Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Bikain 2 stars

Triunfo, 8, 20007 San Sebastián, Spain

#79 of 116 B&Bs and Inns in San Sebastián

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 229 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our time there, location was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very soft, walls paper thin & you can hear others talking from the reception area. Apart from needing an update, it has everything you need

    We loved the location, the friendly staff, so close to everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place in the centre of San Sebastián
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I couldn´t turn on the heating (it was cold one night) on the air condition, but there was more than enough blankets so I was ok.

    Great spotless place with great location. Close to the beach as well as to all shops, old part, festival buildings... It has everything you might need and the owner is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for three was small and the area a bit noisy, but there are earplugs for each guest, so it shouldn't be a problem. As we didn't use that, it felt like people were walking through our room all night long.

    The guy at the reception was exceptional. His english was brilliant, he explained us where to go, what to see. He was very nice and gave us loads of very useful information. The location is perfect, 3 min walk to the beach and 10-15 min to the old town. Pension doesn't have its own parking, you can leave a car at the parking garage next door for 20 euro/day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    Deceitful owner and uncomfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is NO parking here even though owner claims there is (see picture of plaque). I filtered my search by parking and severely limited my options due to owner's deceitfulness, and as a result, I ended up in a street level room, with a non functioning AC (it was 28C /82F in my room) and a 6 am wake-up call to the sound of hundreds of glass bottles being collected by municipal dump trucks. The mattress was rather uncomfortable and bathroom was seriously tiny. You should also know that the safe in each room is operated by the room key. The room key has the name of the pension along with room number on it, so I was forced to carry the key on my person at all times even when swimming. The fact that the cleaning lady left ALL the doors to the rooms wide open and unattended did little to make me feel secure in leaving my belongings there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice accomodation for a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe was not easy to reach/use with three beds into the room.

    Clean accomodation. The very friendly housekeeper gave us a lot of valuable information about places to visit in the surroundings. Location near to central bus station (10 min) but also near to beach (5 min) and cathedral (3 min)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location , value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location in the city centre , just a few minutes walk from the beach , with a short pleasant walk to the old town along the promenade , plenty of good places locally for breakfast . Staff were very friendly especially Igor who couldn't have been more helpful. Private car parking , adjoins the hotel , a bit expensive but convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, convenient, but my room was so enclosed I couldn’t relax there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room opened onto a deep internal well in the building so had no outlook, no fresh air and very little daylight. I could not even tell what the weather was like from inside. I think this should have been made more clear in the description

    Good location, very helpful staff,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good space for tourism.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No sound isolation, very small room, not much space for big luggage, expensive for what you receive, but normal price in San Sebastian

    Amazing location in San Sebastian, great place to stay if the purpose is to get to know the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Good ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not specify room with a window when booking - but asked for a change of room, as the room allocated was very small and had no window ... Of course the price was higher !

    Clean and comfortable room, within good walking distance to everything .. and owner spoke some english ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location for a stay. Quiet locally yet just a few minutes walk to the town for restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little expensive, especially the parking round the corner (20 euros per night), but of course it is very central so perhaps to be expected. We were on a three/half week self-drive around Europe holiday so had loads of luggage; as a result the room space and storage was a bit cramped but if you are there on a short holiday then it is quite adequate.

    Location great. Nice owner/manager...... even if we couldn't speak Euskadi (and not much Spanish either) we still had some laughs trying to communicate!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, cheerful staff, good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner gave us a suggestion of a place to eat...and it was one of the best places I've ever been. It was just a 3 min. walk for the place. The beach was also within walking distance. The place was nothing fancy but was a good value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Location, it's just what you need to rest after a long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were not blackout

    Location, it's just what you need to rest after a long day walking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    great city, great food great accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    o window to the outside. only a shaft window. but AC was great.

    Therressa was awesome and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Proximity to beach and local areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy

    Proximity to beach and local areas

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Location- close to beach and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room.

    Location- close to beach and old town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    They put only one small shampoo to use for washing in shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put only one small shampoo to use for washing in shower and toilet. When ran out of it owner was rude and reluctant to give more!! Unbelievable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, very compact. Small bathroom

    All of the above

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Very central very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for groundfloor Pension and no breakfast. Only artificial lights. No daylight. Thin walls

    Very central very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Particularly nice patron
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Particularly nice patron

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.5
    Pleasant and good for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the access is very inconvenient. Difficult to arrive by car and impossible to unload luggage

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Great value for price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was fantastic- so friendly and helpful. Great location as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.7
    Good location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and dark

    Pension Bekain was in a very central location, near all activities and the old town and the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was quite small.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room - Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry but we needed more and better pillows

    Location was spot on and room comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.2
    Location is excellent close enough to the beach and old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not get the air conditioning to work, but luckily it was warm enough. I am sure staff could help, but we did not ask so could not confirm. The doors do not block much sound, so can be a bit loud when guests move about in the hallway, but reasonable for the size of the pension!

    Location is excellent close enough to the beach and old town, but not inside. The staff are friendly and can speak English. Very homely service. Outside was quiet and had no problems sleeping, but could be because we stayed in winter.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    6.7
    Location was central but slightly off the main streets which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It seemed to be a main thoroughfare for going home from the parties. There was a lot of noise outside all night and the walls were very thin within so between the 2, there was not a lot of quiet for sleep.

    Location was central but slightly off the main streets which was nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom were quite small. There is a pizza cafe below the Pension. People were noisy leaving late at night.

    Great location. Short walk to restaurants, beach and shops.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    2 block walk to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was only a window into the airshaft so if you need light this might not be for you. But for the price and location I didn't care.

    2 block walk to the beach...excellent location!! (Not in the old town, but 10 min. walk). Small simple room, but clean and all I needed as I was out all day...great place to crash! Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Excellent wifi and the lady checking me in/out was lovely. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    It's so clean and the staff is extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's so clean and the staff is extremely friendly. We arrived late from a night out and slept till 11 or 12 and the lady said to us she was going for lunch but would be back to clean the room even after us telling her that there was no need

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    loved everything about our 7 night stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    loved everything about our 7 night stay here. Perfect location in a very quiet area of the city. Short walk to everything we wanted to see and do. I highly recommend this pension and we will certainly stay here again. Room very comfortable and clean and made up daily. Value for money compared to other accomodation in this stunning city. The proprietor, a lovely lady made us feel very welcome and at home. Huge thank you.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Pension bickain was the perfect place to stay, we thoroughly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pension bickain was the perfect place to stay, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Amazing hosts, clean room and fabulous location! We will definitely be back!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Great location - close to the beachfront and both the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location - close to the beachfront and both the old and new town. The owner was very warm and friendly, and very helpful as to how to get around.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although we had emailed that we required parking, none was arranged with the nearest parking centre. The lady at reception organised a different one in La Concha parking and we had to at almost €90 up front for tickets.

    Location was excellent! We had a lovely double room with a street view, so three windows. Air con and wifi were excellent and we really appreciated the fridge! The added bonus of lots of umbrellas in the reception area was very welcome as we experienced lots of rain in San Sebastián.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location with fast access to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In 5 days, we only saw someone at the reception at the beginning and end of our stay. Otherwise, we were on our own. I suppose the price was what the market will bear in high season, but that seems excessive for a pension.

    Excellent location with fast access to beach. Updated, superclean rooms. Very sweet owner. No problem whatsoever getting clean towels--just had to leave the used ones on the shower floor.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.5
    The accommodation was very basic but it was all we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Teresa's desk/office is in the hallway (only a few metres from the rooms) and she spoke quite loudly on the phone every morning of our stay, waking us up! Also, the floorboard hallway allows any movement outside of the room able to be heard. The bed was extrenelt springy and needs to be replaced. There was no natural light in the room and there was also nowhere to hang wet towels from the beach. Also never received any soap during our stay.

    The accommodation was very basic but it was all we needed. The room was kept tidy and cleaned everyday during our stay. The location was good- only a minute walk to the main beach and about a 10 minute walk to Old town which is where all the bars and restaurants are located. The room was quiet and dark (however it had no natural light) and wifi performed well.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Very welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very welcoming and friendly. Air conditioning a major plus for us. Very central location, just a few minutes walk from the beach and pleasant cafés.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff Teresa and maid were friendly and, although not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to go outside to search for breakfast.

    The staff Teresa and maid were friendly and, although not much English, they did their best to understand what we wanted.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    6.7
    This pension is very overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This pension is very overpriced. 600 euros for 5 nights for a couple in one room is far too expensive for what we got. The room was tiny with a low ceiling and the door to the corridor was a metre from the bed. The bathroom was too small to turn around in and there was no bench or place to put toiletries - we had to use the lid of the toilet. No bath mat was provided to step out of the shower, no drinking glasses were provided. The a/c was so noisy that it could not be left on at night and as the room was right on the street the window had to be kept closed. It was extremely suffocating. No breakfast was available. There was nothing that we liked about this pension except the location. It was, however, spotlessly clean and the owner tried to be helpful but was a bit brusque.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    A brilliant place to stay, a real gem of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a bit tricky to find and parking can be an issue. We found that using a nearby underground car park worked really well.

    A brilliant place to stay, a real gem of a place. The owner and staff and wonderfully helpful. The best night's sleep we had in Spain! Just round the corner is an excellent cafe for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    8.8
    Warm welcome, beds and linen comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to say

    Warm welcome, beds and linen comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.3
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Central location, room small .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location, room small . Bathroom needs a little mold removal. Beds comfortable. High priced vacation area, so room was a good value.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    Great position - close to everything and spotlessly clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great position - close to everything and spotlessly clean

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    Central to San Sebastián.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air Con did not work. Very noisy and then kaput.

    Central to San Sebastián. Pleasant people.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.7
    Location to the beach and old town was faboulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel room being so close to the front desk counter and entry/exit door.

    Location to the beach and old town was faboulous.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    Clean, perfectly located, comfortable bed, hair dryer and AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very dark room, no soap - only shower gel

    Clean, perfectly located, comfortable bed, hair dryer and AC

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Location was amazing and the host was also lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was amazing and the host was also lovely. The bed is the most comfortable I have ever experienced while traveling.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    Great location within walking distance to beaches &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location within walking distance to beaches & cafes/bars.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room smelt of smoke. We could taste it it was so bad. Had to leave door open all night and froze and it was noisy.

    Location. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    Have everything close;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    Have everything close; beach great food.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: