Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Málaga Gibralfaro 4 stars

Castillo de Gibralfaro, s/n, Malaga Centro, 29016 Málaga, Spain

#32 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1374 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    A haven over Malaga city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't want the €19 breakfast, but were also unable to get a coffee or anything in the bar before 11:00. It would have been nice to have coffee on the terrace without having to commit to a big breakfast.

    Absolutely beautiful location above Malaga city. Quiet and peaceful with a very grounded ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Parador standards are high and this one did not fail
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome was warm and efficient. We left before breakfast so were given 4 packed picnics to start the day. Nice touch. The pool was fun, and had great service and food at dinner time in the restuarant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    This hotel is in a beautiful location is comfortable and clean. But is at the top of a very steep hi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for double bed got twin pushed together. Could hear other guests opening and closing doors within their rooms (cupboatds/drawers) Furniture moving around very noisy from above room.

    Room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful views of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location with great views. Dinner and breakfast very good. Very friendly helpful staff. This hotel has an air of calm and quality about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    The most beautiful spot in Malaga!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having parking at the venue meant that it was quite restrictive for taxis and other vehicles but not an overall issue.

    Came to the venue to attend the wedding of a good friend and stayed for 2nights in what I would call a luxury spot. The hotel has great staff all over, from the front desk to the maintenance staff, a really nice bar and dining but best of all, the most amazing views of Malaga, being on the mountain top. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and well equipped - showers, safe, hangers for clothing, spare cushions and duvets. Included in this, is a great WiFi access. This is not just a top venue for a great peaceful stay in Malaga but also a great venue for weddings, parties or simply a great evening of dinner and drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful views of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit overpriced but you can also choose separately, without going for the full one. That worked out quite well actually and you can still enjoy your coffee, while admiring the beautiful views of the port. The pool was a little bit small, yet the views from the top floor were amazing.

    Beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff, very clean and good value for money. You would probably get around easier by car, as it is a bit higher up from the beach. A great choice all in all. We would definitely go back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to get served in the bar - staff didn't give eye contact. Husband said beds a bit hard but fine for me !

    !Super meal in the evening and fab breakfast - staff very attentive and professional in the restaurant. The views from the terrace over Malaga are spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Attractive setting and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea / coffee in the room wld have been welcome. Pool a little small with a few beds and not sure if it was possible to access drinks. Bus links to town stopped around 9.00 - taxis needed for travel

    Lovely setting- early checkin was great. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The room was great and the balcony gave an wonderful view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The food was limited and rather expensive. This meant many bus and taxi trips up the hill especially as the walk was extremely steep and not a "short walk"

    The room was great and the balcony gave an wonderful view over the harbour, Local food options in Malaga are endless!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great! would definitely recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was spacious with a beautiful view over Malaga. The staff were very friendly and helpful and encouraged me to speak Spanish and were very understanding when I got things wrong! The pool on the roof was very cold but once in it was delightful! Bit of a stroll down into town but reasonable taxi fare to get back up!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall, a great place - beautiful views and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parador was a little pricey. The menu was a little bit narrow. Would like to have seen more food options. Since it's located so close to the castle, parking was difficult.

    The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful. The food was good. It was a short taxi ride into the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Get a room with a good view,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our 9th Parador in 9 days. But it was our least enjoyable. Our room was tucked next to public path up to castle, so our view was not as open as other rooms and there is a lot of noise from people and bikers at night.

    The bedroom was spacious and bed very comfortable. Lovely walk down to town where you have marina, beach, history and everything else you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location, nice staff and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average rooms. Pool towels had to be picked up in lobby.

    Wonderful view over Malaga. Swimming pool and lovely situated restaurant with good food and friendly service. You can walk to city center within 15-20 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location with unparalleled views of Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints but if I had to pick a couple of things, one would be that the soundproofing of the room was not great (could hear cleaners and bathrooms next door or overhead when trying to have a lie-in). Also the hotel is a lot smaller than it appears to be in the websites.

    Fantastic location with unparalleled views of Malaga. Quiet boutique hotel. Lovely food and service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Location: Calm, views from room and most common areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spot not guaranteed as the lot is open to the public. Bar/restaurant staff downstairs could be friendlier.

    Location: Calm, views from room and most common areas. Helpful reception, friendly and professional personnel in main restaurant upstairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful views over the city, free parking, big standard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to walk to town for dinner it’s a steep 20-minute walk, even worse coming back up! Advice: wear sensible shoes to walk down and treat yourself to a taxi back €8)

    Wonderful views over the city, free parking, big standard rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great

    This was a lovely place to stay. The view from my room was amazing. All aspects of the stay - staff, location, room, food were just terrific. I would love to stay there again if I get to Malaga again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely clean hotel with excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar staff could do with smilling lessons as they all looked a bit grumpy & not very friendly to talk to. Took a long time to get served with drinks in the bar area. The breakfast wasnt that great either but ok , try to get that included in the price with your stay as it is not worth the price they charge unless you keep filling up on stuff.

    Well you def get the wow factor with the views they are great looking over into Malaga & at night when the town is all lite up. Ask for a room with a view over looking Malaga, we was on the 3rd floor. Also there is a bus right by the hotel & it is so cheap about 2 euro 60 cents to get bus into Malaga & bk again. There is also a walk into town but it is very steep slop so where good shoes as could slip very easy. Its about a 20min walk into town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    An ideal venue to see a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsistencies with the food being cold or slightly under cooked. On the second evening I ordered chips and vegetables. Chips were definitely reheated and cool and veg didn’t arrive until chased. When it came it was Luke warm at best whereas the night before the veg had been hot. I asked for tap water and was brought bottled water when trying to explain I got no where so gave up. A senior staff member saw what happened and told the staff member. I acknowledged this and said it was ok as I didn’t want to embarrass the waiter at which point I would have expected her to take it off the bill, she didn’t. Not a great deal of money but it would have been a gesture.

    Location and views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable experience, at reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was not of the same high standard as the restaurant - no cocktails were on offer, and the menu and prices of drinks and bar snacks were not on display. However this is only a minor irritation.

    The location on a hill near the old Malaga castle afforded a fascinating view of the town and the harbour, enhancing meals in the restaurant, though at the expense of needing a taxi to travel up and down to the town. The facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Malaga Parador and would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had one evening meal in the restaurant. A lovely setting for an evening dinner, good service but we were a little disappointed with the meal itself. We felt the dishes we chose lacked really good flavour so might hesitate to eat there again.

    The breakfast at the Parador was superb, an excellent selection of foodstuffs, very fresh and beautifully presented too. Just the kind of breakfasts we like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an infestation of ants in our room and when told about it they changed the subject to the mini bar. A/C was so loud it couldn't be used even on low setting. TV channels weren't working. No kettle or tea making facilities. Walls are paper thin as we could hear the conversation in the next room. The swimming pool was shared with 2 seagulls! On the upside the view was amazing!

    Amazing view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel next to historic castle - and literally the very best view of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing aside from the fact that the walk down to city from the Castillo is steep for those of us in later years with arthritis - buses and taxis solved that one.

    This is THE hotel to stay in Malaga - especially if you splash out, as we did, for a sea view room. Even the guide books say this is the very best view of the port and city. Taxi's needed to get back from town late night but a very good and cheap bus service through the day. Restaurant and bar food excellent. The pool is small but not especially used in late April - maybe only hotel pool in the city area?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    excellent rooms with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast at 18+€ per person was over the top 10€ per head would have been more reasonable

    the view was excellent and the rooms were very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok for a 3 night stay but would not recommend if you want to be where the action is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant and on the terrace was very poor. Quality of the food in restaurant was also lacking in flavour.

    Fabulous view of Malaga, but this meant a ten minute taxi ride to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Historic building converted into a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the price was a bit high for what I got, but it’s a parador with a lovely view so I suppose that’s what you’re paying for! Overall a nice place but a bit pricey for a solo traveler

    The view is beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Late checkin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was meant to be available from 13.30, which was when we arrived but we had to wait an hour until our room was ready . No apology . We had arranged to meet friends in the center of Malaga and were therefore late and somewhat stressed. Not a good start to a one night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that for a hotel of that standard tea and coffee was not provided in room and everything was extra including the bread at dinner which was given without being ordered.

    Amazing location. Food and room were great. Lovely views from balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner at the restaurant the first night. Staff not very friendly. Food was poor and paella nearly inedible.

    Our room and bathroom were spacious. Nice view from room and quite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Would go again when I can afford it, not too pricey though for what you get which is absolutely top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The view. The terrace. The outside bars and seating areas. The elegance! Staff were delightful. long way to walk (up) but taxis easy if your tired.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful location with breathtaking city views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything but would have appreciated coffee making facilities in the room.

    A beautiful location with fantastic views over Malaga. The dining experience was good as was the service😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit isolated, no place to eat around except the hotel. The dinner was quite expensive and not very good.

    The location and the view are very very nice. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Hugely enjoyable, location and staff fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in room didnt include channels other than spanish ones. No Kettle and drink making facilities.

    Bed lovely and comfy. Bathroom very good, it included a magnifying mirror which is rare in many hotels. Exras , which included a card and delicacies for our anniversary. Views to die for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacious and comfortable with a fantastic view ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up the hill! The receptionist said it was a 15 minute walk to the old town, she failed to mention the path was almost vertical!

    The room was spacious and comfortable with a fantastic view , the food was great and the staff really friendly and helpful. Loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    loved the hotel and the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff kept a lot of useful information to themselves very MI5 !!!! The Hotel is situatated on top of a cliff with wonderful views but access to the town is via a very very steep path and back by taxi if you are not young and fit, the reception didnt tell us the number 35 bus stopped near the Hotel and were unhelpful with divulging info re getting up and down to the town

    the best breakfast in Malaga, wonderful location with great views, cant fault the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Really lovely hotel experience, we go every year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would change is more English speaking channels or pay per view movies in English on the telly.

    We go to stay at this hotel every spring. The staff are incredibly helpful, the breakfast is amazing and the view from the sun trap balconies are the best in the city! It’s situated at the top of a very big hill, and it’s lovely and quiet away from the bustle of the city. The climb takes about 30 mins depending on your fitness level (I’m not fit and my mum is 70 and still manages it!) it is worth it for the amazing view or alternatively you can just get the number 35 bus for 1.30 Euro and it’s takes you straight to the hotel, the buses are regular, clean and comfy! Sitting out on their veranda looking over the city with a glass of wine, is just lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    An outstanding end to our road trip around Andalusia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any things we could dislike.

    The views from the terrace were outstanding. The service overall was excellent from check-in to the bar (whether coffee or alcohol) to the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, but a pity about the wind and general weather (mid-March). Should have been in short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Free parking. But a long walk down to the town (1.38km according to sign) and then a taxi back up (about 8€). Very good view of town and harbour from the room balcony. The restaurant was gourmet standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great views and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grumpy woman working in the breakfast room.

    Excellent hotel. The bar, in particular, had great food and staff! Loved the views from our room, and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous notwithstanding our reservations about the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu seems not to change! We stayed for a week on half board terms and were running out of appealing options by the time we left. When we arrived we were given a seperate menu which was very limited and we were transferred to the à la carte menu when we complained.

    Locarion, location,location!!! Super room! Friendly staff! SUPERB breakfasts!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Position of this Parador is fabulous, but the receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not great Rooms very basic Very small roof top pool.

    Position of this Parador is fabulous, but the receptionist was not welcoming at all, I mentioned that I wanted to take my partner to the Fish Market , it was a Sunday and we got a taxi down to the market to find that it was closed - would have been really helpful to have mentioned that to us!!!!!??? She let the hotel down badly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Included meal was without a single redeeming moment.poor bathroom lighting and cramped room with passing traffic at same level outside the window

    Situation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    A very enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room Staff did not assist with bags No tourist/ local information in rooms or hotel.

    Superb location with magnificent views over the city and coast. Good restaurant both for breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is in a lovely spot with fantastic views but you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in a lovely spot with fantastic views but you will need a car to travel into Malaga or be prepared for a bit of a steep climb on the way back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great location with some of the best views in Malaga city. Friendly staff and excellent service and food in the restaurant on the evening that we stayed. Bonus on having on site car parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    A stunning location, a classy hotel high above the noise and bustle of central Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Biggest criticism was the hard bed and strange size pillows. No coffee/tea making facilities in double rooms.

    Stunning location and views. A slight weakness as it's a hike up and down; cabs are necessary although reasonably cheap. Next door to the castle. Good overall quality. Generally very friendly, helpful staff. I would recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic views over the harbour from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic views over the harbour from our balcony. The hotel it self is lovely in a very quite location. We didn't eat there but the restaurant did look quite busy. Getting up and down the hill could have been an issue, but we soon worked the buses out and it was only 5 euros in a taxi. Malaga was great as well, with loads of interesting things to do and see.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place and location worth not having my morning tea in bed for !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More choice of bar snacks and tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    The location and ambiance are fantastic. It is a unique place to stay and we would certainly go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    You can't beat the view of Malaga from your balcony room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you stay here and don't want to eat at the Parador itself, you'll require a car to access eating places in Malaga.

    The view of Malaga harbour and the city from our balcony was breathtaking especially as the sun set. We looked down on the bull ring and over at the Castillo while relaxing with a vino tinto. A beautiful location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant enough but we wouldn’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the rooms look out to the sea and city, and all have balconies. But some rooms on lower floors of a new annex have partially obstructed views and overlook a service drive, which during our stay had construction debris in it and service vehicles coming and going. The hotel ought to charge less for those rooms. When we checked in, we were told another room would be available the next day, but the next morning the hotel was still full and no alternative was offered. The staff seemed fairly indifferent to our disappointment. The parador is a 15-minute steep walk from the old city (a pleasant walk to do once) and actually pretty inconvenient as a location since most sites and all other options for restaurants are below. We wished we had stayed in the city and had simply come up to admire the view one afternoon or evening.

    We had a light supper in the bar-cafe one evening, and the waitress was very friendly and the tapas were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too snooty. Not much amosphere. Not very welcoming. Thought would be more central.

    Impressive view, helpful receptionist on first day. But bit too snooty. Would have liked more amosphere. Attended with young woman. Did not realise the demographic would be so old.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Expensive and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere was warm except bedroom. Cafe didn’t open till 11. Too few staff. Very expensive and very poor quality breakfast.

    Good views. Some staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at the Parador was a treat, an excellent place to experience Malaga, my favorite city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was very good, but quite pricey.

    The view from the hill was magnificent. The location, footpaths and transportation up and down the hill were convenient. The Parador was modern and attractively appointed. Our room was comfortable with a fine view from the balcony. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place, great view, good coffee. Idyllic in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi up and down at night was a shame - be lovely to have a shuttle car. We visited in quiet winter period so the restaurant was quiet and food a bit nouvelle. I had fillet of cod and it was not hot and not enough for 23 euros.

    Comfortable room and bed, authentic/rustic with good facilities and staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Great one night stay, nice and warm on a cold wet winters day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room, no shower hat, expensive bar and restaurant.

    Good breakfast choice, lovely lounge area, fantastic views over Malaga, lovely rooftop pool area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Confortable and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You're a bit isolated from the city centre. Roof pool is nice, but anyone taking a stroll in adjacent public park will have clear views on those in pool area. Some privacy screen would be nice...

    Confortable and modern

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Room excellent value. did not do breakfast as far too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the price pp for breakfast expensive when all you require is a Spanish breakfast. The bar did offer an alternative but did not open until 11.00 so we caught the bus to the town for breakfast every day

    Absolutely loved this property. Everything lovely and clean and so well sound proofed. Spectacular views from all the public areas. The staff were very helpful. Carpets in the corridors so never heard others arriving or leaving. Will visit again Bus at the gate into the Centre every 45 mins

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Everything was wonderful, we loved it and would happily go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small thing that we didn’t have that would have been great is : tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

    The staff were fantastic, our room was lovely, breakfast was delicious, the shower was fabulous and the views were beautiful and utterly outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist could have been more hospitable on arrival. She was efficient but she could have sold the hotel or facilities and engaged us more.

    Outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed together are not a double bed. No fitness center is a serious shortcoming for a hotel that is isolated from the rest of the city. And the high pressure unadjustable shower head was painful to the skin.

    Beautiful views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Stunning views and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't spend long enough there!

    The location high above the city, harbour and sea, right beside the Alcazaba is stunning (see photos). The footpath down beside the Alcazaba into the heart of the old city is a great way to start exploring.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was good for breakfast but dinners were not very delicious.

    The location was excellent. The views from our balcony were breath-taking. This is the place to stay if you want to be in the nature with fantastic views of Malaga.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Romantic property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor choices and the hot food was stone cold. Wouldn't book breakfast again.

    The position of the Hotel is up a hill so the views of Malaga both day and night are lovely. Rooms are spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Room was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was not great because of the trees blocking the view. It is quite far from town. No coffe/tea facilities in the room. Expensive for what it offers

    Room was big. Nice view from the hotel parking and cafe. Free parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Friendly saff, spacious room, balcony with amazing view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very few choice of vegetable for breakfast. I wish there were a Coffee/Tea machine in the room, as we could enjoy a cup of tea on the wonderful balcony.

    Friendly saff, spacious room, balcony with amazing view, breakfast including cava...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed and happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little more attention the common areas would be good. Sweep the bar floor after someone has eaten there, fix the few broken lamps. Some more information available on the city attractions and the hotel facilities woudl have been helpful. But it is minor stuff and definitely not to put you off staying there.

    Quiet and well kept. Great location for the best city and port view. To get up/down the hill either walk up the pleasant (if steep) path top the hotel or get the 35 bus, or splash out on a taxi which is reasonable at 7-8e. Extensive breakfast which was worth the cost. Good sized rooms and nice balcony to catch the sun.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Very well positioned to visit Malaga. A bus stops by the gates. Free car parking is available too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast choice was very poor, and the hot food was cold, cold eggs.

    It is a lovely building with spacious brooms facing out over Malaga, very pretty at night. The service was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Didn't want to leave the hotel, felt so at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance from the main road through the gates was not clearly signposted, could do with having a hotel name on the gates We drove straight past it but there is no where to go other than the castle at a dead end so no biggies.

    Pretty much everything - didn't want to leave! Fabulous location and not far from the City Centre offering amazing views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect overnight stay in Malaga to see the Christmas lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like.

    Room terrace had stunning views of the city and port. Excellent buffet breakfast. Situated next to the castle which is well worth visiting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Elegant, expensive, beautiful views but rooms lacking in warmth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms lacked colour and the Spanish feel. I longed for some red cushions to rest against on the bed and some flamenco dancer pictures or such like on the wall. It is a splendid building but lacks a sense of warmth and colour in the rooms. The bar food was very basic not appropriate for a hotel of this calabre and the bar staff were not very friendly.

    The location has exceptional views and it is relatively close to the town. The reception staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly. The restaurant maitre di was great, very efficient and the perfect manager. The restaurant service and views were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Malaga parador paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had, room 101 feels overlooked by visitors coming to the hotel to look at the view

    Stunning location beautiful hotel pure luxury quality, quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was excellent and made our stay a wonderful experience and we are already discussing how w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Delightful room with great views from the balcony. Breakfasts on the outdoor balcony was a pleasure. Maybe there could have been more variety for breakfast for meat eaters but us veggies were happy. Also heard someone unhappy that a table with 4 guests did not have dirty plates taken away soon enough. Overall the hotel was excellent and we loved the whole experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful location but the hotel is not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff had a rather impersonal manner. The outside line from the hotel was not working which was a problem for me because my mobile phone was stolen in town and I needed to contact my service provider. There was a very loud humming noise coming from outside our room which started at about 0730 and woke us up.

    The hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location. The downside is that it's a steep climb back up from the town but there is a bus and taxis are not too expensive. Breakfast was very good although expensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful location and staff and service . Shame about the TV and internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single English speaking TV channel. Extremely poor internet connection. No King or Queen matresses for beds.

    The location and the excellent staff: reception, breakfast, main restaurant and housekeeping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    The night lights of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was a bit blend. My expectations were not met.

    The views were fabulous. During the day or at night. It's not near the main part of town. You need to take a taxi when you go out. We stayed in this hotel on our last night in Malaga after touring Andalousia for 8 days. We wanted some peace and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: