Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pazo do Souto

Torre, 1, 15106 Carballo, Spain

#1 of 4 hotels in Carballo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 161 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no comment

    Family-run hotel, beautifully restored historic property with well-kept attractive grounds. Located in quiet rural area with easy access to major sites in Galicia (e.g., Santiago, Costa da Morte). Welcoming, helpful staff assisted us in planning our daily road trips to the region's many attractions. Excellent breakfast and dinner at the on-site restaurant. Clean, comfortable rooms and common areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Because it is an old building everything is a bit creaky and unwanted sound travels around the building

    Beautiful old building and very friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly welcome of all the staff. The service was excelent, nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast with a wide choice. The evening meal in the restaurant was a special treat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This summer I visited Northern Spain for the first time because some friends recommended it to me. The first impression when we arrived at Pazo do Souto was the beautiful historical stone building. At reception the staff were very welcoming and they showed us many interesting places to visit in the coast area of La Coruna. We slept in a superior room, with jacuzzi bath and all of the furnishing was in keeping with the historical surrounding, but done to a high standard. We had breakfast and evening meal at the hotel. Breakfast was a buffet style with varied food and delicious homemade cakes and muffins. The evening meal in the hotel's restaurant was available from 8 pm and this is earlier than most Spanish restaurants. The menu consists of local produce, meats and fresh fish and all of the vegetables come from the hotel's garden and orchard. My wife is vegetarian and enjoyed a range of suggestions from the chef. The closest local beach is 10 minutes from the hotel and has 5K of white sandy beach. The hotel is perfectly situated to visit the areas two main cities, Santiago and La Coruna. I would highly recommend this historical manor and I am looking forward to my next visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food slightly overpriced and one waiter was a bit curt.

    Lovely spot for exploring Galicia. Majority of staff very pleasant and helpful. Beautiful building!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pazo do Souto is one of those places where you can totally relax. My wife and I stayed here with another couple on August and we all agree what a fabulous place this is. The rooms (two special rooms) were spacious and well appointed and bathroom has everything you need. The location is great, just a short drive from the coast, La Coruna and Santiago de Compostela. The breakfast itself is amazing and we also ate dinner there and the food was spectacular! We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi needs more work but I believe this is being tackled

    Family run to excellent standard. Made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Given good advice on local places to visit. Great breakfast suites are special. We all loved staying there. Terrific value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very hot and the limited air conditioning was centrally controlled. It went off in the evening.

    We had the suite which was large and overlooked the front of the building. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool and outdoor areas were very good and an excellent beach could be reached within a half hour drive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of charm and character great food and hosts superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's perfect.

    This place is a gem, a diamond. I can't wait to go back. It's everything and more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Table tennis table needed renewing!

    Lovely house and grounds including a swimming pool and tennis court.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, room, breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well run family hotel With great character and pleasant surroundings and a feeling of history Good food ambience and caring helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tito was very informative about the rebuilding of this very attractive property and also about the surrounding area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place to stay and eat in Northern Spain.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very ordinary. Decor a bit drab, needs updating.

    Large rooms, very good service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was extremely nice and very helpful at all times. The food was excellent and very well presented.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This traditional stone built hotel was a real find-it has a lovely characterful atmosphere and is in a beautiful countryside location with easy access to a variety of beaches on the Galician coastline. The evening meal we had was really exceptional and also excellent value-the various dishes we had were all delicious,used lovely fresh ingredients from the garden and were cooked to perfection -we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and come back here ourselves

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need to travel to do anything and the nearest town, Carballo, has little to recommend it.

    The welcome that we received. The staff were fantastic. Food excellent. Could not fault the hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Beautiful old building tastefully decorated, rooms comfortable and clean. WiFi intermittent. Good restaurant menu and dinner very enjoyable; well presented buffet breakfast with good choices. Pet friendly. Close to some wonderful beaches. Very good and friendly hostess/waitress.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none.

    Beautiful place, beautiful room with a great feel. Very nice hosts.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    We felt at home. Staff very attentive and frendly. Large room. Food was delicious. Free range eggs!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hair in the dinner on two different occasions

    Pet friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome. Comfortable room. Delicious dinner and breakfast. Spa bath in room!

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A beautiful and interesting house Dinner and breakfast were excellent Staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful building and great value

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Pazo do Souto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: