Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Tui 4 stars

Avenida Portugal, s/n, 36700 Tui, Spain

#13 of 17 hotels in Tui

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    Grant old property sitting on top of a rise with great views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really poor Wifi, massively overpriced breakfast, poor / expensive choices for lunch and dinner. Empty large dining room. More authentic dining experiences are plentiful in Tui. An expensive hotel trading on faded past glories.

    Grant old property sitting on top of a rise with great views of the cathedral

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for Airport Hotel stop over on the way to Porto Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more convivial bar area.

    Really enjoyed the view from the restaurant over the old town and the meal,fillets of pork was most enjoyable together with an exteremly nice bottle of wine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Good stopover hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the end of a very hot day we would have liked to have a swim in the pool. But to get to the pool you had to go down many, many stairs. That was just too much for us, senior travellers!

    This a good place for a stopover when you travel from Portugal to Galicia. Nice quiet location close to the river, with at night a lovely view of the old city on the hill. Our room and bathroom were like most rooms in the paradores, on the small side, dark furniture, small windows, but a comfortable bed for the night. We had a nice meal in the restaurant, and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Great accommodation, breakfast and most staff. Terrace food options disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace menu was limited and poor value for money. We could have went to the local supermarket and bought bread, Ham & Cheese and made a much better bocadillo for all our group for the price of one at the hotel...a wider range would have been better too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff who know how to accommodate pilgrims.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with the accommodations and staff.

    Lovely staff who know how to accommodate pilgrims. Well situated between Tui and Valenca. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    If you want to be able to say you stayed at a Parador then this place is for you!
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very pricy and didn’t have much of a selection. The eggs, sausage and bacon were cold! The history of the parador was interesting but was not worth the money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Don’t recommend to stay here, try one of the hotels in Tui centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of Tui. The building wasn’t special like a lot of the other Paradors. They had charged my credit card 3 days before our stay rather than allowing us to pay on arrival.

    Nothing in particular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast needed a little more variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Knowledgable staff esp. local resources.

    Breakfast needed a little more variety. But otherwise the sunny side up eggs were excellent, as were the choices of jamon! Good coffee too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Rather disappointed in misinformation and lack lustre Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We researched this hotel to determine if we could play tennis there and found that they listed a tennis court! We drove up from Porto a bit early so we could have a tennis match.....only to be told they haven't had a tennis court for 10 years. I showed them their own website that listed a tennis court and swimming pool. They apologized but said they could not help us. I wanted a discount on the room rate because of this but they could not help me and referred me to head office. I was very excited about making the booking at my first Parador but I must say I was disappointed in both the misinformation about tennis as well in general with the hotel - nothing wrong with it but nothing special either (not what I had expected at a Parador).

    Nice setting and exterior building near an interesting town. Staff was courteous even when I had a complaint doubt something.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Fine town to visit. Bonus walk into Portugal. Look out bed/bath windows & see river and Portugal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    overall value could have been better. Dinner was good, but not great.

    Tui is a great town to walk around. Beautiful buildings and squares. Free public tour daily. Parador overlooks river, and was built to mimic a local manse. Pleasant but not spectacular. Good place for kids or others who like to run around. Big, big expanse of grass. Big outdoor pool. Loved the walk along the river promenade. We walked into Valenca, Portugal. Ruins of a great fortification. Colorful shops for tourists selling all manner of linens, fabrics, towels, etc. Had a delightful lunch in picturesque square. Fun to visit another country by simply walking across a bridge! Hotel had great parking on site, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Classic comfort with cheerful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring your phrase book for the waiting staff - but it's all part of the charm and not really a negative.

    Lovely friendly staff interested in their customers and happy to provide information .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was exceptionally welcome after a long trek on the Camino. Wonderfully generous gin and tonics too! Breakfast was a feast. A treat to stay for one night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Parador in a quiet and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with wonderful views of Tui and the river. Friendly staff ,good size room and modern bathroom ,good breakfast buffet. An attractive Parador.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing Parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No working air conditioning.

    An unusually hot few days in June struck this part of Portugal/Spain. We were looking for a break in the Parador, but the air conditioning was not working. Even after moving rooms, we were pretty uncomfortable. The property is as usual with Paradors amazing. For those walking the Caminho Portuguese, however, dinner does not start until late and breakfast until 8AM. In both instances we needed to get up and get on the trail early, so no breakfast: and dinner was out because we needed to get to sleep. There is not much around this location, so think twice about booking here if you are pilgrims.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was expensive for local standards.

    The location is perfect. Its about 20-30 minutes walk to Tui old town and the same time to Valenca in Portugal. The room itself was big and clean. Nice food in the restaurant - bit more expensive then elsewhere in Tui. I found the service very friendly with very good level of English. I didn't use the swimming pool, so I cant really judge this one.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.4
    Go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didnot work properly ,don't book in the summer! Unfriendly staff in reception, totally disinterested Go somewhere in the old town for half the price. Don't bother booking here!

    Clean comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel, but let down by everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible, a poor mix of different foods. Luke warm meats, no eggs. Sorry, one egg. Smokers outside on ground level meant we had to keep the windows closed.

    The hotel in itself is very nice, quite upmarket.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.3
    Spend your money elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good but the hotel for a parador was disappointing The dining room was ordinary with little ambiance We made the mistake of booking the half board thinking the dinner would be special - it was not- they were very rigid in applying the rules and unfortunately could not cancel The bedding was lovely as was the view The room was quite small for a superior room For the cost it was not special

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the bottom end of the price range and had a ground floor room which was very dark and had very small and high up windows. The bathroom tiles adjacent to the bath were very badly split with wide open cracks

    As with all Paradores very professionally presented and run. In a beautiful building in a leafy part on the edge of town. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    Location and room size
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was absolutely terrible. Pricey for the value received. Feel breakfast should have been included in price

    Location and room size

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    Great place to finish or start the Camino Portuguese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor air-conditioning and wifi

    Fantastic views on terrace Great place to relax after Camino Portuguese Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    perfect - old dashioned charm & comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very comfortable bed/pillows. excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facility in rooms.

    Everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Tranquilo y confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La tranquilidad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Our bit of luxury on camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t dislike anything

    Position excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Las habitaciones estaban frias en pleno mes de abril.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Las habitaciones estaban frias en pleno mes de abril.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel on the Camino route
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms. Classic interior. Very good view, especially from the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    8.30 dinner too late for my liking

    Building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Staff attention
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature trends to be cold

    Staff attention

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like

    The location and views were very good. Evening meal excellent. Nice walks along the river

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and pleasant greeting, good conversations with the people involved; beautiful place, very well maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soulless place

    Room size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Excelente begining to the Camiño Camiño
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location ,staff...value... everything!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Souless hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing apart from the views. I wish we had stayed in the town. Better hotels and less money.

    The view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel itself lacked character; pool area looked neglected though pool itself lovely.

    Location by the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Underwhelmed at the Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced food and drinks. Average beds. You can't just put extra shampoo in a bathroom and call it 4 star.

    Staff great. Pool excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Stunning location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints !

    Beautiful room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Pool was closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed. Food was limited. No real bar. Far from center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful property but expected for a Parador. Room had odor of cigarettes. requested non smoking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow ended up in a smoking room. Not a pleasant smell. Not that close to center of Tui

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    3.3
    Nie wieder
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over 30 degrees outside, pool closed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly restaurant and bar staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow, poor wifi. Front desk staff hurried and did not explain the amenities.

    Very friendly restaurant and bar staff. Very good food. Comfortable very nice room.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful building and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ground floor room facing the inner courtyard so couldn't take advantage of the beautiful views. Also the windows in the room were high up on the wall and very small, making the room very dark.

    Beautiful building and views

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Lovely building with good sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just a minor issue regarding the soundproofing between rooms.

    Lovely building with good sized rooms. Mine was on the ground floor and had it's own little grass patio with a table and 2 chairs. Great views from the front of the hotel overlooking the Minho River and Valanca. Dining room service and food was good as well.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Lovely historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact there was a large party in the hotel and we were kept awake half the night. We were disappointed. We wrote to the manager and to date have not received a reply. Very bad manners!

    Lovely historic building. Delightful town.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Great location on the "Camino de Santiago" just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Minor issue - soundproofing between rooms not the greatest.

    Great location on the "Camino de Santiago" just a short walk to the cathedrale and Tui centro. Staff were super helpful in printing documents I needed to sign and e-mailing them out for me. Rooms on ground floor have private little grassed sitting areas with patio furniture. Nice place to read, relax and enjoy the fresh air. Great views over the River Minho and back to the fortress at Valenca.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    - Nice view on the old centre of Tui, on the river and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine. Don't go to Valanca on the opposite site of the border: it is a tourist trap.

    - Nice view on the old centre of Tui, on the river and Portugal border (Valanca). - recently renovated swimming pool. - restaurant was also nice (with good price balance for a Parador) - Tui appeared to be a pleasant old town (though small)

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our air conditioner wasn't working well. Slept with the windows open.

    Very comfortable bed. Dinner was very tasty and the view from the terrace was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Service and facilities not up to usual Parador standard.

    Nice location. Room and bathroom lovely.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    8.3
    Chosen for location giving easy access to the Camino de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Chosen for location giving easy access to the Camino de Santiago.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.5
    Nice lounge downstairs .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small rooms, noisy the night we stayed, poor wifi reception, a good walk into town

    Nice lounge downstairs . Rooms very clean

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    6.7
    Great view of the river from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel had a water leak problem, so the staff shut of one of the main rooms. The staff seemed poorly trained.

    Great view of the river from the room

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Wifi not working in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not working in room

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful setting overlooking river on outskirts of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful setting overlooking river on outskirts of city.Quiet location.within walking distance to Tui and over the bridge in to Portugal

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Swimming pool good but water quite do with being a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool good but water quite do with being a bit hotter.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    7.9
    The food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food in the restaurant. The reception staff were very helpful. The view to the old city of Tui. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    8.8
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic and minimally appointed common areas in particular the salon.

    Helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely hotel with friendly staff. A good welcome to Spain from Portugal.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    5.8
    Convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed, wifi not working, heating not working

    Convenience

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: