Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pazo O Rial 4 stars

Avenida de Vilanova, 117, 36600 Vilagarcia de Arousa, Spain

#7 of 16 hotels in Vilagarcia de Arousa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 765 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel from which there is nowhere to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the hotel is better not to go. Immediately outside the gate is an unfriendly highway where there are problems with crossings and pedestrian paths. There is a lot of garbage on the side of the road. There is no good beach nearby. There is a beach in Vilagarcia, which is 3 km from the hotel.

    The hotel itself is very good. The building of the 17th century with the corresponding interior. Large landscaped area, nice pool. The bar and restaurant are available at reasonable prices, considering that these are 4 stars. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Conclusion: the hotel is suitable for those who just want to relax or travel by car. For them, the hotel has parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Unique venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom facilities rather basic but furnished to fit in with ambience

    Amazing conversion of historic property. Excellent dinners at very good price. Staff made every effort to get over language problems and couldn’t have been more friendly. Excellent pool and museum environment

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was unimpressive and breakfast was chaotic, eg running out of bread. But there are really good places to eat close by.

    Lovely pool, good room, great temperature.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Family Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit far from Pontavedra.

    All the staff here were lovely. There was a mistake with our reservation (not the hotel's fault) and the owners offered us a family suite for the 4 of us at no additional charge. The pool is huge, the grounds are beautiful and the castle has a fun history.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Great family place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. There was a mistake with our booking and the owners offered us the family suite with no additional charge b/c it wasn't rented for the 4 nights we stayed at this beautiful property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Femail waitress in restaurant was exellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was closed, even the temperature was +24C. One reason why we chose this hotel after 150 km camiño to Santiago was the pool.

    Femail waitress in restaurant was exellent! Kind, happy, flexible and spoke english. Charming person! Hotel was really beautiful and room really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    The palace is amazing, with a lot of history.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poll was not open yet, even the day was really good...

    The palace is amazing, with a lot of history. The people working there are amazing, in particular for the waiter at the bar and restaurant in the night. Third time I am there and I will be back soon...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Would go back again for longer
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely restored 17th century house set in nice grounds. Friendly staff. Room was more like a suite, and bathroom was equally large, with a whirlpool bath as well as a shower. Service was a little slow in the restaurant, but the food was good. Swimming pool for use during summer months.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was horrible, we stayed in one of the suites which was very nice and well equipped. Very out of the way.

    Breakfast and dinner were excellent, staff couldn’t do enough

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you didn't want to eat at the hotel ( food was excellent though) it was a little drive to find nearest nice restaurant.

    Staff, cleanliness and facilities were all excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay but felt a little isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit isolated and close to busy road. The restaurant was almost empty in the evening and lacked atmosphere. The adjacent town had little to offer. Also the WiFi signal was poor.

    The building and decor were lovely. Good breakfast selection. Relaxed ambience. Some nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Everything was slightly above expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Indications to get to the hotel by car. A better map should be included in the booking confirmation..

    Style, space and country side location and atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Extremely comfortable and close to some lovely places to visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really except I normally prefer smaller more personal places - it would be helpful if Booking.com could indicate the size of a place i.e. how many bedrooms.

    The breakfast was stupendous - ended up eating a very hearty helping of everything - home made cakes, wonderful cheeses, fresh fruit etc Very comfortable, good sized room with lovely bathroom! Very old historic building with lots of character!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Would not recommend to friends or family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ****No WIFI in rooms ***Very noisy hotel - situated beside a main road and also there is no sound proofing *** you could hear everything going on in the rooms you were surrounded by and the hallway ** worst sleep I had for 5 days The quality of food on offer in the evening was very poor and over priced. Worst meal I had over the 4 weeks I travelled in Northern Spain and Portugal. If you do stay at this hotel - breakfast chef is far superior than the evening chef, even the tortilla in the evening is bland compared to the delicious tortilla in the morning times and whatever you do - do not order the hotel salad or the pasta dishes unless you like to be disappointed. The prices overall in the HOTEL are ridiculous, and since its far out from the town and if you do not have a car you are fleeced by the hotels bad quality of food for evening time and the price of alcohol is at least 200% more expensive than other establishments. We also made the mistake of using the laundry service and for 11/12 items of clothing (incl. underwear in that count) it cost €67. Other places we have been in either never charged or cost us the guts of €20. If we had known the price of laundry would be so demonstrably expensive we'd have done without or washed our clothes at a self laundry service which costs about €7 to wash and dry clothes.

    The room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We were given a balcony which worked very well in our favour. The air conditioning for the room was very good and the shower was perfect. The breakfast was delicious, a great variety to choose from - fresh bread, fruit, multiple choice of cheese and cold meats, plenty of sweet things to choose from and lovely croissants. One of the best breakfasts a hotel could offer for a buffet - and the most delicious tortilla espanol. The swimming pool was the best facility on the property - very friendly lifeguards, lots of sun lounges on offer, pool was big 20m perfect for keeping fit as there is no gym on the premises but with the pool there's no need for one. Most of the staff were very friendly, we had a lovely waitress tending to us on our last night and the manager of the hotel was full of information on where to go and what to see in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Large pool with lifeguard on site. Friendly waiting staff and a brilliant breakfast selection. Lovely beaches within a short drive. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    The Hotel is the perfect place for a weekend retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Chef. She is unfriendly and honestly unprofessional.

    The Hotel is the perfect place for a weekend retreat. The swimming pool is the best thing to relax. The receptionist team is lovely and helpful and everyone working at both the bar and the restaurant too. I can not say the same for the chef. I asked for a mariscada (seafood plate) and although this is always served for two and I was only one person, they said no to cooked it for me. At that time, I was the only one in the restaurant, the other 80 guests were at a wedding and not at the hotel. Thanks to the waiter, Milagros who is really friendly and extremely professional my dinner was nice, unforgettable and very tasty. She suggested me what should I eat, and her advice was very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.6
    The worst hotel on our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not too much if anything to like.The picture of the property shows the most attractive part :the facade of the building. However it is deceiving.The front of the house features a terrace overlooking the parking lot allowing you to observe all traffic. The unattractiveness of the inside starts at the reception desk which opens into a dark common area featuring a bewildering mix of furnishings .The rooms are small but ok, the bathroom in our room however had neither awindow nor active ventilation. Service on the terrace was friendly ,yet had to be asked to clear the table after dinner . The entrance to the breakfast room next morning was graced with with a laundry cart and allowed the view into a guest bathroom that was in process of being cleaned . The breakfast buffet was adorned with a number of beverage dispensers most notably a huge machine holding two different juices (how often is the machine filled?) Other than that we noticed blind window panes and a single 70th speaker trying to lift spirits. Based on our visit (we cancelled further nights and paid a penalty) it is incomprehensible how this place was awarded 4 stars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice pazo with swimmingpool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible bed, food in the restaurant could be better. Poor wifi connection. No wifi in the room. Far from center of town, you need a car.

    Lovely pazo with great swimmingpool. Terrace in front of the building. Free parking, free wifi. Breakfast good. Big room with aircon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent spacious quiet room, great restoration of a historical property, great meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in most of the beds we have slept in, in our 3 weeks so far in Spain, the mattress has been much firmer than I am accustomed to.

    The manager was exceptional, providing answers to general questions about Spain

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.4
    Hard and uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with the room, not at all up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. The beds were hard and uncomfortable I had difficulty sleeping. The buffet breakfast was just ok. Good if you are into cake for breakfast.

    Nice hotel, beautiful building, clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Simply perfect!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!!! Amazing building, super kind staff, good restaurant, rich breakfast and very convenient price. I do recommend! I hope to come again soon... once again greetings to all the staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    8.8
    A place with no magic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An hotel from the past. Looks like what was a 4 star hotel in the 80' . Creemy brownish walls! Needs renovation.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    It was all just ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small, could do with updating

    It is a unique hotel full of characture,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Gorgeous building in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous building in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our 2 days, went out during the day and stayed in at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The hotel is a long way from any other restaurants. The walk either way out of the hotel is along busy main roads.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable beds.. good place to visit the island. Nice garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Near to Cambados and Illa Arousa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cold milk with breakfast so had to ask. Food in restaurant in evening not great

    Near to Cambados and Illa Arousa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    very poor WI conection in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor WI conection in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable - i would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Lovely hotel at a good price that included a great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff were amazing, the building was beautiful and very well kept, the pool was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole experience was amazing - the only thing that was missing was kettle and beverages in the room, but we got round that in the end

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    The staff were excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and public areas are rather dark and a bit dated

    The staff were excellent . The breakfast was marvellous .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxed atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Great place, unfortunately no internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the rooms

    Cosy place, great bed, very special atmosphere sitting at night in front of the medivial fire place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.2
    The picturesque aspect of the hotel and the cleanliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The picturesque aspect of the hotel and the cleanliness of it despite the looks. We got upgraded to a suite, and the room and the bathroom were huge! Couldn't hear a soul inside the room.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    5.4
    Dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated. Wifi unavailable apart from in reception and then poor quality. Swimming pool looked black and not sure it would have been available three weeks before visit. View of the house behind rather than a countryside view.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.3
    Great pool, lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Internet in bedrooms. Not even 1 English TV station. No pool service. Not walking distance to village, provide a shuttle. Taxi ripped us off, staff to review taxi men, agree a price before ordering.

    Great pool, lovely building. Ok breakfast. Reception staff friendly & cancelled my second night via booking.com due to no Internet & couldn't relocate rooms (because baby crying next door).

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Excellent view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was fantastic!

    Excellent view!

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor location, no facilities, indifferent service.

    Nothing. A depressing cheaply-finished hotel in a poor location.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.5
    the general ambiance and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no

    the general ambiance and location. This is our second visit

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    Very romantic in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very romantic in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.5
    Lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Over worked staff and very thin walls.

    Lovely old building.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: