Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Posada Peñas Arriba

Barrio de Lon, s/n, 39587 Lon, Spain

Review score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We had two nights here while on a tour with friends , it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two nights here while on a tour with friends , it was a lovely find , comfortable rooms with a bar and great facilities, the location was ideal and very beautiful, we will definitely use this hotel again if we visit the area again .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    staff very friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    need to change breakfast menu if staying for several days. however breakfast is plentiful and good value

    staff very friendly and attentive. cannot speak much english but this added to the charm. parking secure for motorcycles. food was very good. compliments to the chef. stayed 3 nights and would go back. location is 5km from potes so excellent for picos. room had a fantastic views. locals talk to you. if u want to experience spanish people then this is the place. Waiter recomended some excellent riding locations.... they have a nice restaurant and have no objections if u want to sit outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.8
    Such a shame, with a little effort Penas Arriba could be a fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The attitude of the waiter towards non Spanish speaking guests was not pleasant. The bathroom was not cleaned or the rubbish bin emptied during our stay. The furniture was tatty. If a door onto the balcony was opened for ventilation the room was instantly infested with flies,wasps & moths etc. there was no other ventilation to the room or bathroom. The reception area appeared to be an extension of the family house, highchair, kids toys & several dogs with family members lounging taking up the restricted outside seating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.5
    Easy access to Fuente De
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were promised a welcome drink and a superior room. Didn't get either. Well, certainly not the drink and the room next to ours was larger. Lon was not in our map or in the satnav and we did go wrong before we found it. For others making the same mistake, it's actually well sign-posted. Take the road to Fuente De and just before you get to Quintana there's a sign directing you there.

    The room was a decent size. Bed very comfortable. Balcony with nice view. Generous (heart attack) breakfast of pancakes, toast and jam and slabs of cake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Hoping for something bettter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had higher expectation Bad check out experience Bed too soft

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    5.8
    environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    environment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our spanish is poor which made it difficult for the hotel staff understand us. Our fault not theirs.

    It was a traditional family run Hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    In the middle of Picos de Europa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - in the mountains, good position as base for outdoor activities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    Great lodging in a great environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great lodging in a great environment. Beautiful interior decoration. Great views to the mountains from the window of the room. Only 20 km away from Fuente Dé (cable car that brings you to the top of the mountain - a must). 7 km away from Potes. It's located between Potes and Fuente Dé, closer to Potes. Good Internet connection. Room was big and bed Ok. No complaints. Community area to hang around with games, etc. And to remark it again: Beautiful traditional and detail-oriented decoration. You'll enjoy it.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Staff were very friendly and helpful, food lovely, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, food lovely, and the location was just perfect for us as we did not want to be in a busier location like Potes. It is close enough to it, but you get the experience of being in the centre of the mountains :)

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    3.8
    The location is very rural and is what we wanted, so no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, especially the waiter should find another job as he obviously finds the whole affair a complete bore and should go back to school to learn a few skills in dealing with people. The room we had was in the eaves with only a sky light and no ventilation. The breakfast was stodge plus more stodge and almost thrown on the table. The sound insulation in the bedrooms is very bad so don't bother going to bed before midnight if you need peace and quiet to sleep.

    The location is very rural and is what we wanted, so no complaints here.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    2.5
    Free parking, near to Picos de Europa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stuff is unfriendly, Wi-Fi doesnt't work, very uncomfortable room. Please don't repeat our mistake!

    Free parking, near to Picos de Europa.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.6
    Cozy, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I prefer when the breakfast is buffet, but it wasn't bad either.

    Cozy, clean and comfortable. And in the perfect location

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Browse Posada Peñas Arriba traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: