Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensión Da Estrela

Plaza de San Martiño 5, 2º, 15704 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#53 of 70 B&Bs and Inns in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 469 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Great location, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small but we were not in Santiago to spend time in the room!

    Proximity to all that Santiago de Compostela has to offer is close by. Situated on Plaza San Martin it is near many cafes, bars and restaurants. Staff are very helpful - washing, local calls for taxi etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms reserved were not exactly as described. One room was supposed to be on the first floor and have two bed. We had to drag all our luggayage to the third floor and had only a double bed (130cm wide). Not comfortable for seniors. And the "standard" mini bathroom *2sq.meters Or less. Travellers of larger size need to know this.

    Location excellent. Very quiet!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.5
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs with suitcases which wasn't a problem for us but if you have mobility issues it could be. However, I guess Pilgrims are usually used to carrying their stuff around. As there was no air con, we had to open the windows at night and the plaza beneath was quite busy and noisy, but it was unusually hot when we were there so again this probably isn't a problem usually.

    The rooms were really comfy, clean and well furnished for a hostel, and the location was perfect in the old town - minutes away from the cathedral and many cafes. Free sweets, teas and coffees were a nice touch and there was lots of information about what to do nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    Only stayed one night and lost rest of my money!! Proprety refused refund!!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too small/old/toilet smelly/wallpaper torn/bad bad bad

    No one to open door when we arrived. Landlady never available!! Place old and run down!! No space to move. No 3rd bed although we paid for that!!! Should not be on the Camino list at ALL - rip off

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Arriving in Santiago
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The location was great, but still quiet enough to sleep at night. Our hospitalero was very gracious and made sure our Laundry was completed and delivered before we left.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    I was given room above cafe that was very noisy until 2am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given room above cafe that was very noisy until 2am. No aircon and no Wi-fi in Room- I had to stand in corridor to use it. Bathroom and shower very small

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Place to stay in Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    She did not speak English so we had to talk in Spanish which I know little bit but that is okay. She finds a way to communicate with you :)

    Best location ever. Very clean. Owner was very sweat. Also, very cheap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, great location, could do with a bit of work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was quite dated and a little worn. Could have done with a new coat of paint. There was also quite a bit of noise from the other rooms, the walls seemed very thin.

    Excellent location, great view from the window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The location is perfect, the room overlooking the square was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, the room overlooking the square was lovely. There is a small kitchen for heating water and a refrigerator. Hot shower. Very accommodating hostess. A great deal in Santiago.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    A good, well positioned hostel and nice to stay there after finishing the Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get any internet connection at all. Also bathroom too small.

    Location, location. super outlook from our somewhat compact yet perfectly ok room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    I'd try and find nicer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent but after spending 30 days walking the Camino I expected a bit nicer for the cost. There was damp patches on the walls. I had requested a double room but got one with 3 single beds. The shower was in a cubicle over a bath big enough for a toddler only. Some people would struggle getting in and out of it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    The view from the room is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You don't have a lift! So it is difficult to get there if you are carrying bags. Also the room is veeeery small.

    The view from the room is awesome!!! And it is located in a place not so crowded, nice place in downtown! Very near from the main attraction at Santiago. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.3
    Cheap and NOT cheerful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay well clear. Not worth the saving. There are so many well priced, lovely places to stay in Santiago de Compostella. It was a hole! The damp walls. The mould all over the room. The awful / rancid smell from the bathroom. (Drains) The cold shower. The old ratty towels. The decor. The view from the room. The tiny hallway called a reception. It was horrid! Was not an expensive room, but I would rather have stayed in a Youth Hostel, with 50 other people for less money, it would have looked and smelt better. Not worth saving money, and staying in a dump! Sorry I don't have any photos to share, I couldn't bring myself to take any... Just stayed out as late as poss, went to sleep, and left for the airport early the next morning.

    The location was it's only redeeming feature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    small , quiet and nice room. good for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my friends carried big case up to 4 floor. that's a little difficult

    the location is perfect as the room is next to the beautiful church. and it's quiet at night

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.3
    Only one night but the staff were accommodating (due to my health requirements).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    As this is an old building there is no lift. However with Google translate we managed to find someone to lift my heavy case up and down 5 flights of stairs. Next time I book this way I will check there is a lift.

    No breakfast provided.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    We needed a place for a nights stay before leaving Santiago and this pension was a great location fo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great little pension in a very good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Just Enjoy
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle a bit too tight.

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    The location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators and on the 3rd floor

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Hommy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    There is a pantry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    The walls are too thin but its understandable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are too thin but its understandable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The staff, the location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff, the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    It was very quiet but close to Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very quiet but close to Cathedral

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitalero didnt show up...he managed everything without meeting guests....

    Excellent location...just a few min.walk to cathedral...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Pension da Estrela Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very compact and small room.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great location!! Will definitely visit again!

    Everything was great! But the view of our room amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Good accommodation in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having access to a kitchen was really good. Room was bright and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    A mid-range budget option with great localization
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are pretty old - you could see paint peeling etc.

    Cleaning every day. Superb localization. Friendly personel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was quite small and there is no reception desk, so if you need some help there is no one to ask.

    Great location, good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Great position and friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in shower so very mouldy and a bit smelly

    Balcony over a quiet square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    excellent location, the room is small, but very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location, the room is small, but very comfortable. and the kitchen is the bonus as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautifull area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was very helpfull and very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    adequate
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mold on the walls in the bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location, beautiful room with a view over a square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, beautiful room with a view over a square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Santiago de Compostela is a warren of lanes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Santiago de Compostela is a warren of lanes. It took us a while to find. We were allowed to drop our bags off early which was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel in great location near Cathedral

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Great little room, great location and lovely host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t reach my room however Estrella kindly gave me her tablet which worked really well!

    Great little room, great location and lovely host!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    comfortable home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Good end of a pilgrimage
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice host, good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position.friendly concierge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much room outside of rooms

    Simple

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Good international connections, great 'Mediaeval' city with excellent facilities for a short visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was all fine.

    A small and interesting old city great to get to know in a few days with many things to do and see. Great restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    The location.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location. Very close to the central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    -A lovley small hotel with a familiar atmosphäre.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -A lovley small hotel with a familiar atmosphäre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in the room were a bit moldy. But understandable in such an old, historic building

    Very friendly staff! Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff made my stay relaxed and pleasant in this great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room with a view of the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price!

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Great value and location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, comfort- wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great hospitality, close to center of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and very h lpfyl. Their hospitality was the best!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, the available kitchen

    The location and the mattress

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.3
    Location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No one speaks English, and WiFi is hardly working.

    Location and price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very noisy above the restaurant. The noise echoes in the square below.

    Great location, clean and comfortable. Good value having own bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable stay within 10 min of Mezquita/restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful front desk. Within 10 min walk of Mezquita. Breakfast/bars within 2 blocks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.6
    They were very accomodating and our room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No elevator to the pension but if you are lucky, friendly locals sometimes help carry your luggage.

    They were very accomodating and our room was lovely. The small details such as ribbons on towels and a candy bowl on our desk made the room feel even more welcoming. When we arrived after walking the camino, she was still cleaning so we just left our bags first. It was not a problem at all because the location was spectacular. 3 minutes walk to cathedral. There was a nice homey bar right next to the pension.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Location in one of the most picturesque areas of Santiago...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The kind old gentleman that ran the place speaks zero english and can became easily confused. He twice seemed to forget what had just transpired. I had a hard time initially getting into the place (ring the door bell and speak loudly). I would have tried to arrange to stay for two more days except I knew that he or the cleaning lady would not be able to understnd a single word I said.

    Location in one of the most picturesque areas of Santiago and minutes walk away from the cathedral. Clean, very pleasant room with nice views. Use of a semi kitchen with microwave and some tea/coffee making facilities (not so well stocked though). Despite my negative comments, I really liked the feel of the place.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.8
    Only the location is attractive with this Pension.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The road is inaccessible and when you call the owner for directions, you will be greeted by on old man who speaks only in Spanish. His son who speaks English is never available, not even to get paid, in fact I had to leave a note and ask him to debit my card. The kitchen was available but there was no kettle to make coffee.

    Only the location is attractive with this Pension.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.8
    Proprietor was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from adjoining rooms was incredible at all hours of the day and night. The door to our room was tried on a couple of ooccasions.

    Proprietor was very nice. Room was comfortable and had an astounding view.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Location, cleanliness and wi-fi, kitchen with fridge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wanted to cook something - the kitchen had only a microwave, no functionable cooker.

    Location, cleanliness and wi-fi, kitchen with fridge and dishes.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    8.3
    The staff was so accommodating and so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The WiFi was free but it was pretty hit or miss. Watching Netflix was nearly impossible and my friend and I traveled over Christmas so we planned on video chatting with our families but that was nearly impossible.

    The staff was so accommodating and so helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.8
    Staff is very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is small but functional.

    Staff is very helpful. Close to the cathedral in Santiago. Great price. We always stay here.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    8.8
    Price and Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price and Location

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    7.5
    Situation was very central to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep climb of stairs with heavy suitcases but I'm sure we could have got help if required

    Situation was very central to the city

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.5
    Central situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central situation. Basic but good

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.2
    Room place staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Room place staff

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    The location, the clean simple room overlooking the church...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the clean simple room overlooking the church square & and the price!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    8.8
    - Muy buen trato.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Muy buen trato. - Muy limpio. - Posibilidad de hacerte café o cola-cao gratis.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    the view, the location, the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the view, the location, the staff

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location. Kitchen facilities. Instant coffee. Owner used google translate, and set up taxi for our 5:30 am departure

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: