Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Moscatel 2 stars

Conde de las Navas, 9, Este, 29017 Málaga, Spain

#26 of 53 B&Bs and Inns in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 457 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing, we really didnt like was the fact, that we were told that the taxi transfer to the airport would be approximetly 13-14 Euro. The taxi transfer was made by the receptionist from the hostel. The reality was that we paid 37 EURO!!!

    The accomodation was good, the receptionist willing to help us. The location was near to the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and overpriced, nowhere near the beach, but smelt musty, terrible experience, I would certainly never stay in a hostel again. Needs a huge modernisation, bath enamel worn out, tiled mildewed, surfaces Mildred and dirty, see pictures! Although it advertises a cafeteria the breakfast was incredibly basic a d two tables tucked into the corner of reception, we declined. Disgusting experience, I do wish people would post honest feedback, we book these places after reading your comments, think on people!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is far away from the city center. However, we had a car and it was no problem for us. There was also (free) parking space outside of the apartment. The only inconvenience with the room was that there were two separate single beds. We are a couple so we joined them together.

    The apartment was good. Two single beds (we joined them together). There was a private bathroom (but also a shared one!). There was breakfast in the morning but we didn't have it. We stayed for a night. Overall, it is good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the male receptionist (perhaps the owner?) needs to have a lesson in good customer service!

    The single room I had this time was cosy and had all the facilities I needed. I love the location, it is close to a lot of small cafes/restaurants and within easy reach of Malaga centre via nos 3 & 11 bus. The hotel is attractive and decorated/furnished in Spanish style.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1). WIFI wasn't working at all the 1st day in our room (nite), was ok the next day. There was no one at the reception to get this fixed on the 1st day. 2). It wasn't mentioned during booking that towels (including hand) will be replaced only once every other day, could have been better managed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a little bit noisy.

    It is a good, low-cost accomodation with pretty good location. The transportation is great, the bus stop, supermarkets, cafés, restaurants and the beach are nearby. They have good solution for late check-in. The room was simple, but we could find everything we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl working on reception was fantastic, very helpful & friendly. Arrived early - no issue with early check in. Room was clean & comfortable. Shower was great! V good pressure. Cheap & cheerful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the room 5 the bathroom is very small, inconvinient. I've seen other rooms' bathrooms, they were okay, so just avoid this particular room... The breakfast is good for a one night stay, but too basic to be enjoyable for multiple days in a row.

    It is easily reached (by taxi) from the airport. Not right on the beach, but very close (maybe 5 minutes walk). Slightly out of the citry centre, so if you want all those "buzz", then this isn't the place to be. But if you (just) want the beach, restaurants and coffes, book it. There is some basic breakfast as well. Also shops (supermarket, etc.) very near.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room and bed, lots of plastic at breakfast

    very good location for beach, restaurants, shops and city (bus station nearby), air condition, friendly staff, clean and quiet room, good, but old furnishment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Really poor breakfast (not properly refrigerated - butter) Dirty sheets Dirty Towels (Good thing we brought our own) A/C with no remote No Fridge Really Bad Bed and Pillows (couldn't rest at all) Short Bed (I'm 1.95 cm)

    Really Friendly Staff Beach Really Close By Bus Station Close By

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to reproach. It is a place for practical (and budget) travellers, with good value for money; if you want a romantic stay, try something else.

    Even if it is not in the center of Malaga, Moscatel Hostal has a very good location, 100 meters away from the nearest bus stop. Buses no. 3 and 11 (or N1 during the night) get you to the historic center in 20 minutes; 1.3 Euros / trip paid to the driver. The beach is pretty close. There are few food stores and restaurants in the neighbourhood (in the direction opposite to the center). You can find plenty of free parking spots on the nearby streets. Quiet neighbourhood. Easily to get to the hostal from the highway (including airport). The room is clean and the beds are comfortable. The hostal is very secure. Note: if you arrive late, there is a machine for registration and receiving an entrance key. If you know that you will arrive to the hostal outside check-in hours, email the hostal for instructions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small the bed was not the most comfortable.

    The location was exactly what I wanted, close to the beach, supermarket, bus stops, very easy to get to the airport, and the neighbohood was very very quiet at night. Perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would choose a better room next time - we were downstairs, by the door so a bit noisy with people coming and going.

    The location was great - a five minute walk to the beach front and miles of seafront restaurants. The price was excellent and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy, nice place in a quiet neighbourhood. Clean and pleasant with hospitable staff. Easy to reach by public transportation and very close to the beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The position of the hostel very good, we walked to the centre of Malaga , around 5 km in less than an hour. Able to park my car directly outside the front door and left it there for the 5 days of our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    missing soap box inside bathtub area ; it's unhandy to take the soap from near the sink while inside bathtub

    very welcoming and helpful owners ; quiet area, good connection with the city center - Paseo del Parque using 3, 11 or N1 (for late night only) buses - 1.3 Euro / trip paid to the driver ; good price / quality ratio - in my opinion could be a 3* hotel, not a 3* hostal ; large room and large bathroom with bathtub ; Mercadona supermaket nearby. Muchas gracias por todo !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not happy with cleanliness and that's why I was not comfortable to sleep on the bed although the the following day they changed the Beding. We were surprised that the breakfast was not included.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was exactly what we expected and excellent value for money, particularly in comparison to other places in and around Malaga. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have benefitted from some sort of insect repellent. The bathroom was very small and there was no desk or lock on the bathroom door

    The beds were comfortable, the location was excellent (quiet but well-connected), the wifi was reliable and the staff were very eager to help. I witnessed a woman who had left her bag on the bus and spoke no Spanish receive excellent help from the staff - they contacted the bus company for her and gave her detailed instructions on where to go to retrieve her bag along with a note in Spanish explaining the situation. Excellent coffee was served with breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very clean, spacious room, well maintained hotel, provided with everything that we needed, good wifi signal and working air conditioning. Very welcoming staff, it was a pleasure staying there. 3 minutes away from the bus station (including the night bus N1). 10 minues away from beach where you can find accesible restaurants and friendly people. The hotel is located in a quit and safe area of Malaga. I recommed it !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if you arrive late, there is a machine for registration and receiving an entrance key, but nobody warns you about that, so a notice on the door with the instructions would have helped

    good location, nice place

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top bed fall down. We were missing a cooler. 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simply good value basic accomodation. Very clean all we needed for our short stay. Would I stay there again? Definitely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great situ Easy walk there all round spectacular coast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the other guests who were very noisy on our last night

    the room was super, the staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was freezing cold and very damp in the room the toilet blocked with one day and not enough bedding was very very cold

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly hiostal by the sea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all, excellent small hotel.

    The staff were very helpful, room nice and the food was brilliant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good location, short walk to the beach,bus stops,shops...Friendly staff, nice and tidy room,in room excellent WiFi , good value for money.”

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance from overcrowded places

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    small Fridge would be great

    Situation and price were value for money Staff excellant visited 4 times which speaks a lot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed wasn't too comfy and the room was a bit small.

    Convenient location, quiet neighbourhood, friendly staff, good wifi, good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    Place close to the sea. Room small, but not so bad for two.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location and quietness are the best things about the hostel. Very friendly stuff. Good place to stay if you are looking for a rest.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location,it wasnt easy to find it.

    It was a big room with a big bed and a big bathroom for a really good price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors were making too much noise when closing/opening.

    Close to the bus stop, the stuff was friendly and cleaned the room daily.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,Easy to go to centre of Malaga by bus 3 and 11.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - very tiny room, only a bed, a wardrobe and one night stand, and nothing more, - reception desk only available from 8 till 21, - staff poorly speaking English, moderately helpful, - no AC in the room, but good thing it was not the middle of summer

    - quiet neighbourhood, a bit remote from the center of the city, but well communicated with public buses, - not too expensive

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner (?) on reception could have been a bit friendlier.

    Comfy beds and very clean room. Great shower. We needed a 1 night stay en route to Malaga Airport and this was just right. Breakfast was fine. All in all very good value for money. Lots of cafes & bars very close by.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room could have been more clean . Beds were soft but I could assume not useable for heavy bodies

    Good Location outside the city center. Easily reachable by bus line 3 and 11

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good beds - always hot water - just take the bus (around the corner) to Malaga. Hostel is near seafront with some lovely and good 'beach' fish restaurants. Simple breakfast but good for the money (3,50) always good coffee. El Palo where the Hostel is located, nice real Spanish part of Malaga-

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfest - chooice of food is poore-but it is no problem to buy something selv. Some noise fra the cars.

    Very guest-friendly staff, easy to make appointment, good connection to the center of Malaga by buss, clean roms.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Short walk to the beach and promenade. Quiet area. Clean rooms with good facilities for the price. Good coffee available at reception with a seating area and a small terrace at the front.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for a quiet room and got one facing the street which resulted in lots of street noise. We needed earplugs almost every night. The rooms facing elsewhere may be better. Place isn't super close to the main city centre (20 min bus ride). We later stayed at a place closer to the city centre which was only $20 more a night, so we felt this place isn't worth the money when you can have something nicer and more central for a bit more money. Beach it's close to ended up being disappointing so it defeated the reason we stayed here. Just didn't meet our needs but is ok overall.!

    Staff was friendly. A beach is close by. Close to main bus lines. Pretty clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Great location 5 minutes walk to the beach and restaurant promenade, easy access to everywhere we needed to go on foot or by regular buses very very friendly staff, the rooms are super clean, comfortable, I am looking forward to go back to this hostel!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like when we had to come home :(

    Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely area, close to the beach, very comfy bed. And over all great value for money. I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The floors were a bit dusty & the wifi connection in the room could be better

    Located in a quiet street, on a 5 minutes walk to the beach of east-Malaga. there person at the reception was very friendly & had good knowledge of English. There is a nice terrace in front of the hostel.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If arriving later than 9pm you must make sure you have confirmed this with the hostal as there is no-one there to let you in! I tried to do so through a message on booking.com, but never received a reply. Breakfast isn't until 9am - too late if going to school.

    Good location, easy access to everywhere we needed to go on foot or by regular buses. After initial problems, staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. The room heat is timed only for early evening to early morning. Even then the room was freezing. Even after I mentioned it, it didn't improve. 2. The wifi, which is my only form of communication, was awful. Even when my tablet and phone indicated being connected when I would go online, eg Google, it would show I'm not connected more times than I was connected. And when I was connected it tended to drop abruptly or go very slow. I also mentioned this early on during my 6-night stay but there was no improvement. I loved everything else about the Hostal but these two items are so important to me that they caused me great disappointment.

    Location outside center but easily reachable by bus in about 20 mins. Less than 10 mins from Pedregalejo Beach. Relatively quiet local neighborhood near Mercadona supermarket. My double room was spacious and clean with a seating area. Employees are pleasant and helpful. It was an ideal place for me to spend a quiet new year's week except for a couple of deal breakers (see below).

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is a little far from the city centre

    Staff were friendly, the room is very calm and relaxing, the bed is comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good price - quality Close to the beach and restaurants Easy to reach by bus 3 & 11

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was a bit limited

    nice hotel, a bit out of town, but well connected by bus

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sound proofing would improve comfort

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, that went out of their way to help. Comfortable room with good quality bed.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ideal location Sotless And excellent value

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel location is no good, the staff was unfriendly

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    with a child it would be better to have a kitchen.

    location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from outside air condition unit Stairs had some loose steps

    Friendly staff Good value for money Working WiFi Large bathroom

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very small bathroom

    quiet

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Easy to late checkin, friendly staff, good location in a quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We totally enjoyed the spa bath and the cleanliness of the rooms

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hostal Moscatel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: