Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Salamanca 4 stars

Teso de La Feria, 2, 37008 Salamanca, Spain

#9 of 49 hotels in Salamanca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1523 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for traveling or visiting Salamanca and we will be staying again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    The room was excellent and clean. Bed was comfy and the view stunning. All staff were friendly and helpful. There is a little gym on the 4th floor and a pool to the side of the paradores.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    A great hotel, excellent views of this special city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel may not be the best for those who like the hustle and bustle of a city or for those who cannot walk far.

    The location was fabulous for us. The hotel is located a short walk (via a Roman bridge) to the historic centre. The views of the town from the restaurant, breakfast room, cafe and pool are stunning. Some rooms have views of the town too. Our room was a standard room and was large with an en suite with his and hers sinks. A quiet location. The breakfast is €16 per person but it is excellent and offered an excellent selection of gluten free foods. We dined in the restaurant for one of our two evenings. The service and food were fabulous too. All staff were courteous and very helpful. The on site free car parking was a bonus for us and ease of locating it by road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Great two nights and present holtel near the old town with excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu set dinner info as to upgrade

    Location , room and bathroom quality linen .helpfull Staff. Plenty of parking . Overall a very present stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    We won't be rushing back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    See what I liked - above! The parking arrangements are splendid and the location could not be bettered.

    Room 101 was good, large, well appointed and scrupulously clean. B U T - the a/c was noisy and could not be adjusted, so we sweated all night. The gentleman at reception when we arrived, could not have been more friendly and helpful. 10-out-of-10. The kitchen was very, very average. My "double-sample" trial dinner was a sad event, I cannot remember the first of them and the second - something to do with pig's ears - was, apart from the sauce which was tasty and good, the hacked-up pig's ears were gristly and virtually inedible, and the other "meat" 75/80% - essentially tastily prepared fat, lost their charm within minutes. My main course - a sort of thin-skinned, mini-steak-en-croute - revealed very little pate under the wafer-thin pastry covering. The tomato and toast snack we had in the cafe was the best thing we had! Unlike the kitchen at Caceres, which I cannot wait to revisit, I will not dine at the Salamanca restaurant again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location with great views complimented by a superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Restaurant was fully booked. The Staff told us you should book in advance of your stay. The Bar does OK food but would have gone out if had known.

    Excellent all round with friendly staff speaking good English. The breakfast was absolutely superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced, overrated - not sure this hotel should be called a parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the cafe/bar was slow and sullen and dirty tables were not cleared. We took our tea into the garden -needless to say the tray and dirty cups were still there 24 hours later. This is a modern building so there's no excuse for the lifts to be so small and slow. Overall the most disappointing parador we have stayed in.

    Fantastic view across the river to the cathedral. Excellent breakfast. Very comfortable room and large bathroom with twin basins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel from which to explore the lovely city of Salamanca. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A larger double bed would have been welcome, only a small point really. Location was good however for less mobile travellers be aware it is a good 20 minute walk into Salamanca. Not a problem for us though.

    Good location for a fantastic view of Salamanca, good value for money, comfortable accommodation, good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, relaxing time in a beautiful historic building and a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little I didn't like, perhaps a better boiled egg at breakfast!

    Beautiful building and surroundings, great location for access to Tavira and other locations, lovely spacious accommodation, breakfast very good, great pool in attractive grounds, staff friendly and helpful, lots of smiles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Best view of Salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always stay here for Salamanca. Nice views fron superior rooms. Also lovely to sit on the terrace of the bar at night with the city lit up. Plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect base to explore Salamanca and the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather! But of course that is outside the hotel's control...

    Huge room with window view that looked like a painting of the cathedral. Bar, cafe and restaurant facilities, helpful staff, free parking and a large outdoor pool. Fantastic value for this level of quality and there was a chilled bottle of Cava waiting for us on arrival to help us celebrate our honeymoon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Better than most Paradors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot say anything bad about this Parador. I have stayed in 20 or so others and this rates top for me!

    I like everything about this Parador. The room was comfortable with extra seating. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the fabric of the building has been well maintained over the 11 years that I have visited here. The food is very good and is value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    The room , the view from the corridor of the 5-th floor, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was cold in the room, the air condition didn't function on warming the room. (there where 11 grades celsius outside and rain. so it was cold inside)

    The room , the view from the corridor of the 5-th floor, the restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved this place. Highly recommended..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t really need them but I think some facilities such as the gym charge extra. Not really an issue if you walk 15 km a day sightseeing!

    Fantastic views of old city and Roman bridge. Only 10 minutes walk to city - so car never needed. Secure, free parking. Great staff - both at check-in and restaurant. Quality, great value dinners - beat old-city tourist traps hands down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great location - food delicious - credit to chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location not far from Roman bridge. Dinner in hotel was fantastic - best food I have had for a long time. Breakfast was also very good - omelettes made to order. Eating in hotel highly recommended. Parking was plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Parking and access to the hotel is easy and it is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was not as friendly as last year and booking in and out took longer than other hotels we stayed in, for no good reason other than their own systems.

    Parking and access to the hotel is easy and it is a pleasant walk from the hotel into the centre of Salamanca over the roman bridge. The room is comfortable and well equiped including two large comfy chairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant accommodation and terrific staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike

    This is our second time staying here and we will return many times. Excellent in all ways. I had asked for a city view room and we had that. The standards are high here. Brilliant G & T's , and views to die for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    The Parador itself is ugly from the outside. But it overlooks the city and has grand views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts are expensive, based on the assumption that people will gorge themselves on the buffet. If you like an ordinary breakfast it's not good value for money.

    A spacious room with spectacular views over the city. The bathroom is very well equipped and plenty of room too. Staff on the front desk were helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    An excellent one night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very quiet and comfortable room with a stunning view over the city. An easy walk down to the Roman Bridge and on to the centre. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff with good English spoken.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    This was a quick overnight while travelling home. Would loved to have stayed longer as hotel was exc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t fault this hotel in any way!

    Staff very welcoming/ room comfortable and spacious/ liked the shower very muc/ private parking within the grounds/ delicious dinner at affordable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Ask for room with a view of the old town as it is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ask for room with a view of the old town as it is stunning. Breakfast is good but dishes in the main restaurant were a bit hit and miss. Lacking flavour and some were bland. e.g Pumpkin soup with ginger and coriander-They must have forgot any spicing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    We stayed there a couple of years ago and loved it so went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there a couple of years ago and loved it so went back again, and it didn’t disappoint in any way. Walking distance to the center of Salamanca which is a beautiful old town. Would have no hesitation in recommending this parador to other visitors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Be careful what you wish for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let down .....room needed updating. Poor nights sleep,pillows worn and no extra available in wardrope as in other paradors. Air conditioning unit in bed room could be adjusted but in adjoining hall we had no control over and clicked on & off all night. Ordered room service was not given a breakdown of what I ordered. On way home realised had paid double price.....paid for 4 meals instead of 2. Was very busy due to events in city but I did pay a lot of money for this hotel and did not receive the service I would have expected from a parador! Have stayed in many others which have been lovely. On plus side the view from the hotel over the city is fantastic!

    View from parador over the city 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    A great hotel in a fabulous location for seeing the sights of this magnificent city .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning a little over active.

    Location is fabulous - very easy to get to the great sights of the city Reception staff also particularly helpful . Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    A great overnight stop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t dislike anything.

    As you walk into the hotel lobby you are faced with a fantastic view overlooking the old city. The hotel is modern, it opened in 1981, so it doesn’t have the old charms of other Paradors, but it is a lovely,comfortable hotel. The facilities are excellent and the staff really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Very Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor attitude of staff(except the bar man) Impossible to regulate room temperature. Overall lack of care for the property especially the neglected gardens. It was clean enough but lacked the ambience and hospitality that one expects and gets normally with Paradores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Captivating view within a short walk of the historic town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to a superior double room and it was so worth it. Our very large room had an amazing view of the historic town center. We enjoyed the evening view with the cathedrals lit . The city center is an easy enjoyable walk from the hotel. Very comfortable and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always stay here twice a year a stop off point from santander to the south of Spain Fantastic hotel . Food in restaurant is excellent as too the breakfast that has lots to choose from and is good value for money. Great parking facilities. Bedrooms are spacious with good views.Staff are polite and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Too pricey for the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff gave us travel directions that made us drive 150 kms in the wrong direction because we had lost our GPS

    The restaurant for dinner and breakfast was excellent, though pricey. The front desk staff was welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    I was served cold food in restaraunt, the people on the next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was served cold food in restaraunt, the people on the next table also had cold food. I sent mine back and when it was returned it was at best very slightly warm, so I gave up. It was quite busy and they just couldn’t cope . I have stayed here many times and was extremely disappointed. I travel again in 3 weeks and will stay somewhere else. There was no offer of recompense .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like. Clearly we are aware of the cost of replacing furniture in such a large hotel. In the room we were given there were several pieces of furniture which were indeed quite worn. However this did not spoil our enjoyment of our stay.

    The position of the hotel in relation to Salamanca. The views from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Lack of imagination in the menus on offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the room was unable to be altered as thermostat not operable. We were not happy with the restaurant choices and would have expected there to be an a la carte menu with grater choice - we ate in the bar but again the choice was not terribly great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent for overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in restaurant, but better than last time, more smiles from staff

    Comfortable spacious room and large bathroom, twin beds, wonderful view of cathedrals, very friendly and attentive waitress at breakfast, convenient location on way south

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    A superb overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second stay in a Parador hotel and we were not disappointed at all! Efficient and friendly greeting, a superb spacious room, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast and stunning views of the city from reception, the breakfast room and the lounge area on our floor. The location was very easy to find and lots of parking on site. It is convenient for a walk into the centre of Salamanca. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here and would like to stay longer next time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay in an excellent Parador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner start time of 8pm is a bit later than ideal.

    Excellent room , although the view is much better on the other side. Dinner and breakfast were both good.would prefer if dinner started slightly earlier.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Nice place. Not your typical Parador as it is new. Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked to upgrade to a city view room for more money. There were very few people in the hotel and we could have easily been put on that side, but they seemed to punish us by not booking the city view or accepting the upgrade and higher cost.

    Super comfortable rooms. Excellent view if looking at the city, but if not, just go downstairs into the restaurant or the lounge to enjoy. Bed was great. Bathroom great. When you get to the property by car there is a gate you must buzz in. Wish there were a sign to let you know. Easy bus ride into the main city center or walk 15-20 min. Bus is $1.05 each way, per person.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Exceptional value for a Parador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room didn't have a kettle or coffee making facilities.

    Everything. Ease of access, parking and the fact it is a short walk over the Roman Bridge into the old city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    OMG amazing hotel first class friendly welcome. Excellent restaurant for evening meal really would recommend and not that expensive. Breakfast was good to with lots of choices from cooked to continental.Lovely stay will return definitely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Locality, convenience to highway.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at 20.30 rather late when one has been travelling for 7 hours, would prefer 19.30

    Locality, convenience to highway. Excellent food both dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, we enjoyed it so much we are planning to return next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could find disappointing was that I had presumed there would be tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom but unfortunately there weren't.

    This is a very lovely Spanish styled hotel and its location is excellent. A ten minute walk to the Roman bridge leading into the old town and Cathedral and this is beautifully illuminated at night and clearly visible from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    A modern Parador outside the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good half an hour walk into the city, and there are very few restaurants nearby. We ate in the hotel, which was the usual Parador corporate-style disappointment. There is however a bar serving snacks, which is a move in the right direction.

    This is a classy modern Parador with all the usual Parador features including excellent parking, large comfortable rooms, professional staff, and plenty of facilities. It has amazing views of the old city - we paid extra for a city view room, and it was money well spent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    We thought Salamanca was lovely with the lively bustle of a university city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No faults found

    Excellent location, overlooking the city, a fifteen minute walk down to the Roman Bridge and then across into the old city. The hotel is relatively new and it was light and airy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    An excellent overnight experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual no English speaking TV channels.

    This is a modern, spacious hotel with views of the cathedral and old city. We were greeted in English by friendly reception staff who took the trouble to explain where everything was and how to get into the city by foot (20 min.), taxi (Euro 6) and bus (4 per hour from outside hotel at Euro 1.05). Large standard double room with very comfortable bed. Ample free parking with possibility of underground parking on request. Lots of areas on ground floor to relax inside and out with cafe/bar available throughout. Our best Parador experience so far including dining in restaurant. Worth slightly more expensive rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent ,would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one shower gel for two supplied. Appears to be parador policy. The design of building outside is questionable given the beauty of the architecture around.

    Stylish decor. Inside facilities good. Paid extra for an amazing view of the city. Easy access to city ,walking. May be too hot at times. Buses near but didn’t try them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first time in a Parador and we thought it was excellent. We'll look for Paradores again! The views from the many vantage points in this hotel were fantastic, and we spent a good deal of time looking out our window at the old town of Salamanca - and of course we walked to and from the old town. The Roman bridge was a fun way to get to the old town. The rooms were impeccable, decor very classy and bed linens wonderful. This was one of our favorite places we've ever stayed and we remember Salamanca very fondly because of it (and the sights in the old town, of course!) So wonderful that there was free parking on-site. We didn't eat at the restaurant because it seemed a little stuffy and expensive, but I'm sure it would be great for a special meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel to view Salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is excellent to get easy and secure parking but be within a short walk of the main tourist sights. The Hotel is very comfortable and the food in the restaurant is very good with a fine view across the old city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Worth staying at for the views alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seasonality of the pool meant that, even though it was touching 30 degrees, it was closed.

    Breathtaking views of Salamanca from the terrace and bar area and (if you're lucky enough) the rooms facing the town. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was enormous and featured an internal door to shut out the noise of the corridor - a nice touch. The bathroom was similarly huge. Quite location outside the bustle of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    A good place to stay. In Salamanca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that the swimming pool was closed. The weather was hot and the pool still full of water. Hard to understand. We ate one evening in the cafeteria. A mistake. The food was really not good.

    The view from our room was of the cathedral. It couldn't have been better! And the room was clean and very comfortable - as were all the public areas. Breakfast was excellent and staff were attentive. The hotel was quiet and just a 10 minute walk to the heart of Salamanca.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice but no thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not consistent and poor strength Breakfast overpriced and under performed Pool access denied. Prefer to be in centre of town costly in taxis

    The view back to cathedral is stunning, room luxurious and grand.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Just a great stop along the way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hill below, before the river doesn't offer much, so walk across the river on the footbridge for food and wine.

    The cafeteria offers a light menu. Sit outside and enjoy the view. The cathedral is a 10 minute walk and the plaza is 10 minutes more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Mature couples' overnight stay, en route to Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Unlike most paradors which are old castles, convents and the like, the Parador de Salamanca is a brand new hotel. It's situated just south of the Tormes River, being a 5 minute walk to the old Roman bridge and 10 minutes from the cathedral. So, its location is perfect. There is plenty of on-site car parking spaces. Reception was quick and easy. The rooms are bright, clean, modern and large.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Salamanca is a must visit city and if you stay in the Parador you won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were advised to visit Salamanca and to stay in the Parador. We spent two nights on our drive home from a touring holiday. Although this is a modern building, unlike most Paradors which are converted monasteries and similar, it is is very nice and situated on high ground overlooking the city with fabulous view of the Cathedral. We had a suite which was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Salamanca is a beautiful city and the position of the hotel made it possible to walk to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff could have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming ... not a smile from any of them. The other two Paradors that we stayed in had incredibly friendly, helpful staff who went out of their way to help us make the most of our stay --- but not here.

    the view of the Cathedrals from the bedroom window

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Lovely Hotel & great position & views , but needs full attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not comfortable with staff generally. Room was only Ok and extremely expensive, maybe time of year ! Restaurant was rather snobby, and our meal was not good, but ignored us !

    Big building & not easy experience throughout. Parking plentiful. Great position. Lady at check out seemed to care, & took off the rubbish steak from night before.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool could be kept warmed by being covered at night??

    Excellent breakfast. The swimming pool is in heated and very cold even on a hot day. Great location - easy walk into the old city across the Roman bridge. Very good dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    A well-positioned, elegant hotel, perfect(other than the food) for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one disappointing experience was an awful lunch in the restaurant. Over-priced, sluggish service and we the first of only three couples in the vast room.

    Super-spacious room, v well furnished. Big, comfortable bed. Vast, open, elegant halls and reception area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Always a pleasant place to stay. Nothing to dislike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hot food could be improved by using the same method as NH Hotels, taking hot food request at the table, and being brought direct from the kitchen.

    A very good hotel overall, location excellent for over night stay travelling between Santander and the south of Spain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Short stopover on our way to the Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One very minor comment about the hotel was that we had a large room, but the bed was a bit small.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay in Salamanca and we could not have stayed in a nicer hotel. The short walk to the hotel was pleasant and the architecture on view in the the main town was stunning. We enjoyed a pleasant tour of the magnificent cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff, free easy parking, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee making facilities in room. Pool not open till 11am.

    Great location, friendly staff, free easy parking, spacious rooms and bathrooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    First time in a Paradore and really enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not use restauarnt as it seemed a bit stark although menu looked very good.

    Spacious and elegant hotel. Swimming pool a bonus. Views from "cafetaria" fantastic and service was good tere as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    This parador is in an amazing location with fantastic view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect. So glad we stayed here.

    This parador is in an amazing location with fantastic view of Salmanca esp at night. Guests can walk into the centre. Check in staff gave us lots of information. Pool area was lovely with great views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular views, luxurious hotel, execution a bit off in places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool is really cold (which can be refreshing in the middle of the day) but you can't really spend more than a few minutes in the water without running for sunny cover. If only the pool were warmer....The gym is an absolute joke, the worst I have ever seen. It is a tiny room, half the size of the rooms you will stay in. There is a running machine and a crosstrainer (didn't try those in fairness). The 'cable' weight machine is broken and the only free weights go up to 4kg....Calling this a gym is pathetic.

    The hotel is comfortable and the views are spectacular. It's about a 15-20min walk into the centre. Buffet breakfast highly recommended...they have churros, enough said (!). The pool area is lovely with great views but with problems with the temperature of the pool itself. The room and bathroom was large, though would have been better with a view looking towards the cathedral. Overall, it seems the best hotel in Salamanca.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    This Salamanca Parador is a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators too small and too slow.

    Amazing view of Salamanca city, great swimming pool. Superb restaurant - Michelin standard for amazing price. Super friendly staff in the reception - especially the person that checked us in who is from Ciudad Rodrigo 😉

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    one night stay in salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ate in cafeteria for dinner. 2 waiters who were very busy with large evening crowd but attentive. ordered lasagna which was terrible. disappointed at quality of this entree.

    very comfortable and large room with beautiful view of cathedral and salamanca. friendly staff. great breakfast with varied selections and staff would cook omelettes or eggs to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Stayed on route from Santander to Costa Del So. Great stop off if driving. Parking on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed, bathroom was clean and wonderful shower. Room was a great size with plenty of room. Great location easy to find. Walking distance to center of Salamanca.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot at night and the service in the restaurant was slow.

    The view from the room was spectacular and the old cathedral was a fairly short walk across the old roman bridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit pricier than other good hotels in Spain, but still good value for money especially compared to UK or USA.

    Beautiful modern hotel with fantastic views and location. Very spacious as all paradoxes are, and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Great view of the Cathedral, if your room is located on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 15 minute walk in to the Plaza Mayor, some of it uphill. Absolutely fine if you are reasonably fit, but awkward for the elderly or infirm.

    Great view of the Cathedral, if your room is located on the right side of the hotel. We upgraded for €10 a night for the view. Worth it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms can be noisy through movement in adjoining rooms. The temperature control in rooms was bizarre.

    The views are stunning and the hotel clean and easy walk into the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    An excellent location for a visit to Salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very pleasant, we requested an upgrade and for a small amount we were given a room with a view of the Cathedral and the old town. We ate at the cafeteria, the restaurant and had breakfast at the Parador and found the food was very good The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from the old town, where you can find many cafes, restaurants and bars. A must in the old town is the Cathedral, it really is worth a tour, all the main sites are pretty close to one another.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional city view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of booking, the "standard" room was advertised on booking.com as a room with a view. At check-in, it turned out the room with a view is the "superior" room, and standard room overlooks the hotels parking.

    Exceptional city view. Great location - not too close to the noisy center, yet just a 15 min walk from the main attractions. The hotel is a bit aged, but exceptionally clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Value for money with good views of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner starting at 8:30 does not reflect some cliets needs; especially if one has travelled a long distance. Breakfast only starts at 7:30. For early departures a continental breakfast would be helpful. The toilet paper is too narrow. It is commonly used by cheaper hotels

    A good quality parador. The food is better than some other Paradors. It uses trainee hotel staff from a Dutch hotel school. Good value for the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Very spacious, clean, comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious, clean, comfortable room. The hotel is well situated overlooking Salamanca and parking is simple. We chose not to pay extra for a room facing the city as all the main public areas of the hotel feature this view anyway. More importantly, we wanted to be in the city rather than looking at it! It is a short walk away and well worth visiting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Everything we expect of a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only warning is not to walk down (or up) the path immediately behind the hotel, which is steep, rough and hard work. MUCH MUCH easier to walk down the drive and follow the pavement round to the bottom of the hill : much less steep, less hard work and no further round. If you don't like walking, taxis into town cost much less than you'd think, and worth it on a hot day when you've walked all day - and also worth staying out of town.

    We liked out-of-town location for ease of parking and quiet environment. We found all staff efficient and friendly, superior room lived up to its name, dining was good quality and service also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Walking distance to old town, wonderful views from great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Walking distance to old town, wonderful views from great cafe and restaurant, secure parking, helpful staff, spacious rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the hotel specifically because we wanted to use the outdoor pool after sightseeing. However, although it was June and the temperatures high, the pool was not in use and hardly any seating was available for relaxation around the area. We were told that the pool did not open until mid-June???????

    Good sized room & facilities. The walk into town was a little tiresome but just manageable. Breakfast was good when you understood the system.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Parador de Salamanca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: