Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parador de Santo Estevo 4 stars

Monasterio de Santo Estevo, 32162 Santo Estevo de Rivas de Sil, Spain

Review score

Based on 793 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant expensive. Not a huge range of food in the cafeteria.

    Secluded location, with access to Cañón del Sil (15 minutes by car to the boat embarcation). Sympathetic modernisation of ancient building, with many parts left in their original or restored state. Good restaurant and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast, good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing it was perfect

    the location is fabulous, it is an old monastery converted in a luxury hotel, so peaceful with a top gourmet experience and full of good advice to travel in the Ribeira Sacra region

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly and uninterested and did not want to interact . Cobwebs in the dining room . Bad service in dining room . Breakfast poor . No eggs spart from over cooked set fried eggs . Not replenished so no bread

    Fab spacious rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a check-out snafu over an extra room which was probably my fault, but I’m still not sure.

    Location. Location. Location. Gorgeous facility in extraordinarily beautiful surroundings. Nice, but crowded, breakfast buffet. A delicious dinner with impeccable service enjoyed by all six of us.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all was great

    This is probably the best parador of all. The surroundings and the hotel are excellent (despite the rain ;)). Very special and unforgettable experience. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting was superb and the atmosphere of the old monastery unique. The Hotel facilities were however a bit dated and some of the staff could have done with some ‘ charm school ‘ training

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    More flowers in the courtyard garden, rather than the empty lawn, would add to the otherwise general sense of luxury.

    The innovative blending of modern elements in the historic framework of an old monastery was a welcome experience. The glass-enclosed cloistered courtyard accented with modern furnishings was inspirational and added to the general experience of exclusivity. The room was stylish and comfortable. The evening meal on the restaurant terrace was excellent with friendly and attentive staff ready to provide advice on the local Ribeira Sacra wine!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place deserves six stars, if possible. An exquisite mix of modern comfort and ambiance from the Middle Ages. The hiking trails around the property take you through beautiful woods to lovely vistas. It is out of the way, but, that's the point!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information. On approaching from East on N120 SatNav made dangerous suggestions to Cross Very Busy Road. Suggest getting close to Ourense before heading for Luintra.

    Restoration of Building, Art Display, Restaurant Ambiance/Food, Staff, Service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Santo Estevo. The location and the parador itself are stunning. Our room was large and comfortable and we generally found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good value considering the location and we ate on the terrace watching the sunset. There was also a good choice for breakfast and parking in the underground car park was easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant got our dinner order very wrong resulting in a very long wait for our main courses. To be fair to the restaurant manager, he amended our bill to reflect the incompetencancies we suffered.

    Location is beautiful with amazing views and gorgeous walks. The rooms were spacious and clean with good air conditioning. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Some very peaceful communal areas and excellent parking facilities. Breakfast was also very good indeed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention.

    Impressive historical building, you can spend hours just walking around. The rooms' design is also perfect. Rich breakfast. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the restaurant was poor, to say the least... At Paradores meals usually are not worth the price, but this one was terrible! Reception staff could be friendlier (again, as is standard for most Paradores, they act as they are doing you a favor)

    Lovely location. Small room but confortable. Great parking facilities. Nice breakfast, although not worth the extra cost

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The approach road was a bit difficult, and the directions from Orense were quite confusing. Some outside seating would have been nice but by accident we did find a quiet terrace, namely the old hospital.

    Fabulous location with magnificent views. Lovely room and excellent dinner on the terrace completed the experience. Important to us was the provision of an underground carpark.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa experience was only average. Remember to take a bath hat and flip flops otherwise there is an extra charge. The cafeteria food was average with no outside space to enjoy. Please ditch the fake flowers in such a beautiful place.

    Situation of the parador is stunning, thanks to the monks!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there when the hotel had only just re opened for the season and was virtually empty. Nonetheless we were given a (very comfortable) room with a fine view of the car park and not of the spectacular scenery at all which seemed a shame.

    Stunning location and delicious if pricey dinner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic environment, calm and quiet, the mixture of antique architecture and modern design. There is a sculpture exhibition, adding more cultural experience to the tour. And it's enjoyable to have a cup of tea at the cafeteria in the afternoon time, the sunshine and all the surroundings make perfect background for a unforgettable holiday experience

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 103 opened directly onto a forest, was totally insecure and lacked aircon. It was so stuffy we were eventually moved at no extra cost to a large suite. The majority of the rooms are far smaller than in the average Parador. The restaurant is very expensive and is the only Parador restaurant I have come across that does not have a fixed price menu. The lounge with balconies projecting over the valley is so poorly signed that on the three occasions we visited we were the only ones there. Staff were the least helpful I have encountered in a Parador.

    A superb location and a beautiful building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't say it was bad but the restaurant food was average for the price (maybe due to the remote location?).

    I wish i could have stayed here more days but I had some other locations to visit on my trip. Beautiful hotel and location. Perfect for a romantic getaway with someone special. Staff was helpful in both the restaurant and the hotel. Nice walking trail behind the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    even though we booked a non-smoking room it smelled of cigarette smoke ( the shower curtain smelled of cigarette smoke). reception staff was not very proactive in terms of surrounding tips, we had to ask several times for maps etc.

    -the setting is incredible -restaurant good value, but service only ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had some tic bites ("garrapatas") as in June the area is full of those. Hotel should make sure they have a pincet at the reception as this is a common problem in the area.

    Marvellously located former monastery in beautiful area. Very nice hikes start right outside the hotel. Fine restaurant with local dishes.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    v poor service in restaurant and food not great difficult to get to

    An amazing building - totally unique spectacular location once you get there the Spa

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found one of the waiters at the restaurant to be quite surly for both lunch and dinner. The head waiter and the reception staff were pleasant and professional.

    Lovely tranquil woodland setting. Beautiful historic building with 3 cloisters, one of which was particularly lovely. The Parador section was tastefully furnished in a modern style.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historic building amazingly well converted into a modern hotel. Super stylish. Very interesting and made to feel at home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having refund or flexible dates

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vistas y entorno MARAVILLOSOS

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our second stay at this parador. We choose it for unique atmosphere of tranquility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant surprise in a quite remote area of Northern Spain. Dinner was exceptional and not overpriced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just stunning location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible location. Rooms excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and small rooms

    Staff and location and property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if there would be a bar outside with a nice terras. Swimming Poole would be even better!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mediocre service and food

    Fantastic location and setting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few staff rather terse but others great.

    Beautifully restored old monastery, large spacious room, beautiful location and lovely walks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building and surrounding nature

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner options very limited.

    Excellent accommodation, beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable, superb accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquilo, paraje natural y espectacular

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and in general the building was not good confortable, Too hot , heaters and fans too high.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's something unbelievable: place for calm staying with great nature. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location and facilities... one parador that must be visited ....

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifull parador, very tastefull.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    The roads to get there are a bit tricky.

    If you walk at night through the corridors, it is amazing, the atmosphere is so quiet and sometimes spooky. So many nice salons to explore, the spa is very relaxing and the personnel is very helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean. We stayed in the superior suite with views to the mountains. It is worth to stay a couple of days to explore inside and outside the Parador.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Tricky roads to get there, bit it is worth it.

    Love the monastery, it is worth to go around inside every single salon. Walking at night is the best, allows to see different aspects of the monastery. We stayed at the superior room, very comfortable bed, lovely view, and nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the rooms a little austere (and still smoke-friendly). Fortunately we were able to change from the cell we were originally given. It is a long and not especially well signed drive from the main road - persevere. Not a lot to do in the immediate vicinity.

    For the most part luxurious converted monastery of the top of a mountain miles from anywhere. Lovely restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing - it's a wonderful venue.

    This is an amazing venue. The best of the Paradors on our trip (Burgos, Léon, Santiago). If you're in the area, be sure to make the detour and stay for at least two to three nights. Beautifully restored monastery in a spectacular location overlooking the canyon of the SIl river. Great walks. Good spa. GREAT restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very glad to know that the place was rescued from ruin as late as 2004. But the architect erred in choosing avant-garde for the furnishings. It just clashes with the historic significance. Spain survived the Dark Ages and emerged from them in places like this. The decor doesn't honor that, in my opinion.

    Everything but the decor. Learning the history of the monastery helped provide a spiritually moving experience. The dining room is excellent too, as are the staff at the desk. A wonderful place.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building works going on in the approach road, made getting in somewhat challenging. The romantic/mood lighting in the room was great, but if you need more light to see it could be a challenge.

    the isolation of this accommodation is part of its charm. perched on the top of a hillside with a wonderful walk through the forests available right outside your door. The history and character of the building is wonderful. Nice restaurant on site too.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar. Cafeteria served alcohol, but only one waiter made the service a little slow. Spa was expensive (25 euros), and not worth it.

    View and grounds were spectacular. The room was beautiful and modern. Best hotel I stayed in in Spain.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful location with amazing history. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable. Hiking trails around the monastery are fun for exploring. Our 5 year old daughter would not have made it through the formal dinner in their dining room, but we had excellent service and delicious food at the cafe! The Spa staff were also very friendly, though we did not have time to take advantage of the facilities.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi is really lousy.

    A unique remote place in the mountains to stay for a day or two. Monastery buildings are very charming and well adjusted to hotel needs.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bar drinks and snacks are expensive - but location of cafe is good

    Beautiful buildings - well worth wandering round every corner. I discovered a balcony overlooking the other side from our room on a second exploratory trip.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked half-board, but were given the wrong menus at dinner. When we finally got the correct menus, they were fairly restricted in choice: we would have preferred to have been offered a longer menu, even if some dishes required a supplementary charges. There was no Wi-Fi, but this is probably not a surprise given the location and character of the hotel!

    Superb building and location. Really helpful staff on reception. Plenty of historical interest within the hotel itself.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After seeing the photos on booking I was (wrongly) under the impression that there was a pool for hotel guests. The pool however belonged to the Spa and the Spa costs 25 euros per person to use (note not for any treatments, which cost extra again, just for using the pools). We ended up using it in the end but felt overcharged. There is no bar in the Parador and comfortable seating areas are sparse. Note that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there is nowhere else to go, so you will want to sit somewhere comfortably. The terrace is only accessible if you are having a meal in the restaurant, the sun loungers can only be accessed from the Spa. And so on. We had a meal in the restaurant which was apart from the Parador prices fairly ordinary. All in all a nice enough place but not good value for money.

    The parador is in a beautiful old monastery, within beautiful countryside. The building is really spectacular and worth seeing. Apart from this though I'm not sure it's worth spending the money on this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were expensively and tastefully furnished but there was no character, no feel to the place.

    Fascinating to stay in an old monastery. Some beautiful walks in the area

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving.

    Walking around the building & grounds. Stylish restaurant serving delicious meals. Illuminated "tree" in the cloister. Being able to go for long woodland walks starting from the monastery.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't like that after one night we had to travel further :]

    It's fantastic place to stay [for night or for whole life]

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fish excellent - meat could have been better

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no help with bags or help on arrival with guidance

    Astonishing building, amazing setting, terrific room

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative comments.

    Location for walking on trails very good. Rural setting very appealing. Quiet. Wildflowers terrific.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No outside seating, bar in a corridoor

    Location, food, building

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather was awful and spa was closed due to week end stop

    The conservation and historic scenario, the church would need more valorization

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning location. Amazing buildings.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited Wifi

    The location Is breth taking and the parador it self is beautiful and full of history

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spa is quite expensive (25€)

    Great monastery, very special

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Price only

    Very nice hotel. It's really beautiful. The food is good too. You feel history around.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The environment is wonderful and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ambiance, the 3 cloisters rooms pleasantly furnished

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location, miles from anywhere; super-modern hotel sensitively housed in a magnificent historic building.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse Parador de Santo Estevo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: