Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Puebla de Sanabria 4 stars

Avd. Lago de Sanabria, 18, 49300 Puebla de Sanabria, Spain

#4 of 13 hotels in Puebla de Sanabria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was far too expensive. The bar was like a budget hotel; very poor. Receptionist upset my wife by saying she thought we were leaving without paying and making a big fuss. I had stood waiting to pay but the receptionist was busy on the phone, she had seen me waiting, so I went out to pack my motorcycle until she was free.

    Male receptionist on arrival was efficient but not terribly friendly. The Parador, including the bedroom was very clean and well presented. We were allowed to park our motorcycles under cover by the front door which avoided frost on them in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly expensive compared to other properties we've stayed in with a similar rating and you don't even get a free botyle of water in your room

    Good size room and nice bathroom, nice location to old city with a good walk uphill

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spoke to the receptionist when I arrived in English, since I don't speak Spanish. She didn't understand so I tried French - and then Italian (I have A-levels in both.) She didn't understand those either! In a parador, I think that is poor. Next morning, a different receptionist spoke excellent English

    Very comfortable. Lovely view from bedroom. Friendly restaurant staff. Nice swimming pool. Easy walk into the little, historic town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was pathetic and only circulated the air, did not cool the room which got very hot in the afternoons and evening.

    Comfortable bed and room. Restaurant good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no complaints; everything was great.

    very comfortable, attractive accommodation with excellent, competent and friendly staff, in a pleasant setting net to an amazing village in a beautiful part of SPain.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pitty that not even 1 person in the restaurant spoke no other language than spanish. We could not order our meal and enjoy it. Also the front desk hardly spoke ENGLISH...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded when we arrived but the room was far too noisy from a heating generator outside of our window that stopped us from sleeping. We had to transfer to a quieter room after midnight....most unsatisfactory!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am biz travelling all over Europe. This was one of the best, if not the best place(s) ever in this category. Simply perfect and so much value for money. 12 score points of 10 from my side. Shining light in a cold winter night..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, well I think the car park might have been softer. Could hardly sleep. Bad back exacerbated. Shower was dangerous. Extremely slippery. No safety mat. The bar stank of fish. Drinks ordered were brought without bottle for identification. Wine that was brought was foul.

    Great setting;pity about the rest.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very light and airy, a huge room with a good view of the castle, an excellent dinner at 26 Euros and a good breakfast. Parking is plentiful. The old town across the river is well worth exploring. Although not an historic Parador we were impressed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Once all the sunbeds around the pool are taken there is literally nowhere to sit or even put down your towel on the grass.

    Breakfast was good, cleanliness of hotel was great, lunch/dinner enjoyable, location to town just right. Pool was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in a quiet location, close to town. The room was large, clean, had an excellent view of the castle. They have covered parking included in room rate...a plus in Spain! We totally enjoyed our night here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing really missing is protection against insects. The nights are nicely fresh so airco wouldn't be needed if there would just be mosquito screens. Oh and the beds were quite hard (also by Spanish standards).

    Great place to enjoy nature. Spacy room, quiet, Parador quality.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air con didn't work, well it did but blew hot air! We reported it however nothing was done to resolve. Had to sleep with windows open which proved to be very noisy The room was also very small in comparison to others available in the hotel which was cramped for a three night stay

    Friendly staff, very clean, the swimming pool and the location were great The view across the river to the castle and the old town was stunning

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Pulpo a la galleg type was extremely hard We shoul have sent it back.

    Guest rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a historic Parador. Rooms are not large but nice bathroom.

    Located close to the lovely Puebla de Sanabria

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    La cama supletoria no era comoda.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Estupendo hotel en un entorno inigualable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No connected rooms for family

    Nothing special

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was ideally located for walking into the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most spacious room or bed.

    Calm and quiet with lovely views.Easy walk into the historic town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catering

    The evening meal was dreadful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome, friendly staff, lovely food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Hotel with very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities. Very nice staff. Beautiful view from room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and very clean. Excellent breakfast in a gorgeous town. Loved it!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable modern hotel. Staff very helpful.Short walk to the castle and beautiful village.Flowers on every balcony.Quite breath taking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a bit dated, Food in restaurant was terrible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Las almohadas no son comodas

    Buffet libre espectacular

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool opens too late

    Personal and the installations!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Very nice room and bathroom. Beautifully kept and clean. Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The European showers take a little getting used to. Ask them how to control the hot water if you're not sure.

    It is a lovely, modern parador. Everyone was very friendly. The space is open, lots of nice windows. It is not the traditional, majestic Spanish parador type so you should want to be in a more contemporary space. It was wonderful for us.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not included in the rate so we ate elsewhere as it is rather expensive, as at other paradors (although always good).

    Lovely modern parador, large, comfortable bedroom and bathroom, great shower. Located just outside the main village, pleasant flat walk before climbing the hills in town. Excellent value at Booking.com rate.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A welcoming and wonderful town. The room was immaculate with views towards the hill top town,which was only a short walk away, we had a late lunch and dinner in the restaurant the menu was good. We parked our motorbike in the hotel car park. We were offered secure parking but the car park itself was just the job. The town itself had interesting places to visit including the castle. ,We managed to while away anow hour or so in the Cideria which gave us a taste of the local brew. All was good.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being picky the one of the lights in the bathroom was blinking on/off and housekeeping should have noticed. Room furniture a bit oldie worldie considering the hotel is furnished fairly modern throughout.

    Staff helpful.b room very spacious and very clean. Views over the castle and countryside are lovely. Huge bathroom. Plenty of wardrobe space with a safe and mini bar (although we didn't use). Room service was fine but the language barrier caused a mix up with our order but was soon rectified. Undercover parking is free. Free wifi in room.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast, whilst lovely, is super expensive! We chose to eat elsewhere most days for a few euro each.

    Lovely hotel, simple charms, lovely pool. Very quiet little place.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel had an outdoor swimming pool which was beautifully situated in the gardens and supervised being ideal for children. also there was plenty of free parking in the grounds of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great view of Castillo

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Everything was spotless, breakfast had a huge choice and the price was very cheap for what you got.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant hotel with friendly staff. Also convenient for visiting the lake area, which is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outsantingly friendly staff. Beautiful stone building, with modern and comfortable amenities. Suculent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely evening meal, very friendly and helpful staff. Good location, well placed for an easy walk to the citadel.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Couple

    Attitude

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Parador de Puebla de Sanabria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: