Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensión 45

Tallers, 45 Principal, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#253 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1019 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as Nice and clean as on the pictures. The Ones who worked there didnt know any english, we needed to pay 4 euro when we arrived (they couldnt explain why...), most of the lamps in the room didnt work , i didnt feel fresh. Next time im not staying there for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small, bed linen dirty and had to change including doona. Mario very helpful but room contained just one double bed and wardrobe. No tea/coffee but location was excellent with the bonus of a small balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything... the cleanliness was definitely subpar, one of the bathrooms didn’t even have running water... when we headed out for the day we were asked to leave our room key which seemed suspicious however we were assured there was 24 hour reception and our belongings would be safe.. upon returning we had to wait five minutes whilst constantly timing the bell before we were let back in the building where an elderly lady motioned for us to go behind the reception desk and just take the key that was ours, had we been less honest individuals we could have taken any room key or any of the credit card information that was just laying around back there... the night porter treated reception, which was right next to our room as his own personal theatre, blasting the tv and radio at all hours of the night... when we were checking out at 7am he was fast asleep on the couch. In all save your money and just find a nice park, alley, or dumpster to stay in as you’ll probably be safer and get a better rest

    The patio outside the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets had someone else’s hair!!! Found more than one! and looked like the pillow cases were not washed either. It was really late and I couldn’t be bother to change rooms because would have taken longer so I put the towels over the pillow and sheets and slept over them and covered myself with my sarong. When I mentioned it in the morning I was told that they change the sheets after every customer and that I should have asked for the room to be changed. After finding over 5 hairs there is no way the sheets were clean!

    Location, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The property is terrible - unclean, dirty, old and the staff is very inpolite. Also doesn't speak English as it is mentioned in the property info. Photos are just "sample" as it was explained by the staff. The truth is that the rooms doesn't have anything in common with the photos.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic. Didn’t realise that plumbing from rooms above could make that much noise! The photo on the website was definitely not our room!!!

    Excellent location, Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awkward staff, not friendly and acting as if you basically didn't exist at times not caring to welcome and explain basic things at all. Bed was quite uncomfortable.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very basic, but "you get what you pay for"

    Location was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful, also reasonably priced considering that is located 2 minutes away from La rambla.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's pretty basic but if you are staying for a short while it's a really good base in the middle of the city

    Good price for central Barcelona and the location is fab

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty and cold. There was a dust on the wall, hairs in the bed. The sheet was old. The administrator didn't know where to find a new clean sheet. Jalousie was broken and absolutely dirty. The curtain was dirty and old. The room smelled of cigarettes. The walls was thin. We heard everything that happened at the reception and in the toilet. The administrator made a noise all night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were going through a renovation. Didn't bother us but some might be put off by the work - which never started before 9am and not on the weekends.

    The location was super central especially for the price. The staff were exceptionally friendly and it was perfect for a budget hotel. Basic, clean and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - too noisy as on busy nightstrip - lift not working, hard to get pram up - would have been happy with cheap and cheerful, wasn't cheerful - too small for a room considering we had a travel cot and 1 year old with us - it seems smoking was permitted which stank out the 'hotel' and even our room although supposedly it was a non - smoking one - big issue was that entrance hall was under construction and wires were hanging off the ceiling and walls - don't go there unless you are after backpacking experience which I think is still overpriced for this disaster of an accommodation

    Only thing that was good was location, however the negative outweighed that

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place is not like that which it is been descried in pictures. very bad view from inside. noisy area. place is conjusted.

    the staff was co-operative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Middle January not work heating. They Just Said not work. Internet not work. No toilet paper in shared bathroom. All around some renovation and dast all around

    Only location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next to the check in desk so on a morning we were woke up really early by other guests or the man on reception shouting down his phone or singing.

    The bedroom was extremely basic but for the money it was what was to be expected I suppose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not advisable to bring big and heavy pieces of baggage with you since you have to drag them up the stairs before you could even reach the lift...

    The location was perfect! It was in the center and there are so many shops near us. The staff are friendly and they clean the room well. We also liked our bathroom since it was spacious enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite cold

    It has great location. There are a lot of restaurants near by. Staff are old but they are very helpful and friendly, they suggest good portugal restaurant for us. The room we lived is small but clean. It is good deal for us. Overall, we recommend it for ones who want to have a low price room in the center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no lifts and so we had to take our heavy luggage across 2 flight of stairs.

    Perfectly located. From other reviews we were expecting noise but turns out our room was not facing main street. So we had the quiet at most times both day and night. The staff had also been very welcoming. We stated 5 nights and would like to return if we revisit Barcelona.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were very thin, so we heard all noise from outside and also from other rooms during all the night.

    Reception was still open, bathroom and room were clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we stayed there, there was a lot of noise from other guests (we think) and made it impossible for us to rest. Also the surroundings of the place was freaky since there were people shoutings and street fightings along the night.

    The people at the front desk were nice and helpful, they all were attentive. They have cameras along the hotel to make sure everything is fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff very unpleasant. Went downstairs to ask if I could use the kitchen to fill up my water bottle and the receptionist was like ‘no it’s just for me’. All I wanted was some water to fill my bottle. Did not speak any English at all, and we were charged an extra €7 on arrival and we didn’t even know what for. I thought everything had been paid for beforehand.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The facilities of the accommodation makes it more a hostel than a hotel. The rooms are not insulated and you can hear everything from the street and also from the other rooms. The cleanliness of the shared bathroom could be improved.

    Our stay with my sister was a bit complicated related to the broken bed that I had to sleep two nights from the 5. After my complain of my pain in my backside I hardly could get another room or bed. Finally, the receptionist who is working only one day per week understood that it is not a proper solution for me to stay one more night in the uncomfortable bed till the other receptionist will start his shift in the next morning and he offered for us another room with private bathroom free of charge. So, I can say that they were supportive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street was that loud, that we were not able to sleep without earplugs! The beds were folding ones - like hotels normally use as extra rollaway beds!

    Location! Only location would make us go back to that place again. And we were lucky to have a tiny bathroom on our own.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are not interested in a full-amenities hotel experience and just want a place close to the city to sleep then this is the place for you. Not very clean and would recommend to rent a room with its own bathroom. We also asked for a double bed and we were given two single separate beds and when we asked the front desk they said that all the other rooms were taken and we would be given another one tomorrow but that didn't happen. Also due to the fact that it is located in the centre there is constanlty vey much noise which didn't really matter to us but other people mught have an issue with that.

    The best thing about Pension 45 is the fact that it is perfectly located in the city centre of Barcelona close to Las Ramblas and other must-visit sites of the city, while there are shops, restaurants, public transport spots and bars everywhere around which makes it perfect so as to not waste your money on public transport since you can go anywhere pretty much on foot. 24 hour servicein the front desk also available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that it was extremely humid in the hotell the baths was blocked and we didn't get the right room the first night After a few days the staff offered us another room coz he needed our room and it didn't feel ok

    I like the location it sas placed near many amazing places in the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was like a prison cell. Plus hanging off the wall. Felt vulnerable with being a women. Staff very rude too.

    It was the worst place I have ever been! I got away 4 times a year too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy inside. No "house-rules" posted anywhere advising or reminding people to be mindful of others. The bed was very uncomfortable. The facility itself although very clean needs some major updating.

    Centrally located a short walk from Plaza cataluñia

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we had booked a double room with a double bed, we were given a narrow narrow room with 2 single beds in a row. And had to carry our suitcases up a narrow staircase to the hotel. No lift. The staff did assist with one suitcase though. The shared bathroom was minimal in size and quality.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lifts, grumpy receptionist on arrival ( like everything he was doing was a big favor) , the night receptionist was more friendly with a great attitude. Not a place for over 50's with Knee or Back problems

    the beds - due to exhaustion

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for children due to the doorbell going off every 5 mins throughout the night. Night staff very unhelpful and doesnt try to commumicate. Door to bathroom couldnt open properly because the sink blocked it. Smell in bathroom made me throw up

    Room was very clean. Supermarket very close by

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds not too comfortable and old. No air conditioning, only fans. unfortunately during my stay in Barcelona the weather was extremely hot which made it very uncomfortable to sleep at night time.

    location is great. accessible to public transportation. walking distances to main tourist's attraction. My friend and I walked to "Sagrada Familia" church from it. Staff very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy man on reception

    It's a Pension but the hostel next door looked more welcoming next time would compare the hostel to the pension. At the end of the day you get what you pay for clean bed private shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff who was there when we arrived after our flight was extremely rude, spoke no English and was snatching money from myself and shoving paper at me for to sign, leaving my children feeling rather upset and wanted to leave. No safety measures on the window, dead bugs in the room, dirty sinks and used/ damaged complementary shower soaps. A random toilet plumbed in a communal hallway.

    There was plenty of shops close by a supermarket across the way and bakeries next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the staff were either very wierd or very rude. The room is so dark and dull with no air conditioning only 2 fans. there were only 3 plug sockets,2 of which had to be used for the fans leaving only 1 spare socket between 3 people. The shower would flood Everytime you used it. There was loud construction work very early in the morning waking us up. It felt very dodgy that we didn't feel comfortable leaving behind our valuables The beds smelled very bad we did not sleep under the covers. We tried our best to stay out of pension 45 as much as possible. The minute we arrived we looked up other places to stay but had no joy, we were even going to cut our holiday short.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most disgustingly unfriendly staff. The man at check-in quickly became aggressive after we politely asked a question about an additional tax and tried to change our balcony room to a bottom floor room. He then continued to rant to other staff about us and everytime we went past the desk demanded we hand over the keys. One of, if the not the worst hotel staff experiences we've ever had. We felt uneasy for the whole stay, just glad it was only one night!!!!!

    Location and that's about it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The triple room did not resemble photo on website at all. It was a dark, odd shaped room with a poky bathroom. It was overpriced for this dingy hole. We spent all afternoon and eve outside so we did not have to go back to this awful place. There was building work going on in addition to the above with loud noise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is close to the accomodation, La boqueria is a few minutes away. The wifi is working. Easy to come from the airport. Great backery and coffee in the street with great croissant. La Rambla is 2 minutes away and the beach around 15 min walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable although sheets and towels clean and fresh

    People very friendly and helpful . Location perfect. Under renovation during our stay but all done with consideration .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities at all..No cups or glasses of water provided in the room..Very small room ...No TV...Not gud for a family...It's a hostel facility...Hence charges are high...Not recommend for a family...Waste of money...Only gud thing was the location...No lift facility...Don't come here if u hv luggage... You have to carry it for 2 stories... Pathetic....

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom, no A/C and the room was tiny. Great for backpackers/groups of lads, not ideal for couples.

    Great location, beautiful city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible and had one long pillow the length of the bed rather than two separate pillows so whenever my wife moved it pulled the pillow and woke me up and vice versa. The room was hot since there is no a/c

    Great location in the heart of La Rambla, less than 15 minutes to walk to any attraction except the beach which was 20 minutes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy. Barca is a night city and doesn't close down until after 3.00 am. If you end up on the front - as we did - don't expect a good night's sleep. There is also a bar next door. Why people shout in the middle of the night beats me but they do. Sunday night was a lot quieter.

    Close to Los Ramblos and easy to get to on the Metro etc. Close to two or three really good places for breakfast and there is a supermarket almost opposite. Good restaurant also within 100 yards.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might be difficult to sleep at night coz of the noice from the street

    Central location few minutes walk to Placa Cataluña, comfortable bed and nice view of the street (external room) Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was very noisy at night and we couldn't sleep well. It's not good for family with kids. The street was dirty too.

    I liked the location and proximity to the center. Very close to La Rambla a touristy spot for a walk and very close to many restaurants with good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like anything about this place. The place was very creepy and dirty. The receptionists were very rude. One of them gave us our room which was absolutely filthy dust was everywhere, the bathroom was full of hair, window was broken and no fan in the room. We had to buy our own cleaning products, shampoos, towels, bed sheets and covers etc. (Everything) not mentioning that there was construction outside our room with no chance of sleeping. We couldn't stand staying in the room so we went to talk to the receptionist for the night shift who could not understand any English and was very rude he did not want to listen to us at all, he would look at his newspapers not even looking at us when talking, until a lady who speaks spanish helped us out with translation.

    Really good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator, there is no sound insulation (so you hear neighbours talking & the noise in the road keeps you awake at night, the bed is small & the mattress is decades old, the shower is very small & the shower wall mount was broken. Renovation works were also being carried out while we were there, so we could not even sleep in with the noise, not to mention the dust everywhere.

    The property is very close to La Rambla & well served with Metro stops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was too bad.... and couldnt sleep at all.. It was sinking in the middle.... Next the repair work was creating so much noise starting early mornign 5am.. it was horrible to catch any sleep.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a hostel!! Not a hotel! Needs to be made clearer in description. Very noisey, uncomfortable, not the cleanest. Staff rude. Difficult to find. Small sign above iron gate only sign. No tea/coffee facilities. Charge you 3 euros for ?? You have to leave key at reception when you go out?

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2,5 bathrooms for the whole level and situated at the opposite end of the pension.

    Very clean and the decor fits perfectly into the surrounding old quarter of the city. Also good value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They desperatley need to paint the whole place white...

    It is exactly what I expected and the location is fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. The wifi was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night porter very grumpy and non welcoming on arrival.

    Quiet and close to transportation everywhere. Day receptionist extremely welcoming and helpful. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The time spent at Pension 45 was really successful. The hostel service is very friendly and helpful in particular Mr. Mario. As for the location is excellent everywhere near the placa Universidad, placa Cataluyna . Rooms clean, fully equipped. The housekeeper from Asia very polite and smiling, speaking good English which was a great advantage. I would definitely recommend to use again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, so you can easily hear everything Locks on one window were brocken

    Central location! Perfect to discover the city! Bakery to have a breakfast or bars to have a drink are just around the corner. Bathroom was pretty new and clear. We got fresh towels every day. Room was not too big, but had enough space for two persons (just im case you mostly use it to spend a night).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator, the staff was not kind with us, bedrooms small, dirty and not cozy, the mattress was the worst I have ever tried. We didn´t have Internet for 2 days and the staff didn´t care at all... The awful experience in a hotel in all my life.

    The location is good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to to like in Barcelona even in a rainy and windy day. :D

    The pension has a cozy place and very secure. At first we were not able to find it because it has a small sign just at the door. A little walk down the Las Ramblas street we found a Filipino restaurant and how indulge ourselves in eating our favorite Filipino dishes (how I missed the taste of home!). There is a small cafe restaurant just beside the pension and every place is just a walk away from the pension. The pension also has a Filipino working with them (talks with him in our native tongue).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place isn't breath taking but then again, the costs aren't high, you get what you pay for. If all you need is a place to crash, I'd recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time we stayed in a hostle type environment and room was basic but clean as we had an ensuite room. You are in the central area so noisy until 3am

    Good location, good price for what you got. Shower was awesome, like a power shower and at high flow could take your skin off at whatever temperature

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They don't told in the room doesn't have a bathroom and the bathroom is so far to the room. The evening staff is so rude.

    Localization is perfect. It's close to the principal points of the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not at all a value for money staying in this hotel. It was a double bed room with shared bathroom which was far away from the room. The toilets were unclean and dirty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The architecture and the interior was a disaster. I know it's just a matter if taste but it was really creepy. I cannot describe it. I had a three-room "apartment" when there was only one small window which was depressing, even during the night. The night guard was rude.

    The WiFi was working properly. The location was perfect in the students' area and near the La Rambla, 15 mins walk from the port/sea. The staff cared for the cleanliness, towels changes every day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor english speaking staff.Old furniture.Sometimes too noisy

    Great location, helpful staff, near supermarket, good transport conection with all important place to see in Barcelona

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible! Depressing place with really bad beds. The place look far worst than in pictures. Our room with a shared bathroom had the bathroom far and it was hard to shower without slippers. Very noisy street and windows are not soundproof at all and is a nightmare during the night. Walls are so thin that you hear people speaking in the next room.

    Despite the old look the cleanliness was ok. Hot water is not a problem and the bathroom was ok. We needed a corkscrew to open a vine bottle and the guy from the reception helped us. The staff is ok and helpful so no complaint about this part at all

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The window lock was broken :(

    Perfect location in the city center, clean room and facilities, excellent service (both Marco and the Japanese lady - thanks a lot!), no problems with WiFi (maybe we were just lucky?), extraordinary value. Really, really good!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were excellent, very welcoming and kind. The Hotel was very clean and well cared for. One staff member in particular (a Japanese lady) stood out to us, as we enjoyed talking to her and she made it possible for us to leave our bags in her care after we checked out as we waited for a late flight.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very uncomfortable and noisy beds, i woke up every time when i was trying to change the position at night, tiny shower, smelly rooms, it stinked every time we entered the room, dirty, almost falling apart and noisy fan

    location, location, location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was extremely small. It had one tiny window, overlooking the backyard, it was so dark, we had to keep the light on at all times. It wasn't clean at all, there was hair everywhere on the floor, and the bed linen had stains. The mattress was very uncomfortable, once you lie down there's like an infinite hole under your body, so be prepared to visit your chiropractor after you leave. There were cockroaches in the hall, nobody put them away after they died, so we had to watch our step every time we left our room. The whole place was very noisy, even though we didn't have a streetside window. The pungent chlorine smell of the whole place, the constant darkness, the cockroaches and the noise - it was so horrible, we wanna forget it ever happened! It may be cheap - although we've been to gorgeous accomodations compared to this for the same price in Europe - but you should only book Pensión 45 if you really don't have any other choice.

    It's right in the center of the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always read the reviews, but I don't know how I missed that it didn't have air conditioning. How can you be comfortable when it's 80 degrees outside. I can put up with a lot, but not that. For 72 euros/night, I expected air. I could never recommend this place.

    The location and the staff are the only two things I can say anything good about

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night receptionist was watching TV at a high volume late at night. It was keeping me awake so I got up and asked him to lower the volume. To this request he grunted and muttered something under his breath.. when I asked him what he said he just ignored me! Disgraceful way to treat guests.. I would never recommend this place.

    However The location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was hot and with no air conditioning it was unbearable. Room is tired just liker the whole building. Photo is deceptive but that's the chance you take. !! Tricky place to find if you come by car.

    Good location in heart of Barcelona but quiet if you want to go back to your room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures of rooms on website made it look better than it actually was. No sleep. Too hot, uncomfortable bed and fan provided was useless.

    Location wise it was perfect. Ideal for Las ramblas and metro station. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't think the property has been updated since the 70's. Cleanliness was OK, however the paper was peeling off in an extremely dark room. Bed was possibly the most uncomfortable thing I'd ever slept on. Also, specifically booked a twin room and reiterated in the comments that two beds were required but still ended up with a double.

    Location was perfect, staff very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old place, beds and toilet included. Bit hot inside and noisy because of the street. Just ok to spend a night

    It's right in the center of Barcelona, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The pillows could have been a little fluffier and A/C would have been amazing!

    I liked how friendly the staff was to us. The location of the postal was also great. It was right next to Las Ramblas.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room can only be described as a cupboard, the bed was hardly a bed and the mattress was none existent. The water from the bathroom ran into the room and the shower head was in 2 pieces, NO AC only a cheap fan that broke within minutes of us arriving. Both me and my friend got bitten by bedbugs. i have travelled all over the world and stayed in some dingy hostels but this was by far the worse. I wouldn't recommend it to anybody.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It can get a little noisy in the morning but what can you expect being in the heart of the city. So you cant complain.

    Amazing and friendly staff, this place is ideal if you don't plan on staying inside for most of your stay and i think when you are in Barcelona you should spend all your time outside in this amazing city! I will be staying again, the location is perfect. Would recommend for travellers looking to visit the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pensión 45 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: