Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Jaén 4 stars

Castillo Santa Catalina, s/n, 23001 Jaén, Spain

Review score

Based on 758 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    The Paradors in Spain are a treasure for travelers, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Paradors in Spain are a treasure for travelers, and the Parador in Jaen is no exception. It sits at the top of a hill, offering sweeping views of the city and countryside. Although the ride into the city center for sightseeing is long, staying at the parador was worth the extra hassle. Our room was lovely. The meals (dinner and breakfast) were delicious. The service was superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, glad we caught this place before they close for renovations and would do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Missed having a kettle in the room for tea -Would have liked a more innovative menu, including tasty vegetarian options, especially hot (temperature) food for mains both in the dining room and in the bar.

    -Excellent property (it used to be a convent) in a great location right on top of the hill and next to the castle, although a bit tired. Lovely room and bathroom, although we missed having a kettle and tea making in the room. -Breakfast was fantastic value. A huge spread in the beautiful dining room. -Dinner was a bit disappointing, as there were almost no vegetarian options, and while they managed to make tasty starters, the mains were underwhelming. However, the sumptuous decor, excellent wine, bread, olive oil, cheese, dessert and attentive staff made for a special evening! Lovely pool - perfect for cooling off on a hot day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This exceeded our expectations

    Magnificently restored castle with great views. Big swimming pool with lovely gardens and a very good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Amazing location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in main restaurant poor and expensive Limited options for food in the bar or anywhere else in the hotel Limited drinks (a few cans available around the pool area ) Pool only opened at 11 am When asked for a late check out when the hotel was almost empty was told could only do it if We took lunch in the hotel , when there was a sign in the lift advertising late check out for 25 euros Power cut in the night on our corridor . Had to find our way round with a torch. Only sorted in the morning Stayed in the parador in Córdoba which was slightly better but staff there rude and abrupt Always wanted to visit the paradores in Spain but have no desire to visit any others

    Amazing location . Beautiful building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Magical experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too small for a couple and the access to the rooms was difficult without help with the luggage since there was no big elevator and we had to carry the luggage for few steps until we get to elevator.

    Looked like it's a part of the castle with a great view, our room had a balcony, the restaurant is nice we had dinner and breakfast. Free parking :).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    A fantastic Parador with amazing g walks , food and accommodation and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all excellent

    Perfect peaceful location - lovely walks around Parador at night to see it all illuminated. Will. Retail you re is it this place .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous castle with splendid views and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jaen is not an interesting town! Food choice was between a big dinner or a bar snack of toasted sandwiches, had the bar snack - which turned out to be large - but a broader choice would have been better.

    It is an old castle on the top of a hill with fantastic views. Bedrooms spacious and with air conditioning and balconies. Good pool and lovely grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is stunning, and sittning on the balcony was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition was almost meaningsless, made a lot of nosie but no real difference in temperature

    The location is stunning, and sittning on the balcony was like being in an eagles nest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Live like a prince on a pauper’s budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is formal and service is curt and not smooth. There were just two of us and the waiter couldn’t figure out who ordered what for each of the three courses and implied it was our fault, not his! We laughed off the un professionalism and snotty attitude. It’s difficult to get a cup of coffee in the morning.

    For a pittance you can stay in this dramatic castle with panoramic views and a wonderful pool. Excellent value! You won’t want to leave!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Medieval ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dinner at the hotel's restaurant, not worth the exaggerated price

    location with a great view, breakfast in a huge hall, spacious bedroom, 2 bathroom sinks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It simply does not get better than this. Luxury hotel located on the mountain top with a fantastic view. All rooms inside a medieval fortress/castle. Top restaurant. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Well worth the drive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was beautiful. We spend a great deal of time on our balcony, taking in the beautiful view. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the fact you could stare out the window while taking a shower! The little things like the bottle of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and lotion were greatly appreciated. The buffet breakfast was worth its value. But the best, and most surprising part was the walk down to the pool and the view from there! The water was perfect and the grounds very well maintained. We would have stayed there another day if we could have!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Truly an amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tables were not cleared when people left the bar so had to clear ourselves to be able to sit and enjoy after dinner drinks.The problem was not the staff themselves who are great,just not enough of them

    The building and location along with the views were truly amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    It's an amazing location and well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening dinner was not to our taste espcailly the first courses which are far too large. The dinner menu needs to be better balanced to accomadate international travellers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great experience, would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were booked in for a 20:30 dinner reservation and didn't receive our one course until 22:00.

    Lovely castle and professional staff. the facility rooms were extraordinary and very interesting. the sights and photo opportunities are great. The selection of olive oils make great gifts. The food and house wine was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The pool was gorgeous and it's location was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just wished the pool had been open earlier and stayed open later. Also more outdoor seating at the rear would have been nice.2

    The pool was gorgeous and it's location was spectacular. Loved the medieval features in the castle. The walk to the cross was lovely especially at dusk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Soak up the history as you drive up to castle, get a taste of local life when you walk down to town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very loud generator noise near our bedroom terrace. I was worried it would disturb us, however it was only on for short period of time and not at night, thankfully.

    Castle stay with stunning views. Walk down to town for taste of local culture. It’s very Spanish. Castle reception areas are a treat to relax in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Amazing views and easy access to visit the castle next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers on next door balcony. I thought the dinner wasn’t worth the price.

    Amazing views and easy access to visit the castle next door. Shame the pool wasn’t open when we stayed. Nice room and loved the deck. Staff were very friendly. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, views, people, food, and history = :D but the bed = :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    God awful hard bed.

    Mountaintop = amazing views. The castle is next door, the property itself seems historic and takes you back in time in good ways. The balcony was a true delight, and the food was good to excellent. Hiking the mountain is very feasible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and the staff at reception where friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant meal way very poor. No care or attention to detail in preparation. It was returned to the kitchen largely untouched. The waiter was poor as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and great view, free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is much more expensive than in a restaurant in this area, but it is served in a very nice room. Since it takes like 15-20 minutes to get to town with the car and there are no options closeby, we ended up having dinner and breakfast there for convenience, so you should plan in more money for food than in other places.

    Great location and great view, free parking. This is a special place to stay on top of a hill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room we were given was very large but the balcony was above the kitchens with constant noise of the extractors & then cooking smells, so we asked to be moved to another room, which was a bit smaller, but still a generous size & had lovely mountain views & a good balcony. We'd booked hoping to have 3 days of peace & quiet & relaxation but there was NEVER any peace, despite signs in all the corridors requesting silence. The nature of the building meant that any noise echoed & the staff, although pleasant, couldn't do their work without making a noise. As it was so noisy in our room, we tried to sit quietly in the lounge upstairs but there was constant traffic of laundry & cleaning trolleys & things being dragged up the 6/8 steps which weren't served by the lift. A separate service lift at the restaurant end of the building & more carpeting throughout would be a big help. VERY uncomfortable beds. A lot of flies in the outdoor areas. Breakfast wasn't fabulous, things running out despite another hour & a half of service, & no marmalade for 2 days!! Whilst having breakfast in an impressive room, there were groups of tourists (non resident) coming in to look around & the kitchen staff were transporting supplies across the terrace by the windows. Not good value for 20Euros each! Restaurant food for dinner was not the gourmet experience we'd expected & they claimed. It is the custom to dine late in Spain & the restaurant did not open until 8.30pm. This does not suit us & after nearly 3 weeks in the country we were hoping to have at least one evening eating earlier so we decided to use Room Service.

    Fabulous location. Rooms are large with big terrace/balconies & stunning views when not in cloud! Attractive public rooms. Very good linen & towels. Nice large bathrooms despite tired décor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a difficult time making our reservation from Rota. No answer th the phone and couldn't connect otherwise. We called other Paradors. Same problem. Time was short for us. We called Alarcon and a wonderful lady at the reception offered to be sure that we would have a room when we arrived. She said she would email Jaen. When we arrived we found she had indeed done so. Thank her. First time we stayed at Alarcon was in the 60's. Alarcon is always a pleasure. We were disappointed that we couldn't talk with Jaen and couldn't use our Golden years offer. The price was high. Patricia Hill

    We are fascinated with Spanish history. and Jaen is a delight for us. We will be eager to see it again after next year's building project. What are the Genius perks?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular location, view, being able to walk around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the service in the restaurant was slow - there were 50 clients and only 4 staff however the meal was excellent although took over two hours to complete - the staff worked so hard to try and keep everybody happy but struggled from the outset with a couple of large parties

    Spectacular location, view, being able to walk around the castle

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Stunning building in stunning location. Clean, beautiful, comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find. Typically poor signage.

    Location! Perched on top of crag a couple miles outside city. Forever views of city and landscape. Beautiful public rooms. Big private terrace. We had dinner on it one evening (bought ingredients in town). Delightful. Take a taxi into town for sightseeing. 8 euros one way and 10 euros back. Well worth it to avoid twisty streets and very difficult parking. Parking at parador easy and free. Don’t miss the walk to the very edge of castle. Special place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    If you want to stay in a castle on a hill, this is for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with modernising. The bathroom fittings were rather dated and the shower was a bit feeble.

    A unique property in an extraordinary location. Helpful service. The room was small but the view was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall: Stay here if you want a fantastic castle experience and have a car (and an external battery
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is exactly what it looks like: an ancient castle, with decor and ambience to match. I loved wandering around the castle by night (didn't have time to do so before I left the next morning). Very kind staff. MAJOR note: The power in the restaurant, then in the rest of the castle, was mostly out from 9 p.m.-ish until the next morning, likely due to the wind and some rain. This added to the castle experience--but was a little nerve-wracking when I had to finish planning my route the next day, and my cell phone battery--and my backup battery--were running low... Two slight cons to anticipate: The furnishings are quite clean, but felt one notch away from shabby. However, I believe they're looking into doing some renovations? And of course, the castle is quite far away from the city center, and other areas to explore. If you're renting a car, this is less of a problem. Among other perks, the castle offered one of the best breakfast buffets I had in Spain--very good quality, with plenty of options for a vegetarian.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel just a bit disorganised in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay with the set menu's. Don't do 'a la carte'. The staff try and serve 50 people all at once and the 'a la carte' customers may have to wait up to an hour for their meal.

    The décor and position of the hotel is fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Was also here 8 years ago. Are not coming back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roms in serious need for an update. Dangerous electric heating with loose wires in bathroom. Restaurant also in need for an update. Room as well as food.

    Stunning location and building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely building, very nice views from the balcony, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what you get, especially at dinner, the dishes were very good but very small portions, I thought the dinner would be buffet when I booked half board. The cylindrical pillow is not comfortable.

    Lovely building, very nice views from the balcony, fantastic wifi connection speed, amazing breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, luxury, history, food with breathtaking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night check in receptionist man less than welcoming, enthusiastic, and down right a frown face.

    If on top of appreciating good old luxury, you are a history and culture enthusiast like my wife and I, then you'd enjoy staying at Paradores (and this location is no different). Great authentic wholesome food at their own restaurant too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Stay in a true castle, with a wonderful view as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was fabulous driving into Jaen from Madrid; it was dusk and we could see the lights of the castle high up above the town. Parking is easy right out the front. Choose this hotel to experience staying in a true castle/fort. Fabulous views, I think from all the rooms regardless of room type, and from the terrace off the dining area. Enjoy the lounge area furnished with traditional chairs, armory etc, perfect for the castle experience. Make sure you do the walk outside Castillo de Santa Catalina adjoining the Parador (to your right when exiting the front reception) and enjoy the amazing views down to the town of Jaena and it's cathedral. Walk to the large cross and back, about 10-15 min.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Spectacular location, but no spectacular service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night of our stay there was a big wedding party and most common rooms such as the bar were closed for the guests. The hotel did not make any effort to explain or compensate this to the guests with a special offer. To our surprise there was no noice nuisance due to the event.

    The location and the fact that the rooms have a small terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    The location of the Hotel is simply stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the Hotel is simply stunning. Like in other Paradores the quality of the service and food was excellent; however I would have preferred more emphasis in local cooking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    A good one off experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for Wifi information, room was 'tired' paintwork tatty, marble in bathroom chipped, bathroom door lock broken, very little info re access to town.

    The views, the restaurant experience, the public areas, the extra pillow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall a great experience despite the odd moan and we would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was interesting and lead onto a large balcony with great views. However we found the bed to be a little too hard for our liking which made for an uncomfortable night. Whilst the dining room was spectacular the food we found was not to our taste. However the wine was excellent and very reasonably priced.

    The property is in a fantastic location on top of a hill with views for miles around. It is just like staying in a medieval castle and is in fact next to a real castle. The public rooms are large in every respect with incredibly high ceilings and enormous fire places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Best location ever! Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older male staff at reception very grumpy and rude. Young male was very friendly. Put people on reception that smile and perhaps females who are better suited. The hotel corridors smelt like sewerage- seriously awful smell! Hotel getting a bit jaded. But the location makes up for it all!

    Incredible location on top of a mountain next to a huge old castle you can tour through. Seriously no better location exists! One of the best Paradors! Room just simply amazing balcony with best views ever!! Huge bathroom. Didnt want to leave!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    fabulous, a bit far out though to walk anywhere, except around the Castle walls which was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once again, even though we were first into breakfast at 7am for an early departure, when the chef brought out the cooked options it was still only luke warm, also as for all the paradors for the amount of money you spend, we would very much appreciate tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Once again stunning views, fabulous character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Go back in time in affordable luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool is only open from June to September, but in October when we were there, the temperature hovered around 30 + degrees. I had no idea the pool would be closed. It is in the best interest of the hotel to keep it open longer, as the setting is just fantastic:)

    The service was impeccable, truly. And our view was fantastic. The food in the restaurant was extraordinary, the decor was just amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    Stunning situation and food seems to have improved, though rooms getting a little "tired".
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms getting old, tired and "tatty". Air conditioning didn't work - kept heating the room. Radiators permanently on despite hot weather. Bar staff a bit grumpy. Upgraded room (although had balcony) seemed to be smaller and less well furnished than standard room. Expensive (but you are paying for the views).

    Stunning views. Comfortable hotel and , at last, a decent meal there despite previous visit and awful reviews.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    A great example of what a Parador hotel can offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was amazing and access to the castle added to the experience. If you are interested in the history of Spain then this is for you. A hidden gem!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful location, reflected in the price but the overall staff input badly let down by reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly for a Parador we had very disinterested receptionists at both check in and check out - no attempt to engage with us and no enquiry at checkout as to whether we had enjoyed our stay. Check in took 15 minutes - we were the only people checking in at 8.00 pm - male receptionist made no attempt to even speak with us and was only interested in completing his paperwork. So different to our warm welcome at the Cuenca Parador. Would have enjoyed the restaurant experience more had there been more than two medio racion options on the menu (as per Cuenca Parador which enabled us to try more dishes) - however the Maitre ‘d was very accommodating in providing a para llevar facility for our ternera and very knowledgeable and informative about the local wines and digestif Resoli.

    The view from our room was exceptional - we had a beautiful terrace overlooking the mountains to the rear. The architectural features of the bar area and dining room were stunning. Bar staff were very helpful and accommodating. The local liquer/digestif called Resoli was a real find - not for the faint hearted!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    A very relaxing stay for a recharge during a long holiday travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restaurant were very rushed and meals took a little longer then expected. The weather out side was so beautiful it would have been nice to have the ability to dine outside and enjoy the view.

    Beautiful hotel. Great location on the hill with amazing views all around the valley. We were very fortunate to watch the sun rise in the east as the full moon was also setting in the west. (Very cool experience) Restaurant was good for lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Property location is on top of the mountain almost attached...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property location is on top of the mountain almost attached to a castle. so the view from the rooms is amazing ! the hotel however had a major AC problem when we were there and did not have a comfortable sleep. The rooms have older antique style to them but are not on the luxurious side. had to change rooms due to seweg smell in one of the rooms. I would recommend the terrace room for sure over the room with the window. Staff were very cooperative and accommodating. You need a car to to get to downtown area as the hotel is on top of the mountain. but the high location is worth the drive,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    A fantastic place to visit. There will surely be more wisit to the Spanish paradores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner portions was small and it could be a little more on the plates :-)

    Were comfortable rooms with great views. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Will definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are older however you are sleeping in a castle.

    The service was amazing. I don't think I've ever had such an incredible service. Everyone was accommodating, willing to help, genuinely happy we were there. We had a number of family members arrive a on different days and everyone had the same experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite dated and the bed was a little on the firm side.

    Have the breakfast - it was delicious - its making me hungry just thinking about it! Make sure you have a swim - the pool is excellent. And enjoy the stunning views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ate dinner at the restaurant onsite. Extremely expensive food that was not worth it. In fact, most of it was absolutely awful and we did not eat our meals. There was one good dessert but the other dessert again was not eaten. I cant even remember what we had to say to avoid. Service was great in the restaurant. Check-in desk was okay,not as friendly as all the places we stayed after more than a month in Spain.

    The pool was wonderful. Large great for lap swimming and play with kids. Loved the showers you step through to get into the pool. Running around the castle outside at night with the kids was wonderful. I t was well lit but also dark enough to feel mysterious and the views were worth it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    The setting is really wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant on site has mediocre food and poor service. Only other option would be to drive a long way to town. Pool hours were limited.

    The setting is really wonderful. Kids really loved staying in a "real" castle. The pool was important in the extreme heat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location, nice pool and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the dinner with the accommodation, for the price and what we paid in Jaen itself it was relatively expensive and unimpressive. The wine was also served way too warm, stay for accommodation and eat in the city (Panaceite is recommendable).

    Great location, nice pool and great views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    fabulous location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jaen is a rather dismal town. Nothing to see unless you are into cathedrals. just stay in the Parador

    fabulous location and views. great restaurant. super comfortable bed. wonderful swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    This Parador should not be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked on line the evening meal menu was a little limited and was the same for both evening meals

    Everyone was very helpful and the setting for the parador was amazing with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. As for the parador it was very very impressive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Parador de Jaen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main reason for visiting this hotel was to use the swimming pool after 8 days of travelling. It was 32 degrees and the pool was closed. The Manager refused to discuss or apologise for this. He said the pool didn't open until the 'summer'. Why make the pool a selling point on the hotel information when it is closed even in the hottest weather? We really were very disappointed. Every picture of the Parador de Jaen shows the swimming pool.

    The castle hotel was excellent, it felt very grand. There was a magnificent baronial feel to the public areas. Our bedroom had its own balcony and we had very good views of the town and the mountains. There is an excellent restaurant which serves a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location & staff awful food & restaurant service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served in the restaurant is truly awful. The egg in the eggs florentine was barely cooked & was presented in a bowl full of cool wet sloppy spinach. The knuckle of pork was equally bad. It is not enough to be a two star Michelin chef, you have to serve food people can eat. We were there over an hour having booked a table & left hungry. We skipped breakfast figuring they could make a mess of that to.

    This hotel is in an exceptionally beautiful position & is one of the best castle hotels in Europe. The staff are charming, polite & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Didn't get what we paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was expensive. The wifi was not good. When I booked. We booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child for a bigger room. When arrived our room only had 2 singles. When we paid breakfast for a child we didn't bring and I asked the guy just shrugged shoulders and smiled.

    The views were spectacular. The hotel had so much character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    one night stop to view Jaen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking tricky as it was very crowded with castle visitors. Restaurant as slow and food not brilliant but Jaen is a long way down into town.

    location and views were terrific. Rooms were nice and overall it was pretty pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Mixed bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs re-vamping,outdated & some cracks on walls & ceiling. No ensuite kettle/tea/coffee facilities. Pool is not available for use until June.

    Beautiful views. Peaceful/ quiet location. Communal indoor areas were excellent & decorated to give the feeling of being in a castle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Spectacular property, 1930's luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service in the bar was poor. One night we were waiting 20 minutes to be served before we left.

    Spectacular property, 1930's luxury. Meals very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not welcoming on arrival. Staff seemed understaffed and stressed at busy times in bar. Suggest self service tea coffee facilities in lounge areas as difficult to obtain out of restaurant hours.

    Views spectacular, rooms were beautiful and well furnished.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice Parador, but not our favorite one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff was a little rude, but most were friendly. Parking here is insane because the small parking area is open to the public to walk out to the overlook. We found out on our last day that if you're staying there, you can give your keys to an attendant who will park your car when all the lots are full. When the staff says there's a vegetarian option for dinner, there's not. They just mean that they'll serve the same meal without the meat which makes for a sad dinner.

    Beautiful Parador set in a large park overlooking the town of Jaen. Can walk out on a path from the Parador and see the City from different viewpoints. The open areas inside this Parador are amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.1
    Impressive and comfortable. Not ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to park when we arrived, as the place was full of tourists. Not super convenient location from which to visit Jaen, though the view of the city from above is impressive.

    The castle is obviously an extraordinary setting and the hotel is comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Good wifi connection too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't sample the food. It was out of our financial comfort zone.

    It is the quietest hotel we have ever been to. Total silence during the night. Very welcome after a long journey.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi (as previous comments) was okay to non-existent in rooms and not reliable in the common areas. The bathrooms could use updating. The back support of the sofas in the lounges was awful - like leaning against a rock, which is a shame as they are nice rooms but we didn't use them - it was more comfortable to sit on our bed and read.

    The staff were very helpful, especially José Antonio who not only helped us with our bags but was a goldmine of information about Jaén, from parking to sightseeing. The views from the hotel are amazing. The balconies are a nice touch and we could leave the doors open at night if the room was too hot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    A Commanding View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Commanding hilltop location, great vistas over the city, the endless olive groves, and the distant mountain ranges! Reminiscent of the book title phrase' Far Pavilions'! A seemingly impregnable 13th C. fortress is part of the beautiful hotel complex. A 'must stay' place!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Spectacular hotel but make sure to have good directions to get there...especially at night....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The difficulty to find the place.....all those internet tools can't seem to figure out the easiest route to get there...and there are no specific signs along the roads for this magnificent hotel.....look for "Paradores tourismo" signs ....

    The view, the ambiance, the history.......

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.9
    Fantastic view,good food,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plain white tiles in ensuite needs to be up graded to keep in line with furniture,decoration etc.

    View from the balcony,and the Castle Bocadilla,it was 10€,but the biggest,best ever had,including delicious bread,well worth it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    I love Paradors me and this was as stunning as they get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning position and calm relaxed ambience. Access road fine despite other guest comments. Pool closed because it was too cold, only 27 degrees ! Very nice meal in restaurant, I love Paradors me.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location Food Swimming Pool View

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Setting, pool, beautiful building, fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under staffed - slow service. Average food. Needed more outside places to sit and drink

    Setting, pool, beautiful building, fantastic views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Superb :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The pool, the views, the restaurant :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Food, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough sun loungers

    Food, staff and location. Wonderful building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Very interesting for a night staying. Nice views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the views. alsi the restaurant and breakfast were ecxcellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The air conditioner was very noisy and kept us awake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner was very noisy and kept us awake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel with nice surraunding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was closed.

    The view from Parador hill is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: