Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Pontevedra 4 stars

Barón, 19, 36002 Pontevedra, Spain

#11 of 22 hotels in Pontevedra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 694 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely stay. Such a great location. A grand building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting in and locking up our room. Endless trouble with key and lock. Some old and rickety features. Our room was fine but nothing special, given the general grandness of the rest of the place.

    Wonderful old historical building. Very impressive and beautifully furnished common areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    I love that Paradors have bathtubs and both shampoo and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got lost getting there, even with a map of the city.

    I love that Paradors have bathtubs and both shampoo and conditioner—both are rare to find along the Camino. I am also grateful that staff are accommodating of pilgrims.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant outdoor restaurant with good food, managed parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ‘superior ‘ room smelt of humidity and air conditioner did not cool nor clean the air - disappointing otherwise comfortable

    Pleasant outdoor restaurant with good food, managed parking and pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    An excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    A fabulous base enabling us to tour a little of Spain. Our first time in a Parador but hopefully not our last! A very high standard for what we paid and excellent value!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Historic Parador in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was adequate.

    Nice historic Parador in the old town. convenient for the Camino and a short walk to be amongst bars and restaurants. Room was perfectly okay but nothing to excite, although we did have a window overlooking the square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Historic building in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cramped, especially between the bed and window. But view was good and facilities were excellent.

    Historic building in a great location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location in small gem of a city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise at night is almost inescapable. Welcome to Spain - bring earplugs! (And just turn on the AC if it bothers you).

    Great location for walking Braga’s old town. Property is a wonderful classic old palace, superbly maintained. Very helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Reflecting in comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy but only because of the parquet flooring. Breakfast was chaotic with significant waits.

    The building was incredible and it was a privilege to stay in a historic building. It was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Property and location and facilities are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had confirmed (I thought) the night before that my rate included breakfast, as it did at the last Paradour in which I stayed in Baoina. I had coffee and juice only because I knew it was included...and then was charged 17Euro for a breakfast buffet. The front desk person was very rude and not willing to compromise. Very disappointing for a clear misunderstanding.

    Property and location and facilities are excellent. Staff was not so welcoming. Perhaps they don’t like Americans who struggle with Spanish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean hotel, helpful staff but you're paying to stay in a Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frankly, a bit overrated for the price. The room was small but comfortable. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and gave us detailed instructions on places to eat and stores where we could buy gear. The food at the restaurant was fine but nothing exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Much more expensive than any other breakfast on our trip and just one waitress trying to look after over 50 guests. This led to no eggs, no bread, no hot water for tea...

    Beautiful building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Solid hotel, does what it says on the label.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was fairly plain. However, they did offer us extra vegetables we requested. Outside was a bit noisy at around 3:30am.

    I like the concept of the Parador hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception and at the restaurant were very attentive and got out of their way to help us with all our needs. The location is surprisingly rich in history and great sights, all in a small town setting. We really enjoyed it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful historic building in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful historic building in the old town. One of the staff on reception recommended a visit to Combarro which was fabulous. A great place to be based to explore this part of Galicia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very soundproof with creaky floorboards and banging doors but it is an old residence with lots of character

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and beautiful presented. Lovely breakfast and in great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uneven floors. The floors are ancient and need to be treated with care and attention if you, like me have walking issues.

    Everything. Excellent staff. Amazing views. Comfortable room. Lovely ambience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Ho hum
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were offered a breakfast at reduced price however when we asked for this option it had been withdrawn. We were not told to pre pay when checking in to get this offer.

    Beautiful historic property like all Paradors. Great to explore with lots of antiques and quiet sitting areas on the landings. Cecelia was really helpful and smiled a lot. A gem!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, and, as always, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other paradores, the building is somewhat less interesting, and the breakfast buffet was not excellent.

    Very friendly staff, and, as always, beautiful accommodations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay. Shame about the breajfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff, at breakfast, didn’t have a clue. Consequently, poor breakfast had by all. Nothing ready or replenished at the breakfast buffet. Things taken away even, just before being selected. Breakfast worse than Travelodge in UK. Everything else grest

    History style elegance decor and most staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic and wish to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This parador is fantastic. The rooms were lovely. The bed had the best sheets. The bathroom amenities were excellent. The buffet breakfast was superior!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful and very comfortable hotel, pity about the dinner which was very disappointing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed with dinner in the restaurant which I did not eat.. No atmosphere Staff were perfunctory. As result did not have breakfast there. .

    The building and bedrooms were pristine in this beautiful historic building. Great bathrooms and spotlessly clean. Roof garden. On Portugese camino and would love to have spent more than one night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no heating in room -we asked for some and were told that the hotel was centrally heated.My wife was ill on a very cold day and only that we had extra blankets we would have frozen.There was heating only in the bathroom. We booked the Parador for a special stay and did not get this. A complimentary bottle of drinking water would have been nice when the room cost over €130 for the night

    not a lot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Classy but overrated, elegant but cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not good value, and a bit snobbish and overrated. The old wooden floors creak and the armoire smells like old wood. Breakfast was expensive and not included in the (already high) price. We had emailed in advance of our stay requesting parking and were told to go to a public parking 300m away. After walking to the hotel hauling the luggage, we found that there was parking on the grounds.

    The hotel grounds and interiors are a classic beauty. Our suite was large and attractively appointed; the bathroom was luxurious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find the place to park (is made just for few cars) Quite expensive breakfast.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The main structure is very nice and the room clean and quite cozy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found one of the reception staff quite rude, serving a male queueing behind me first which was unacceptable and extremely demeaning to me. The Parador is indeed beautiful, but our room was tired and the door was not easy to lock and unlock. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as at £15 each I could not warrant.

    The Parador was in the old part of town close to the bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    So very pleased we chose the Parador Pontevedra.
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parador Pontevedra is simply only place to stay on a visit to Pontevedra. The elegant palace accommodations are a trip in time. The staff were always ready to help in anyway possible. Located in the heart of the historic district with restaurants, bars, cafes, shopping just steps away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    An antique well renovated building.
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high price food menu. This is really not an issue since the hotel is surrounded by all kid of small restaurants.

    An antique well renovated building. For those doing El Camino Portuguese Route one night would sufficient. Food was pricey, but location excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    The stay was spoilt by the attitude of the morning staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed the night before the towns annual medieval festival and told we could park the car on site but if we'd have to move it by 9am or it would have to be left all day as the town's roads were closed for the festival. So we booked a second night so we could attend the festival and booked a table for the hotels banquet. The following morning we were woken at 9am and rather rudely told to move the car, after an unpleasant exchange of words we left and cancelled the banquet and 2nd night The inside restaurant really lets the hotel down

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Parador, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not as good as in other Paradors. Evening meal in restaurant not good. Wi-Fi terrible

    Location, Garden, Staff, Period Parador, Room overlooking the garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Spain's Fawlty Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a bottle of cava when some friends visited us in the hotel lounge. The bartender then brought me the bottle unopened with just one glass, when I asked for another 4 glasses and also if I was meant to open the bottle myself o was meat with a look of real discust. My guests were amazed at the poor Staff training in a parador that they as Spaniads thought was meant to represent their highest level of hospitality. Later when we tried to order room service we wee told that the hotel was 'really busy' and that they weren't sure if they could offer room service, when pressed as to whether that was a yes or no it eventually became a yes and everything was actually fine.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Magnificent building, delightful town. Perhaps our favorite of the whole trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there early enough to get a parking space on the property , luckily, but it was very tight maneuvering to get in and out. No idea how far away others had to park.

    Setting. All the public spaces- magnificent! Delicious dinner on charming patio overlooking garden. Beautiful watercolors adorning the hallways.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    We had a very pleasant and restful stay after a long walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could be firmer otherwise it was perfect

    Beautiful building, terrace & furniture Helpful & friendly staff Comfortable bed Central location to squares and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Location and historic value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff needed to consider a different job Had to pay a 10% service charged added to the bar bill where we had dinner and the waitress had a really bad attitude Never smiled, took a long time for water to come to the table and never thanked us Horrible experience for such a nice place!

    Location and historic value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.3
    Only adequate for one night's stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole property needed a revamp. We were surprised how poor it was. It's never a four star hotel and it's marketed as one under false pretences.

    The whole property was TIRED. The saving grace of our stay were the staff who were most helpful. This must be one of the more neglected Paradors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Poor Pilgrim Service at this Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff was extremely rude from the minute we walked into the Parador Pontevedra and this is the exception for Paradors' stellar reputation. Our group of 4 adults had just finished walking 16 miles that day in the 97 degree sun in mid-June and the 4 hotel staff at the front desk didn't greet us with a warm smile or offer us 'pilgrims' anything cold to drink-they didn't even ask about our day's journey on the Camino. Ok, we thought-we're hot and dusty from carrying our backpacks and maybe they weren't excited to have tired looking pilgrims crowd their lobby. However, the 500 year old history of the Paradors in Spain were originally a retreat, hospital, and place of protection and worship for weary pilgrims traveling to Santiago, Spain. The Pontevedra Parador should know better! When we got to our rooms around 2:00 pm we were looking forward to the cool air-conditioning and found out that the large, beautiful, historic rooms were very hot and stuffy even though AC is advertised throughout the hotel and in all the rooms. We played around with the temperature controls, waited a while to see if that helped cool the room off, and finally called the front desk to ask about the AC. They said it was broken and were rather rude on the phone. We walked downstairs to the front desk and were told that they didn't know when the AC was to be fixed. No apologies were given, no offers of a free cold drink in the bar, which was empty, or a discount on dinner or on the one night's stay. They didn't have any portable electric fans to provide hotel guests with as a backup. No alternatives of lodging were offered and being tired pilgrims we didn't want to pack up and find another place to stay with AC. I asked if we could have a discount on the 2 rooms, and was told that the manager would have to approve it and he wasn't in.

    The Parador is on the Camino so it's a good location for pilgrims traveling by foot. It's a splurge for sure, but it could have been such a relaxing stop and a highlight of the journey had it not been for the broken air conditioning system that the management and front desk staff failed to inform our group about upon check-in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely weeks stay but room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The terrace on the 2nd floor could have a few more tables/chairs/ashtrays. Room has no coffee/tea making facilities. Fridge in room not that cold. Wifi comes and goes on 2nd floor. Shame about lack of parking, although public parking is a short distance, it would be nice to have a discount (It is 11.5 euros overnight which adds around 80 euros for the week!)

    Bed very comfortable. Lovely terrace and great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the staff very indifferent. Realise it is an old building but the creaky floors throughout can be a nuisance. Poor wifi connection no apologies given.No tea coffee facilities in room.

    Nice old building in a quiet square of the old city. Bathroom facilities were excellent and beds comfortable. Buffett breakfast was basic but Good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Atmospheric old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very noisy at night with voices and singing carrying clearly into the room until the early hours of the morning.

    This hotel is in a lovely renovated stately old home. Furnishings are unique and in keeping with the era of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Delightful respite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was very slow, and the labyrinth-like hallways can be difficult to navigate using the stairs. Unfortunately the waiter at the cafe never came to take my order.

    Great location close to the action of the center of the town, but without being too noisy. Lovely windows to let the breeze blow into the spacious, historic room. Very courteous desk staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful historic building in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was warm without air conditioning and when windows were opened we had a bright light shining in.

    Beautiful historic building in a fabulous location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice but room for improvement at that price - has the potential to be a top spot
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lackadaisical attitude in dining area and lots of clanking around while clearing tables. Need to refresh and renew attitude and approach as service is key

    Nice room Comfy bed and Josè at reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Lovely dinner on the patio was pleasant and the service...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The afternoon/evening employee at reception was not at all customer focused and was unhelpful. If the Parador wants to make a good impression on its clients they should look carefully at the people who are employed in reception.

    Lovely dinner on the patio was pleasant and the service attentive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    A luxurious hotel in the centre of Pondevedra with Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no complimentary bottle of water in the room which for that grade of hotel should be standard. A couple of members of staff were indifferent. The breakfast started at 8.30am which is late for anyone wishing to make a reasonably early start to their day and the charge for the breakfast was 17€ per person (this is not a capital city!!).

    Lovely large room in a quiet luxurious hotel which was a former palace in the middle of Pondevedra.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location for Camino pilgrims.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed a bit aloof, possibly too busy when we arrived and when we left.

    A very nice breakfast with a full assortment of Spanish cheeses, hams, breads and rolls.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.8
    Historical building hotel with outdated rooms and average service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms, poor sound isolation (we have heard everything happening on the corridor and a room above), uncomfortable beds, average stuff service, room service did not speak English (finally hang the phone). I would not recommend this hotel.

    Historical building. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Camino paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely break on the Camino - the staff were very helpful and accommodating- we had a lovely room overlooking the fountain and garden Their house wine was incredible for value - grilled vegetables and clams with beans highly recommended Wonderful small restaurant across from parking lot - looks like a hole in the wall - o souto

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.0
    Centrally located characterful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is free parking for about 10 cars then you have to use the nearby public car park for €11.50 overnight.

    Characterful hotel right in the old town - can't beat the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Amazing building, beautiful and great central location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise, could hear absolutely everything in our bedroom. A couple of times during the night we thought someone was coming into our room. The drinks room was opposite our room and we heard every clink when they were filling the trolley. We could hear in detail ALL the happenings in the room above us, definitely did not need to that !!!!!

    Amazing building, beautiful and great central location, wonderful breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Hard to find but worth the hunt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little difficult to find because signage wasn't adequate or visible. The parking lot was tiny and when full a real challenge pull out or park.

    The staff were friendly and informative.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door didn't quite click shut!

    I love all the history of the Paradors, it's magnificence. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The coffee in the bar was delicious. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.9
    Great hotel for a stopover on your way to or from Galicia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some sort of party in the street directly outside our window - it was loud and lasted all night long.

    This was a great hotel with unique decor - gorgeous antique maps, tapestries and furniture. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Good location and hotel in Pontevedra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular but not as nice as other Parador hotels. Can get a little loud outside at night but not too bad.

    Good location in the heart of the historic district. Did not eat at the hotel restaurant so I cannot rate it but you are close to many other restaurants. Staff was friendly and the facilities worked without issue.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    5.8
    Disappointed in the Parador organization!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not certain if it was because I was a pilgrim on the camino and a solo traveller, but was assigned a small room on the mezzanine level which seemed to be a collectorfor the cigarette smoke of all the clients and staff. Stank of smoke all night. Kept me awake and with a headache! How can you bill your establishment as non-smoking, then have everyone on night duty sneaking smokes under my room?! At 110 euros per night in this part of the world, I expect a lot more!! So much for treating myself to a "luxe" evening off the trail! The desk clerk in the morning, when I explained my lousy experienced, basically just shrugged his shoulders and offered nothing!

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Don't ask them to do your laundry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 442 has lift alongside which vibrates through room. Asked for few items to be laundried and bill was 79 euros! Complaints have been totally ignored.

    Great hotel for a night of pampering on Camino walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Luxurious break from Camino Portuguese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi, not consistent or available in the room

    Beautiful building and furnishings in a perfect location. Our room looked out to the garden and was quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended for anyone needing a night of luxury while walking the Camino Portuguese

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    4.6
    THE LAST STAY IN A PARADOR,AVOID AT ALL COST.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAFF,HONESTLY LIKE ALL PARADORES THEY ACT LIKE GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES WITH NO INTREST IN SERVICE OR CLIENTS,ITS THE VERY LAST VISIT THAT WE WILL EVER DO TO A PARADOR. THE TERRACE IS CLOSED FOR BREAKFAST. THERE IS ONE SLOW LIFT FOR THE WHOLE HOTEL,THERE ARE NO STAIRS THAT TAKE YOU DOWN ALL THE WAY TO THE GROUND FLOOR. THE MENU IN THE RESTAURENT IS EXTREMELY SHORT. THE BEDS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE,ALL FITTINGS ARE WORN OUT,THE WATER IN THE SHOWER DOES NOT FLOW OUT. BREAKFAST VERY DISAPPOINTING.

    THE LOCATION OF THE HOTEL AND THE CITY ITSELF.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.8
    Central location in old Pontevedra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is parking for about 8 cars, on a first come basis. Otherwise it's necessary to park 1/4 to 1/2 mile away on the ring road by the river, or if that's full, in a payable underground car park about 1/4 mile away (approx 12 euros/day)

    Extremely convenient location for exploring the old part of Pontevedra. Excellent breakfast buffet included in the price we paid. Calm and comfortable. Near some good restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Everything g
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishes at 1100

    Everything g

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful setting and very comfortable and in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very friendly

    Beautiful setting and very comfortable and in a great location for Camino

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The service when checking into our property was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service when checking into our property was great. Our room was lovely and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Reception staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Location and being a historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small.

    Location and being a historical building. Nice bathroom amenities with two sinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Love to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peace and comfort of Hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive, but acceptable for hotel of its class

    Treat on the Camino Portugues, excellent reception and bar staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous large room & bathroom. Great location in old town. Lovely garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Attractive historic Parador for Camino hikers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some US or U.K. tV channels would be nice. No room heating on an unseasonably cold day

    Beautiful garden and comfy bed and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great location in heart of old town but a haven in gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in heart of old town but a haven in gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay in a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brerakfast was expensive

    Lovely big bedroom and bathroom, nice toiletries. Comfortable bed and friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    The buffet breakfast is fabulous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast is fabulous !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Reception were extremely accommodating.
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception were extremely accommodating. One in particular who’s name I can’t recall but had a slight Dutch accent. Thank you !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    It’s location, nice building, not overly expensive.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed in much nicer Parador hotels.

    It’s location, nice building, not overly expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luck of parking

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely old building close to the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please have butter at breakfast and not margarine.

    Lovely old building close to the river. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful, if not the best, place to stay in Pontevedra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The situation of the Parador is excellent. The rooms are large and the bathrooms fantastic. The breakfasts are delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice sleep, don't eat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel's restaurant is over priced and food is very boring. Don't eat there !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: