Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Las Cañadas del Teide 3 stars

Las Cañadas, s/n, 38300 La Orotava, Spain

#11 of 17 hotels in La Orotava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1190 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, expensive drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive drinks at the bar: buy your own cola etc in a supermarket rather than buying it in the bar.

    Fairly nice staff (though often a bit rushed in their approach), amazing location, reasonable food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Hotel encantador muy bien ubicado
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheets too heavy.

    What a view in the morning if you have the view towards the Teide! The restaurant personel. You feel home very quickly. The site is magic Zero noise except from the corridor during day time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Parador keeps high level
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I'd like no moon light out the stars, but it's not a oroblem of hotel☺ In any case at 6am there was no moon and we've a lot of bright stars in the night sky.

    Location, comfort of the room, service in the bar and restaurant, swimming pool & comfirtable lasy lounge zone...☺

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    A romantic night above the clouds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice view to El Teide and a spectaculous view of stars during night. The sun set could be as well seen from the hotel terrace but you can also drive 10 minute and see the amazing sun set ever. Really charming, well located (above the clouds) and romantic place to be. Food was awesome and the welcome is even better. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    A wonderful place to stay while exploring Tenerife’s volcanic landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals are very expensive and I was disappointed I did not find any coffee or tea making facilities especially after our return from the stargazing and a hot drink would have been welcome.

    It was the perfect place to stay while we did our Mnt Teide experiences (Cable car and star gazing) and this meant we did not have far to travel at night. It is a very beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Definitely worth the visit to see Teide and the surrounding scenery. Wear sturdy shoes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to make reservations for the observatory. Told we had to wait until we returned for our stay at the end of our trip. Upon our return we were told there was only one spot available. Made no sense.

    The location is stunning, especially after tour buses leave. Sunset and the night sky are worth the stay. Lounge chairs by the small pool are a nice retreat while the crowds visit in mid-afternoon. Dinner at the restaurant was better than expected, nice wine list.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    Definitely, isn’t worth that money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no cold (yes, cold) water in the rooms. There’s enough cold water only for the first 5 minutes of use, after that all the water in the bathroom (including toilet) is hot. We asked at the reception and they gave us a key to another room, so we had to go there to take a shower, but the situation with the cold water there was the same. The hotel is pretty old. Yes, there’s a charm in it, but I wouldn’t say so about old carpets, matresses and furniture. Food is good, but having a half-board meal plan I was able to have just salad, main course and desert (each had a choice of 8 positions) for the dinner. Drinks are not included. There are two telescopes to use to watch the stars at the hotel, but one of them is broken, another one is good, but there’s no fixing screws, so it’s impossible to correctly fix it upon a desired point in the sky. We were able to see the moon and it’s craters, though it took us a lot of effort to position and hold the telescope, but for the stars it’s too weak. There’s no alternative if you want to spend a night at the Teide national park. But, anyway, it’s too expensive. If you plan to start or continue your hiking trip from there, it’s better to drive from the hotel you’re staying. The island is small and the roads are really good, even in the mountains.

    Food: not a lot, but tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    A fantastically big bed, silent surroundings, nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disadvantage for us is that the bar and restaurant closes at 22:30, so if you want to enjoy the night sky full of stars, there is no place to relax except in your own car outside.

    A fantastically big bed, silent surroundings, nice bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic unique location, food not as good as we would wish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is a little sub-standard (not bad, just not as good as you'd hope in such a spectacular setting) and there are loads of flies in the dining room at all times of day. It's a long way to go to eat elsewhere though and you'd have to drive to get anywhere else. I have marrked it down a little this timebecuase it was very hot whne we arrived and we had to ask twice on the second day for someone to come and look at the air conditioning. It turned out that the control was wired up the wrong way round so it was blowing hot air into the room! Surely this should be fixed or at least a note explianing waht is wrong put in the room!

    We have stayed here a number of times and the location is incomperable. It is fantastic to be able to stay in confort in such a dramtic location, up at more that 2000 mtres next to volcano Tiede.The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms vary from wonderful (room 201) to OK. The half board deal is good value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Incredible experience. Modified our trip so we could return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location Great facilities Friendly ad helpful staff We went to Parador de Las Canada del Tiede for one night. We decided to change end of our trip for tso more days of hiking and two more nights of star gazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Good overall expierence but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was served in huge portions. Good for big eaters, wasteful for others. A starter is the size of a full meal at a different restaurant. Breakfast is way overpriced for what you get.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice view and vantage point for hiking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for 1 night stay near Teide
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool is tiny in reality, looked much bigger on photos.

    We liked everything we needed! Bed was comfy, bath was nice and clean, location can not be better!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    A unique and relaxing stay, perhaps they need more staff though?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were amazing, some seemed overworked, gruff, stressed, understaffed.

    Relaxing feel, wonderful balcony, great big bathroom and bedroom. Gluten free, vegan breakfast options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive

    Everything. This hotel definitely should be included if you're staying on Tenerife. For both neighboring sights and acclimatization before climbing Teide.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult trying to sterilise baby things.

    Beautiful location. My dads 70th birthday. He loves astronomy and geology - dream location for both and he LOVED it. Quiet, comfortable hotel with good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated and old decor, not renovated, not too nice female receptionist, expensive food for what it is and quality, some food badly prepared (raw fish and a blond hair in the rabbit).

    Excellent location, very good food (especially rabbit), view from the hotel room, surroundings, nature, facilities, quietness and darkness at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay up the mountains and hike in the day and see the stars at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not very helpful. We had to keep asking to get a drink and they kind of dismissed us. Had to ask 3 times on more than one occasion.

    The fire place and cosy seating and the location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    The only place close to Teide volcano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant nearly didn't have any vegan options and was pricey.

    The only place close to Teide volcano. The view on rocks and volcano is just stunning, especially at sunset. Many trekking paths start just form the hotel with maps and signs, so plan some extra time if you want to explore those. The place is sort of strange mix: kind of a base station for trekkers, at the same time a classy, vintage style hotel for upmarket travelers and calm resting place for elder travelers. We enjoyed sauna with a pool in the separate building. Staff was very friendly and provided towels and access to sauna before we even had checked in (we were 1h early). Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location/view, frumpy digs with no wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel will certainly not win any design awards, as it was a bit frumpy. Wifi did not work anywhere except lobby, which is preposterous. Bed was uncomfortable. Parking worked for us- but is impossible any time before 4pm, as many visitors to the rocks park there- there did not appear to be parking reserved for hotel guests. At $209/night, this was not a good value for money.

    Amazing location in the El Teide national park. Room looked out onto the volcano. Hotel was across from some spectacular rock formations, great for hiking or stargazing. Restaurant staff were friendly, and food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    It’s like a hotel on Mars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drilling/building work that woke us up. If you don’t want to spend all day in the hotel, you’ll have to travel.

    Massive comfy bed. Great view from any room in the hotel, the landscape is amazing. Room spacious, clean and modern(ish). Bathrooms stocked well. Lounge area and restaurant very good. Would definitely recommend, it was a good hotel and the location is unbeatable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent restaurant meals, breakfast and lunch included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looks like the hotel has not been revamped for quite a while - perhaps since the day it first opened to the public. The location of their spa is rather strange - one has to go outside to reach it - not suitable for all weather conditions. The temperature in the sauna was barely 70 degrees, which places it (and the hotel in the whole) quite below average. But then, there is no alternative. You can't help wishing they did not so much exploit their status of the only accommodation available at Teide National Park

    Excellent restaurant meals, breakfast and lunch included

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    It was perfect for a special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive.

    My wife took me there for my special 0 birthday and they upgraded our room to a suite which was lovely. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. The views are amazing, especially the stars as there are no Street lights up there. To swim in a heated pool when there is snow outside is an experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room with ill fitting windows so wind whistled all night and some snow came in. Staff not well informed about weather and road conditions or forecast.

    Excellent location and views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Could not get to the hotel because of snow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to hotel.

    We couldnt get to the hotel because of snow. Some roads were open but steep hills and snow is not safe equation with FWD and summertires. BEAR THE WEATHER IN MIND! You can see weather and snow info from google. Hotel is located at 2000 meters and the snow is normally falling to 1500-1800 meters.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location with Teide backdrop. Great walks and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we had room with no view so disappointing on that front.

    Amazing location especially when tourists gone and the parador and its guests are the only ones around. Restaurant and service good. Nice bar area to relax in with a drink pre-dinner. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable beds, large rooms, hot water, heated rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive for what it is, it says it goes until 10 or 11am, and I arrived closer to that time than not one day and the "hot" food was all very cold. It was sitting under heat lamps, but they obviously didn't put much heat out

    Comfortable beds, large rooms, hot water, heated rooms, hiking trails can be accessed easily from the hotel, amazing views no matter where you are!! Dinner was absolutely delightful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Second stay here and still takes my breath away waking with the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wished we could stay longer next time.

    The location is one of a kind. I had the most amazing steak cooked perfectly. All of the staff could not be better,reception was good and made us feel at home from the minute we arrived.pool with an incredible view.looking at the stars felt like you could almost touch them with such a black sky !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    great location but terrible management
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms could use refurbishment (e.g. even hard to find a powerplug) dinner was awful, the frozen salmon was not edible (dry, bad smell and texture) so we only ate the fresh side dish. we had to leave early so we only wanted coffee instead of a full breakfast. they refused service at the breakfast room and told us to go to the lounge area where they'd serve coffee. we said we want a coffee for sure but weren't serviced for another 20mins and when we politely gave feedback to the receptionist he didn't care at all. he reacted as if that was none of his business. i work in hospitality and understand what behaviour happen out of stress or just ignorance - sad how they run down such a great location with terrible management. a rip off for 150euros for just the room rate!

    the location is just superb. pays off it u want to watch the sunset or sunrise without travelling by car at night. nice bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very high prices even in road cafe (but you have to take sence it is a national park and hotel has own power and recycling system)

    Amazing location. All facilities are good. Swimming pool and sauna. Heating system because nights are cold. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Romantic. Cosy. Experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for the room not facing backyard- some generator was making noise so we couldn't fully enjoy total science. If you decide to walk from cable car to hotel - be sure to find the right trail. It's stat is not that obvious.

    Breakfast was great - so disregard all posts re. it's poor quality. Seems like guys improved significantly. Good 1,5 - 2 hrs liking trail nearby. But only in proper gear! Great opportunity to explore the area in the morning before 9:00 when there is 0 tourists around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    the staff is so rud and impatient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in kitchen is so rudly. I order some food for roomservice, and I wanted to bring bread for my friends firstly, he accepted.but when I come down to take the bread, he is so rudly to tell me there isnt bread any more. I am so unsatisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous loved the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children running in corridor at 6 am. Could hear furniture being moved across floors from 7.30 am, wooden floors are lovely but carpet would be quieter.

    Stunning views, comfy bed. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    we enjoyed the stay, only inconveniance due to the location is the obligatiary driving up & down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't appreciate the restaurant that much, the bus-like positionnement of the tables, the service and the menu didn't inspire us, so we just ate one evening.

    The location is unique, rooms and equipment clean and confortable, Internet connection super and price correct;

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    I could recommend a two days stay für enjoying and exploring the fantastic landscape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning stuff left the used glasses of a birthday evening in the room, and this for two days: They did not even clean them.

    The Parador is situated in beautiful landscape We have been there in December for two days on fullmoon and walked around in the night, which was fantastic. Even watching the sunrise, when the volcano turns red, is fantastic too. The staff is friendly. We could recommend the meal, breakfast and dinner. One should stay there for two nights, to discover the different landscapse of the national parc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Great beds, super breakfast choice, easy parking, amazing view, comfy common room. We went in low season so even the price was great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.3
    Parador conundrum
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are good but can't cope with the numbers for the dinner service. The hotel suffered complete water/plumming failure during our stay.

    It's location is the attraction. It's overpriced because there is no competition.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy ventilator all night - for such a remote location I hoped for peace and quiet. Small window, which made the room gloomy, and a disappointing view onto another wing of the building. Very expensive breakfast (we didn't have it because of the price).

    Fabulous location. Pleasant communal seating areas. Very good sized meal portions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet very expensive for what was presented. They take advantage of the fact that there is nothing near. The mattress could be changed.

    Great Location in the centre of the park for hiking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location to explore Mt Teide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found out when we arrived that walking trails were to be closed the following morning. This meant we ere unable to complete our planned walks.

    Location is stunning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Spectacular views and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi only worked on ground floor but this may be related to the remote location.

    Spectacular location in the heart of the national park. Luxury room with great views. Expensive but worth it. Great wait staff in the restaurant dining room. Delicious menu of local delicacies at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Very convenient for little hiking tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner is expensive for those who are not hungry (but for those who are - big portions).

    Very kind staff. Free WiFi is very strong. I liked the interior. Shower in pool is good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Paradise at the Parador up above the clouds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air is a bit thin, so I'd recommend taking your time driving up there or quit smoking.

    The food in the restaurant was just fabulous and the staff couldn't have been nicer. There's plenty to explore on foot in the immediate vicinity. The views at sunset are just breathtaking and if you can arrange your trip when there's no moon in the evening you'll be rewarded with an amazing view of the heavens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    This was the high point of our 6th visit to Tenerife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym equipment needed fixing two years ago (one or two of the machines was not functional) and it looks like it had not been touched since. I can't be absolutely sure about that, as I only looked through the window this time as I was too busy with other things (like heading to the pool). But it would be nice to use it on our next visit assuming those machines are functional.

    the location is wonderful. Great for exploring the amazing volcanic landscape, hiking etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a very varied choice of items with many healthy options. It was nice to take a dip in the small pool after a day of hiking. The pool was just about big enough for my wife and me to do short lengths!! But we had it all to ourselves so that was ok. The sunsets over the Garcia rocks (visible from the front of the hotel) are just amazing. I took a large number of truly amazing pictures. Be sure to be out there about 15 to 20 minutes before sunset. You will not be disappointed. The Heavens declare the glory of God... (Psalm 19:1). This was our second visit and we hope to return in about 2 years.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    I booked this for my fathers 50th birthday for him to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this for my fathers 50th birthday for him to stay with my mother. They had a lovely time and the hotel put an extra little touch for him in his room to make their stay even more special. They had a lovely dinner and breakfast and they said the views were exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Location in volcanic rocky landscape is fascinating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very limited bus service to/from hotel so had to use taxi or hire car.

    Location in volcanic rocky landscape is fascinating. Breakfast and dinner were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    The Park itself is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special. Rooms gloomy tired, tiny windows had to upgrade to the only balcony room. Place had more of a bus station atmosphere due to the hotel being an appendage to a mega canteen. The outside landscaping is concrete and cheap. The whole hotel looks dreary and tired. No activites offered..telescopes? Restaurant food, the menu was a real challenge of precooked stuff, in the end settled for a pork shin terrine which was tasteless. I can think of better ways to spend £220 (106 booking, 45 upgrade, 70 dinner) Had to travel 10 miles past 1000s of buses to find a quiet spot at 1 am to see the stars. The hotel was the worst place to see them. Full of buses at night. Its lit up like a xmas tree.

    In a National Park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Amazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The on site restaurant is not good for vegetarians

    The Location is priceless, with night time views of the Milky Way and various constellations and daytime views of the other worldly beauty of the volcano and National Park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location for star gazing but don't go on the night of a full moon like we did. Avoid the resta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was not good and the waitress wasn't interested in listening to our complaint. Not much choice in the bar and it closed very early

    Nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Great views on Mount Teide and star gazing at night. A lovely hotel to explore the National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests in corridor late at night. English speaking tv channel or even just news channel would be good as room rather silent. Wifi in rooms, could also stream through wifi. Only minor things as a lovely hotel.

    The room was lovely though a little dark. Nice bathroom and facilities.. Great location and outside veranda, wonderful views. Friendly courteous staff. Good food on menu and great house wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    A fabulous location with nice facilities and friendly staff. I would not hesitate to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunchtime isn't well catered for either in the hotel (evening menu all day) or the cafe next door unless you like tubs of salad or mediocre sandwiches. There was a decent cake counter in the cafe but if looking for a filling lunch without breaking the bank you'd struggle. The lack of wifi in bedrooms was irritating although available in reception area. Finally a better English translation of the menu would be nice e.g cheese, chocolate and cookies was in fact cheesecake with chocolate flakes sprinkled on top.

    The breakfast, contrary to some feedback I've read, was superb. The Canarian dishes on the evening menu were the best too. The location is superb, you'll not stay closer to the volcano. What a vista. The pool was also most welcome to cool off in after a long trek. If on a walking holiday this is a great base.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was in a perfect location for star gazing, and the stunning scenery within caldera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service during lunch and early afternoon could have been quicker - it is easier to use the cafe next door, but too busy for us. Wished we had taken our own pillows.

    Good range of food at breakfast. Restaurant was good, starters are very big! Location is excellent (if you are interested in views, both on the ground and the stars!) Friendly lizards!!!!! Cafe and shop next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.0
    Very expensive for breakfast and other food and drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very remote which means you have to purchase all drinks and food from the hotel which is incredibly expensive on top of an already high room only rate..

    Good location for hiking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Parador Teide ions review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except noisy neighbours on terrace at night sky time

    The hotel is so far from the busy locations in Tenerife and brings solitude unless there are noisy people on the terrace !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Location is fantastic as it's a Parador within a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having a room with a better view. Service in the dining room gets slow at times.

    Location is fantastic as it's a Parador within a national park, next to the volcano. Recommend bringing hiking gear to really enjoy this very special park. View of the stars, mountains, earth formations, etc. The night sky is just incredible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Location is top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only option for eating dinner is the hotel’s own restaurant, which just as the rest of the house feels a little tired and worn. The superior room is still quite small.

    Unique, stunning location at 2300 meters of altitude at the base of the Mount Teide volcano. Superior room offered breathtaking views of Mount Teide, various bizarre rock formations and the national park. Wonderful for stargazing. Interesting free “star-chat” offered to hotel guests each Friday, where a guide introduces you to the wonders of the night sky. Rooms were clean. Lots of parking available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Scenic stay, looking out to Mount Teide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is placed in a wonderful setting, surrounded by mountains. Stargazing opportunities are great - make sure to ask the hotel staff for the telescope. Very quiet area, hotel is decorated tastefully and according to the environment. Breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from, and including fresh orange juice. It was also nice to dive into the indoor pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    A hotel in an amazing location for stargazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff didn't speak english. The room looked a bit outdated but overall value for price was great.

    The location at the national park was amazing, really convenient for anyone wanting to stargaze at night. We stayed there with this purpose and got what we wanted. Reception staff was helpful with organizing a last minute stargazing guided tour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic few days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaper breakfast or the option of buying just tea/coffee/pastry before 10am.

    Evening meals were great. A very peaceful place when everyone else has gone with fantastic views. Will being going back next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    A must stay if you love the Cañadas and Mount Teide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner which was ok but not special.

    Location, location, location. Good room with mountain view. Comfortable beds. Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    Good, but should be great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is underwhelming and expensive for what it is. Service in restaurant ranged from indifferent to good depending on who was working. Couldn't get a drink in bar after half 10.

    The location is incredible and could not be better. Spectacular 1 hr drive from airport but do it in daylight. Reception staff very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what you get in the hotel, probably due to a good location near the volcano.

    The location is unique. The resraurant is good. Other than that, everything is OK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    The best place to stay near El Teide
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes very early and the breakfast starts later than in other properties.

    Wonderful location, amazing staff, perfect views, great facilities and food!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Amazing room with view of mountain and stars, but dented by mediocre restaurant food & service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was mediocre for the price - pork steak was tough, and the fish had a strong fishy smell. Dinner service was pretty standoffish as well! Would avoid the restaurant, but didn't have much of a choice as we did not want to drive on the winding mountain roads in the dark.

    The room was great, we asked for a room with a view, and was lucky to get a fabulous room (room 122), with a balcony and view of a neighbouring mountain. We watched the sunset from our room, and watched the stars outside as we fell asleep. Showers were great, and this room had a comfortable large queen/king sized bed. As our room was on the side of the hotel, we didn't have much noise from the cars on the highway. Would love to return for the room! The guy at the day and night reception were very helpful as well. Night receptionist was nice enough to give us some hot water after stargazing in the cold.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Small windows, no balconies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small windows, no balconies. Given the spectacular views, its a pity the views from rooms are limited. Breakfast - very limited choice. Hot food only luke warm. Evening meal - we felt we were being hurried and staff wanted to finish their shift! Food was well cooked and presented but far too much of it. We paid for half board and the printed cost for eve meal was 30 Euros each for 3 courses. We all ate our starter, left part of our main course and didn't have dessert. We certainly did not get value for money. Would have preferred to pay 20 E for 2 courses with option to buy dessert.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Friendly service, Helpful staff, excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of dinner was high compared to the quality of the food. The food was good and interesting but really overpriced and the lack of competition (it is the only hotel, restaurant open in nightnime in the area) makes it impossible to choose other options.

    Super good view from the room. The breakfast was really good. Staff at the reception where helpful and smiling. Swimming pool area was amazing with a veiw of Teide. Many walking trails start straight at the hotel enabling wonderful trekking in the area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Location, cleanliness, comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast: could have been fresher and the warm food could have been heated better. Price is too high for the breakfast. Evening meals were good.

    Location, cleanliness, comfort. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one very pricy breakfast option. Recommended to bring your own and get a coffee from the self-serving cafeteria in the same building. Paper thin walls, but most guests seem to be quite active during the daytime so no issue during the night.

    Perfect location, especially in the early morning and late afternoon/evening once most busses are gone. Pricy but very good restaurant. Rooms were fine, temperature very hot inside, but seems to be the preference of most guests.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location, very comfortable and a wonderful base for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed with the standard of the food on an evening. Our fish was inedible. Breakfast and lunches were excellent

    Amazing location, very comfortable and a wonderful base for walking. Loved the evenings when everyone had gone.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular view and excellent experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of the thinner air, the higher it gets!

    Excellent view of Mount Teide. Spectacular view and Great hiking experience! Dinner and breakfast really excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Average Parador in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't great - broken headboard on bed. Food was pretty average and not enough staff in restaurant. Not what I expected from a Parador.

    Great location. Nice bar and lounge area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    The weather was excellent so the location just made it wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor in the bedroom was of good quality but we would have liked lighter colours in furnishings. However.. that is just personal taste!

    The `location` in the weather we had was spectacular

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Smart hotel with excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a clear routine when it comes to drinks and mealtimes, and does not cater that well for those seeking food or drink outside of that routine. For example to get a cup of coffee mid morning I had to leave the hotel and visit the adjoining cafe and queue amidst a visiting coach party.

    Superb views of El Teide from our room. The hotel was clean and well presented throughout. The room was extremely comfortable with quality fixtures and fittings. The stargazing talk put on by the hotel free of charge on friday night was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    The obvious place to stay as a base for El Teide.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can't beat the location of this hotel for a trip to Teide. We spent 60 hours in Tenerife with a view to climbing El Teide and so this was the perfect base. The food was great, the service was good and the night stars were a highlight!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    A touristy place but with many positive attributes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-con in the room was a little noisy. A fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. The staff at reception could be a little friendlier - a smile doesn't hurt. The food was alright (we ate two nights) but the fruit and vegetables that taste wonderful all over the island, were not so good here.

    The location was fabulous of course. The swimming pool and sauna were great and not too busy in January, the high season. The full circular walk around the free standing stones is a must with grand views over the more deserted areas. Views from the dining room out onto the landscape are fantastic. If walking to El Teide cable car station, take the circular route that brings you back to the hotel via a richly planted desert type landscape as good as someone's back garden.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of exclusive car park for guests; during the day visitors to local attractions completely fill the parador car park and surrounding areas

    The location The comfort The amazing views The restaurant The staff

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: