Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensión Ametzagaña 2 stars

Camino de Uba, 61, 20014 San Sebastián, Spain

#98 of 103 B&Bs and Inns in San Sebastián

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1770 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar's staff was friendly more than reception though, bedroom was just fine however outside areas were amazing to go for running or just for a walk. I would be back there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a weird smell around the whole area. The restaurant was so so. A bit far from the city centre, only go there if you have a car. Minor detail: one of the lamp bulbs was not working.

    Staff were very friendly. Wi-fi was very good and stable. The place itself is nice and quiet. Breakfast was very nice and filling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's furniture are quite old, renovation could be great.

    Definitely worth its price. Nice surroundings, not far from the city center, kind stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was perhaps not the best accommodation choice for pilgrims/walkers, as it is a bit out of the camino del norte path. Major roads and the river mean walking access is difficult. However, taxis to and from the accommodation cost €8-€10, and this still makes for excellent value.

    The area was very quiet at night, so tired walkers could get a good night's sleep. The bar and the restaurant were available at reasonable prices, and meant we did not have to leave the site. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/ a

    Lovely setting easy to get to Centre of Sebastian with car. Staff very helpful food reasonably priced and very good this included both evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful cold smelly dank and dismal decor was outdated, personally I think it needs a complete refurbishment, I would not recommend this place to anyone, avoid it if possible

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed for special events in the Bar area. Facilities seem more like a boarding house/youth hostel than a "Hotel". Noisy, dark, and poor heating in the room. The aerial photos on the Internet are deceiving.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located up the hill from the reception. It took some time to get up there by all the stairs but luckily we did not have to carry much. This might be a greater issue for people with more luggage.

    Amazing views from the hostel! There is a nice bar and restaurant downstairs with a pool table. Beds are nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was absolutely minimal heating and it was freezing (in December)

    Nice quiet location outside of the city. Or room for four people was really big and not crowded.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's has far away from central and not has a good road for pension it's was so dark road on night. That is in forest.

    Nice view. Safe and slient. Good and soft beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is running down, the damp smell in the room was more than strong, bathroom was old with barely space for a shower without hitting smth or getting tangled in a horrible curtain , the bedding was probably 30 years old, way pricey for the area and/or quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miles from anywhere requiring €20 return taxi fare into San Sebastián. No A/C in room. Noise from dual carriageway. Bathroom in bad need of refit. €8 breakfast was awful.

    Cheap and cheerful. Clean enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sound proofing so any noisy people nearby prevented sleep until I asked them to be quiet. Weeds and plants in roof gutters as well as damaged roof gutters meant dripping water very annoying.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are in blocks and the soundproofing awful all we heard was doors banging all night and early morning, staff were rude and the restaurant was shut

    Nothing,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Musty smell into room ,very small bathroom , the toilet was mooving Restaurant - kitchen closed 15.30 I consider it too early

    Window view Expensive but good breakfast Parking safe for bikers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very remote, dinner menu very limited and mainly fast food. A tied up dog that barked incessantly, the guests in the room above us decided that they weren't happy with the layout of their furniture and moved it around at midnight, children running around and shouting at gone midnight, the only member of staff that spoke English was the receptionist. Ok, so you could argue that we should learn Spanish!!!

    The fact that they changed our room without to much fuss! We booked a twin and the initial room they tried to give us was a double.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on apparently freshly set street which makes that the GPS navigation in misleading. In addition, streets are listed in Basque language in the GPS map and in Spanish in Booking materials. I was forced to ask people for the right direction.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - without a car it's an hour walk or a 10 Euro taxi to the city center. Walls were thin so people in the next woke us up.

    Nice place and staff, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very nice and called to remind us that the check in is before 11pm when we hadn't arrived by 9pm. The room is clean, quiet and the bed is comfortable. The location is about 15-20 mins drive from San Sebastian city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had a broken beer bottle in it. Even after we asked for cleanup, some of the floor remained sticky. The room has central heating that turned off at 00:00. It was very hot so we had to open the windows, leaving it open for bugs.

    The property is located on the verge of a beautiful forest. San Sebastian is less than 4 km away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small for our family of 4

    Room was very clean and adequate, bathroom sparkling clean. TV did not work but staff was very friendly and extra helpful. 5 min from downtown in a taxi. The cafeteria had nice food. All in all perfect place to spend the night with no luxuries

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionists were very unbelievable. According to the hotel rules , we can check in after 12 am , but when we arrive at 2:45pm , we were being told that we have to wait till 3 pm to check in . The reason was there were two receptionists must finish the job that they haven't finished in time. However that was not our problems . Why should we have to wait for their mistakes .They asked us to wait for them to finish their jobs. And we wait till 3 pm, we were about to check in, but we were refused again by those two receptionists , they let us keep waiting till they finished . At that moment , we both were extremely tired from the trip, we wanted to check in as soon as possible, but it turned out we had to wait round half an hour . The most unbelievable thing is, those two receptionists were judging me in Spanish right there in front of us when we handed out our passports. They thought we don't understand Spanish, unfortunately my husband does, he worked in Spain for 4 years. Those two female receptionists said real bad stuff about me. We were really disappointed.

    The view around the mountain is very beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 euro taxi into town. Good bar good food free parking. Recommend for short stays. The heating in the room could be an option. Ask for a room where heaters work.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was helpfull, friendly and as we would say in the Netherlands : very 'gezellig!' To connect with a group of 15 men / cyclists... well done!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location of the hotel is perfect for those traveling by car. For those planning solely on walking and using public transportation, however, the bus/train stops are a bit far (over 1 km away, 10-12 min. walk for able adults).

    The food (dinner) was excellent and at an excellent price. Very nice atmosphere, the staff was kind and competent. The room was clean and comfortable, with a tv and free wifi. The hotel is also surrounded by greenery (it's located next to a park), which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking into Santander would be difficult due to lack of pavements and underpasses en route. 10 min by taxi and maybe 1 hour for a not very pleasant walk

    Car parking on site . Friendly staff who will call a taxi to get into centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and bathroom.

    Excellent taxi service to get into town. Hotel provided the essentials but wouldn't have wanted to stay for more than 1 night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was basic but comfy and clean with a bar there. Staff were really nice. Wasn't too close to centre but there was a nice 20 minute walk from train station. Overall a very nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super noisy rooms, the walls are like cardboard. We could hear our neighbors talk. There was a loud group of bikers making a lot of noise into the night. Curtains can't even have a name. My GF's sexy underwear can hold more light. Beds are not comfortable. Floating tables over the bed that i head bumped while sleeping. Dumped cigarettes on the stairs inside the villa. Stuffy and hot rooms, even the air around the complex has a weird sewer smell in the morning. When the next morning i told the receptionist about our night she just said she was very sorry, it was the season she said. So that's it? Nothing to compensate, so nothing left but leaving a bad review.

    The shower. Nothing else really. Just meant as a place for a good bed, peace and a shower. Only the last one succeeded. Then 50 euro a room is overpriced. I would have preferred to just sleep in my car. More sound proof and comfortable. Just lacking the shower, that's all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked 2 rooms, 1 for us and 1 for kids, would of been better if we were in the same block.

    Great Hotel for a 1 night stopover. Hotel is made up of 4 different blocks (villas ), our 2 rooms were in different blocks, would recommend stating to be in the same block if travelling with family and wish to be together. Wi-Fi worked everywhere so kept in touch that way. Rooms were very basic and small but comfy bed so slept well. Great outside seating areas. lovely evening meal. staff spoke English and were very friendly. On site parking .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty room smelly smoky no air con tiny bathroom

    Staff great what they are doing working here bemuses me nice views great food in below average atmosphere best transport cafe Ive ever eaten in

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Relaxing location, friendly, helpful staff. Although a 50 minute walk to the beach, we enjoyed the scenery and the exercise, quite hilly but fine if you like walking. Good priced food and drinks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Online description is deceptive, in reality was closer to 20euro hostel quality than hotel/guesthouse. Room smelled of mold, 40 degrees C, and with inadequate ventilation. Bathroom/toilet not cleaned properly.

    Reception staff tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television in the room didn't work, and when we arrived the WiFi wasn't working

    When we complained about tv, they didn't charge us for breakfast as an apology

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small, and a touch expensive considering there wasn't even ventilation in them. Wifi was really slow. Breakfast was kind of blah.

    The staff were all wonderful, warm, and easy to talk to whenever we had questions about where we wanted to go or about what to do. The raciones at night at the bar were pretty great, too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a bit far to walk to the centre

    Great value. Staff are good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English and the one big pillow instead of 2 regular ones

    Very nice people, nice and clean and cosy room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy doors and windows. other guests made lots of noise very late at night.

    The bedroom was nice and warm at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like tea and coffe making facilities in the room

    Good restaurant friendly staff large park to walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is further away from the town centre than is indicated on booking.com

    Value for money and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy,poor cleanliness and located far away from shops etc

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room awful,stunk of cigarettes when I had said non smoking. It was just a stop over but would never stay again

    The car park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and a bit of a walk with bags to some of the rooms

    Nice place a bit far from centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed and very nice shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls. No safe. Noisy neighbours. No lifts

    Great cafe, great reception ...even gree loaned a hair dryer to my wife

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    There is nothing (market, farmacia, ... ) close to the hotel

    Green area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room reeked of tobacco.The breakfast was minimal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away- steep hill to walk from public transportation- give two separated beds instead of queen bed

    Price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed, only the gastro pub was open. The was no indication that the restaurant was not going to open.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee, bread, no hot eggs

    Food was horrible. They could do a lot better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were hot and the beds not comfortable. The hotel is really expensive and not worth the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some stench around the property made the stay a little unpleasant. Uncomfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Conditioning! Need transport for San Sebastián (€10 taxi),

    Nice countryside location. Open air

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of room and bathrooms and cleanliness

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel, more a hostel. Total disaster hotel. Old, damp, horrible hotel. Avoid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect....the stuff was helpfully and freindly....the room was clean....great parkingplace....5 minit the center by car...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hills!

    Surrounding views, different style of accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatty and dated and pictures deciving

    San Sebastian

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were dirty, property is not well maintained

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, l Food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the centre.

    Good value in San Sebastián.Breakfast available at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great hotel, staff excellent, place very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing much

    waitress could not be more helpfull reception 0

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it met my needs

    It was cheap and cheerful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, smelling, cold,

    Parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too basic for a return trip

    Nice building but room very small and basic and in our case VERY cold. Don't recommend for winter.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window

    The food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extremely noisey young people who lived there and had no regard for any one else.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extra small, but nothing we expected more for the money we've paid.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No lift

    convenient bar/cafeteria

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff and a lot of fun in the bar/restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not

    Everything was nice and clean. Beautiful area, friendly staff! Delicious food, so everything was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are too thin. One can everything in the other rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: