Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Monforte de Lemos 4 stars

Plaza Luis de Góngora y Argote, S/N, 27400 Monforte de Lemos, Spain

#2 of 10 hotels in Monforte de Lemos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 420 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Top of the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hot food was cold or they didn’t have any. Took a long time to get some from the kitchen.

    The Parador was as expected the restaurant was good for evening meal and good quality wines. WiFi good. Able to,climb the tower adjacent to the Parador.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have had a guided tour of the Church and buildings - as offered at other similar hotels in historic buildings. Dinner was very disappointing - not good value.

    Beautiful building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value Parador in lovely location near friendly Gallego town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What's not to like? You really need a car to visit the town on foot and it is worth a visit for, while not the most ancient of P sites it has a Roman bridge and beautiful parks and river...

    Beautiful location atop the hill - not so easy to leave hotel on foot. However, excellent O Grillo restaurant very near. The staff were all excellent - if overworked! The small pool was good and the rooms and windows of rooms had charm and masses of character...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    What can you say about staying at a historic Benedictine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The fitness center is a joke. It has a step machine, a bike machine, a bench, and dumbbells that date back to the mid 90's. In addition, it's in a room with the hot tub so everything is rusty. I'm very disappointed that this wasn't better. - There was an odd smell on our floor ... don't know what to make of it but it was really pungent - I'm guessing it was for some preservation purposes? Thankfully wasn't in our room. - The A/C in our room didn't "work". It said it worked, but it definitely didn't. Slept hot 2 out of 3 nights. - Maybe it goes without saying but the food there was way overpriced and wasn't very good. We only went into the cafertaria/bar, and not the restaurant. Go into town and you'll be blown away by how reasonable it is (and in comparison with the rest of Spain too). - Information from the front desk was incredibly out-dated. Don't expect what they have to say on the winery tours to be accurate.

    What can you say about staying at a historic Benedictine monastery? It was absolutely jaw dropping. Plus, it helped that our room was very comfortable too. Comfortable bed, great bathroom, and an impressive view! Easy to walk into town for food (but remember, you have to walk back up!) It was the only Paradore that we stayed at on our trip, and we'd definitely do it again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely horrendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start. We were never made to feel welcome, the hotel was noisey, the food was dreadful, it appeared the menu written in Spanish was over 5 pages but the English had a poor selection of food on a small leaflet. Every time we asked for something, from certain staff we were met with rolled eyes and huff. We were never told where to park so we received a parking ticket. My girlfriend was abused by locals where they thought it was acceptable to whistle and blow kisses at her when we were in the car park.

    There wasn’t much I liked about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very understaffed. We were asked to sign for it before we had even been served tea/coffee. One of our party complained but was not dealt with very well. No plates, no clean tables etc.

    Beautiful hotel, room very comfortable. Staff very helpful. Parking on site, but limited spaces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is stunning and the facilities are very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the bar before the meal was poor. The pork I had for dinner was extremely underdone. It was nearly rare and pork should always be well done.

    Location is stunning and the facilities are very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Despite acknowledging my request for vegetarian food both on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite acknowledging my request for vegetarian food both on booking and checking-in, at dinner the kitchen were unaware and not able to offer any other alternatives than plain boiled rice and vegetables. And still charged the same price...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our complaints are small: Internet service was very poor, even at the reception area, and we found it best outside the front door of the hotel. The air-conditioning seemed inadequate, but open windows and hilltop breezes were just fine for us during our Spring-time visit.

    This is a beautiful and historic hilltop hotel located in an old religious facility with a working (and gorgeous) chapel attached. Dinner was good, and the breakfast buffet was very attractive...and delicious. Our stay was quite memorable, and we loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    The main building and the common areas are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room end all the magic that you can have in the common areas of the structure, being really a normal room with no personality. Wifi was not working and the staff didn't even help us. The dinner was a disaster, me and my friend ordered the fish and arrived completely raw. Was asked to cook it better but the second time was still raw . I asked to have a new dish because was not possible to cook it again and instead they cooked it for the third time and arrived completely burned. At the end i ate it that because I was very angry and the waiter didn' t even excuse. It was necessary a direct complain for it.

    The main building and the common areas are really historically beautiful. The nice position but the city is very small... The breakfast was good enough

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Amazing Historical Hotel in commanding position with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is an Historical Building on a hill, be aware you cannot walk into the town, but this is not a criticism.

    Lovely large room with amazing views over the Town. The restaurant was good on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantatstic place and great staff. Will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a limited amount of parking spaces - I think some had been used up by pubic rather than hotel guests

    the view from the Parador is incredible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Stunning historic property above the town and a short drive to vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed upgrades needed. A couple should be able to have a double bed - not two singles pushed together. The Jacuzzi closes too early. We planned to go after dinner and were told it closed at 23:00, but it was closed a half hour earlier.

    This is a gorgeous spot and the adjacent church is stunning. The meals at the restaurant and the maitre dee were superb. We had octopus, duck and a huge whole Dorada. We were pleased to get a coupon for 15% off our next parador. Great options for viewing TV in English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was great but further from town than we realised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from town, but we should have checked that.

    The hotel was great but further from town than we realised. We were only there for one night but would have liked longer. Beautiful building with faded grandeur better than I expected. The evening meal was superb. Enjoyed the long walk down the hill to the town. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful main building and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled around in Galicia and stayed at three different Paradores. This one was the only disappointment. The hotel doesn't do the beautiful building justice. It's run down and understaffed. No outdoor seating, the pool is cramped. We got a room in some kind of annex and not the main building.

    Beautiful main building and good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming comfortable parador situated in a perfect base for exploring this stunning region..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower (in the bath) was poor.

    A suite with great separate lounge and large bathroom. Lovely accommodation. Really helpful and welcoming service at reception. Food in the restaurant was extremely good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely historic parador in beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    though staff were great, there were too few of them , eg the barman had to keep dashing between the bar and the restaurant.

    The beautiful historic building, and the views. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Sonia in reception!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous hilltop parador in beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to dislike af all!

    A fabulous historic building in beautiful hilltop location. The whole stay was a wonderful relaxing experience - only regret was that we didn't stay longer than one night. The staff were all very welcoming, especially Sonia on reception who was amazingly helpful in finding the sunglasses I left behind, sending friendly emails and arranging for them to be sent to my home in UK - can't thank her enough! 😎😘💕 Our room (206) was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well appointed with fabulous views from the dual aspect full length windows. The central courtyard and beautiful corridors added to the luxurious atmosphere in this wonderful old monastery. Our evening meal and breakfast certainly lived up to parador standards - delicious! There was a large party in the dining room but the waiting staff made us feel relaxed and served us quickly in spite of seeming understaffed. This is the first parador we've stayed in and it won't be the last!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    A Most Enjoyable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If wifi is a priority, it is best received in the reception area.

    The Paradore met all our expectations as frequent users of the Paradors in Spain. It has a lofty setting and an enjoyable stay in all respects. Reception staff outstanding, a big thankyou to Sonia for her recommended River Sil drive which is absolutely spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    View from the hotel and the architecture of the building is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Monforte de Lemos is an unattractive and boring town. This is a remarkable building in a special location but the room was small and without any distinctive feature and poorly decorated. Indeed, this is not one of the best Paradores that we have visited.

    View from the hotel and the architecture of the building is remarkable. The new built areas are well integrated without affecting the heritage values. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.3
    No great experience to write home about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parador is overrated and overpriced. The restaurant is poor and overpriced. A nice restaurant down the hill within walking distance could teach the chef of the Parador a few basics.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    A real treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real climb to get up and down to the town. Got really fit after 6 nights!

    The wonderful old monastery makes you feel so special. The rooms so comfortable and clean and the food was yummy! The staff were all wonderful and such a great sense of humour. We had such fun with them - especially the receptionists.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Parador de Monforte de Lemos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, its was excellent

    Amazing building; excellent room, service and food with a particularly varied breakfast buffet. Good access to the towns of Monforte and Lugo as well as to a number of castros

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Worth the visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's beginning to show signs of wear and tear.

    The staff was friendly, the history of the parador interesting and the food good. The view were spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not good WiFi is terrible Gym was very small and the few bits in there were old or broke

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Location and the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and the bed size

    Location and the views. And the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The arquiture and service very nice
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arquiture and service very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A grand and romantic building with an otherworldly view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Architecture and public rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom a touch tired / was basin was cracked

    Architecture and public rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really underwhelming for the price.

    A beautiful setting with helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay in impressive building. Be sure your luggage has wheels...great views. Tasty d
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge suite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    2 day stopover in Galicia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was spacious and clean. The pool was a bonus. The Parador is lovely with lots of history. The buffet breakfast had a lot of choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a pool?

    stunning site in historic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    It is no doubt a truly wonderful place and extraordinarily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is no doubt a truly wonderful place and extraordinarily good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Extremely high quality furniture, linens and obviously, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely high quality furniture, linens and obviously, the parador itself was beautiful and in excellent condition.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant for dinner

    Beautifull historic building housing a excellent hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Parador in a pleasant setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the room quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Peaceful and very atmospheric
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more quests A warm swimming pool

    Atmosphere and can do staff Linen and towels

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating too much high

    Everything was all right

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't control room temperature

    Great views from top of hill

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    For a luxury stay in a heritage building, fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is monastery/fort on top of a hill in a big town. It is not close to facilities if you do not have a car.

    For a luxury stay in a heritage building, fantastic! All staff great, fair to very good English all of them.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    Quiet, peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We expected to get better quality English speaking news programs as well as entertainment programs. They were all dubbed or in Spanish. The pool was too difficult to access and the ladder steps made it too difficult to use.

    Quiet, peaceful. The staff were exceptionally helpful when we had to try to contact our bank in Australia. Always difficult with time differences and long delays with telephone links.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.2
    We enjoyed the location and the spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Initial reception was curt and not helpful. It nat have just been a long day for her, as the following morning, she was quite cheerful.

    We enjoyed the location and the spectacular views. Wait staff were efficient and friendly during all foodservice.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    8.8
    Awesome place, makes you feel you're in a movie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi Fi didn't work in my room... Monforte is ok, but there is not much to see in it.

    Awesome place, makes you feel you're in a movie... Great staff at front desk, they managed to solve a couple of problems we had in no time. Also, it is a brilliant base to explore the Ribeira Sacra wine region -which is a complete must!

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful housing, well chosen interiors, good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gym and whirlpool were officially only open until 20h but I did not get the point of that, would have preferred 24h as closing time, but that's a minor remark. Bigger issues for us was the restaurant: we visited the restaurant because it sounded very promising but the food was only moderate: 1 dish was cold (croquetas still cold inside despite being fried so deep-frozen beforehand?) and 1 dish was not fresh and/or overcooked (sepia was chewy which should never be the case if fresh and well-cooked). The staff was friendly but way way too fast - we didn't finish our plate and the next was already there so that's for Belgian slow-eaters a no-go. Missed opportunity for what could have been an excellent review!

    Beautiful housing, well chosen interiors, good facilities. Price/quality was top with our booking.com deal. Reception staff was very friendly and also gave us a discount card if we visited other Paradores.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.6
    Large room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Large room. Fantastic architecture makes you feel special just being there. Really good breakfast offer.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.2
    Great staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location but not so close to center of town

    Great staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.9
    Lovely historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely historic hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    We loved the idea of staying in a significant ancient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the idea of staying in a significant ancient monastery. This was the best hotel experience we have had and we travel extensively all year.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    View, facilities, character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi available

    View, facilities, character

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    9.6
    The hotel it's beautiful , the viue amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel it's beautiful , the viue amazing

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: