Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palacio Ayala Berganza 3 stars

De las Carretas, 5, 40001 Segovia, Spain

#13 of 18 hotels in Segovia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 822 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is in serious need of an update, fresh paint etc. The beds were uncomfortable, as were the pillows - we were in the family room. The bar is inside the hotel and the smell of rancid oil pervades the whole complex - so unpleasant was it, that we had to keep the windows to the patio closed. The hotel has a street terrace which was open until the early hours of the morning and unfortunately was directly outside our room. The price of €197 per night (no breakfast) was simply exorbitant given the very basic installations. Definitely not 3* quality.

    the hotel was close to the centre and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Segovia is worth even with a poor breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware, the hotel publicity says it only charges at the destination but, very unethically, they go to the credit card before you notice. Breakfast is very poor and with no choice, even the one with the higher priced is not worth it. The older employee o serves the breakfast does not press for kindness, on the contrary.

    The young staff was very nice, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    There was beautiful bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think this room was very expensive. We took it as a special deal, photos were beautiful and word "palace" impressed us. In fact, room was very small for family room, it didn't look like a part of a palace, and when we came the price was about 40% less without any special deal, but we already could not close the reservation. I understand that it is business, but in fact overrated room leaves unpleasant impression. Also conditioner didn't work properly, it was turning off every 5 minutes. Bathroom doesn't have conditioner and it was incredible hot inside in the morning.

    There was beautiful bathroom. Clean room, comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    A rustic and charming place just in the center. Great rest, great location that I would recommend t
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect. Is possible to park in front of the hotel, but there are two parking beside the hotel. One of them for free. The room was perfect for us, big, clean, comfortable, good lighting, with a good sized bath that includes a tub. No noise. The breakfast was ok, you get what you pay. I would repeat any other time in Segovia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful house, very well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house, very well decorated. Very complete facilities for a comfortable stay, while keeping traditional decoration. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Historic building with plenty of atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls very thin, could hear the neighbors on the toilet.

    Beautiful historic building. Close proximity to old town and all tourist attractions. Good value tapas bar next door and also good value menu del dia in the hotel restaurant itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant old hotel, nicely located in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old building with some noise from neighbouring rooms (walking, flushing toilets). Could be annoying when guests would be noisy. Simple breakfast (little choice).

    Nice old building, room in classic style, with nice atmosphere. Good location: 10 minutes walking from aquaduct and 10 minutes from old city. Very close to guarded car park (with discount for hotel guests).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant place for a night in Segovia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was attached to restaurant and bar - quite noisy while we were there. Staff could have been friendlier.

    The location of the hotel was fabulous - few minutes walk from the bus station and within easy reach of all Segovia's amazing attractions. Minutes to cafes and restaurants. Also we rented a car in Segovia to avoid driving in Madrid and hotel was less than 1 km from Europcar. Can highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    very clean , not good wifi in the evening
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad wifi. Because of many users, between 18 and 23 I haven't WiFi on my laptop. I call the reception, for nothing.

    Breakfast was from 8 AM. Because I left earlier, the property was nice to prepare it at 7.30 for us, thank you. From train station we took bus 11, 2 euro/ person. To go back we took taxi 9 euro till train station (AVANT speed train). The facility took my money from reservation day, means with 1 week earlier my trip, attention!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay near the world famous Roman aguaduct
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather ordinary but adequate

    The young man who was on reception desk when we arrived who was extremely helpful with a good command of English and also helped us in the adjoining restaurant.Room was good hotel in convenient place near a public carpark and not far from the spectacular aquaduct we would definitely stay here again as it was good value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay only let down by a very poor breakfast offering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of the lights in the room had either blown or were unconnected, the breakfast offering desperately needs to be improved. We stayed in five cities / towns in the area and all other hotels, even much cheaper had by far better breakfasts but apart from that, we loved the place.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff and we had a lovely big room with very good bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Could have been even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We could hear the television going in the next room and the guests there talking and would have heard what was being said if our Spanish had been better. This represented a major architectural error. The rooms on our floor and the corridor there appeared to have been installed not long ago and the whole structure was as if of a drum with compartments, a big transmitter of noise. The room was very hot into the day, as it faced the sun, and we were there in autumn. Shutters helped.

    The view of the tower of one of Segovia's many and remarkable romanesque churches. The room had enough space, which is a rare advantage, and plenty of drawers. The breakfast was basic but sustaining, including fresh-squeesed orange juice, coffee and toast served at our table. The dining room and sitting room showed the recognised historic nature of the building. The staff were on hand and effective.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great stay in Segovia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was to our liking.

    The room was very large, comfortable and very well decorated. The location was perfect for walking to the aqueduct as well as the Alcazar and Cathedral. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions as well as accommodating when we asked to borrow a wine opener. The room was probably the largest I've stayed in in Europe which was such a pleasant surprise after a long day of travel. We were right above the front entrance with a balcony view that was to die for. We couldn't have asked for a better place for our short visit to Segovia. Will definitely recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast, although tasty, was missing alternatives.

    Very friendly staff, always very helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Clean, staffs are friendly, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, staffs are friendly, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very noisy. Breakfast is a bit sparse.

    Great location. Hotel bar is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    €7 was a little expensive for breakfast, consider local bars if you have time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No selection for breakfast. We were not given a voucher for parking,therefore had to pay the full rate, €21 for just over 12 hours.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic location with all comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report.

    Great location, helpful staff, great breakfast, nice bar and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    The elevator wasn’t-working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator wasn’t-working. Air conditioning doesn’t work. Construction zone next door. Shower broken.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    We had a very large room with lots of space & it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very large room with lots of space & it was reasonably close to every everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay with a great bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    A very palatial hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    good location and comfortable room!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location and comfortable room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Large room, elegant building, centrally situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel breakfast

    Large room, elegant building, centrally situated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.0
    Didn't have breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhere to relax and enjoy the sun

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent for a Weekend with Friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, the courtesy and the availability to leave the hotel later than the check-out time

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love a softer, fluffy pillow to go along with the long stiff pillow.

    The room was very big, and we loved the character of the building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.5
    Location, large clean room, comfortable bed.
    • Couple

    Hotel is tired. Furniture is old, doors squeaked, heat irregular, desperately in need of refreshing, updating. Bathroom adequate.

    Location, large clean room, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    8.3
    The rooms we stayed in were out of fairytales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner/manager was a bit on the sour side. But I have to say he really came through in a pinch when I had to go to Urgencias for a terrible migraine. He drove us late at night and I was impressed by his concern.

    The rooms we stayed in were out of fairytales. Mine was huge with a big bed with mosquito netting for ambiance (ie no mosquitos). View caught a glimpse of the magnificent city of Segovia. Friends' room was magnificent was so amazing with a big bed and bed curtain that was a real deign plus. Felt like we were staying in a rennovated palace (which we were!)

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful surroundings, very nice communal areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    €7 breakfast was bloody awful - not buffet style, just two pieces of toast, small amount of ham, yogurt, jam, cool coffee. Shower lost heat too quickly. One staff member quite grumpy.

    Beautiful surroundings, very nice communal areas.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.9
    The spacious room had character, not like some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The radiator in the bathroom was on and there was no way we could turn it off. We had to close the bathroom door and open the windows to get the temperature down. Breakfast: all the reviews warn you, but what are the options if you have to make an easy start?

    The spacious room had character, not like some "formula" hotels that are so common. The couch and matching three legged table were in a medieval style and look like Richard the Lionheat's grandfather could have used it. Weekend parking is easy and free, but weekday parking may be a problem. Location is quiet, but close to the main attractions, very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    Quiet, quaint but very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was nothing we disliked

    Quiet, quaint but very comfortable and clean. The restaurant serves lovely local reasonably priced cuisine. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    The room was lovely with lots of comfort, a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was lovely with lots of comfort, a very nice bathroom and a perfect bed. Located very near al the main spots of Segovia and free parking space.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    4.6
    The location of the hotel is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was an unfriendly male receptionist. Not one word of welcome. We thought he did not speak English. Later on we did not understand the rules of parking in the street. He explained in English! The parking rules are different than mentionend on the hotels website! And the breakfast is poor , even for 7.50.

    The location of the hotel is good. Close to the old centre.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    The staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were no directions to the parking given ahead of time, even though requested. Additionally, the wifi barely worked in the room.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. It was a great location and parking (paid lot) was available nearby. The rooms were beautiful and very reasonably priced. Ours had a cute view into the courtyard in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.0
    Excellent location close to all the sights, well decorated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Probably best to forgo breakfast, many local and adjacent cafes.

    Excellent location close to all the sights, well decorated, large room, quiet position, flexible parking on street with long stay if required.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    3.8
    Big comfortable bed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning didn't work; spider web in the bathroom; noise from the street; far overpriced

    Big comfortable bed; Spacious room; beautiful old building

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Huge room with balcony overlooking square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small complaint. The local specialty cochinillo was not available in the restaurant on the night we chose to eat there despite being advertised outside. Breakfast was not great value for money.

    Huge room with balcony overlooking square. Fabulous sitting room for guests near reception. Busy bar frequented by locals. Hotel in magnificent building. Value for money. Quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    8.3
    It had a lot of character having once been a home of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The credit card machine at the front desk used to pay the bill was old and would not take my credit card. After one and one half hours the desk clerk FINALLY got permission to use the one at the bar,which the owner would not approve at first. The breakfast was the worse we had in 2 weeks in Spain - 2 pieces of bread, only ONE cup of coffee, one piece of fruit or yogrut, ham and cheeze,

    It had a lot of character having once been a home of a nobleman.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious, tastefully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious, tastefully decorated room with terracotta tiles and wooden beams, huge bath, really comfortable bed, great location - five minutes from the centre and main bus station.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    10
    Love everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad. Amazing stay

    Love everything about this hotel. Not only beautiful place & central, but the staff was efficient and nice. The heating in this hotel was great and the fireplace is a total plus! Great stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.8
    Unique rooms, easy access to parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unique rooms, easy access to parking

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful, comfortable, large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit difficult to reach the hotel by car.

    Beautiful, comfortable, large room. Very close to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Parking may have been a problem with a car but fine for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking may have been a problem with a car but fine for motorbikes. Hotel nicely placed to walk into town and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    the non standard look of the room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the non standard look of the room and bathroom

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Spacious room, good food, reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room, good food, reasonably priced. Located in quiet street. Easy access to all the places of interest.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    The hotel has a good location, just a few minutes from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has a good location, just a few minutes from the "acuaducto". It was also really clean and confortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.2
    Hard place to find initially.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well located

    Hard place to find initially.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.5
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was a very good conversion and retained a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was a very good conversion and retained a lot of the style and features.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.9
    V.good hotel, v.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    (For the Segovia half-marathon - if the check-out time was extended until 13:30 it would be great)

    V.good hotel, v.good location, hard to fault.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Palacio Ayala Berganza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: