Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo 4 stars

Avenida Calvo Sotelo, 28, 24500 Villafranca del Bierzo, Spain

#5 of 12 hotels in Villafranca del Bierzo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Beauty clean luxurious and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe opened too late for us to have coffee before we left in the morning. The man at the desk in the morning was not helpful. Later when our bags had not been shipped by van to our next location as is common on the Camino de Santiago, the clerk had not called.

    Beauty clean luxurious and quiet. Very reasonable for a Paradore.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxing in a quality environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the Parador for 2 nights as a break from the Camino. Very comfortable and relaxing. Pool was lovely, breakfast was varied and excellent quality. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    The swimming pool was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was overpriced and just mediocre.

    The swimming pool was great! The breakfast buffet was exceptional! Really beautiful, healthy, great variety & options to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel but a bit out of the way they had a mini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to the city center or path of the Camino or so I don't think. WiFi was so so.

    Very nice hotel but a bit out of the way they had a mini fridge in the room a big plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very upmarket hotel with pool and sauna that was very useful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very upmarket hotel with pool and sauna that was very useful after our long Camino walk. Would be ideal place for a stopover on Camino for a couple of days and relax in this beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Not our best Parador experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at another Parador and the water was turned off. . They gave us a coupon to use for 2 free drinks at any Parador as an apology. This Parador refused to honor it. Rather cheap considering how much we spent on the room, dinner and wine.

    Very nice hotel, comfortable, clean room. Good WiFi. Had a very good dinner at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    A modern Parador with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of - it was perfect for me!

    The staff - they were excellent. Especially the two gentlemen at reception who helped me sort out my luggage transfer and book a taxi to continue my camino. They couldn’t have been more helpful. Staff in the bar were also lovely - and very gracious at listening to my poor attempts at Spanish! This Parador is modern but it didn’t bother me, the Hotel is well appointed and the efforts of the staff went beyond my experiences at other more historical parador - rooms are quiet, comfortable and the view was incredible. I didn’t eat at the Restaurant bit the menu looked great. The local wines in the bar were very good. I would definitely staff here again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    A nice stay in upscale accommodation along the Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After days walking the Camino this was our treat. The rooms were very clean and modern, towels fluffy and a king-size bed! Although this parador does not have the historical character of other paradors in Spain, it is good value if you are looking for a nicer place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Great bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant/bar didn't suit neither a family with young kids nor pilgrims (which we were). And they were way too busy (= not service minded)...

    Great bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Villa Franca del Bierzo and Las Medullas sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outside area does not invite you to spend time relaxing with a drink as there is no direct acces from the bar. It is not possible to eat outside.

    Splendid breakfast. indoor and outdoor pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    It was our last leg of walking the Camino and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our last leg of walking the Camino and a very pleasant stay. I loved the swimming pools. We missed the ambience that comes from an old building but it was actually a pleasant change to enjoy more modern amenities. It is situated slightly away from the main square, but is is an easy walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Modern Parador with good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location didn't have good views and was a modern Parador but otherwise nice.

    Restaurant was great, bar and front desk staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathing cap should have been included in the pride. We weren't asked to wear one/ pay for one until after we had already swam.

    Very large room and bathroom. Clean and comfy. The lounge areas downstairs, outside patio and pool areas made for a very relaxing stay. Felt like we were at a spa. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Lovely modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facility in the room.

    Excellent accommodation/room. Very clean and comfortable. Good choice of menu in the restaurant and the ladies waiting on were really attentive.The service was good from start to finish. We were only there one night and there was going to be a wedding on the day we left. Would have liked to have seen the patio area when it was finished being decorated for the wedding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean and modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A modern parador, so not much character. We had just stayed at the Parador in Leon prior to this one, so it was a tough comparison.

    Easy to find, clean and modern hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    A Luxury Treat in Lovely Villafranca del Bierzo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time here, and it is a luxury! On the route of the Camino in Villafranca, which is a beautiful little town, and clearly well loved by its residents. The Parador, whilst not old & quaint, is just a lovely treat. Nice staff, perfect rooms, a nice indoor (and outdoor) pool, very relaxing. Just the ticket! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service at the reception on arrival. Extremely kind and efficient person at the desk. Very good breakfast/buffet. Peaceful environment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Come here to see the real northern Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mistake with the evening meal (no Tuna on a Tuna Salad) but this was a simple oversight instantly rectified

    Fascinating historic town definitely off the Tourist Track. Having said that it is on the Camino but thats a different sort of tourist. Great staff particularly on Reception, they gave us a recommended route around the town which we would never have found ourselves. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    Should be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was overbooked and despite booking I had to eat in the bar. Staff slow and not particularly helpful

    Food was good and the room was very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.7
    Not very paradoric
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a parador, it lacked character/ ambience. it all seemed rather sterile and lifeless. the opening hours of the pool are restricted and there are petty regulations about its use.

    spacious clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely modern hotel on the edge of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit out of the way and not near the town center. They did not start serving dinner until 8:30, which was too late for this pilgrim.

    This is a modern hotel with modern decor. Unlike most paradores, it is not a historic property. But it has been completely remodeled and is a lovely place to stay. I especially enjoyed the comfortable couches and fireplace in the lounge area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Helpful staff re the local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff re the local area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful modern hotel with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in bedrooms

    Lovely pool with sauna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Good quality for the price.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetarian meal in menu. Not so nice like other Paradors located in the historical buildings.

    A nice sauna and swiming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    We had s great lunch in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had s great lunch in the restaurant. The waiter was so helpful. Loved the property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too clinical and felt like I was in a modern hospital which wasn't my expectation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Spacious room with all facilities, great restaurant very...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room with all facilities, great restaurant very helpful staff. Would have been nice to stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Restaurant and bar staff grumpy and unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar staff grumpy and unfriendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Some nice touches like candles in evening etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some nice touches like candles in evening etc Breakfast is sumptuous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Agradable y confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo en general

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    They really know how to treat guests and take care! Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good!

    The staff was extremely friendly Food was super delicious! I can really recommend this place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    excellent hotel||
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent hotel||

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Superb, would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service with a personal touch

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food overpriced

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    Modern amenity
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unhelpful overpriced no air conditioning

    Modern amenity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lacked the character of other Paradors

    Very nice room & staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Good clean quiet hotel biased in the small village of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good clean quiet hotel biased in the small village of Villfranca . The hotel is ideal for over night stay has everything you need .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Very nice and recent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice and recent hotel. Very good even if it doesn't have the loftiness of other paradores accommodated in historical buildings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable bedrooms, gorgeous to have a heated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bedrooms, gorgeous to have a heated swimming pool after a long walk. Nice views

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    We love Paradors and have never been disappointed before
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately in this case the evening meal was not up to the usual standard of excellence

    We love Paradors and have never been disappointed before

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I newer Parador but very luxurious and still comfortable. It is a bit off the beaten path but this added to the serenity of the stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Stay exceeded our expectation levels for comfort and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar and restaurant service a little slow

    Bedroom and en suite facilities excellent Reception friendly and informative

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The absence of a second armchair in our bedroom. The second chair was most uncomfortable.

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room Very help staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable bed
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Characterless and unfriendly

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    Large room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is good, but a bit away from town center. No big deal, just be aware of it.

    Large room and bathroom. King bed was exceptional. Pool and sauna were a wonderful respite for a rest day from walking the Camino.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    Very comfy bed.
    • Couple

    Went to use the indoor pool but so many rules posted on the door! No street shoes allowed in, must wear slippers, bathing cap must be worn! Fine if these were provided in room but they were not. Average tourist not prepared for the complexities of a simple swim in a pool! Also, tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been appreciated.

    Very comfy bed. Light and airy room. Excellent bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    7.1
    Cleanliness, quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a 4 star hotel I expected the WiFi to work and it didn't. I spoke to reception and they knew there was a problem with it but I never got access. No good enough especially as I was trying to make travel arrangements.

    Cleanliness, quietness

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Location lovely quiet area of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast too late at 0800 for camino walkers, perhaps a continental breakfast could be offered considering their is a mini fridge in rooms for those who which to depart early, especially camino walkers

    Location lovely quiet area of town. Friendly helpful staff and being escorted to our room. Great place for Camino walkers to stay

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    Its a parador and a reasonably priced one at that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Its a parador and a reasonably priced one at that. I treated myself for the night while walking the Camino de Santiago. The property was beautiful, amenities what you would expect of a parador and the staff incredibly helpful. Breakfast the next morning (while pricing by pilgrim standards ~ 15 EUR) was fantastic and set me up for my 30Km walk to O Cebreiro that day. Well worth the money.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    The room was modern and spacious with nice views of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No apparent signage in town to direct travelers to the property.

    The room was modern and spacious with nice views of the surrounding hills. The pools were really clean and well-kept and pool staff friendly. Location made it an easy walk to town and easy access to the highway. Good wifi and a/c. A good value.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building is actually quite new. It was built in 1959 and refreshed 4 years ago. It is therefore quite a young building and doesn't have the character of the older Paradors we've stayed in along the Camino

    Friendly and helpful staff Nice bed Clean large room Excellent shower

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    Bed and rug next to bed were luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hard to find - Bad signposting in Villafranca - a lot of pilgrims walking around lost looking for their various accommodations. Maybe Parador could erect a sign around by the castle if permitted.

    Bed and rug next to bed were luxury. Bar food was lovely. Large bath. Large room.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is immaculate, with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is immaculate, with great facilities. Friendly staff. Good restaurant. Great to have a pool to ease the tired muscles after a day walking! BTW - A previous reviewer claimed that Parador hotels are intended to be historic buildings (renovated). Not true - they are luxury hotels, some of which are in historic buildings. This is not, but it is a fantastic hotel!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    This Hotel has everything you could possibly want but I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had gone for a room with no breakfast option but sat at the breakfast table sharing a friends coffee pot which he had paid for and was immediately asked for my room number. It was waived in the end but I had stayed at a budget hotel the night before which was brill and the coffee was free even though I was prepared to pay!

    This Hotel has everything you could possibly want but I was only staying here meeting up with others who had booked in here to do the 'pilgrimage walk' and none of us took advantage of the 'extras' this hotel has to offer. I would have booked in to cheaper accommodation but for anyone who wants to be spoiled this is the place for you!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    staff were extremelyhelpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff were extremelyhelpful and nice. very sensitive to the needs of pilgrims

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.8
    WiFi not too strong in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi not too strong in room. Small point.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    Great breakfast in the morning and nice to have a swim in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast in the morning and nice to have a swim in the pool after a hard days work !

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Huge bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Huge bath Cleanliness Staff Check in

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    I think hotel is overrated for the price.
    • Solo traveller

    I think hotel is overrated for the price. Not impressed.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Great room, venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great room, venue. Smart and friendly hotel. Great breakfast. Plenty of TV channels for watching sport.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.8
    all round a very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    all round a very good hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.1
    El personal de recepcion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tenian que haber dubido las maletas a la habitscion

    El personal de recepcion

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    6.3
    The room and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The dining experience was poor for a hotel of this standard.

    The room and pool

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. Excellent. 10 out of 10.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.5
    Quite and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite and relaxing

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.8
    Facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location. Restaurant didn't open until 8.30pm which is far too late. Expensive breakfast.

    Facilities. Very comfortable rooms. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.5
    We did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food. Other than that the hotel was excellent.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: