Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Mérida 4 stars

Almendralejo, 58, 06800 Merida, Spain

#6 of 15 hotels in Merida

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1308 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Softer beds would definitely be appreciated.

    Staying at the Paradores, and enjoying their history, is part of the travel and sightseeing experience of going to Spain for us. This property had an excellent location, parking, fantastic service, great rooms and baths, and a delicious breakfast. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi worked only in the lobby, not the room.

    The hotel is beautifully decorated. No plastic electronic keys— a real brass key that opened a carved wooden door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really our kind of place. Too regimented. Food was good but was brought almost too quickly. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum not much room between counters and tables. Room 134 was at extreme end of building overlooking dustbins in the street and very noisy when bin men arrived at about 5am! It was quite challenging to find the car park too.

    Very central. Does have parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to find. Signs for the hotel ran out on the outskirts of town. When we eventually arrived the reception staff were very understanding and told us that lots of their visitors have the same problem. In which case why not do something about it - or at least e mail guests with a warning and a map. The internet here was the worst of any Parador we have visited.

    The staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The week end we visited the hotel was hosting about 5 or 6 communion parties so the hotel facilities were jam packed with adults and children, so it was very noisy and almost impossible to get food or drinks - The hotel should make provision where ordinary guests. Also the Wifi was not working in the hotel

    The location is excellent for visiting the sites in the old town - The hotel is in a very old building with lots of History with lots of historic artifacts on site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room air-conditioning (necessary because windows could not be opened due to noisy hotel equipment outside) re-set to 24C during the night.

    We love the beautifully restored significant old buildings in top locations which are the Parador trademark. Quiet elegance sums it up. This one didn't let us down; it's a beautiful environment to return to after wandering around a Spanish town in the dust and heat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the hotel was wonderful. It´s in the old spanish style, inside and out, very clean. Our room was quiet and spacious with a balcony looking out over a garden. The bathroom was large and clean. The food was great, especially the ample breakfast. _The Parador is well located, about 20 mins. walking (at my slow pace) from most of the ruins and museums. We were able to park in the garage under the hotel. Space is limited to maybe 25-30 cars. We went in mid-May which means there are less tourists about than in June - August. Temperatures were great, neither hot nor cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi in the room, the hotel very noisy with parties all day Sunday. Walls are very thin. We could hear the parties and a crying baby across the hall.

    Very comfortable bed, great food in the restaurant, most of the staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the car parking was quite expensive, the pool wasn't ready. There was a smell of cigarettes in the corridor by our room which wasn't nice.

    the building itself is excellent, the room was great, a good size and layout, nice big bed, very good in particular, the bathroom with its powerful shower. very clean. food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors of the rooms did not isolated the sound and you can hear doors slamming. Besides, the staff was not really friendly. For example, the reservation was made in double (same name, same date, same room). I called the hotel to explain that there was an error somewhere but they didn’t want to cancel one of the reservations (although I called one month before), knowing that it was obviously an error. Hopefully, booking solved the problem.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is pricey for the quality of the furniture and fittings which are rather tiered. We prefer quilts instead of sheets and blankets which we had to pull off the bed to avoid feeling trapped. Pillows lumpy and hard. Messy shower control. Could not check in until 1600 instead of 1400 which is normal.

    The staff was very helpful and nice. The private garage was secure and easy to access. Location is excellent and easy to reach if you are traveling by car as we were. Easy to use safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a hefty € 20. In a place like Mérida, where most tourists arrive by car, I would expect the parking to be included in the rate of a ****-hotel - or to be at least considerably cheaper! The sauna needs to be booked in advance - I prefer "public" saunas where you can just show up when you feel like it (and as it was quite cold and rainy, I would have loved the sauna to get warm again).

    I´ve always wanted to stay in a Parador and finally this wish has come true. We stayed for only one night in this beautiful historic building right in the centre of town. We both loved it from the start. The room we were given was comfortable. The heating worked fine and heated the room nicely, despite windows that wouldn´t close entirely. The breakfast was gorgeous, especially if you have a bit of a sweet tooth, and definitely worth the extra money if you want to treat yourself a bit. The staff is delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit overpriced at Easter time . It says it caters for walkers and holiday makers but I think it needs to be affordable all year around. Also it is very expensive for travellers from Australia..one might being 440 Aussie dollars and does not compare well to what you get in other countries for this money..even Switzerland for example and so j would say the rate of 185 euros is too much and not value for money even though the accommodation was lovely.

    The rooms are lovely and a decent size. The place is rustic and relaxed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything! It is a bit expensive for an average budget, but for once it is nice to live in style

    Position, building, service, food ... everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not split bill for the rooms. No coffee available-Parador wants 17 euro payment for breakfast to get one small cup of coffee! Also, a lot of noise upstairs from room made sleep difficult.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a deal on this "expensive" hotel but the service was not up to expectation. We were charged 20 Euros for parking in a crowded hotel car park with very limited space. The WIFI did not work One bath towel had red lipstick on it There was a small tear in one sheet Breakfast would have been 18 Euros each - we declined

    The location is good in the city centre. There are many restaurants in the area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in the centre of the city. Well worth staying here, as it is so historic and interesting and right in the centre, with everything a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Attractive building furnished in period style giving it an authentic Spanish feel. Well located for the major sites and very comfortable. Excellent dining room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu needs to be updated to be up to par with the quality of the facility and staff. The food was good, but it could stand with some more novel items and preparations.

    Our stay there was very pleasant! The staff was very helpful and kind, and the facility is just great! A wonderful place to stay if you want to see the Roman ruins in Merida.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although they advertise a breakfast buffet, when we went to eat, they didn't fix the buffet due to a low number of guests. We had to eat somewhere else. They didn't offer to fix us anything.

    Great location, very close to city center. Extremely secure property. Felt very comfortable. Parking was within the property, not a public parking lot nearby. Rooms were ample and with a security safe. Wi-Fi worked great. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a strong smell of smoking from the front entrance down past reception and through the cafe bar area which was not very pleasant.

    we hadn't planned on parking here but sat nav took us right to the parking entrance , glad it did as there didn't seem to be any on street parking nearby. this parador is one of the better ones i have stayed in, ideal location in the town, non of the major sights in town more than 10 minutes walk away. room was a good size as was the bathroom, clean and tidy as you would expect in a parador, room 121. as it was the end of december no idea how good the aircon was but the heating was fine. room was 77 euros and parking 12.73 as you get a discount when you have an amigos de paradores card. all in all a nice stay and would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked twin room cost E60 plus E6 and had immediate confirmation confirmed price booking. An email followed but as we were driving and later than planned I did not bother to read the email as I already saw the written confirmation. I was shocked to find that the Parador price was E75.00 inc. Having arrived you cannot refuse the booking without paying full price.

    The Menu very limited and food badly cooked and almost inedible. A Baclava starter looked like sick, was cold and would have been returned had it not been so late and we were hungry. I’ve stayed in Paradors before which were much better. Broken eggs should not be served at breakfast. Whites indicated eggs were stale.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner not available before 8:30 and we were too tired to wait after a long drive

    Spacious and comfortable room. Good location to explore the old town. Lovely courtyard and gardens

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was impossible to turn the heating down or off in the bedroom.

    Characterful old building, a stone's throw from historic centre. The bar is not outrageously priced. A peaceful night's sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff didn't smile once the service was poor food adequate quite disappointing for a parador Merida itself makes a huge deal of the Roman ruins most of which they have built dreadful buildings over. Appalling

    Lovely setting receptionist was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy WiFi, poor amenities (especially in the bathroom), staff not really motivated to be friendly (except for Jonas, the parking guard, who went the extra mile & was extremely friendly - reception staff should take an example). Overpriced - 125€ would be acceptable, not more. Hotel is managed as if we’re in the 90’s.

    Great location, original place (former monastery), big rooms, parking available at an acceptable 20€/day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It sounds petty but there were no chairs to enjoy a bit of relaxation in the gardens, and it was so lovely and sunny. There were a few upright bistro chairs but a couple of nice benches or a few rattan sofas would be nice. There was also lots of building work going on in the far building, but I guess winter is the best time to do it. Parking is expensive, and also breakfast. (same in most Paradors though)

    Fabulous old building, central location in the town so near to all the Roman ruins, shops, the river etc. Lovely room with big bathroom, big beds, cute veranda, and view over the gardens (which are actually mainly car park though some big trees). Nice sound of the fountain. Tea and lovely coffee making machine, and free water. Wonderful sitting room spaces, old paintings, tiled floors, lovely inner courtyard - all really super. Lovely house wine at very reasonable price! There is a cosy bar, but the bar staff were a bit disinterested. Desk staff and cleaning staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared to some Paradors we've visited, it's a little shabby. On arrival we found the shower head was broken but once reported it was fixed quickly. Some reception staff were more helpful than others. 20 euros per night to park is the most we've ever paid in any Spanish town or city

    Well placed for sight-seeing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms often a little overheated. Noisy neighbours at midnight.

    First stay in a Parador and it lived up to expectations. Large room, beautiful walled gardens, all the amenities you could want. Close to all the Roman ruins and centre of town. Excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you pay 150€ per night your expectations are a bit high and Parador de Mérida didn't meet them. 1st night we had a few troubles getting some sleep. First, the lights went off and we apparently had to change rooms (while we were packing our stuff, the staff fixed the lights problem and we ended up staying in the same room - unpacking twice our luggage). Then, Parador de Mérida hosted a large dinner group, who decided to stay, late in the night, in the Patio, just bellow of our room windows, having loud conversations, making for us impossible to sleep. We've complaint twice, without being effective on having this issue fixed. The staff kept saying to my husband that the group would go away in a little while and they did... at 1h30am. Regarding the cleaning, it could be a little bit better. My husband suffers from allergic rhinitis triggered when he contacts with dusty environments and he suffered a bit.

    The location is perfect to wander all the city by foot. Breakfast is definitely good, complete and diversified, with some local treats as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea making facilities and the furnishings looked a little tired. The restaurant is very large so we didn't eat there as there were not a lot of people. Beware of the smell in Merida though, seems to pervade the whole town, perhaps the Romans could come back to sort the drainage!

    We chose the parador as it is in the middle of Merida and has complimentary bikes which were ideal for seeing all the sites in one day. They had prepared the bikes for us and they were standard adult bikes which were ok, just not great brakes. It is a large building so long walks to rooms etc, but the bar has a snug feel to it and we enjoyed tea and coffee there plus in the open air courtyard which is also nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and the air conditioning was turned off for the summer. Well it was a hot and sunny day so we ended up with a fan in our room. Helped a bit especially with the window open. The negative of that was the traffic noise was often high. Our sleep was hardly a sound one.

    The hotel itself was quite lovely and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We drove to the Parador from Segovia stopping in Medieval Casares en route. The GPS struggled to locate roads that we could use to find Parador. A call to front desk staff helped as they guided us in turn by turn! Once the car was tucked in their garage< we could relax & walk all over. Lovely pool and Garden, and they gave us a very large room on a quiet hallway. We had a very testy dinner in Plaza right out front. Great sense of History in Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is unique. An old convent I believe. In the middle of a very quaint, small ancient Roman town, with plenty of artifacts in the building itself (e.g., old columns with etchings on them that reveal the Moors and Romans were there once upon a time). Lots of ancient things within walking distance - a great walking town and hotel location. Just a very unique and charming experience. I took a 4 hour train ride just so I could return to this town and this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a fantastic meal, but it did feel like a race against time! We hadn't finished one course when they were bringing the next. We had gone down for dinner at 8.30pm so not late - especially by Spanish standards. The food was just wonderful though!

    The hotel exuded an air of calm. It was immaculate and the rooms were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    position of hotel in Merida was excellent -- all sites within walking distance -- the staff very friendly and helpful -- the pool was an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Earlier and more signs to help one find the hotel by car. Warmer water in the pool. More classical/Spanish music IF one has to have piped music

    Excellent location to walk to all the main sites

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, apart from the missing hair dryer.

    This a lovely paradore, situated in the heart of Merida, just 200 metres from the central Plaza de Espana. Our room was huge, with an entrance hall, a large bathroom and an enormous bedroom which included a four-poster. The room had all the usual features including a coffee making machine, a mini-bar and flat-screen TV. Surprisingly, there was no hair-dryer. I cannot comment on the restaurant because my wife and I didn't eat there, but it looked wonderful. Parking was in the paradore's underground car-park. It cost an extra €14 for the night. Merida is a lovely city which is full of ancient, Roman remains. The ampitheatre, theatre and circus are all note-worthy, but other sites include two Roman baths, a ancient aquaduct, a temple dedicated to the Roman emperors and a huge site that's currently being excavated and looks like Roman shops and houses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have told us where the front door was. A lot simpler than trying to get out of the car park. We saw others having the same problem

    Meal in the evening and the setting outside. Room was large and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel full. Overcharged for wine (but was corrected). Room dusty. Parking tight and I could not get out. If we knew it was annual fiesta time we might have gone elsewhere. The price reflected this.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying for parking in the parador's underground carpark, although the staff did get us to join a membership scheme, which cut the cost. For a fairly pricey stay, parking should have been free.

    Amazing old building in central Merida close to Roman ruins. Great staff, helpful and friendly. Best gin and tonics in the bar. Room spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a very long way from reception and other hotel facilities. It was quite small with only a tiny "Juliet" balcony. The aircon was feeble and never got our room temperature down to less than 25C - admittedly it was about 38 outside. The bathroom floor flooded when we used the shower as there was a gap between the shower screen and bath. The cupboards and wardrobe had been finished in sticky varnish, leaving an irremovable coating of dust. There was no safe. There was no choice of English language TV channels. The Wi-Fi was mediocre. The swimming pool is far too small for a hotel with so many rooms, and the grounds quite limited. The food and wine prices are exorbitant. Reception staff were snooty and in my view lazy, not showing any urgency to deal with people waiting at the desk. They could not suggest any good local restaurants, recommending that we used the Parador restaurant which was OK but expensive. Other staff were fine and helpful but reception is the "face in the window". Room rates and parking charges are very high.

    Public areas are excellent and of high quality. Location is good for town centre and Roman remains, which are superb. Breakfast taken outside was pleasant and decent quality ( but expensive)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac barely worked, slight odor in the room, very dated didn't represent pictures. Also found the staff to be very unfriendly. Not worth the value. Was expecting a lot more based on previous reviews, though it was better than the place we booked on the way back.

    The breakfast was ok. The building is very pretty but the pictures online did not represent the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work fo more than a minute or two. Kept going off so unable to use it. Went to reception and was told it had been fixed. Still no good!

    We were allocated the room we requested. Have stayed here many times.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, however, outdoor pool and gardens were much smaller than expected from the photos! Had to move to another room which had a/c that worked properly! Parking quite expensive in the scheme of things at 19 Euros per day!

    Bedroom & bathroom were exceptionally clean - lovely crisp fresh bed linen & towels. Housekeeping staff that we had contact with were always friendly & exceptionally courteous. Very nice ambience & decor in the common areas. Location is good for seeing the local sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is always empty because the food is dreadful, which is a shame as Spanish produce is cheap, seasonal and good quality. I guess this is what happens when you allow your accountant to run your kitchen. Fourth and last time I will eat at a Parador, oh and last night one of the main courses was cold and did not return from the kitchen for 10 minutes, I guess the microwave was on the blink !!

    Good location and easy to find with secure parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room, in spite of saying wifi worked in all place in the Hotel- Parador. Resstaurant's main dishes were so small they looked like mini starters.

    The building, its decoration and antiques.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most Paradores are expensive - you pay for the status and I'm not sure that it is always justified. Our arrival coincided with a coach full of tourists and therefore our check in was at the same time. We were in full motorbike gear and it was baking hot. Unfortunately when we presented our booking details and passports the hotel staff told us to wait until the coach party (~50 people) has checked in; about half an hour. Not impressed. When we finally got to our room it was tiny - pokey even, and the air conditioning did not work. Numerous trips back to reception, receptionist coming to our room to fix it, the maintenance engineer coming to our room to fix it, all to no avail. Approx three hours later we were offered another room, which was superb - an upgrade to a very nice suits. We would not have been comfortable in the first room, especially as we were there for two nights, and the first room didn't justify how expensive the room rate was (in our opinion). Parking was expensive.

    We were here for two nights. Our second room (following issues with the air conditioning) was superb - a suite. Lovely. We didn't eat here but the main dining room was set out for a function, maybe a wedding, and it looked lovely. Merida is a fantastic town - the Roman theatre and amphitheatre are remarkable. Underground parking for vehicles.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biscuits of the breakfast buffet tasted like they were from the day before. They was no fresh orange juice. For 18 € a little bit poor.

    The pool area and the gym were nice to have. And plus point for the two bikes you can use. Rooms are nice and clean. Well located

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner one evening.Staff excellent however food was only adequate.The suckling pig should have been excellent but was only satisfactory in flavour and quantity.

    Location excellent with underground parking.Staff prolite and helpful.breakfeast excellent with good choice etc.Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    The room bed and bathroom were lovely we were very comfortable. We liked being close to the Roman remains we think we saw everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High parking fee. Gyms are not common in southern european hotels, but if you have one, wht not maintain it. It was dated though treadmill was ok. No free weights but posters on free weight exercises? One cable on the universal machine was snapped and all others needed service badly. Lifting any weight was double the effort , if possible at all.

    What a gorgeous hotel. This converted building has become a gem. We lucked into a very large room that was wonderfully decorated. Staff was very helpful with all requests. There is even a pool and small shaded cloister!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks staff forgot our orders and no complementary nibbles arrived on a couple of occasions Breakfast far too expensive for what was offered. It was much less if it was booked on line. Should be the same rather than tricking guests.

    Front desk staff very helpful Others average A truly amazing building and it was well maintained

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive cost of breakfast. Found the safe difficult to operate with credit card - the mechanisation seemed very sensitive. Apart from the meat the quality of the vegetables (over cooked, and possibly reheated) and other dinner dishes was not too great.

    Very characterful building in good location. Spacious room. Quiet. Every facility - in room tea and coffee making, safe, big bath. Meat very well cooked at dinner. Reasonable bar prices. Wide range of choices at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were surly to rude, and not very helpful at all. The parador was like a rabbit warren and fairly bare and spartan. I have stayed at very good paradors but this was not one of them.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning controls didn't seem to do anything, though the room temperature was comfortable enough.

    The Parador de Merida has great charm and character because it is housed in a carefully renovated centuries-old monastery. It has beautiful and spacious public areas with high ceilings and classical decoration. The internal courtyard and garden is an attractive and relaxing space. The Parador is a short walk from the historic central plaza and many of the Roman era historic sites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints here.

    Beautiful property well located and easily accessible by car. Staff couldn't have been mrs friendly and helpful. Room has all amenities, clean and comfortable. Gardens and Courtyards well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old plumbing - Whenever the room above ours flushed the toilet or took a shower, it sounded like a torrent of water through the ceiling and walls. It woke me a few times, it was that loud. Air conditioning unit in our room was blowing warm air, not cold.....needs to be looked at. Luckily being March, we slept with the balcony door open to keep our room cool.

    Another beautiful Parador. This one is a converted convent. It retains all the character of its former glory. We upgraded to a superior double which was almost like a small suite, with a separate living room and lovely 4 poster bed. Location was superb! The building is massive, lots to explore or, sit on your balcony and sip gin all day!! We were room 134. I caught a glimpse of some of the other rooms along our corridor and there are some even nicer so ask to view a few before making a decision. Super value for money!! Merida is spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Everything is a bit tired, as it's one of the older Paradors. Also, the lift is at the opposite end of the building compared to the reception - who would do that now? - Walls are thin, if next door neighbour has a shower, you will hear it (think Niagara Falls). - Wifi is very patchy and there is no function to remember the password. - Staff is friendly but wouldn't want to do more than necessary (e.g. our room was not ready when we checked in 30 minutes earlier. We left our luggage at reception and came back 3h later to find that our luggage hadn't been sent up to our room. In fact, we had to carry our luggage ourselves - no help offered!)

    + Great location near the city centre (Merida is small) + Spacious room + Decent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the paradors have not moved with the times. The food is ok (just), the atmosphere in the large empty restaurant is souless, and the staff seem to lack enthusiasm and energy. Nothing wrong with the hotel, it's just like hotels used to be.....in the 1950's.

    Merida has an amazing collection of stunning Roman remains, especially the theatre. As a nice old building in the centre of town, we thought we'd give the paradors another chance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't well presented and we felt over-priced compared to other hotels. Breakfast staff were noisy and not helpful. Nespresso coffee machine had only two choices. We felt it is over priced (living on the Parador name!).

    Staff in bar and dining room very friendly and attentive. Dinner was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself is really pretty. The food at the dinner is also amazing. And the staffs are really helpful. They are very thoughtful, asked our needs in advance, and helped our big group to check-in smoothly. Big parking spaces.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely no chance of getting anything other than toast and tomato to eat between 16.00 and 20.30 - same across Merida even in a 5 star hotel nearby!

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ability to make real cappuccinos for breakfast on an Italian coffee machine was not demonstrated. Muesli needed for breakfast. The hotel is being upgraded and some of the features need painting or restaining.

    I adored this traditional hacienda style hotel. Full of character and incredibly spacious it felt like being in another time and culture. It was a really authentic hotel with large spaces for dining, bar and other amenities. We were upgraded to a Superior room from a Deluxe due to a plumbing issue me adored the spacious room with comfy bed, lounge facilities and spacious and well appointed bathroom with lots of accessories. The deluxe rooms were fine but the Superior room is really worth booking. The staff were wonderful and the food - breakfast, lunch and dinner, all very good. I loved the biscuits in the bar- if you like almond horseshoes they do a range like this. Parking on site was great. Proximity to the centre of town and all the sights was excellent. This hotel also offers good value for the price. We enjoyed our atay at this hotel and in the village.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive and no pricing available beforehand. Beware!

    Beautiful historic property right in the heart of the town, good value for the room, and very safe with a locking gate.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all very good. No adverse comments to make.

    A typically characterful property with delights around every corner. Spacious bedroom with huge bed. Secure underground parking. A short and easy walk to the Roman ruins for which the town is famous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything.

    The staff went above and beyond to help us in every way. The Parador in itself was beautiful , but the staff made the stay exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not especially helpful. There were 2 major events happening, processions that were very moving and colorful and the desk didn't know or didn't tell me about them. It was the waiter who did. At check in, I didn't get the password for internet, all this surprising in a hotel of this status.

    The building with its history and restoration is magnificent. The gardens with its antiquities is especially appealing. THere were even choices for vegetarians. One waiter in the dining room was extra helpful even about what was happening in merida. It was a restful 2 night stay for a pilgrim walking to santiago.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bread rolls at lunch and breakfast were very poor. A choice of different rolls / bread I.e. Wholemeal etc would be good. The ones they had were white and very poor quality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One set of Pillows could have been softer.

    Our waitress at Dinner was lovely & friendly. Even though we do not speak Spanish she always had a smile for us & even tried to teach us some, which usually ended with all of us having a chuckle. I wish we had taken her name as she definitely deserves a mention & is an asset to the hotel. All we know is that she was 58 years young 😁

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found this parador one of the most pleasant we have stayed in. It is well located for the historic part of the town, and is a tastefully converted convent which feels spacious and calm. It has a lovely garden and former cloisters. The weather for much of our stay was not good; luckily the bar area was roomy and a very pleasant place to sit out the rain. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The vehicle access to the rear of the convent was easy to find and there was secure underground parking. The food in the restaurant was well up to parador standard.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed here many times before and had quiet rooms, this time we had a room on a street corner that was a bit noisy - not much else to moan about!!

    Well located close to the town centre. Good breakfast and plenty of choice. Didn't try the restaurant on this visit but have stayed here before and found the food to be excellent. Wines are good too but a little over priced, although you tend to expect it in hotels. Room was clean and comfortable and we will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Moved to another room. Not clean. Towels threadbare. Staff not helpful. Mgr finally gave us free parking and breakfast. Would rather have had a c'b

    Ñeat old facility within walkiñg distance of ruins

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in unpacked went out for the best part of the day, leaving our key at reception as requested. When we returned after getting the key we opened our door to be met will and overpowering cigarette smell. Clearly someone had been in our room smoking. We rang reception who did not seem at all surprised offered us a new room but did offer any explanation as to how this could happen. In fact they avoided the question. On this experience I would never recommend the hotel

    Location was good and the old world charm of the convent was enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the bar/patio was non-existent and service in the dining room was mostly indifferent. Big change from the last time we stayed here.

    Good central location

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador de Mérida traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: