat the queues. The hike down (16km) is wonderful. Quite large rooms, an 'alpine style' hotel. Car parking plentiful and free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location but poor bar & dinner service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar and dinner service were really very poor - lots of waiting around. The main courses usually consisted of reasonable meat or fish but with virtually no vegetables at all. On our last night the service was so poor we went across the road and had a very good meal at the Ruben Hotel instead - good service and food there.

    Fantastic location. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Excellent breakfasts. Easy access to the cable car which swiftly took us up the mountain. Nice wide road from Potes to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our time in this Parador and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All I all the property was more than adequate and we pleasant views from our room . The food was expensive and we preferred to go elsewhere where the venue was smaller and we could sit outside

    Only had a sandwich in the bar Wen elsewhere to eat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    Poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, both for the room, drinks and food. Cost over €270 for half board and 2 gin and tonics, for 1 night. Would not stay again.

    Good location, clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    Good location, but outdated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not clean, especially the bathroom was dirty. We found pubic hairs from the previous guests. Many tiles had black mouldy grouts. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were very flat. Unfortunately you could also hear people in the other rooms (walking on wooden floors, running water noises, etc.). The staff at the reception was generally kind, but the lady who checked us out was not. She had made a mistake with our bill and didn't want to admit this at first. The restaurant is good, but very expensive in comparison to other portuguese restaurants. I think in general this Parador is too expensive and its reputation overrated.

    Breakfast was very good, they provide everything you could want (hot or cold food, cereals, many tipes of cheese and meat, drinks, etc). The dining room staff is very helpful and professional, but not amical. The rooms are very big and most rooms have a private balcony. There is ample parking and the location by the cable car is very convenient (go early or you will spend up to 1h:30m waiting in line!). There are various common lounge areas where you can relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was a bit unexcitong but breakfast was very good

    Amazing setting and views. Next to cable car to mountain top. Lovely roads with little traffic, great for bikes. Very pleasant room with separate terrace area behind glass with view of the mountains. Truly spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent hotel to stay during your visit to Picos da Europa with a lovely view to the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please keep in mind that there is nothing around the hotel. If you want some restaurants, you have to go by car to Cangas de Onis or have the dinner in the hotel.

    The view to the mountains is absolutely fantastic! The hotel is very calm during the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.0
    Great location but expensive food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant was very expensive for what they served, £150.00 for a family meal (and we didn't choose the most expensive dishes) and for what we were served I would say that it was very poor value for money. Breakfast was very expensive as well at £16.00 per person, again very poor value for money for what was served and just one cup of coffee!

    Great rooms and a fantastic location right by the cable car to the top of the mountains - a very dramatic spot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location and good quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast only average. Shortage of staff during breakfast. Did not try eating at hotel in evening as I have found that the quality and variety of food at Parador hotels is generally poor.

    View from room of mountains. Quality of room. Room had air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At €17 the breakfast seemed expensive as it wasn't that special. A pricing around €10 would have been more reasonable.

    Great location and wonderful views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Easy on the eye, hard on the wallet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, especially the restaurant. Heck of a hike to our room! Staff okay though somewhat indifferent. No covered parking. Air conditioning wouldn't work in the room so too hot.

    Great location surrounded by beautiful mountains. Convenient for the cable car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful location and shame about having to book restaurant in advance- don't expect this from a Pa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed to be told that the restaurant was fully booked until 10pm that night. Being a resident we would have thought that this would not have been a problem especially bearing in mind that the hotel is remote and there is no other place to go.

    The breakfast was good but food needed prompt replenishing after the tour bus guests had eaten as we were left with little fruit and yogurts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    THE RESTAURANT STAFF WERE POOR THE FOOD WAS NOT UP TO...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE RESTAURANT STAFF WERE POOR THE FOOD WAS NOT UP TO SCRATCH AFTER COMPLAINING ABOUT THE FOOD AND SERVICE NO EFFORT WAS MADE TO OFFER ANY COMPENSATION. THIS SPOILT THE STAY.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location near the cable car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near the cable car. Great base for hiking. Nice touch the hiking poles behind the door in the room. Front desk staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful views of Los Picos at Fuente De
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is too expensive for what it is! The dinner menu did not look great either.

    The view of the Los Picos mountain scenery is incredible, very clean, cosy, spacious rooms with a wonderful terrace area to admire the views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Close to Cable car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little English spoken even though there were English, American and Australian guests in the hotel. Staff run around dining room very fast and rattle plates and cutlery very loudly when serving and cleaning up. Very annoying! Service was slow. Meal very limited for choice and only average quality.

    Parador is right at the cable car, very convenient. We had a brilliant view of the mountain out our bedroom window. Good size room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Don't bother staying here. Go across the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't eat at the restaurant. It's incredibly overpriced, and the food is nowhere near to the standards of the region. You're better off going to Potes and eating all of your meals there.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Forget the idea of hot snacks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at about 18.00. Any bar in Spain would have given us a better choice of something to eat then. Ham bocadillo. Cheese bocadillo. Ham and cheese bocadillo. All stodgy. Nothing hot - the kitchen was not open until 21.00 Do paradores know of microwave ovens?

    Location, it was marvellous. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel for the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that The Paradores have reduced the quality and quantity of their Breakfast. It's been over 10 years since I have used them.

    Position and the staff. The food was as I expected.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much activity or interaction. If we visit again we will probably stay in a nearby town.

    Hotel is right across from the cable car in Fuente De. Beautiful mountain scenery and fields of green. Efficient staff. Nice balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Fuentes De - Outstanding: Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived on motorbikes. Very polite staff who helped us check in and then securely park the bikes. Food excellent, rooms first class. It was so good we booked in again for the last night of our trip, before returning to Santander

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, perfect for your pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a problem that we reported the check out day, it kept us from sleeping well although the room and the bed were really great, it had a noise of dribbling water that we didn't know where exactly it came from.

    Location was perfect, room was great and the bathroom, everything was really great. We had our dog with us, we paid 15 euros for having her but it was worth it as we found a sac of dry food royal canin (1 kg), which we never had anywhere else, also a bed prepared for her in a space separated from the bedroom. Everything related to the dog was excellent. Also the bathroom was really big

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Great stay for hikers and people that enjoy the outdoors
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were in the low season so hotel was quiet so during dinner there was only 3 tables booked and there was no music or candles on (even though they were on the table) it would have made the dinner a bit more less awkward :)......

    Location, right next to the cable cart and great view on the Picos. Staff was very friendly, they have walking sticks that you can borrow. Hotel rooms are spacious and clean with a nice little build out balcony.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location for one or two nights in deepest Picos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the greatest fan of Paradores menus. But food nonetheless is very good.

    Great quiet location. Very friendly staff. All round upto normal Paradores standards!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Great spot at the end of a spectacular road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it's a great place to stay in a national park, so don't judge it by big-city standards.

    Wonderful location, very quiet when we were there at the end of the season. The drive up is inspiring and the scenery sensational, with lots of interesting places to visit in the area. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food considering that there were only 8 or so guests when we were there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    This was our second stay and we were very glad we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiniest quibble was that we had booked a table for dinner and were not served any food for an hour. But the wine was fantastic so we had no real complant and the food was great when it came.

    This was our second stay and we were very glad we had returned. Excellent location. Great hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    The lobby of the hotel is very nice, good location of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room does not look as pretty as the pictures. Breakfast price is very expensive

    The lobby of the hotel is very nice, good location of the hotel, quiet location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stay when visiting Fuente De
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit too firm for my taste We only had breakfast on one morning but the choice wasn't great and it was quite chaotic. Food wasn't replaced adequately so people were hanging around waiting for it to appear. We would have liked to book dinner on a second night but left it late and couldn't get in until 10.00 which was a bit late for us although probably not by spanish standards.

    The location was brilliant and absolutely beautiful. The decor is quirky, the rooms comfortably furnished and a good size. Our room overlooked the mountains so was great to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and watch the sun go down. We had dinner on one night and that was good. All areas of the hotel are exceptionally clean. We found the staff helpful and would certainly return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Relax in tranquil and beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area could not accommodate all who wanted to use it at times but overspill into lounge and comfortable reception seating area possible.

    Beautiful location in the mountain area. Lovely villages and small towns within a reasonable drive. Good facilities and welcoming staff. Dining room food is of the region which is always a good sign. Bar food offered as an alternative to dining room food. First stay as a couple in a Parador and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.7
    Needs a lot of improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy: doors slamming, yelling, crying, movement of furniture were very audible at all hours, day and night. Staff in charge of cleaning was particularly loud. Dust in the room over TV and furniture. Staff was in general aloof and not very gentle. Lack of tea-making facilities in the room. Restaurant was rather pricy.

    Wonderful location. Nice lounges for reading and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.6
    Mountain luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the scenery/view from hotel. Large bedroom with large comfortable bed. Excellent evening meal although restaurant didn't open until 8.30pm. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    8.3
    Good value accomodation in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant meal was expensive and could have been better. Like most paradors, hot items on the breakfast buffet were barely warm.

    Amazing location in the heart of the Picos de Europa. Easy access to the cable car.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    6.7
    Not worthy of a 3 star rating, eat somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect to get food if you arrive at 4pm. It's impossible to get a meal before at least 8:30pm and in fact we tried to reserve a table in the restaurant to be told the first available table was 10pm. We had to settle for a toasted sandwich and chips in the bar, which was just about adequate and certainly not worth of 3 stars. The staff all seemed overworked and in a rush hence you wait a long time to be served. This seems to have been the case on many review over more than a year. If we went to Fuente De again, we would stay somewhere else and visit the location separately. To have a hotel where the kitchen doesn't even open until 8:30pm seems madness when you have visitors from all over the world coming to this hotel.

    This hotel gets its high marks purely on location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like about the Hotel only that we would of liked to have spent a bit more time there.

    Magnificent views Large comfy and clean rooms. Good Breakfast.Staff extremely helpful especially the young girl who was working night duty when we arrived .Due to our vehicle breaking down we did not get to the Hotel until 2.30am of the morning we were due to leave.(Stayed overnight as we were travelling to Portugal).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    Top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not brilliant but acceptable

    Even though the property is rather dated the comfort cannot be denied and the staff are so friendly. Dinner was very good value as was included in our stay but surpassed our expectations. Buy you cable car passes in the hotel as you get 10% discount.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    5 star location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is excellent but if you fancy going elsewhere its some distance to travel as hotel is remote.

    The location is outstandingly beautiful. The hotel restaurant was very good with an excellent choice. The staff were very helpful in assisting us to deal with a motorcycle repair. They went above and beyond.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    A perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a dislike but some may consider the food slightly expensive. Excellent food though.

    Really well appointed hotel in stunning location. Good private parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador de Fuente Dé traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: