Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Tortosa 4 stars

Castillo de la Zud, s/n, 43500 Tortosa, Spain

#5 of 10 hotels in Tortosa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 955 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay recharged our batteries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful as I was in a wheelchair no problems with mobility. My friend and I where in need of a break And we certainly enjoyed our stay, now we are looking forward to a longer visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Superb location, beautiful surroundings, walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine list very poor & the food was ok, but not exciting - obviously people were voting with their feet as the dining room was almost empty.

    Superb location, beautiful surroundings, walking distance to the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location on journey North to France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location on journey North to France. Usual high standard of Parador. Benefit of dining choice; informal grill bar or dining room. Magnificent historic setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely hotel let down by the restaurant service and average food. Restaurant was closed on the second night of our stay to accommodate a wedding party!

    Superb location with amazing views over the river, town, Cathedral and surround area. Large well appointed room. General cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Great view from the balcony - the bar snacks are well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room

    Great view from the balcony - the bar snacks are well presented and tasty but my husband and I could have shared one as the portions are very generous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely building, but several frustrating interactions with staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing was ever straightforward or as easy as it should be... requests for a coffee resulted in getting sent backwards and forwards to different places, and I just gave up... any question at reception felt like we were the first ever guests to ask about this (and we weren't looking for anything particularly complicated!). The building is lovely, but these (quite a few) interactions with various staff meant we wouldn't stay here again.

    The building itself is very impressive and the rooms are lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice parador but busy carpark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, it was hard to find a parking lot. Maybe because it was a Saturday and there were many non-staying visitors to the parador. We noticed that there were a few covered lots that had a “reserved for customers” sign and wondered why we hadn’t been allocated one as requested in advance but told instead that reservation of parking lots wasn’t necessary. After we returned from dinner, the parking situation got even worse and we were directed to park on the lawn instead. The room aircon was barely cool even though we had set the thermostat low but fortunately, the weather was cool enough in May so we could open the door and window to help cool down the room. I can imagine that in the heat of summer, the aircon might not be very effective.

    We were pleased to get the quiet room with views that we had requested, not overlooking the crowded carpark or facing generator noise. Reception service was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant. Very limited selection. I also heard a repeating strange noise at about 6 a.m., like a horn...in the hotel corridor. Like a wake up signal. I had no problem with it as I was up anyway, but I would imagine someone who was hoping to sleep a bit later the 6.a.m. would have been upset.

    Location! Views! Interiors....abd exteriors too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the impressive dinning room

    Excellent location in old castle with great features. Bedroom and bathroom large and well updated, in keeping with its history. Great breakfast, only disappointment was the dinner on two occasions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice decor nice view but not visible from the terrace .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was poirly stocked and restaurant nice decor but limited wine list given the amazing area menu looked okay but the food v poor and generally bland which was strange as setting looks so nice and staff wheel plates out on trolley It would not take much to nake the restaurant so much better

    Nice decor nice view but not visible from the terrace . All reception staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful property and view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the prices exceeded the quality. For example dinner the dinner was decent but not worth the cost. The room was ok but not 100 euros worth.

    Beautiful property and view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    The Parador provides a good stopover on our long trip from France to Andalucia.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could provide a small toothpaste tube for forgetful guests, but even after asking at the desk, none was available. The temperature in the bedroom was VERY warm( 28C), but it was possible to turn it off. We didn't have breakfast, as we do not eat a lot in the morning, and the price ( 17 euros/person) is pretty stiff.

    The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom clean and roomy. The view over a small garden was nice. Dinner was good, very simple food in spite of the large names!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a spa and a gym, would be especially nice in winter.

    Dinner and breakfast really really good; lovely large room. Wonderful views and great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced breakfast's restaurant use for dinner if they have any other events in main restaurant ( which I suppose good).Don"t go there! Overpriced food, really bad taste! May be ok for breakfast.There are lot of nice bar and rests just out of castle.

    Nice view, helpful staff,large bathroom, coffee machine in the room( suite). Suggest to take a suit only here,as another standard room are small & a bit dark.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic Spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and great staff. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well. Rooms were very clean and well kept. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    A convenient and pretty place to stop on your way to Barcelona. Not a destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there on a holiday so everything in town was closed. We were disappointed not to be able to explore Tortosa. Restaurant food was not my favorite. Flavor and selection could be improved. Restaurant staff could have been more friendly. They all seemed tired and ready to go home.

    Front desk staff was very nice. Views and setting were beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant staff, rooms, location and a magical place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing see above

    The whole experience was fantastic. From the first meeting with (Manuel ?) at the reception who we found, charming and very professional, the restaurant staff, at dinner and breakfast we were made to feel special. What a wonderful hotel, don’t miss it is well worth a visit!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Apart from above extremely enjoyable, and could return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room price offered and accepted only to find a lower price later.

    bed very comfortable. Lack of direction signs ie restaurant and car park exit. No English news channels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    We have stayed here for the past 4 years and we absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed here for the past 4 years and we absolutely love Tortosa and the parador. it is our second home and anyone who has not visited I encourage them to do so.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Dinner at Castle Tortosa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in restaurant was very poor but expensive. Steak was tough, vegetables had strange taste. Restaurant was almost empty for dinner although car park was full, and breakfast next morning chaotic due to hotel full and insufficient staff to reset tables.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Our first staying in Tortosa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing except "strange" smells that were occasionally drifting around the outside of our room.

    Receptionists were helpful and kind, and more smiles surely make guests to feel more joyful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    A good place to break up a journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was a good setting but the food was a slight let down

    The parador was in a good location and easy to get to. there was ample free parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    A majestic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It’s a shame the breakfast was so exorbitant at 17 Euros - a little less and we might have been tempted. The wi-fi in the room could have been better since it kept dropping out. Be warned: it’s a steep climb back from the town!

    A typical historic Parador with a great panoramic views. The reception staff were very helpful and allocated us a good room with a mountain view. The pool was very welcome at the end of the day and parking was easy. As expected, the restaurant was “old school” but the traditional set menu was good value at 35 Euros each, since it included a decent bottle of wine and water and was more than we could eat. Tortosa is an interesting city and a good base to explore the area, but it’s a little “edgy” and generally lacking in restaurants (that are open!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay even if supper took an hour to order and as long to come!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh dear. Restaurant service was dreadful. They didn't seem to notice you. Spoke no English and understood no English ( I mean little phrases like hot/cold) And they got our order wrong twice The cooking was so so. Some of the other hotels in this group hav wonderful cuisine

    The actual parador is well adapted and has a stunning position above the town with wonderful views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was comfortable & spacious but poorly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'superior' room was on a level with and very near the swimming pool so other guests could see directly into the room. There was an outside staircase right next to the balcony so no privacy with other people passing with an a couple of feet of us. We were refused an iron and ironing board in the room. No central light switch control in room.

    Large room and bathroom. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    A nice place to stay but poor conditions to sleep well (anyway in the room we were in).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very unfortunately the room we were in was subject to noises (footsteps, talks, snoring,...) made by other guests and staff in the surrounding rooms and hall. The cost for the breakfast.

    The overall setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Service was slow, especially in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow, especially in restaurant. Maitre de just stood at the computer while the poor servers were racing around. He did not assist at all and seemed to loose overview, very different from our experience in other Paradors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful Parador and lovely room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast - we had to go up to the staff for ordering they did not approach us at all.

    The location was lovely and the old town very beautiful. There are many reminantd of Roman buildings too. The River Ebro is lovely and looking at the sunset from the castle was stunning with pipistrelles flying ( bats) . The food again was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    The room was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There arent enough vegetarian options for food. We lived on egg and potato! The swimming pool was so so SO cold (too cold to enjoy swimming in really)

    The room was wonderful. The castle was free to walk around. The swimming pool. The sangria

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    A first class location not to be missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add here.

    The staff were very helpful and easy to deal with. The views from our room were superb, looking toward the river and mountains. Splendid !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    Wonderful adventure to stay in such a historic yet comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself is exceptional; its history and restoration give a feeling of awe as well as comfort. Staff all friendly and eager to be helpful. Spoke good English at front desk. Wonderful pool for swimming/relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Quiet, comfortable, rustic and original with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though it was a nice breakfast, I felt the price of 17€ was very high and I have had better at half the price.

    good quality ingredients used at breakfast The superior rooms were well decorated, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Views from the balcony are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    The parador is nice, the room and bathrooms were very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant. Although the room itself is nice with stained glass windows and the medieval feel, the food is extremely disappointing especially considering the very high prices. We ordered a chocolate cake for desert which looked and tasted like it was bought in a supermarket. The main course (cod fish with vegetables) was dull at best. The wine was terrible. Everything was overpriced. We hoped to have a good meal and were very disappointed. The food at the bar is a bit better.

    The parador is nice, the room and bathrooms were very clean and of a good size. The staff is very friendly. Good pool, the breakfast is in a nice room and is quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.6
    The parador itself was okay but the breakfast and dinner were unimpressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were driving from the norther end and the road (55 km) was dreadful. Very narrow and slow trip in the heat. If that had been mentioned we would never have done the trip

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Standard level of quality, but fot the price not corresponding service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody in the restaurant could speak English (in 4 stars hotel!). We ordered draft beer and we have got glasses with bottled beer. In the morning we waited 15 minutes for coffee, one lazy man is not really enough for 40 breakfast guests. We would expect fresh bakery in the morning.

    Beautiful place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful Tortosa
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Neighborhood has changed since we were there a few years ago. Wasnt keen to walk around in the old town at night, main roads were fine.

    Lovely Parador, Views are stunning, lots of things to see within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late but still time for a lovely walk about the property and cold beer on the patio. The room had old charm with a great view from the balcony. A lovely spot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice, interesting and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small for the money. A family of four with teens needs two hotel rooms. Call ahead to ask for bed accommodations because we got two rooms with queen beds and needed to sleep kids with parents.

    Location is great for anstop over en route to Barcelona. Castle walls are lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a first time in Tortosa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The 'hot' food at breakfast (fried egg, bacon, sausages, black pudding) was always virtually cold. We did complain but nothing was done about it.

    The room was great, view from balcony wonderful, dinners excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Go for the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep walk down into town made going out in the evening less appealing and food was mediocre and expensive.

    Fabulous views, comfortable bed. Building itself is impressive and sympathetically converted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful location and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meals, including breakfast, were expensive. We opted to eat in town.

    A beautiful pool and hotel location, with great views and a lovely walk down into town. Nice balconies. Really cool walk back up the hill at night with the parador lit up.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Panoramic Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Brilliant views of the mountains but you have to ask for a room with a mountain view. Swimming pool fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff. I asked for a room change for the mountain view and I was accommodated without a problem. Also the building itself a former castle is fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.4
    Parador de Tortosa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff indifferent Quality of food served was very poor (sack the chef!) Hotel required refurbishment, grubby in places No restaurants within the town, only shops and bars

    Spectacular view from the hotel Good sized modern bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy until early hours with guest parking, could hear toilets flushing all night & horrendous sewage smell

    Nice hotel but overpriced. Friendly professional staff, comfy bed but no other frills & could do with a renovation. Did request & receive a balcony room which was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.8
    Excellent place and Castell that needs to improve maintenance to reach the standards of a 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were different insects visiting our room during our stay. First hundreds of ants were working in a wall to wall avenue across the room, and next day a magnific cockroach was walking in the bathroom. The pipes of the bathroom smelled bad.

    The location and space of the rooms are excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Superb location in an old castle overlooking Tortosa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of wood polish in the room. There is a lot of wood!

    Superb location in an old castle overlooking Tortosa. Comfortable, well equipped room. Great balcony with views over Tortosa and the mountains in the distance. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.0
    Sadly not what we would expect from a Paraformaldehyde.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Works to the property were being done with loud tile cutting noises from 8.30am to 8.30pm. No mention was made of this on booking.com or on their own website. The hotel itself and the rooms were very tired looking.

    The view from the room was magnificent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    A nice place with neither heart nor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is under construction so you must have some plans for it. The castle have many charming places that are not in use now and could make it very appealing. I understand that re-construction and reinforcement of the walls nesting those spaces might not be cheap, but it would add great uniqueness to this parador. Everything that has to do with food has "a lot of room for improvement" to say the least!. Prices are high but the quality of the food, how it is presented and how it is served is really poor. I paid €80+ for tapas for two while watching a soccer game on TV, that staff had no idea how to get to the channel... until a guest did it for them. In summary, the place has potential and there is nothing similar in the area but management needs to shake-up the place!!!

    Very poor buffet breakfast. Presentation was just "acceptable". Specially staff in the breakfast and in the bar/cafeteria had a poor attitude and no idea about the food options or service alternatives. Our perception is "we are here to serve you but we do not really care about you having a great experience here at this Parador". Staff at the reception desk more professional and attending... but without going the extra mile either! Just what it is in the contract. Sort of bureaucratic approach. No pride in making the guests feel really welcome. But we just stayed for two days and it might have been just bad luck. The place is beautiful with several spaces and business possibilities in my opinion

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Stunning castle hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor wasn't quite to my taste - quite Olde Worlde. But I suspect that was a choice meant to fit the architecture.

    You are staying in a Medieval castle - the architecture of the publuc areas is splendid. The views over the city from the ramparts are fantastic. Also - free parking!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.0
    Don't eat from the A la Carte restricted menu.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food quality at dinner was very poor, in fact disgusting, and the price higher than UK London prices!

    The location is great. Some of the staff really helpful. Our room was changed when the first one was too noisy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    6.3
    Impressive location, let down by tired building and facilities.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and building is looking very tired. There was a strange stale smell throught corridors and main bar lounge area. Had no water in bathroom in morning due to plumbing problem - tried brushing teeth and freshening up with small bottle of water from minibar. Had to wait nearly an hour for water delaying our departure so not happy. Did report it to reception but though apologetic they didn't offer anything else.

    The location is impressive and picturesque.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.4
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a musty smell about a lot of the place and the food was pretty ordinary - I was expecting something special.

    Reception staff were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Worth a detour for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was a little disappointing compared to other Paradors. The style is a little old fashioned ( blankets not duvets) but suits the building.

    We stayed 2 nights on route from Barcelona to Valencia and had a lovely big room with balcony and sofa area. The wifi worked well. It was very peaceful. The pool was too cold to swim in October but had great views. We managed to walk to see pretty much all the sights in a leisurely day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.6
    A very tired parador...,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parAdor was very tired. The river stunk. Not a lot to do in Tortosa... But a very interesting cathedral.

    It was s beautiful old castle... A romantic setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our 1 nights stay & would certainly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought our choice on menu was a little disappointing for the price but service & surroundings were excellent

    Everything about our stay was excellent apart from our meal in evening

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Worth the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning lady for our room wasn't very good. She left the towels on top of the bidet once. She also kept forgetting to place two pillows on the bed. I have no idea where the other one went.

    Definitely value for money. The views alone from the Parador are probably the best you can get in that area. The reception staff are also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    I'd go back in a hearbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing!

    Superb location, great views, loved the swimming pool and seating area outside the bar in particular! Guess where I spent my time!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful experience overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service in the bar was a bit slow. Also, the lights in the restaurant were very bright; it almost looked like a cafeteria. If the lights were dimmed slightly, it would have had more ambiance. Nonetheless the food was very good.

    It had amazing views and excellent food at the restaurant. It was a beautiful drive from Tortosa to Alcaniz for the MotoGP race.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.0
    Reception was friendly but didn't use any other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was expensive and ordinary. It was very formal and waiters weren't very friendly.

    Reception was friendly but didn't use any other facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Great views, friendly helpful staff in this comfortable traditional Spanish parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues though the town of Tortosa is a little rundown it has a lot of history.

    Friendly staff, traditional Spanish style hotel. Good base for walking in els ports mountain or for visiting Elbre delta.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice terasse and very nice waiter (lady), the food though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to bathroom could not close. Breakfast way to expensive. Difficult to find and once you got there almost imposible to take a walk back into town due to streetwork.

    Nice terasse and very nice waiter (lady), the food though nothing speciel and expensive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    most upmarket hotel i've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    niggle- should write on the notice the no food available in the cafeteria outside meal hours

    everything was effortless- easy parking, friendly helpful staff, half board, good wifi, in a castle!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.4
    Great pool & views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged my card in the wrong currency & flatly refused to correct it costing me a very unnecessary extra €20+ NOT HAPPY Property ready for refurbishment

    Great pool & views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.5
    Templars Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climb back up hill after meal & drinks is daunting but managed both nights. Meals are expensive because they almost have a captive audience. Even breakfast is over 16€ each.

    Fantastic viewing location but...obviously is castle on top of a hill. Big climb if walking back but rooms are spacious and quaint with balcony. Pool is nice relaxing & quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Stunning location great facilities and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location , spacious rooms . Beautiful pool. Ate at the restaurant and one of the best meals we had in Spain . Al staff very friendly from the check in lady, room cleaning staff and restaurant staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was a little limited for none fish eating clientele but what we had was fab.

    A stop off on the way to southern Spain. Lovely old castle with stunning views from both sides of the hotel and was very cool and calm. Would go back for a few days as was a lovely town looked interesting.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant easy place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views, great pool, enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Tortosa hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room with balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle and drinks facility in the room.

    Spacious room with balcony. Plenty of choice for breakfast and a delicious evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Romantic place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city

    Amazing view, the swimming pool and the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Good swimming pool, excellent location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was disappointing

    Good swimming pool, excellent location and views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Very relaxing in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable rooms with fabulous views. Easy to walk into Tortosa . Spectacular views of the River Ebro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything it was as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything it was as advertised

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Parador experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful Parador castle on a hill. Great experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds. Very peaceful. Great swimm8ng pool but vold

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: