Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de La Palma 4 stars

Carretera El Zumacal, s/n, 38720 Breña Baja, Spain

#11 of 19 hotels in Breña Baja

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Highly recommend. I’ll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful colonial style property. Had a sea view balcony which was incredibly tranquil. Pool area not used as weather not great but it could do with a bit of maintenance to take it to the standard it deserves. Food in restaurant was surprisingly good and great value for money. Great base for the amazing hiking on the island Overall a very nice stay and I will be back soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Great base for touring La Palma with friendly helpful staff and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think everything was just fine. A little cafe bar where you could buy coffee and a croissant, without having the full breakfast would be good....

    Beds comfortable, room very spacious, breakfast and dinner very good (on the two occasions when we ate at the hotel). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great as a base for touring the island.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    What a beautiful surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WIFI didn't work at all. Please friends at Parador de La Palma, make it run and you are 10/10.

    Excellent place, gorgeous views and garden, professional people, all you need to enjoy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful views and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit surly, other than the lovely breakfast ladies, the shower pressure was a bit temperamental, the hotel dining menu wasn't great and you can't easily walk anywhere else to eat.

    Fantastic views over the sea, breakfast in the room on the terrace, beautiful gardens with waterfall and pool feature, nice swimming pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    We stayed one night, and had a relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a double bedroom with balcony, (clearly stated on our email confirmation) but when we checked in this was not available. Instead we were offered a twin room as an alternative. In the end, we opted for a non balcony room with a double bed. A little disappointing start to our first stay at a Parador. Although there was a good choice for breakfast, we felt it was not good value at €18 per person. (Just a minor point, we thought the dining room chairs were particularly uncomfortable)

    The Parador is in a peaceful location with an impressive garden and conveniently located for the airport and Santa Cruz. We had a spacious standard bedroom, and the quality of the food and service in the dining room/bar was good. The interior had a relaxing 'colonial' feel and was well appointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in need of some maintenance. Example: poor quality lighting, in fact quite gloomy. Broken electrical plug. Bathroom door scrapping the floor and splintering at the base.

    Excellent restaurant: pleasant atmosphere. Great views from the balcony over the eastern side of the island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in superb landscaped gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom over main entrance so frequent rumbling from automatic doors each time it opened and closed -quite late and early as people came and left hotel. The winter menu in the restaurant remained unchanged for the week so once we had two dinners we had exhausted what appealed to us. It's on the east side of the island where it rains a lot in February!

    Comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay, restful and calm, in a lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was very comfortable but the walls were thin so we could hear noise from the adjoining room. We were on half-board and the food was of a high standard and delicious but the menu became a little repetitive as the week wore on - it needed more variety and a bit more imagination. There weren't any vegetarian options. As with many hotels, I guess that they get an extra half star or whatever by saying that there is a gym. It's true in this case that there is a room in the basement which has gym equipment (very new by the look of it) but the space is quite cramped and doesn't have any view, music or tv, towels, water or a phone in case of emergency. It was disappointing especially with the lack of view as the surroundings are beautiful and I missed having a lovely view while running on the treadmill instead of being stuck in a basement with one tiny high window.

    The Parador is set in its own extensive grounds with great views down to the distant sea and Santa Cruz. The communal rooms have a colonial feel about them and were good spaces to sit and read in, or enjoy the peace. The gardens are beautiful and we enjoyed walking round and spotting different varieties of plants. There is a good local bus service with a stop outside the front gate so it was easy to get into Santa Cruz. There is little in the way of facilities within walking distance (there is a small but well-stocked supermarket in Brena Baja which is a 15 minute walk away). We did hire a car for a couple of days to explore further afield. As for the restaurant, the food was of a high standard and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was well managed. I particularly enjoyed the home-made biscuits.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    Had a good holiday on this beautiful island but won't be rushing back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior room but it was very disappointing- small and very dated. breakfast was average and the whole hotel needs updating.

    Lovely comfortable bed, beautiful gardens and good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    not good value for four star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was very unfriendly not a smile or a word of welcome. The food was poor same menu each evening. Especially the beef it was as tough as old boots.

    Room was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel Excellent for first visit to La Palma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This could not be altered but road up to entrance to hotel was very very steep

    The staff were fantastic Very professional and helpful The gardens were wonderful,so many interesting plants Our room was great. --balcony with view of pool and beyond the sea

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Parador La Palma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The parador had a good breakfast but indifferent evening meals. The whole interior needed a facelift, the carpets and electrical fittings in particular. The front of house staff made no attempt to communicate in anything other than Spanish and were reluctant to help you out with taxis or tours. At the time of our stay, I think the hotel 'Ofsted' was in operation, so perhaps improvements will follow soon.

    The position and the gardens were spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing hotel with beautiful, hillside gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the restaurant was very slow. It would have been nice if the pool had been heated as it was ice cold.

    It was situated on the edge of the mountain overlooking the sea. The gardens were beautiful with flowering plants and a small waterfall and pond, The hotel was built round a courtyard which was peaceful and relaxing. The hotel had a formal yet relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    5.8
    Lovely hotel, but beware of misleading room photos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a superior double room but were placed in the back building at the end of a long corridor which had seen better days. The room was only a standard room with a small balcony (no room for the sun lounger featured in hotel photos) camouflaged by a large bush. One of the bedside lamps didn't work and the wiring was exposed. I reported this and as told it would be fixed the next day, but it wasn't. We know this as our friend had booked a standard room and was only a few doors away in an identical room! We tackled the receptionist (the younger man, not the older one who was helpful) about this. He insisted that room 113 was a superior room even though we could see rooms in the other blocks which were bigger and had wider balconies. When I challenged him based on the photos on the parador's own website, he told us the room featured on the website (and on booking.com) is the only one like that in the hotel! We asked for a proper superior room and were told that the hotel was full. Clearly it wasn't as rooms were still available on the parador's own website when I checked. Eventually after much argument we were given a discount of 73 euros off the price of our room which in no way made up for our disappointment. We still paid over the odds. Beware of the misleading room photos! Oh - and reception was frequently unstaffed. We think the hotel is short-staffed. Overall, the hotel needs more staff and some investment in general maintenance.

    The public areas: gardens, sauna, courtyard, patios,, public rooms and the restaurant were lovely as you would expect in a parador. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We dined once and the food was good but a bit uninspiring. The restaurant staff and cleaning staff were very kind and one waitress in particular was excellent. When we suggested a half bottle of wine opened for us was corked, she agreed and whisked it away immediately, giving us free glasses from a full bottle instead.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Best hotel in La Palma - look no further
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Spacious clean bedroom, plenty of areas to sit quietly and read, excellent views from patio, lovely gardens, quality breakfast with good choice of freshly prepared food. Very professional service from hardworking staff. Good location : walks more accessible from this side of the island both by hired car and bus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money base near the capital (not in it).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one waitress speaks English. No one else speaks any language other than Spanish. No French, German, or English. Walls wafer thin, lot of noise from other rooms. Good views of Tenerife when woken up by other guests at 0700, (the only time to see this as covered in haze by 0900).

    Spanish colonial style

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    4.6
    Poorest parador that I have visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not particularly helpful. Their english was virtually non existent. We requested a room with a sea view and received one overlooking the carpark. The choice of menu was poor. There were no other restaurants in walking distance.

    The gardens were very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.3
    The problems with the booking and receptionist did cause some unnecessary upset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I requested an alteration to our booking as the original request showed Trevor Lewis in a twin room & John Lord in a twin room, my wife's name was added to my booking. However the booking still showed single use. This caused some problems at reception but it was agreed that my wife could still use the double room. At the time of the original booking it was confirmed that breakfast was inclusive and the cost was reduced from 18 to 12 euros per day each. When we came to pay we were charged the full 18 euros and reception was not prepared to reduce the price so I ended up paying 54.01 euros more, please note I had included the three of us in our original booking. Would you kindly confirm and arrange some recompense. Yours sincerely Trevor Lewis

    Excellent views and location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    Garden around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Far from the beaches. A part of personnel has weak English language skills. The safe in our room did not work. The pool was too small. Restaurang personnel seemed to be overstressed and not always listened to our wishes.

    Garden around the hotel. View to the ocean. Good food at the restaurang, although somewhat pricey for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Adequate place to stay, but not a destination itself (unlike Portugal's pousadas)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and dated. Wifi was slow and spotty.

    Very good breakfast buffet, lovely courtyard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    we had a fantastic time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The coffee was disappointing

    The breakfast was good and varied. Lovely comfortable bed. Beautiful room with balcony overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location, spacious room, pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food, shower

    Good location, spacious room, pleasant staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room

    Size of the room was great and the sea view from balcony was breathtaking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Large tropical gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large tropical gardens

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant hotel, I’d stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much!!

    Very comfortable, very good staff and service. You need a car

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    The garden as well as the buildings are really nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite a bit out of the center of santa cruz

    The garden as well as the buildings are really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Building and rooms are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is not friendly and too expensive overall

    Building and rooms are nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and fun new year celebrations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy for Santa Cruz and airport. Good walking and lovely gardens

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to relax
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi in room Expensive Restajrant

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Great gardens. Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE BED!!!!!!!!!!!@!@

    The bed was the hardest ever and the pillows were to soft.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were a little unsmiling.

    Food in restaurant was regional Las Palmas style and excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel,beautiful LaPalma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room a bit chaotic when hotel verybusy

    Very comfortable.Excellent buffetbreakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful views & peaceful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast was very expensive for what it was.

    great views & lovely gardens. Bus stop at end of drive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room was noisy and chilly

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    5.8
    Convenient to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poorly informed staff at the desk, not informed about breakfast or dinner times. Did not know distance to airport ??. Poor facilities. Sauna not in use and located in a dark basement.

    Convenient to the airport

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    8.3
    The hotel is situated in a beautiful garden landscape up a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As much as we liked the hotel, the restaurant could be improved, a lot. First of all the restaurant staffs appeared stressed and overwhelmed all the time (and we were there for a week). I spoke to one of them and was told that at night there were usually only 3 staffs manning the restaurants with at least 40-50 tables. So the service was chaotic and forgetful at best and sometimes the receptionist needed to come and help. It is sad that when we are paying almost 1.000€ for a week stay, the hotel management couldn't be bothered to hire more staffs to improve the dining service. Therefore, my advise to management is to hire more waiting staffs and do not overwork your people! Also, the water in the pool was ice-cold. I tried to go into the pool a few times, but had to get out as soon as I got in because it was freezing!

    The hotel is situated in a beautiful garden landscape up a hill in Brena Baja. It is walking distance to Los Cancajos (~ 2km) and there is a bus connection to St. Cruz as well as to Los Llanos, so even without a car the it is quite accessible. The whole complex is well done, the decoration traditional and tasteful, and the breakfast variety was very good. Room was clean, though not spotless but we didn't mind it that much. Food was good, but service is chaotic at best (see improvement suggestions). From the hotel one can see the beautiful stars at night from the garden, which was definitely very romantic. Restaurant food is rather pricey. I would stay there again, but would not frequent the restaurant unless I have to.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.9
    Excellent base for exploring the island and its hiking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Inability to book a table in the restaurant, which appeared under-staffed. Obliged to hover by the entrance for over an hour on our first evening, with difficulty attracting any attention from harassed staff. While these were sometimes friendly, service was always brisk - but not necessarily efficient?

    Excellent base for exploring the island and its hiking trails. Delightful grounds and view. Restaurant served good food - albeit from a relatively limited menu.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    We loved the quiet location and the fact that the parador...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the quiet location and the fact that the parador sits in its own very large garden. Although out of town there is a good bus service into Santa Cruz. We loved the island of La Palma and would go back to both the island and the parador.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    8.3
    The room was clean and comfortable and a good size with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi did not work in the rooms. Being English we would have liked a tea tray in our room.

    The room was clean and comfortable and a good size with a balcony. The breakfast offered a varied selection with plenty of fresh fruit. The public areas are attractively furnished.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    6.7
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Female receptionist was dismissive and unhelpful

    The breakfast was excellent. Wonderful views over Santa Cruz and beautiful gardens

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace and quiet

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the price of breakfest

    location

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.3
    Good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door of the room closed vert difficult.

    Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    The hotel has an colonial charm about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has an colonial charm about it. facilities very good.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: